• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jul 12, 2011
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 13, 2012
    60
    A compilation of the emo-punk band's favorite tracks, all reworked acoustically.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    70
    On Damnesia, the bare bones and glistening edges are on such clear display that even the most cheerful listener's day will be darkened by Alkaline Trio's gathering storm clouds.
  3. 60
    With a few shining moments, the band seems like they've given up. Rather than pine over an album full of memorable hits, Damnesia falls short in many ways.
  4. Damnesia satiates the appetite fans have for new material (as well as washing away the disappointing taste of 2010's This Addiction) while proving that an old band can still do new tricks.
  5. Jul 11, 2011
    60
    While Damnesia makes a surprisingly strong showcase for the Trio's songwriting chops, they should've taken a few more chances.
  6. Jul 29, 2011
    80
    A quiet but definite triumph. [9 Jul 2011, p.51]
  7. 60
    The album's best moment is "You've Got So Far To Go," which is straightforward without sacrificing nuance or energy. If only the rest of Damnesia could have been on that same wavelength. [Aug 2011, p.112]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    Good old Alkaline Trio, bringing back the glory days. Keep up the good work, most songs are on par with the original releases, a few I wouldGood old Alkaline Trio, bringing back the glory days. Keep up the good work, most songs are on par with the original releases, a few I would argue are better than the originals but a definite pick up for the alkaline trio fan. For newcomers, pick up Maybe I will Catch Fire. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    if your a trio fan you should be happy they're still creating music, and kicking ass at it. Listening to all the crap music that is comingif your a trio fan you should be happy they're still creating music, and kicking ass at it. Listening to all the crap music that is coming out, and ripping off the trio. They're a great concert to go to, and a life changing band. Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    I love this album so much! Hearing old classics redone acoustically is great and makes me feel like I'm able to listen from every angle. ThisI love this album so much! Hearing old classics redone acoustically is great and makes me feel like I'm able to listen from every angle. This album is great and I encourage everyone to buy it; whether old fans, new fans, or just hearing about them for the first time! Full Review »