User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 125
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    While the order of the songs on the track is garbage (i.e. poppy dance song, mellow ballad, poppy dance song... you get me), it all just sounds damn good. While being a scaled down effort compared to The Black Parade, four years worth of maturing and experience has created a tighter sound for the band. While not going to attract as much attention as its predecessor, any fan of MCR canWhile the order of the songs on the track is garbage (i.e. poppy dance song, mellow ballad, poppy dance song... you get me), it all just sounds damn good. While being a scaled down effort compared to The Black Parade, four years worth of maturing and experience has created a tighter sound for the band. While not going to attract as much attention as its predecessor, any fan of MCR can listen to the elements from all their previous albums amongst the songs. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2011
    7
    I must admit, I was a huge fan of My Chemical Romance's second album, ""Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge." Normally I'm underwhelmed by a following album, but "The Black Parade" proved me wrong.

    With Danger Days, I was expecting another theatrical styled emo/rock album and was surprised by the change. At first I disliked the change - I missed the strong guitar riffs such as in "Dead!" and
    I must admit, I was a huge fan of My Chemical Romance's second album, ""Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge." Normally I'm underwhelmed by a following album, but "The Black Parade" proved me wrong.

    With Danger Days, I was expecting another theatrical styled emo/rock album and was surprised by the change. At first I disliked the change - I missed the strong guitar riffs such as in "Dead!" and the powerful vocals emphasised in the past album. Whilst the lyrics are centered around an apocalyptic future - the songs somehow feel upbeat. However my opinion changed after a couple playthroughs of Danger Days. The songs are definitely catchy and enjoyable. My favourites being "SING" and "Planetary [Go!]." My only complaint would be that the album seems to fizzle out towards the end. Whilst MCR's style has changed - the energy is still there. A fun album, just not as great as their previous.
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Danger Days. A departure, to be sure, from previous MCR albums, but a successful one. The first four songs on the album (Na Na Na, Bulletproof Heart, Sing and PLANETARY) are blazing with attitude and a punk-style outlook which is refreshing, both in light of modern-day consumer Techno-pop and the darkness of their previous releases. The pace drops slightly after this, but hits back withDanger Days. A departure, to be sure, from previous MCR albums, but a successful one. The first four songs on the album (Na Na Na, Bulletproof Heart, Sing and PLANETARY) are blazing with attitude and a punk-style outlook which is refreshing, both in light of modern-day consumer Techno-pop and the darkness of their previous releases. The pace drops slightly after this, but hits back with the rousing Party Poison. The finish is a slight anticlimax, but only because of the high standard of the album's beginning.

    The album's concept is original and brilliantly executed (the videos for Na Na Na and Sing are especially good in this regard - I suggest you give them a watch). Overall, Danger Days will appeal to a far wider spectrum of fans than any MCR album before, and is definitely worth a listen. For those fans of their previous efforts, do not despair - so am I, but this is even better!
    Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    es increible este album es increible la diversidad y la gran variedad de sonidos de esta banda en the three su primer album vimos un ritmo emo un poco punk osea y opera yo lo llame revolucion rock opera emo/punk el el segundo album the black parade allamos un poco de opera otro poco under y punk increible con hardcore y speedrock y heavymetal y en este vemso un ritmo totalmente nuevo yes increible este album es increible la diversidad y la gran variedad de sonidos de esta banda en the three su primer album vimos un ritmo emo un poco punk osea y opera yo lo llame revolucion rock opera emo/punk el el segundo album the black parade allamos un poco de opera otro poco under y punk increible con hardcore y speedrock y heavymetal y en este vemso un ritmo totalmente nuevo y evolucionado un poco de rock and roll baby con eletronica y punk increible Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Isn't it refreshing to hear a genuine rock n' roll album in todays' musical age of generic electronic auto-tuned pop garbage? Move over La Roux, Lady Gaga, David Guetta, Cheryl Cole, JLS, Black Eyed Peas (the list goes on)... let the rip-roaring noise of guitars take the forefront once more! In 2019, Danger Days will be viewed as a modern masterpiece. Whether MCRs' vision of an apocalypticIsn't it refreshing to hear a genuine rock n' roll album in todays' musical age of generic electronic auto-tuned pop garbage? Move over La Roux, Lady Gaga, David Guetta, Cheryl Cole, JLS, Black Eyed Peas (the list goes on)... let the rip-roaring noise of guitars take the forefront once more! In 2019, Danger Days will be viewed as a modern masterpiece. Whether MCRs' vision of an apocalyptic corporation-run world will be reality at this point is another matter. But one things' for certain, this album is a huge statement that the band still aren't anywhere near packing up, despite previous speculation. From the very first space-age radio announcement from Dr Death Defying right through to the Rolling Stones-esque Vampire Money fair-well, Danger Days buzzes with electric energy and above all, fun. And it is evident this is the most fun the guys have experienced in their careers so far. A record jam-packed with fist-pumping punk, in the forms of "Destroya" (Rage Against the Machine anyone?) and "Party Poison", we only slow down on our journey with the Killjoys for the likes of such swinging ballads as "S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W" - in my opinion one of the greatest songs MCR have ever penned. By the end of this incredible rock journey, I was left longing to be there in Battery City with my laser pistol fighting off Dracs with the killjoys. The only other album that has had this kind of storytelling impact on me was another piece of concept genius, American Idiot, by Californian punk-rockers Green Day. I was a huge fan of The Black Parade, and would listen to it on repeat for days. But, if I'm entirely honest, Danger Days obliterates the 2006 award-winning album and sets the bar even higher. This record truly is "louder than Gods revolver and twice as shiny!" Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    It's a real rock album, treading in both old and unfamiliar grounds, but there's a lack of emotion and inability to get me feel the music involuntarily. They can't make an arena rock song if KISS and King Crimson joined them, so they should just stick to dark emo rock.
  7. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Regardless of how much I love a guy with insomniac eyes and a funerary demeanor, gone are the days of MCR with lank black hair, bulletproof vests, and weepy breakup songs, and here are the days of leather junker jackets, comic-book colors, and kick-your-ass rock suitable even for people who own no black clothing and have never worn eyeliner.

