Curtis

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 187

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. k0b.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    50 cent should rather sell crack than recording another bullshitin' Album like 'Curtis'.
  2. SophieM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    0
    Don't like 90% of rap music, but believe me I don't give out 0/10s unless the album deserves it. I'm not a Kanye West fan, but if you're going to get either definitely get Kanye's, from what I've heard it's decent.
  3. 50Cent'sFuturemurderer
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    This album is a bag of wank. It is just some dirty nigger 'rapping' about how ace he is, but he is black therefore he is not ace cos he is black. I wish he was dead. His rapping makes me feel like me ears are being RAPED. Why God why? Why does 50 Cent exist. He is an ANAL CUNT. His mom was a dirty slag. His rapping is like a child with AIDS singing. If I had one wish it would be This album is a bag of wank. It is just some dirty nigger 'rapping' about how ace he is, but he is black therefore he is not ace cos he is black. I wish he was dead. His rapping makes me feel like me ears are being RAPED. Why God why? Why does 50 Cent exist. He is an ANAL CUNT. His mom was a dirty slag. His rapping is like a child with AIDS singing. If I had one wish it would be that 50 cent was blinded then set on fire then put out then hung from a tree. Yes I really do hate 50 Cent. I know, I think this review was fairly balanced. Overall, the album has some good points and some bad points. 50 cent takes it up the arse from mergi. The good point is that I will kill him tomorrow. LISTEN TO THE SHINS YOU CUNTS. Expand
  4. Shayvonda
    Sep 11, 2007
    1
    I was so looking forward to this album but it's junk. Sorry fiddy, it's really junk. But I guess I should have seen this coming after he released Candy Shop as a single.
  5. georgeh.
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    50 cent is a disgrace to all humanity.
  6. IndroneilB.
    Sep 15, 2007
    2
    Get rich ...made him rich!!! ; Massacre proved to be a massacre!!!! ; but Curtis fails
  7. AurelianI.
    Oct 16, 2007
    0
    yuck!
  8. KevinF.
    Nov 9, 2007
    0
    This is even worse than my album.
  9. Rose
    Oct 27, 2007
    0
    Really shit to be honest. The lack of effort he gives in his music deserves a 0.
  10. RoyalCash
    Sep 11, 2007
    1
    I heard this cd on myspace..ummmmm garbage. Still sucks he's gonna sell more than Kanye
  11. ChrisW.
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    Is that 50 Cent or a slow Fifth-Grader? Why is it that some rappers need to dumb themselves down in order to Rap? Even "The Game" has shown some promise in expressing himself lyrically... but 50 keeps on mumbling worse than Shannon Sharpe. When is there going to be the Next Generation for Rap. Wake me up when we get there.
  12. CJF
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    NOT THE BEST STUFF
  13. CraigC.
    Sep 12, 2007
    1
    Buy Graduation - get rid fitty forever.
  14. BigT.
    Sep 13, 2007
    3
    I think maybe this could be seen as a decent album if graduation had not been relased at the same time(because graduation is incredible). 50 has dropped off substantially with this one. Lyrics are wack. Only a handful of songs have good beats. And you would think with collabos with dre and eminem, and producers like timbo and dre, that something could be listenable. Negative. Cd last 15 I think maybe this could be seen as a decent album if graduation had not been relased at the same time(because graduation is incredible). 50 has dropped off substantially with this one. Lyrics are wack. Only a handful of songs have good beats. And you would think with collabos with dre and eminem, and producers like timbo and dre, that something could be listenable. Negative. Cd last 15 minutes in my player. Go buy Graduation. Expand
  15. PeterM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    This album really sucks! I must say that Kanye West beats Curtis big time!!
  16. LiefS
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    I'm from queens ny and i can honestly say all of our prayers have been answered, he isn't gonna outsell kanye and hopefully this waste of life truly retires like he said he would. him, eminem and dre should never touch music again, they have no idea what dignity means, they would sell their souls as quick as anybody who supported them would buy it.
  17. SuziZ.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    it's impossible to listen to an entire album of 50 Cent (as usually). Only a few selected tracks. But that doesn't make an album, does it?
  18. DarrentJ.
    Sep 7, 2007
    2
    This is the poorest rap album 50 has ever put out. The rhymes are stretched so thin over hit/miss (mostly miss) beats. Definitely the biggest disappointment of a year with hardly any good hip-hop.
  19. ChrisM
    Mar 5, 2009
    1
    It's almost impossible to believe people were expecting a masterpiece after listening to his debut. His albums keep getting worse.He used to be a rapper with potential!
  20. DevarG.
    Nov 9, 2007
    0
    Garbage.
  21. joeyb
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Total frickin' let down. I expected so much more, but this is just crap.
