Curtis

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 193

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    I like this album but it wasnt as strong as his previous albums. But Curtis was a good ablum and i enjoy listening to it and it makes me wanna like 50 more
  2. Oct 17, 2014
    8
    Entertaining album. The production is phenomenal and 50 Cent has the finest producers on this album such as Dr. Dre and Timbaland. A lot of easy songs to like such as Get Money and Ayo Technology. This isn't Get Rich or Die Tryin' but can we really expect another album like that again? The closest song that is the old 50 is I'll still kill featuring Akon. One negative however is thatEntertaining album. The production is phenomenal and 50 Cent has the finest producers on this album such as Dr. Dre and Timbaland. A lot of easy songs to like such as Get Money and Ayo Technology. This isn't Get Rich or Die Tryin' but can we really expect another album like that again? The closest song that is the old 50 is I'll still kill featuring Akon. One negative however is that there are too many guest features and we didn't hear enough of 50 Cent. But overall this album is something that everyone can have some fun with. Expand
  3. Bryanm.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    I beat the people who are rating this Cd lower then 5 are West fans. that also means they are cock suckers too. Listten this is the new 50 you get to look at a more kindder verson of him. but whats so dang bad about that? any was in the long run 50 is a hell lot better then any rapper even one of my favs Slim shady.
  4. JohnB.
    Oct 20, 2007
    8
    I liked it.
  5. johnc.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    you guys are wack this cd 50 made iS FIRE AS SHYYYYT great cd he did a great job
  6. jeffd.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    nice album best song peep show, fire, come and go, my gun go off, and all the single g unit
  7. UNReal
    Sep 18, 2007
    8
    The album wasn't bad at all, but light years behind 'Get Rich or Die Trying'. Hardcore fans are probably going to be disappointed, see the other reviews, but casual fans should like it for its club beats and some of the love songs (personally, I believe those weaken the album). Kanye's album was much better though, go buy that one.
  8. AlexK.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    Somewhere in between Get Rich Or Die Tryin' and The Massacre
  9. AlexS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Good cd.
  10. KevinC.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    it was alright. not terrible.
  11. JakeL.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Stop hatin' on the king of New York.
  12. kevinl.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    rocks
  13. stephaniel.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Curtis is the best album out. Better then the massacre but not better then Get Rich Or Die Trying .. but then again .. Get Rich Or Die Trying is off the charts from 1-10
  14. AlexC.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    lets face it, fifty lost the "gangster" image a long time ago, he was never going to replicate "get rich or die trying" but this album has some great production in it, his lyrics aren't as good as they used to be but its still a great album.
  15. chrisl.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Curtis is the best rap album in a long while!!!!
  16. JackS.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    This album is a rap classic. In this day and age, the man has to put stupid club/radio tracks on there, and you can't fault him for it. His real tracks bring us back to street level when he was not 50 Cent, but Curtis Jackson, as the album tells you up front. This is the album he wanted to make when he was poor and dreaming of a better life on the streets of NYC. This album is a This album is a rap classic. In this day and age, the man has to put stupid club/radio tracks on there, and you can't fault him for it. His real tracks bring us back to street level when he was not 50 Cent, but Curtis Jackson, as the album tells you up front. This is the album he wanted to make when he was poor and dreaming of a better life on the streets of NYC. This album is a postcard from the heart of every hustler in the streets of every city in America. If you don't understand this album, it's because you don't understand rap as an art. Expand
  17. KyleZ.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Not the best beats, or the best rhymes I have ever heard, but there is just something about this album that makes it great. It all comes together very nicely
  18. DRamos
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    if you are not going to give a rating in relation to album content then do not vote at all, people need to grow up. The album is good in parts but highly inconsistent.
  19. joe
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    people are just hating on 50 now! this album ain't bad at all.
  20. VictorK.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    badass album from a badass artist. not his best but still awesome.