    With Danger Days, the guys have successfully
    Regardless of how much I love a guy with insomniac eyes and a funerary demeanor, gone are the days of MCR with lank black hair, bulletproof vests, and weepy breakup songs, and here are the days of leather junker jackets, comic-book colors, and kick-your-ass rock suitable even for people who own no black clothing and have never worn eyeliner.

    With Danger Days, the guys have successfully steered way clear of the emo that people took so much exception to in '05 and have come back swinging with one of the first genuine rock albums we've seen since Linkin Park's Meteora - not to mention a visual concept that'll knock your socks off.

    In terms of lyricism and general musical maturity, My Chem has hit their peak form with Danger Days and brought us a truly enjoyable album that drags them back from the precipice of being doomed to a highschool audience forever - a precipice on which they had been teetering dangerously for some time.


    Recommended tracks:

    Planetary (GO!)
    Party Poison
    Scarecrow
    Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    A FANTASTIC album. I have not been this blown away by a piece of work like this in a very long time. The album is as flawless as any album I have ever heard with only one track that I'm not a big fan of (DESTROYA). From Na Na Na to Vampire Money, this album has it all.
  9. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Blown Away. That pretty much sums up my reaction to this album. To be honest I was not expecting such a well-rounded, brilliant album. But they delivered. Hands Down.

    Standout Tracks:

    Bulletproof Heart
    Planetary (GO!)
    The Only Hope For Me Is You
    Summertime


    This album thoroughly deserves a 10/10. Right up there with the Black Keys as best album of the year
  10. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Danger Days certainly signifies a change in genre for My Chemical Romance. While their last album, The Black Parade, was a homage to classic rock bands such as Queen, this album is more contemporary. It is a rock album which is similar to contemporary pop efforts in ways. The first single of the album is called "Na na na na na"; that should speak for itself. People who want a screamDanger Days certainly signifies a change in genre for My Chemical Romance. While their last album, The Black Parade, was a homage to classic rock bands such as Queen, this album is more contemporary. It is a rock album which is similar to contemporary pop efforts in ways. The first single of the album is called "Na na na na na"; that should speak for itself. People who want a scream laden album that sounds similar to "three cheers for sweet revenge" or "i brought you my bullets..." may be disappointed. But overall, in it's own right, it's a very good album. Expand
  11. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One thing is for sure in the music business now adays. My Chemical Romance and Kanye West will never fail in creating pieces of art for the music world. These guys just don't know how to fail. Gerard Way is just getting better too. They changed their sound but you still know deep down that this is what My Chemical Romance wanted. It would be impossible to try and say lets make an albumOne thing is for sure in the music business now adays. My Chemical Romance and Kanye West will never fail in creating pieces of art for the music world. These guys just don't know how to fail. Gerard Way is just getting better too. They changed their sound but you still know deep down that this is what My Chemical Romance wanted. It would be impossible to try and say lets make an album better than The Black Parade and keep that sound because they already perfected that area. Now they are in an area of their own and they have perfected it once again! Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. About four years ago, an album was released which rocked the foundations of my 15-year-old existence. This was the infamous Black Parade album, a glam/pop/rock/pomp rock album that seemed like The Misfits molesting a Queen album - it was wonderful. 4 years on, threats of breakups and a hyped expectation of what was come has amounted to this moment, My Chemical Romance have finally produced another album, their fourth in total.

