Curtis

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 193

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. k0b.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    50 cent should rather sell crack than recording another bullshitin' Album like 'Curtis'.
  2. SophieM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    0
    Don't like 90% of rap music, but believe me I don't give out 0/10s unless the album deserves it. I'm not a Kanye West fan, but if you're going to get either definitely get Kanye's, from what I've heard it's decent.
  3. 50Cent'sFuturemurderer
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    This album is a bag of wank. It is just some dirty nigger 'rapping' about how ace he is, but he is black therefore he is not ace cos he is black. I wish he was dead. His rapping makes me feel like me ears are being RAPED. Why God why? Why does 50 Cent exist. He is an ANAL CUNT. His mom was a dirty slag. His rapping is like a child with AIDS singing. If I had one wish it would be This album is a bag of wank. It is just some dirty nigger 'rapping' about how ace he is, but he is black therefore he is not ace cos he is black. I wish he was dead. His rapping makes me feel like me ears are being RAPED. Why God why? Why does 50 Cent exist. He is an ANAL CUNT. His mom was a dirty slag. His rapping is like a child with AIDS singing. If I had one wish it would be that 50 cent was blinded then set on fire then put out then hung from a tree. Yes I really do hate 50 Cent. I know, I think this review was fairly balanced. Overall, the album has some good points and some bad points. 50 cent takes it up the arse from mergi. The good point is that I will kill him tomorrow. LISTEN TO THE SHINS YOU CUNTS. Expand
  4. Shayvonda
    Sep 11, 2007
    1
    I was so looking forward to this album but it's junk. Sorry fiddy, it's really junk. But I guess I should have seen this coming after he released Candy Shop as a single.
  5. georgeh.
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    50 cent is a disgrace to all humanity.
  6. IndroneilB.
    Sep 15, 2007
    2
    Get rich ...made him rich!!! ; Massacre proved to be a massacre!!!! ; but Curtis fails
  7. AurelianI.
    Oct 16, 2007
    0
    yuck!
  8. KevinF.
    Nov 9, 2007
    0
    This is even worse than my album.
  9. Rose
    Oct 27, 2007
    0
    Really shit to be honest. The lack of effort he gives in his music deserves a 0.
  10. RoyalCash
    Sep 11, 2007
    1
    I heard this cd on myspace..ummmmm garbage. Still sucks he's gonna sell more than Kanye
  11. ChrisW.
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    Is that 50 Cent or a slow Fifth-Grader? Why is it that some rappers need to dumb themselves down in order to Rap? Even "The Game" has shown some promise in expressing himself lyrically... but 50 keeps on mumbling worse than Shannon Sharpe. When is there going to be the Next Generation for Rap. Wake me up when we get there.
  12. CJF
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    NOT THE BEST STUFF
  13. CraigC.
    Sep 12, 2007
    1
    Buy Graduation - get rid fitty forever.
  14. BigT.
    Sep 13, 2007
    3
    I think maybe this could be seen as a decent album if graduation had not been relased at the same time(because graduation is incredible). 50 has dropped off substantially with this one. Lyrics are wack. Only a handful of songs have good beats. And you would think with collabos with dre and eminem, and producers like timbo and dre, that something could be listenable. Negative. Cd last 15 I think maybe this could be seen as a decent album if graduation had not been relased at the same time(because graduation is incredible). 50 has dropped off substantially with this one. Lyrics are wack. Only a handful of songs have good beats. And you would think with collabos with dre and eminem, and producers like timbo and dre, that something could be listenable. Negative. Cd last 15 minutes in my player. Go buy Graduation. Expand
  15. PeterM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    This album really sucks! I must say that Kanye West beats Curtis big time!!
  16. LiefS
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    I'm from queens ny and i can honestly say all of our prayers have been answered, he isn't gonna outsell kanye and hopefully this waste of life truly retires like he said he would. him, eminem and dre should never touch music again, they have no idea what dignity means, they would sell their souls as quick as anybody who supported them would buy it.
  17. SuziZ.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    it's impossible to listen to an entire album of 50 Cent (as usually). Only a few selected tracks. But that doesn't make an album, does it?
  18. DarrentJ.
    Sep 7, 2007
    2
    This is the poorest rap album 50 has ever put out. The rhymes are stretched so thin over hit/miss (mostly miss) beats. Definitely the biggest disappointment of a year with hardly any good hip-hop.
  19. ChrisM
    Mar 5, 2009
    1
    It's almost impossible to believe people were expecting a masterpiece after listening to his debut. His albums keep getting worse.He used to be a rapper with potential!
  20. DevarG.
    Nov 9, 2007
    0
    Garbage.
  21. joeyb
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Total frickin' let down. I expected so much more, but this is just crap.
  22. BrianCt
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    50 Cents probably sums the artistic worth of this album; then again it would be fair to except 49 Cents change.
  23. NicoleV.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    I never thought I'll say this but this album is 10 times worse than K-Fed's pile of donkey stool.
  24. OtisC.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    The best thing he did for this album was timberlake and timberland.... Completely wack.
  25. ThaD.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    Crap. 50 claims he's "gangsta" even though he has songs like "Ayo Technology" and "Follow My Lead" on his album. Wack CD, don't buy it.
  26. EdwardH
    Sep 11, 2007
    2
    Man its so bad is good y'all know wutz I'm sayin' tha album feels so so rushed and not put down enuff by 50. He had his moments wit "In Da Club" and otha various hitz but diz just makes him feel like he has lost it all. That only reason I ain't givin' diz a phlat out zero is koz dat he doez dope ass mumberz wit Eminem. 50 its like your worth 50 wit diz album 4 Man its so bad is good y'all know wutz I'm sayin' tha album feels so so rushed and not put down enuff by 50. He had his moments wit "In Da Club" and otha various hitz but diz just makes him feel like he has lost it all. That only reason I ain't givin' diz a phlat out zero is koz dat he doez dope ass mumberz wit Eminem. 50 its like your worth 50 wit diz album 4 reel. Dawg you messed up bigg homie. Expand
  27. KhrysX.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    At this point 50 is just so uninspiring its pathetic. I have no desire to ever listen to this album again, there are no standouts or special moments on the entire album.
  28. JustinP.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    I am so glad I downloaded this and didn't buy it. I can't believe this is the "artist" who continues to sell when real artists like Sage Francis and Lupe Fiasco constantly remains unheard of. When are the 12 year old white girls going to stop buying 50?
  29. sverreo.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    this album sucks so much. graduation owns the shit out of fiddy. 50 told me to go ahead switch ur style up, and if they hating let em and watch the money stack pile up
  30. GeraldH.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    The album is predictable, redundant and breaks no new ground. Hip hop has lost a lot of ground in terms of sales and commercial recognition and 50 give no new reason to return. I think I will stick to listening to Kanye.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. 'My Gun' is one of the best tracks Fifty's lent his name to; Adam Deitch and Eric Krasno's skilful production keeps the tension bubbling just below the surface with a muted hard rock guitar riff; 50's rhyme and flow is more varied and expressive than his usual monotone drawl.... The remainder of the album is as inconsistent as Fifty’s career to date.
  2. In the end, Curtis is entertaining but only impressive in that 50 can run in place and still be on top.
  3. Though the album is good, for an artist of 50 Cent's caliber, it's not great.