Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Dec 20, 2010
    60
    For a band feeling they had painted themselves into a corner, this is them sodding the consequences and stomping their way out. [Dec 2010, p.96]
  2. Q Magazine
    Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Danger Days doesn't sound like the future, but it does sound like the sate of My Chemical Romance's art. [Dec 2010, p.102]
  3. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Danger Days is a record that too often passes by with a few cursory nods of the head and the odd prickle of emotion and swell of pride that is soon washed away by another ill-considered chorus repeat or bashful refusal to drive for the summit. It ambles, it slouches; it says little of consequence.
  4. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    Danger Days is a far cry from the artistic plane that The Black Parade sits on: it's a decent pop-rock album, a disastrously confused concept album, and even with its marketing, much is left to be desired.
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    The reason this convoluted rock opera can't match the Who, U2, Green Day, or even Styx is that Danger Days is a story constructed without rising or falling action.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    Danger Days definitely isn't worth it. If nothing else, it makes me interested to see where they'll go from here, but I find it saddening that the most likely future for them seems to be a breakup after this uninspired mess of an album.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Isn't it refreshing to hear a genuine rock n' roll album in todays' musical age of generic electronic auto-tuned pop garbage? Move over LaIsn't it refreshing to hear a genuine rock n' roll album in todays' musical age of generic electronic auto-tuned pop garbage? Move over La Roux, Lady Gaga, David Guetta, Cheryl Cole, JLS, Black Eyed Peas (the list goes on)... let the rip-roaring noise of guitars take the forefront once more! In 2019, Danger Days will be viewed as a modern masterpiece. Whether MCRs' vision of an apocalyptic corporation-run world will be reality at this point is another matter. But one things' for certain, this album is a huge statement that the band still aren't anywhere near packing up, despite previous speculation. From the very first space-age radio announcement from Dr Death Defying right through to the Rolling Stones-esque Vampire Money fair-well, Danger Days buzzes with electric energy and above all, fun. And it is evident this is the most fun the guys have experienced in their careers so far. A record jam-packed with fist-pumping punk, in the forms of "Destroya" (Rage Against the Machine anyone?) and "Party Poison", we only slow down on our journey with the Killjoys for the likes of such swinging ballads as "S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W" - in my opinion one of the greatest songs MCR have ever penned. By the end of this incredible rock journey, I was left longing to be there in Battery City with my laser pistol fighting off Dracs with the killjoys. The only other album that has had this kind of storytelling impact on me was another piece of concept genius, American Idiot, by Californian punk-rockers Green Day. I was a huge fan of The Black Parade, and would listen to it on repeat for days. But, if I'm entirely honest, Danger Days obliterates the 2006 award-winning album and sets the bar even higher. This record truly is "louder than Gods revolver and twice as shiny!" Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Regardless of how much I love a guy with insomniac eyes and a funerary demeanor, gone are the days of MCR with lank black hair, bulletproofRegardless of how much I love a guy with insomniac eyes and a funerary demeanor, gone are the days of MCR with lank black hair, bulletproof vests, and weepy breakup songs, and here are the days of leather junker jackets, comic-book colors, and kick-your-ass rock suitable even for people who own no black clothing and have never worn eyeliner.

    With Danger Days, the guys have successfully steered way clear of the emo that people took so much exception to in '05 and have come back swinging with one of the first genuine rock albums we've seen since Linkin Park's Meteora - not to mention a visual concept that'll knock your socks off.

    In terms of lyricism and general musical maturity, My Chem has hit their peak form with Danger Days and brought us a truly enjoyable album that drags them back from the precipice of being doomed to a highschool audience forever - a precipice on which they had been teetering dangerously for some time.


    Recommended tracks:

    Planetary (GO!)
    Party Poison
    Scarecrow
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    0
    This album wouldn't even make it on it's own. It is complete trash. I loved their past 3 albums. but this sounds like hollow dance rock madeThis album wouldn't even make it on it's own. It is complete trash. I loved their past 3 albums. but this sounds like hollow dance rock made by a 6 year old. I am no longer a fan of My Chemical Romance because of this. Full Review »