    So what can I say about this album? Firstly, everything you've heard, seen and loved about the former three albums; forget it. Store it away under a different file, although the same personnel (barring the drummer Boy Bryar) and the same name, they are a different entity altogether. Gerard Way stated how he came to loathe the 'TBP' image and how it was impeding their progress as a band. That much is obvious from the opening track, Gerard & co. have definitely (and rightly so...) decided to tear apart all that they ever were before. Lets not forget, they have now hit their thirties and are married and have kids.

    The opening track labelled 'Look Alive, Sunshine" starts off the album in some sort of freestyle-rap to set the concept that will shape the rest of the record, this rapper is a radio DJ that crops up several times in the album, all we know is he calls himself Dr.Death. The track morphs into the first single off the album and perhaps their strongest track overall, called....Na Na Na (Na Na...yeah, you get it...) Its full of scathing lyrics about the past, about taking life by the scruff of the neck including a break-down where Gerard rambles non-sensically about...well, I'm not all too sure, but its pretty awe-inspiring all the same. The song is full of bite, catchy - but more of a pop song than a stripped down rock song as is advertised by the MCR clan. Don't get me wrong, its a good song and the pop style actually works, though its feeble ending to the track fizzles out the first track, which until then was at least making a strong statement about the band's direction.

    Okay, third track; Bulletproof Heart. Intriguing title, and like Na Na Na, its catchy and again has a certain pop element to it. Good song, though the beginning smacks of something that could pass on a Girls Aloud or possibly *shudders* a Justin Bieber album. Lyrics like 'Gravity don't mean too much to me, I'm who I've got to be' definitely set it apart as a leading track in my humble opinion and give back some of the old My Chemical Romance feel from the past. However, deep lyrics like this throughout most of the album are either non-existant, or are cloaked by generic riffs and glossy song formats. It seems to me on my second listen that MCR are making a statement by...not making a statement, perhaps I'm missing something.

    Sing is the fourth track on the album, and I'm very mixed on this one. For me, it possibly has the most passion in it and stands out from the fillers in the rest of the album. Problem is, I feel there just isn't enough content in the song for it to stand by itself, it seems a little...empty in all honesty, its just missing something. Perhaps its a little repetitive, or that it sounds like its been done before...not sure, it just sounds like a tired attempt at what could have been very special, but instead, is just a good song.

    Planetary (GO!) is next on the list. I remember reading somewhere that Gerard was a fan of Lady Gaga, thats definitely obvious in this song. I don't like it in all honesty, its fast paced and dynamic, but seems very much to be a filler on the album. The album seems to get a little lost in a haze of fog at this point and the fillers seem to come in a block, next song is 'The Only Hope For Me' which again is a little repetitive and stinks of auto-tuning and playing about with synths and whatnot to enhance the sound of a distinctly average song, though the lyrics are heartfelt and there is passion emanating from Gerard's voice, the drumbeat salvages the tune. Good for a drive with the top down.

    Track 7 is Dr.Death again, introduces track 8, m'kay. Some kind of Japanese (I presume) woman introduces the song before Gerard chimes in 'Everybody pay attention to me, I got the answer' and it definitely demands your attention at that. The name says it all, 'Party Poison.' Sounds like a perfect track for black-clad teens to jump around their living rooms to with the alcohol their big brothers bought them, again lacks content, but good beat.

    Character limits will be the death of me. I see Track 9 'Save Yourself...' as another filler to the album...to be honest, most songs sound very similar to each other, something you didn't get on the 3 previous albums. Track 10 'SCARECROW' comes close to being a favourite here for me, it sounds a little like a Dashboard Confessional song, and is a gushing song that contrasts sweetly to the rest of the album. Kids from Yesterday is the next song worth holding onto.
    Overall, an album full of adequate fillers.
    Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    A near perfect album. The music sets a tone that is consistent throughout. Consistently fun. Tracks like "Planetary (GO!)" could just as easily be played at a club as well as during a rock show. What a departure from previous albums! Wow! Truly music ahead of its time.
  14. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    I love this upbeat MCR album; Its not emo like thier other album but its a really good album i love it. The songs are so good on this album. This album contains alot of good songs. I like the new mcr more. This band made too many dark songs i think it was time for them to make more happy songs. One of the best rock album of 2010
  15. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    pienso que este album, es una convinacion de los grandes exitos de esta banda, se nota en una estetica musical tiene una consolidacion, cada tema presenta claramente lo que quiere demostrar la banda, y no queda mas que decirles a los amantes de mcr que este es un gran disco, en el cual tiene que mostrar lo que mcr ha sido en estos 10 años.
  16. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    This is very different to The Black Parade. Gone are those military jackets, heavy on the emotion and the eyeliner. My Chemical Romance are still fans of the concept album and it seems as if it is about four outlaws on the run from an evil corporation. Their distant punk sound is obvious in their album, but unlike Green Day, they incorporate other genres and influences. Elements of metal,This is very different to The Black Parade. Gone are those military jackets, heavy on the emotion and the eyeliner. My Chemical Romance are still fans of the concept album and it seems as if it is about four outlaws on the run from an evil corporation. Their distant punk sound is obvious in their album, but unlike Green Day, they incorporate other genres and influences. Elements of metal, pop and rock and the tracks bring out emotion that is similar to Smashing Pumpkins, who seem as if they were an obvious influence on the band. MCR are a fan of tracks with massive, epic choruses, such as SING. The bands sense of humour is seen on tracks such as Vampire Money, which seems to be taking aim at the growing popularity of gothic themes in entertainment. The music is more fun as well, with tracks like Na Na Na impossible to not like. Other highlights include Planetry Go! and Destroya. This album is not going to please all fans, but its refreshing to see a band in the Alternative Rock scene trying something new even if it means leaving a group that they are associated with. This album has everything that requires a ten: variety of emotions, many ideas, an eclectric mixture of influences and a rewarding listen. 10/10. Expand
  17. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    My Chemical Romance (MCR) made a big change from their popular album 'Black Parade' in 2006. Their new album, entitled 'Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys', has become their alterego.