  22. BrianCt
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    50 Cents probably sums the artistic worth of this album; then again it would be fair to except 49 Cents change.
  23. NicoleV.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    I never thought I'll say this but this album is 10 times worse than K-Fed's pile of donkey stool.
  24. OtisC.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    The best thing he did for this album was timberlake and timberland.... Completely wack.
  25. ThaD.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    Crap. 50 claims he's "gangsta" even though he has songs like "Ayo Technology" and "Follow My Lead" on his album. Wack CD, don't buy it.
  26. EdwardH
    Sep 11, 2007
    2
    Man its so bad is good y'all know wutz I'm sayin' tha album feels so so rushed and not put down enuff by 50. He had his moments wit "In Da Club" and otha various hitz but diz just makes him feel like he has lost it all. That only reason I ain't givin' diz a phlat out zero is koz dat he doez dope ass mumberz wit Eminem. 50 its like your worth 50 wit diz album 4 Man its so bad is good y'all know wutz I'm sayin' tha album feels so so rushed and not put down enuff by 50. He had his moments wit "In Da Club" and otha various hitz but diz just makes him feel like he has lost it all. That only reason I ain't givin' diz a phlat out zero is koz dat he doez dope ass mumberz wit Eminem. 50 its like your worth 50 wit diz album 4 reel. Dawg you messed up bigg homie. Expand
  27. KhrysX.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    At this point 50 is just so uninspiring its pathetic. I have no desire to ever listen to this album again, there are no standouts or special moments on the entire album.
  28. JustinP.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    I am so glad I downloaded this and didn't buy it. I can't believe this is the "artist" who continues to sell when real artists like Sage Francis and Lupe Fiasco constantly remains unheard of. When are the 12 year old white girls going to stop buying 50?
  29. sverreo.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    this album sucks so much. graduation owns the shit out of fiddy. 50 told me to go ahead switch ur style up, and if they hating let em and watch the money stack pile up
  30. GeraldH.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    The album is predictable, redundant and breaks no new ground. Hip hop has lost a lot of ground in terms of sales and commercial recognition and 50 give no new reason to return. I think I will stick to listening to Kanye.
  31. LandonV.
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    This album sucks!
  32. EmilS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    All crap. Sorry.
  33. JasonR.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    awful album.
  34. DC
    Sep 12, 2007
    0
    This album is complete garbage, 50 cent should be ashamed of himself he disgraced NY rap. I
  35. 50Cent
    Sep 12, 2007
    0
    Yo man, I think my own album is bad.
  36. ErikG.
    Sep 12, 2007
    0
    He's proven himself to be the worst lyricist alive.
  37. jj
    Sep 12, 2007
    0
    very bad
  38. gsdagasdgdsgsadgasd
    Sep 12, 2007
    0
    Fuck Fifty...
  39. KevinM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    2
    50 fell off a long time ago. He has run out of topics and on this album it shows.
  40. PaulC
    Sep 13, 2007
    1
    Fiddy's heart just doesn't seem in this album. Maybe it's all the talk of retirement, or the fact that he has earlier stated he planned on putting out 2 more albums to fulfill his contract and then quit, but either way, Fiddy should rethink his reasons for being in the rap game. Sad to see someone fall so low, but this album is just more proof that hip-hop, as Nas put it, is dead.
  41. JohnW.
    Sep 13, 2007
    1
    I tried, but it's not very good.
  42. Dr.Bloodmoney
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    Piece of crap, just like his other albums. The one positive review here is hilarious. Read it aloud and try not to laugh.
  43. CF.
    Sep 14, 2007
    0
    Complete garbage. No offense to you young raze but you must be listening to a different album than the rest of us! 50 needs to back his sell-out ass out of the game!
  44. RudyS
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    Pretty terrible, actually.
  45. JesseP.
    Sep 15, 2007
    1
    Album is horrible..."Fiddy" needs to keep his word and retire from whateva it is he does in the rap industry....He's put a black eye on the industry long enough....Whack Rapper!!
  46. DavidBerkley
    Sep 16, 2007
    1
    he is still around! he should have stopped in 2003 when he had the money. but unfortunately we have to hear more fiddy cent and his G-UNOT gang. hearing of this is the equivalent of having bad fast food at McDonalds is tasty but disgusting and watered down. Go back to talib kaweli, common, wu tang clan etc for good rap not this overproduced junk.
  47. time
    Sep 17, 2007
    3
    Justin Timberlake? RU kidding me? Had this been 10 years ago 50 would have castrated Justin with his bare hands for his wannabe street cred thug preppy look. Now he's singing with him? WTF. I think that 9th bullet made him a little daffy.