  21. youngraze
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    this is def. better than the massacre,even tho massacre had a few joints that were better than curtis,as a piece put together, curtis is a lot more raw and darker in tone.Its first 7 tracks including ayyo technology are classic materila (if this continued on it prolly would be on da status of get rich or die tryin,remember 50 will never sound like he did on get rich since it was da first this is def. better than the massacre,even tho massacre had a few joints that were better than curtis,as a piece put together, curtis is a lot more raw and darker in tone.Its first 7 tracks including ayyo technology are classic materila (if this continued on it prolly would be on da status of get rich or die tryin,remember 50 will never sound like he did on get rich since it was da first time ppl were hearin his voice and flow,and ur first impression is always higher than ur second,its somethin called marginal satisfaction,for all u folks out there easily put its da same as seein a beautiful woman for da first time)blend well even tho da ayyo technology is poppier the timbland mind blurring production and 50's switched-up-faster flow is a breath of fresh air.In fact 50 does what he and eminem have done best in their albums...invent a new flow.while eminem does it wit blastin lyrics all pieced cleverly together,50 does it wit his voice and finds holes in da beats where he can change da flow without soundin wak.Just because this album doesnt have da classic 17 traks,da traks goin from 1-7 are indeed classic,my gun go off is an absolute blinder and stands to comete with what up gangsta from get rich album.man down is so raw its censored even in da dirtier version,he does talk bout cops which we all know interscope cant wait to censor but it doesnt hurt da trak too much,in fact it provides an image of 50 as da devious stick up kid still disobeyin orders,addin 2 his hunger even more power.ill still kill also all give da notion dat 50 does give us the best gangster rap,theres no doub tbout dat and dats y he always resembles himself to 2pac or big.its da commercial stuff dat he releases dat confuses da hip hop purists,who lets face it,never really liked gangster rap dat much.Not to mention dat many 50 haters out there accuse 50 of jackin Ja rule's style of singin hooks and vast commercialism.While 50 really was sayin dat ja sounded like a cookie monster for his singin,attacking hs way of rap-singin not da actual fact dat ja got up 2 da mic and felt like singin.And also dat 50 said dat ja wasnt a gangsta 2 be makin such potent rap,coz believe it or not,say wat u will,but ja did know how 2 put out gangster rap anthems before da anthemic rnb collabos.sumhow 50 mades us believe him and still in 2007 we believe ja is fake.many music critics or just regular hoodrats have criticised 50 for pennin gun/macho talk while he hides out in farmington,CT and prolly doesnt do none of dat stuff,but da ANSWER is really starin u right in da face,CURTIS,da title on da album and da whole concept of da hardcore content this album is based on is goin bak before his get rich days.1 things for sure,da hood will be bumpin traks 1-6 without skippin easily,traks after dat are a mixture of softcore and hardcore,but really we know even da collabo wit mary j blige is a hard song and da hood will be bumpin it.movin on is a bit mediocre but still 50 cent catchy just like i dont need em from massacre and church for thugs from game (everybody knows game had dat hook written by 50 coz his flow is so trademarked and unique dat even game couldnt pull it off nevertheless we knew dat was a hot song,if 50 was on it ya know it wouldve been bigger,50's got dat voice and flow dat he always get away wit it.much like biggie and pac could get away wit it even on their more somber days.many hip hop heads wont notice dat this record was exclusively recorded by tony yayo or at least most of da songs and dat he played a big part in 50 versatility of flows on curtis.i think it also inspired da content to be more street oriented.again,1 things for sure,if anybody in da gunit clique with their new found riches didnt change,it is Tony Yayo,whose punchlines in recent mixtapes and also curtis album have been killer and absolutely believable,i mean da kid is on some shit literally,and da dude knows his place,he's a shooter on da streets,a hypeman a&r in music,and he knows how 2 spit a hot 16,1 thing tony is bad at is making u listen to three 16 bar verses in a row,dats y he sound hottest when hes collaboratin much like lil wayne,which brings off da subject for