    MCR was perceived as an Emo band when they released the album 'Black Parade'. The MCR personnel actually do not like the image. But their music arguably represents the center of the emo
    My Chemical Romance (MCR) made a big change from their popular album 'Black Parade' in 2006. Their new album, entitled 'Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys', has become their alterego.

    MCR was perceived as an Emo band when they released the album 'Black Parade'. The MCR personnel actually do not like the image. But their music arguably represents the center of the emo style popular at the time.

    In this fourth album, MCR took a drastic step. No more scream-filled, emotional guitar leads. Or cry of distress in the middle of their angry lyrics .

    If you never knew MCR before, maybe you will not believe that the song 'Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na)' on this album is sung MCR. Major changes occurred through the chords that are more matured in this song.

    But make no mistake, you can still sing-along with some other songs. Like their third single 'SING'. Another catchy singles are also able to lull the ear like 'Bulletproof Heart' and 'The Only Hope for Me Is You '. 'Summertime' could be a hot song to accompany your leisure time.

    Last March, Bob Bryar MCR left the band, and they kept going. Maybe you'll find different strokes aura in this album. But the different strokes makes this album unique. On the whole album 'Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys' do sound very much different from the 'Black Parade'. But new things presented by MCR received many positive responses, me included.
    Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Amazing album I love the prog feel, it kind of feels like the asension from a dark void into a colorful new world, thought its more electronic it still has the same punk rock sound found in 3 cheers and TBP. I specially likes "S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W, The kids from Yesterday, Sing, Planterery, NaNaNa, and Party Poison. It's not just an album its a story told in every song, MCR fights te evilAmazing album I love the prog feel, it kind of feels like the asension from a dark void into a colorful new world, thought its more electronic it still has the same punk rock sound found in 3 cheers and TBP. I specially likes "S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W, The kids from Yesterday, Sing, Planterery, NaNaNa, and Party Poison. It's not just an album its a story told in every song, MCR fights te evil Draculoids and Dr. Death Defying to save the rocket kids, you really get wrapped into it. Expand
  19. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Great album that is undermined by emo a-holes who to begin with are stupid for even calling them emo, this change from dark and colorless themes found in 3 cheers for sweet revenge and The Black Parade have been replaced with a more colorful and progressive rock theme that seems to resemble the music of Bon Jovi, MCR has succesfully made the transition.
  20. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I guess I'm the first to write a fan review. Such a great album. Complete from start to finish. There isn't a song on here that I wouldn't listen to or didn't like. My Chemical Romance managed to keep their sound intact despite radically changing the mood and sound of the band. For me an album is rated based on replay value, and this is definitely worth listening to again and again. 8I guess I'm the first to write a fan review. Such a great album. Complete from start to finish. There isn't a song on here that I wouldn't listen to or didn't like. My Chemical Romance managed to keep their sound intact despite radically changing the mood and sound of the band. For me an album is rated based on replay value, and this is definitely worth listening to again and again. 8 Songs from the album made it onto my main playlist, because they are so fun to listen to. Some fans are disappointed with the new sound because it's not dark or aggressive enough. It's even been called pop. Something tells me that none of these songs would end up on the same playlist as Ke$ha or Lady Gaga. Good complete rock album. Can't find anything wrong with it, and it speaks to how good the CD is that my least favorite song on the album S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W is still a great song. Anyone who can still apply the label emo to My Chemical Romance, obviously hasn't listened to this album. Because, the whole overally, overriding message of Danger Days, is to live and enjoy life everyday like it's your last day on Earth. Life is too good and too fun to be wasted, and it encourages us not to waste it (The future is bulletproof, the aftermath is secondary). I wouldn't call it a perfect album, as some of the songs, while they were good, could have been a bit better, like Summertime. But all in all, it was a good album and it was worth the wait for sure. Expand
  21. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Great freaking album, one you can listen to from start to finish multiple times without tiring of it. It kicks off with "Look Alive, Sunshine", basically an intro to the album, and kicks off with an upbeat opening track "Na Na Na". The album is filled with mostly upbeat punk anthems, taking a departure from their dark, agressive tone of "The Black Parade, "Three Cheers" and their debutGreat freaking album, one you can listen to from start to finish multiple times without tiring of it. It kicks off with "Look Alive, Sunshine", basically an intro to the album, and kicks off with an upbeat opening track "Na Na Na". The album is filled with mostly upbeat punk anthems, taking a departure from their dark, agressive tone of "The Black Parade, "Three Cheers" and their debut album. In most ways, this is their best album, though it's hard to compare to their previous albums. I recommend this album to both MCR fans, and even people who DIDN'T like their previous work. Expand
  22. Mar 15, 2011
    1
    Album is awful. It's easy to hear which songs were outtakes from 3 Cheers, and which ones were outtakes from Black Parade. While some of the songs are alright, none of them stand up to repeated listen, and the CD is essentially a mashup of unreleased material from two earlier (and very different) albums. There's a reason this stuff didn't make the cut. And to throw it all together in aAlbum is awful. It's easy to hear which songs were outtakes from 3 Cheers, and which ones were outtakes from Black Parade. While some of the songs are alright, none of them stand up to repeated listen, and the CD is essentially a mashup of unreleased material from two earlier (and very different) albums. There's a reason this stuff didn't make the cut. And to throw it all together in a nonsense package makes the error more glaring. Plus most of this stuff is redundant. Save Yourself, I'll Hold Them Back doesn't sound a little familiar to you diehard MCR fans? You must not be listening to your music very closely. I've known MCR was a studio band since 3 cheers (song construction, layers, and overall complexity was impossibly above their debut). But even as a studio album 3 cheers is awesome. Black Parade was so-so for me. Sorta chasing a Pink Floyd/Queen approach to a concept album, but coming off a little fake in half the tracks. Like they didn't have a concept, but they wanted to do a concept album...

