D12 World

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 60
  2. Negative: 13 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mikemat
    May 1, 2004
    5
    I was waiting for this cd to come out for a year and when it cam out it dissapointed me. I like all the artists on shady/aftermath like a crackhead loves crack but this one really is bad. EM, some advice from a hardcore music analyst you gotta go back to spittin about things that are going on around you and things we normal people can relate to you we dont care about how hard you are when I was waiting for this cd to come out for a year and when it cam out it dissapointed me. I like all the artists on shady/aftermath like a crackhead loves crack but this one really is bad. EM, some advice from a hardcore music analyst you gotta go back to spittin about things that are going on around you and things we normal people can relate to you we dont care about how hard you are when you go to a club. Ohh yeah and umm since you usually diss everyone that talks smack about you what happen to Suge Night and the outlawz.(Too Gangsta for Radio) listen to it if you havent heard it. I hope next CD will be better!! Expand
  2. cotyr
    Oct 4, 2004
    6
    this cd didnt match my expectations and wasnt as exciting as their debut but it is still a listenable cd but most of the songs are skippable
  3. willb
    May 2, 2004
    5
    First off, the Devil's Night album was, in my opinion, very good, and im a big Eminem fan to boot. So, i was excited to get my mits on the new one, D12 World. However, after a few listens, i'd have to say the cd is a disappointment. Theres nothing new here, its the SAME ideas and issues being spit, in the SAME fashion over mostly dull beats. Not one member of D12 really stands First off, the Devil's Night album was, in my opinion, very good, and im a big Eminem fan to boot. So, i was excited to get my mits on the new one, D12 World. However, after a few listens, i'd have to say the cd is a disappointment. Theres nothing new here, its the SAME ideas and issues being spit, in the SAME fashion over mostly dull beats. Not one member of D12 really stands out on their 2nd album. On the first cd, bizarre was funny and fresh, unfortunately his raps havent changed at all in the last few years. Bizzy (sigh, as hes occasionally nicknamed on D12 World) raps about the exact same stuff as in Devils Night and eventually gets totally annoying. Kuniva, Swifty, and Kon Artis get lost in the schuffle because theres nothing they rap about that sets them apart from any of the other members. Proof has potential, but again, when all you rap about is how much of a bada** gangsta you are, it sounds like ur making up for something lacking, or you really just dont have anything to say. Finally, Eminem. Em has for years proven himself in the rap world. But i think hes gettin a lil burned out(NOT PERMANENTLY i hope). This album doesnt have the same polish or pizzaz as ANY of his previous works. While i have never really been a fan of the beats he's produced, the ones he does on D12 World make me think he should either recalculate his ideas or give the reins to somebody else. i think he should step back and rething some of his rhymes as well. I think it would do him some good to take a year off or something, and get his S*** straight, cause the quality of his work is slipping in my opinion. Ok, it seems as if im just bashing this cd, but i did give it a 5. Thats because, even though it gets repititive, some of the tracks are good (not great) and enjoyable. Ill throw this in the cd player every once in awhile for the next couple weeks, but i dont see myself listening to it much after that. If your a eminem or d12 fan then deffinately check it out, after a listen you might think im an idiot, but if ur on the ropes with a purchase, have a listen before you buy. Expand
  4. McTom
    May 24, 2004
    5
    Look, Eminem and Proof are great rappers, but the rest of them bunch isn't quite as good. Especially is Bizarre terrible to hear: he screws half the album with his afwul voice (i don't know how, but the Bizarre-problem seems here even bigger than the last D12 album). Some good numbers though like 'Get my gun' and 'How come' where of course Eminem & Proof Look, Eminem and Proof are great rappers, but the rest of them bunch isn't quite as good. Especially is Bizarre terrible to hear: he screws half the album with his afwul voice (i don't know how, but the Bizarre-problem seems here even bigger than the last D12 album). Some good numbers though like 'Get my gun' and 'How come' where of course Eminem & Proof shine out. That Proof-man should get a solo-album alright en Bizarre has to be kicked out, 'cause thats crap. Expand
  5. harryb
    May 28, 2004
    4
    Very dissapointing follow-up to the EXCELLENT "Devil's Night", which had great production, the main problem that "D12 World" suffers from. The beats are either average-to weak. Besides a few standouts from Dr. Dre and some songs later in the album, Eminem's beats are repetitive and really un-original piano-cinematic stuff that sound like leftovers from the G-Unit cd. Even the Very dissapointing follow-up to the EXCELLENT "Devil's Night", which had great production, the main problem that "D12 World" suffers from. The beats are either average-to weak. Besides a few standouts from Dr. Dre and some songs later in the album, Eminem's beats are repetitive and really un-original piano-cinematic stuff that sound like leftovers from the G-Unit cd. Even the Kanye West track is bad, which is saying a lot for such a great producer. This cd would've benefitted highly from better beats, more Eminem (on the mic) and less Bizzare, because let's face it he is funny but CANNOT RAP! Expand
  6. CountJuggernaut
    Aug 29, 2005
    6
    There were a few tracks that sucked bad, but there were also AMAZING tracks like How Come and Good Die Young
  7. Feb 20, 2012
    4
    This album was ok but ppl like Bizarre & Kuniva didnt deliver. Other rappers like Proof, Eminem, Kon Artist & Swift Were good. But some songs were just so bad
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Shock tactics and chest thumping still predominate, but satirical cuts... give this spit session much-needed polish. [30 Apr 2004, p.162]
  2. A likable ensemble effort, slopping over with infectious choruses and political incorrectness.
  3. Blender
    60
    The male affinity is so intense, it approaches homoeroticism. [#27, p.138]