  48. CaddyC.
    Sep 21, 2007
    0
    This album is absolutely appalling and it goes to show how stupid the public is to buy this garbage on hype alone.West is just barely a better lyricist but Graduation is still utterly compelling listening and a million lightyears ahead of Curtis,the worst album of the year by a long long way.Blood-curdlingly terrible.
  49. KurtisBlue
    Sep 23, 2007
    1
    Hip-hop isn't dead, but it sure smells funny.
  50. JermaineD
    Sep 6, 2007
    0
    yo 50 lost it on this one seriously, this album is wack! he used to at least have some ability to make a good song but he not only seems weak lyrically on this but the beats are horrible! i used to be a big fan but this album is horrible. what happened to you 50?
  51. TheSmokingCupcake
    Oct 19, 2007
    2
    What a worthless album! The first time I listened to it I almost lost my cookies because of its worthlessness. Then I remembered who recorded it..here's a question, can this guy do anything other than talk? I mean, generally, if you call yourself a musician, playing instruments is a prerequisite.
  52. John
    Dec 6, 2007
    0
    Total crap!!! stay away!!!!
  53. MattP.
    Sep 11, 2007
    3
    The album is okay, but lacks heart and funk.
  54. AdamL
    Sep 12, 2007
    1
    In short, 50 is failed so hard with this album that it will be hard for him to recover on the next.
  55. ScottieG
    Sep 12, 2007
    3
    I was so enthralled by "Get Rich", but 50 is losing his sense creativity.
  56. chris
    Sep 12, 2007
    2
    Im glad I only paid $10.00 This was something that seemed like he threw together because he had to
  57. CdCritic
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    This album is so bad, it makes Xzibit's "Full Circle" look like grammy material. What a failure.
  58. SH.
    Sep 13, 2007
    1
    This is garbage an example of at least parts of hip hop being dead. Let support the innovative, Fifty is so tired man and he's not trying anymore. He's rich now and knows whatever he puts out will sell and people are stupid enough to keep buying even though its not quality.
  59. Gee
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    Haha. CD IS SO BAD. Lyrically reminds me of a 2nd grader giving an attempt at poetry. OBSERVE: 50 CENT - AMUSEMENT PARK "Good evening ladies, I'll tell you from the start I'm hoping you enjoy my amusement park Theres lots of activities, fun things to do And I'll find my pleasure in pleasing you Some rides go fast, some rides go slow You fear heights when I'm high hell Haha. CD IS SO BAD. Lyrically reminds me of a 2nd grader giving an attempt at poetry. OBSERVE: 50 CENT - AMUSEMENT PARK "Good evening ladies, I'll tell you from the start I'm hoping you enjoy my amusement park Theres lots of activities, fun things to do And I'll find my pleasure in pleasing you Some rides go fast, some rides go slow You fear heights when I'm high hell yeah I'll go low" CDs come out for artists to prove something to their audience. Or to express themselves. The only thing that's enjoyable about his expressions is that he has a hard time doing it. Poor guy. Collapse
  60. Eminem
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    I'm so, so sorry about discovering this person. Really I am.
  61. theguywhoshot50cent9times
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Why o, why o, didn't he just dieo technology. I hate 50 cent. every single song he has done makes me want to shoot MYSELF 9 times! he doesnt deserve the fame he gets. everything he has done is terrible, his music, the movie. is there anything he actually can do. do not buy this otherwise i will pop a cap in yaw ass!
  62. PeterO.
    Sep 17, 2007
    3
    This album is shit. Pure and simple. shit
  63. ClifC.
    Dec 1, 2008
    1
    I red some of your comments, but HOW THE HELL CAN YOU EVEN COMPARE HIM TO KANYE WEST?!??! Kanye is a billion trillion light years of Curtis! Hey 50... Just get a musical education!
  64. JoeW
    Nov 17, 2007
    0
    This is one of the worst albums I've ever heard it makes me sick to think that he's making money from this. It just goes to prove that Hip Hop is dead and that artists with the least talent sell the most CD's. Forget this album totally - listen to some real hip hop like Common, Kweli, Kanye, The Pharcyde etc.
  65. Adrian
    Dec 12, 2007
    0
    I snapped my CD in half how can you even classify this as music??
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. 'My Gun' is one of the best tracks Fifty's lent his name to; Adam Deitch and Eric Krasno's skilful production keeps the tension bubbling just below the surface with a muted hard rock guitar riff; 50's rhyme and flow is more varied and expressive than his usual monotone drawl.... The remainder of the album is as inconsistent as Fifty’s career to date.
  2. In the end, Curtis is entertaining but only impressive in that 50 can run in place and still be on top.
  3. Though the album is good, for an artist of 50 Cent's caliber, it's not great.