    This one is just ridiculous. Didn't Way declare that this was going to be a straight rock album? He was done with doing concept work? This was going to blow everyone away? Nope, another concept album, without the concept, or a hook. Not one memorable song on this album. I usually think of them as, "That song from the album that sounds kinda like [earlier work] but not as good."
    Expand
  23. Feb 13, 2011
    2
    Biggest disappointment of 2010. This is one of my favourite bands but this album is not the band I have grown to love. It's polished and poppy and unoriginal in sound. In multiple interviews, lead singer Gerard Way promised readers that the album was going to be more underground, harder, and more true to their roots but this is more Lady Gaga than the Misfits. Try again, boys.
  24. Nov 24, 2010
    0
    This album wouldn't even make it on it's own. It is complete trash. I loved their past 3 albums. but this sounds like hollow dance rock made by a 6 year old. I am no longer a fan of My Chemical Romance because of this.
  25. Jan 8, 2011
    5
    It is a refreshing album, but Danger Days falls a little dull with each listen. The concept is pretty cool though. The sound is different from their previous album The Black Parade. It's not a BAD different sounding, but it just gets kinda boring more toward the end of the album. A few tracks I really like though are "Na Na Na", "Destroya", and "The Only Hope For Me Is You". But All InIt is a refreshing album, but Danger Days falls a little dull with each listen. The concept is pretty cool though. The sound is different from their previous album The Black Parade. It's not a BAD different sounding, but it just gets kinda boring more toward the end of the album. A few tracks I really like though are "Na Na Na", "Destroya", and "The Only Hope For Me Is You". But All In All, this album is somewhat a disappointment considering The Black Parade was an amazing album. C+ Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    Look alive sunshine, New Jersey's very own band of merry (atomic) men has returned with their fourth studio album respectively titled: Danger Days: The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys. My Chemical Romance has long waved the black flag of gloomy, dark rock. Boasting such dark-as-midnight singles like "Helena","Welcome To The Black Parade" and "Dead!". Vocalist Gerard Way, has lead theLook alive sunshine, New Jersey's very own band of merry (atomic) men has returned with their fourth studio album respectively titled: Danger Days: The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys. My Chemical Romance has long waved the black flag of gloomy, dark rock. Boasting such dark-as-midnight singles like "Helena","Welcome To The Black Parade" and "Dead!". Vocalist Gerard Way, has lead the band to grow a massive fanbase dedicated to this dark sound. But he's sick of it. Way has often spoken out againt being accused of being a "emo" band, and openly refuses to become obligatory rock band sellouts. He's done running the same ground, so's the whole band. So, he's gone and dyed his hair bright red, boasting a laser gun and masquerade mask, ready to make a name for the band, and have fun doing it. Danger Days: The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys marks a turning point in MCR's tried and true sound. It's the bastard child of a scrapped earlier album, and the band members just wanting to have fun.