second,lil wayne really hasnt had a hit in who knows how long,but his collabos have been FIRE,no question bout it,u cant deny funny lyricism,but i think tony yayo is of da same caliber,tonys punchlines have been hot as fuck,like his verse on da gunit hood banger taken from a wu tang beat we on some shit,he spits 'i virginia tech u niggas...but i aint chinese/i got 2 glocks,i call em siamese/' .........or.....da one he spits on Curtis 'i catch a body man/beat da case and lie on da polygram/ those kinda lines are crazy but we can see his hyped up energy boosted 50 to bring out dat gagsterism dat made him popular.da only difference today is people are too ashamed to say they listen to 50 cent fearing other people may perceive as shallow.In da end of da day,its entertaining,and if u can make a trak dat can be played over and over again and get so many hits on interent pages for your songs,then ull be officially hotter than 50.everybody knows it 50 is a superstar who is easily hated and so successful dat it actually hurts ppl dat they dont know y and how he pulled it off so they blame it on smt else.50's cocky manner in his songs and videos portray him as a devious stick up kid while in da other side of his mind he is a very clever and smart guy.like eminem will never put out another marshall mathers lp,50 wont put out a get rich,its just impossible unless u went to surgery and switched up ur vocal chords.so this album curtis is very entertaining and if some fellas feel dat some joints are soft then all i have to say is 'chill dude,its for da ladies'.maybe its da girls' fault for likin to listen to cheesier instrumentals for their club thirst.but like pac said,whatever da women are listenin da men are as well,ocz in da club ya know u wanna be dancin wit yo girl boppin yo head to 'fire' or 'i get money' or ayyo technology',ya know wat i mean?some guys just never get dat experience wit women and just call it wak,but really its just entertaining.and think bout it all da classic albums(and theres been way too mnay blog fights over dis)they all are entertainin,whether ure listenin to doggystyle or blueprint or illmatic or marshall mathers,it is actually entertainin u through controversial concepts and good beats. dats y i give this album a 9/10 Expand
  22. HaffD.
    Sep 13, 2007
    7
    Aside from the fakt that Fitty stole my name, I give him his props. I prop up the fakt that he made green. But I was Haff Dollah long before, and he uset to come to my concerts and admire my style back in '92. So he changed up my name a bit, thats a'ight. Imitation means he likes my style. He call me soon and say "what up Haff, lets roll. Half Dollah, Fitty Cent. A team." Till Aside from the fakt that Fitty stole my name, I give him his props. I prop up the fakt that he made green. But I was Haff Dollah long before, and he uset to come to my concerts and admire my style back in '92. So he changed up my name a bit, thats a'ight. Imitation means he likes my style. He call me soon and say "what up Haff, lets roll. Half Dollah, Fitty Cent. A team." Till then he gets a 7 from me. Expand
  23. ab
    Sep 15, 2007
    8
    i the album is pretty solid...i get money is infectious, ayo tech is good, and so is ill still kill
  24. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Very good album.It is of course not as good as Get rich or die tryin' or Massacre but it has hit songs such as I get money,Still will kill,Straight to the bank,Ayo technology...Fire is also a good song and My gun go off is a classic 50.Only song I didn't like were surprisingly average song with Em,All of me and Touch the sky.Still,a very good album!
  25. May 8, 2015
    7
    Not a great album, but still decent, Curtis shows a lot of redundance and a tired 50. Lyrically it is 50´s weakest album, every verse is the pretty much same, minimum effort and not much life in his rhymes. On the positive side, the production is A+ like his previous albums. There is some awesome beats on the LP like I get money and Ayo technology.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. 'My Gun' is one of the best tracks Fifty's lent his name to; Adam Deitch and Eric Krasno's skilful production keeps the tension bubbling just below the surface with a muted hard rock guitar riff; 50's rhyme and flow is more varied and expressive than his usual monotone drawl.... The remainder of the album is as inconsistent as Fifty’s career to date.
  2. In the end, Curtis is entertaining but only impressive in that 50 can run in place and still be on top.
  3. Though the album is good, for an artist of 50 Cent's caliber, it's not great.