Cuts Across The Land

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NeilJ
    Mar 9, 2006
    7
    It's familiar in many ways and has a lot of good ideas on several tracks. The only problem is that some of the ideas aren't that good or some of the ideas haven't been fully realised. When it's good it's very good but half the time it's patchy. Should be a good second album......................
  2. Darren
    Mar 10, 2006
    4
    I came in expecting so much more, and was left very disappointed. I felt totally disconnected from the music. It gets a four because they are obviously quite talented, but they have yet to realize most of it.
  3. Michael
    May 8, 2006
    9
    seriously one of my favorite albums this year . . . really fun band live.
  4. GinaT
    May 9, 2006
    10
    Cuts rocks and swings, has personality, and and updates beautifully tastemaking sounds!
  5. tim
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    Great record. Her voice is pure and lovly
  6. JamesD
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Straight away, I have to say "I love this album". "Win your love", "Love Is An Unfamiliar Name" and "Lion Rip" are fantastic, quick and energetic in-your-face rock songs. But don't get me wrong, the slower-paced songs, such as "Darling, You're Mean" are just as good, building up to a powerful finale! Leila Moss, not only being sexy and a great frontwoman, is a very very capable Straight away, I have to say "I love this album". "Win your love", "Love Is An Unfamiliar Name" and "Lion Rip" are fantastic, quick and energetic in-your-face rock songs. But don't get me wrong, the slower-paced songs, such as "Darling, You're Mean" are just as good, building up to a powerful finale! Leila Moss, not only being sexy and a great frontwoman, is a very very capable singer, and musically, the band are brilliant. One of the favourite ever albums. Highly reccomended! Expand
  7. TristramC
    Apr 25, 2006
    7
    With current events what they are, these guys picked a bad time to breakthough with a name like that...
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. An energised and impassioned, justly confident debut.
  2. Mojo
    60
    You sense they need a couple of pure pop gems that the Mary Chain had submerged within the noise to perfect the classic sound they aspire to. [Jun 2005, p.95]
  3. Though The Duke Spirit lack the Tex Avery mania of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs or the eye-bulging strutting confidence of Polly Harvey, they do have an easy way with structured reverberative grooves.