    The entire album just sounds like a massive blast for Way and his gang. As if they wrote the songs in a desire to satisfy themselves, and I assume that's what they've done. And in truth, their loud, synth infused anthems are just as fun for the listener as it probably was for the band.

    Each song is given a new level of energy never before matched by My Chem Romance. It's invigorating, really. Tracks like "Na na na (na na na na na na na na)" send out a message of anger, and rebellion, in a way that doesn't mention death or sadness, rather passion. Other songs like "SING" rather, present uplifting synth riffs and upbeat lyrics, transmitting a message of hope. In the end, each track is able to stand alone with it's own message and identity, and with 15 tracks most (Not all) ranging from 3-5 minutes, you get a nice long album filled with some of the best music of the year. My one complaint would be that certain songs seem to be given more effort than others. Such as the killer: "The Only Hope For Me Is You", when contrasted with the less popular (but still amazing) dark ballad: S/C/A/R/E/C/R/O/W.

    The album itself is a concept album if I've ever seen one, telling the story of "The fabulous killjoys": a group of outlaws fighting the evil "Better Living Industries" in a post apocalyptic california 2019. The Killjoys represent the hope of color and expression, while BLI represent greed and facelessness. The lyrics of the album often make references to the death or unavoidable death of the Killjoys, but never in a sad way. It's almost as if the album portrays the opposite message of 2004's monster "The Black Parade" which told the story of a dying cancer patient. All in all, Danger Days is a bullseye amongst a year of album missfires. The tracks are powerful, infused with all of the rebellious spirit you would expect from say, green day, with the musical and lyrical powerhouse of My Chemical Romance. If this album should signify anything to the band, it's that they are on a good path. Moving away from the doom-and-gloom of their previous releases, My Chemical Romance has entered a brave new world of their own creation. A perfect 10.
    Expand
  27. May 4, 2011
    0
    I like the music.. but the voice is just unbearable. Sorry, MCR. I will never be your fan. No matter how these pseudo "artistic" clips are, I just do not take it. Why should be a music album be designed like a comic book? OK, OK, Gerard Way draws comics. But there is one big BUT. It just does not belong together. It is a funny concept, but nothing more. And once again about the voice - II like the music.. but the voice is just unbearable. Sorry, MCR. I will never be your fan. No matter how these pseudo "artistic" clips are, I just do not take it. Why should be a music album be designed like a comic book? OK, OK, Gerard Way draws comics. But there is one big BUT. It just does not belong together. It is a funny concept, but nothing more. And once again about the voice - I dislike it. It is clean, but harsh. Not very pleasant to hear. It is in a frequency that tears my ears. I am sorry for giving 1 point, but I have to. Expand
  28. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    I absolutely cannot stand this album. I feeling like bawling my eyes out when I listen to it. I have been trying to accept it but My Chemical Romance is just trying too hard to become mainstream, unoriginal, and more pop than anything else. I have loved this band since I heard of them, at about age 9. They're cemented into my life. This album should be cemented into the ground. I'm disgusted.
  29. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    It's definitely not the greatest album, nor unique in songwriting. And MCR is really leaving it Emoesqe label behind to make this original, high energy, and surprisingly entertaining. the Album opens up with a darkly comedic and crazy Dr, Death telling all the killjoys to make some noise, which of course Gerard and the gang deliver this request. All the songs are strong excluding perhapsIt's definitely not the greatest album, nor unique in songwriting. And MCR is really leaving it Emoesqe label behind to make this original, high energy, and surprisingly entertaining. the Album opens up with a darkly comedic and crazy Dr, Death telling all the killjoys to make some noise, which of course Gerard and the gang deliver this request. All the songs are strong excluding perhaps Destroya a total metalhead piece where you can just hear the world falling apart. Trust me its up there in Album of the year. Expand
  30. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Great album. Their best since Bullets. I'm a huge fan of MCR, and this fails to disappoint. Their style has changed from dark (not emo though) alt. rock to a more punky edge. So some fans will be disappointed, some fans will be gained, but I like this album along with Bullets, 3 Cheers, and Parade.
  31. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    After The Black Parade and the four years that followed without new music, I'll admit - I was a tad nervous as to what was coming. Rumors of the band parting their ways and with the album being described as a "love letter to rock & roll" - well it didn't make matters any better. Their drummer than parted ways with the band and it seemed everything was falling apart. Then Danger DaysAfter The Black Parade and the four years that followed without new music, I'll admit - I was a tad nervous as to what was coming. Rumors of the band parting their ways and with the album being described as a "love letter to rock & roll" - well it didn't make matters any better. Their drummer than parted ways with the band and it seemed everything was falling apart. Then Danger Days dropped. And the thoughts that people had about My Chemical Romance had exploded. The super dark Black Parade transformed into the Killjoys, who seemed to be having something called fun. Who knew?!
    Three songs that I would recommend would be SING, Planetary (GO!), and Vampire Money. These songs sound nothing like the older works of My Chemical Romance, but still manage to have the same feel. SING takes songs like "The Ghost of You" and "I Don't Love You" and flips them on their backs by having a slow cruise ride drive into 88 miles per hour when Gerard blares into a rant of speech. The song is an anthem and the great thing about it is that it could be played with a large crowd of people at a festival or a small club with 20 watchers. Planetary (GO!) shows a complete change in My Chemical Romance and it seems to be a song that people who detested MCR might actually enjoy. It's a straight up party song that just makes you want to dance (and perhaps speed if you're driving). It's a song they've worked on for years and haven't been able to accomplish it till now. It's a My Chemical Romance song with synth. Never thought I'd see such things. And of course, there's the album's closer - Vampire Money, a rough rock and roll rumble. Vampire Money seems like a song that would fit in well with their first album. It literally strips everything that's My Chemical Romance - costumes, makeup, stories. It's all gone and is a "One, two, f*ck you" to doing things simply for money. It's instantaneously a classic for any My Chemical Romance fan, and rather, a classic for any alternative rock fan. The album definitely delivers in ways that are unbelievable. Overall, I review the album as 9 out of 10 simply because I would have liked to seen more guitar work on the album. The synth works perfectly in a lot of the songs but sometimes it seems to overpower it in some parts. However, it's a great record. In one interview the vocalist Gerard mentioned how a friend thought that this CD made MCR's past work irrelevant. Personally, I listened to the Black Parade the other day and found this to partially be true. I was so enthused by the album that the Black Parade seemed to fall in the cracks. The number one reason why this is some of My Chemical Romance's best work - you can hear them having fun on it. And that's what music is all about.
    Expand
  32. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    A huge step foward for MCR. As someone who previously labelled this band as "emo," and refused to give them the time of day, I am now reluctantly eating my **** words. This is simply a brilliant straight up Punk album. The guitars, in particular, are sublime and Gerard Way's vocals sound revitalised and better than they've ever been. The concept isn't really there but that doesen't hinderA huge step foward for MCR. As someone who previously labelled this band as "emo," and refused to give them the time of day, I am now reluctantly eating my **** words. This is simply a brilliant straight up Punk album. The guitars, in particular, are sublime and Gerard Way's vocals sound revitalised and better than they've ever been. The concept isn't really there but that doesen't hinder Danger Days which is all about the punchy rock anthems, the arena-worthy choruses and the way they pummel through every single song with unyielding confidence and Green Day-esque brilliance. This is a band storming their way out of obscurity and mediocrity with dazzling ferociousness and without fuss. "Scarecrow" is a must-listen. Keep it up lads... Expand
  33. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    The only thing that could lead the rocker's mind away from enjoying this album is if it's strictly compared to My Chemical Romance's earlier albums. Danger Days has a mind of it's own. It's a new, modern sound that's influences come from many different ages of music. It's impressive when a band takes on a new style and it works. The album goes from old school rock sounds to 30 Seconds toThe only thing that could lead the rocker's mind away from enjoying this album is if it's strictly compared to My Chemical Romance's earlier albums. Danger Days has a mind of it's own. It's a new, modern sound that's influences come from many different ages of music. It's impressive when a band takes on a new style and it works. The album goes from old school rock sounds to 30 Seconds to Mars-esque spacey songs. The theme of the album captures a fun, fast paced kinda mood and the difference between Danger Days and the old albums is that it actually puts you in a good mood rather than bringing you down. Teen angst days are over, there is a higher demand in good music now a day and Danger Days definitely meets the standards of modern punk-rock. Expand
  34. May 24, 2011
    6
    This is rock and roll. This is the way forwards for rock music. But this, sadly, is not the MCR fans will have been expecting. It pumps out some great ballads, and has an incredible perception and storyline, but ultimately leaves you thinking what just happened. A great experiment, hampered by the band killing some of it's own appeal in the process.
  35. May 17, 2011
    10
    I picked up Danger Days on a complete whim after not listening to MCR in 4+ years. I started at the beginning and listened in chronological order (be sure you listen to it in order) and was blown away, not to mention caught off guard by, the totally funky "non-emo" borderline techno roller-disco dance stuff that I've been listening to it non-stop ever since!! I adore the narration andI picked up Danger Days on a complete whim after not listening to MCR in 4+ years. I started at the beginning and listened in chronological order (be sure you listen to it in order) and was blown away, not to mention caught off guard by, the totally funky "non-emo" borderline techno roller-disco dance stuff that I've been listening to it non-stop ever since!! I adore the narration and had no trouble "falling in" to the post apocalyptic world MCR are showing us. I'll be honest, I've never had more FUN listening to music!

    I would call Danger Days ALMOST a complete departure from the old stuff but this totally fun and totally charged album does everything right in a totally new direction, yet Gerard's familiar emotion-packed noises and yells are ever-present if that's what blows your hair back. If you're one of the people who couldn't (or never tried to) handle the old stuff, FORGET everything you think you know about MCR, pick up Danger Days and let your mind be blown.

    "Shut up and let me see your jazz hands!"
    Expand
  36. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    I was never a fan on the band's earlier material. In fact, I still dislike the first few albums. But this album proved to be a surprise. It's fun all the way through in a silly kind of way and deffinatly memorable.
  37. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    There can only be one greatest album of all time and that is danger days. My chemical romance is making a great set of songs that should all be number 1 on the hot 100 with standouts kids from yesterday and planetary go that will make you want to dance. This is a true masterpiece that will be I will view as the best album of my life unless my chemical romance can hopefully top it again IThere can only be one greatest album of all time and that is danger days. My chemical romance is making a great set of songs that should all be number 1 on the hot 100 with standouts kids from yesterday and planetary go that will make you want to dance. This is a true masterpiece that will be I will view as the best album of my life unless my chemical romance can hopefully top it again I give my chemical romance there 4th 10 out 10 Expand
  38. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    It was really good, especially the first half of the album. There was a couple of songs that didn't really fit the album, though (Summertime + Save yourself I'll hold them back). I particularly enjoyed the songs Bulletproof Heart, Planetary (GO!) and The Kids From Yesterday.
  39. Nov 3, 2011
    6
    This album is a stray away from the original MCR feel, it's a lot more 'popy' then previous albums so long time MCR fans may be disappointed, But still a fun exiting album.
  40. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    I love this album since i bought it the day that it came out. It's great.When you listen to it it's like your entering the world of the Fabulous killjoys.MCR are great artists.They alter their image and advance their sound with every album,which is what great bands and artists do. They have no limits they do what their hearts say. This album especially Na Na Na sounds like a kick ass highI love this album since i bought it the day that it came out. It's great.When you listen to it it's like your entering the world of the Fabulous killjoys.MCR are great artists.They alter their image and advance their sound with every album,which is what great bands and artists do. They have no limits they do what their hearts say. This album especially Na Na Na sounds like a kick ass high voltage saturday morning cartoon. It's fun rock and roll music in a fast car haling ass through the desert. Each song is great,I can't even name my favorite.I would say my least favorite are the only hope for me is you and Planetary,then I listen to those realize those are amazing songs.This is a very underrated album,which deserves much better.MCR is also incredible yet underrated for how talented they truly are. Expand
  41. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Changing your sound is a brave move and it doesn't often come off very well, but this isn't always the case with Danger Days, which provides highs that reach MCR's peaks and lows that define their lows. The sound change followed directly from the mega-hit 'The Black Parade' which is one of the bravest changes in history, meaning the band was putting a lot on the line, but with 2/3s of theChanging your sound is a brave move and it doesn't often come off very well, but this isn't always the case with Danger Days, which provides highs that reach MCR's peaks and lows that define their lows. The sound change followed directly from the mega-hit 'The Black Parade' which is one of the bravest changes in history, meaning the band was putting a lot on the line, but with 2/3s of the album being very good and worth listening to and the other 1/3 being filler, although it is hit and miss, it is still definitely an album that is worth a listen. Expand
  42. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    Is this the honest direction which My Chemical Romance want to end up taking? My Chemical Romance released Danger Days a while after spending much time recording previous songs which never were released to the public until now...approx two or three years after Danger Days was released. Gerard Way has seem to always been the main focus of My Chemical Romance, though now it seems as if heIs this the honest direction which My Chemical Romance want to end up taking? My Chemical Romance released Danger Days a while after spending much time recording previous songs which never were released to the public until now...approx two or three years after Danger Days was released. Gerard Way has seem to always been the main focus of My Chemical Romance, though now it seems as if he has complete control of everything--to the point where My Chemical Romance isn't even My Chemical Romance anymore. The album is a complete mess of songs which feel as if they don't belong, and they don't as they were never recorded for this album, they were recorded previously during the days when Bob Bryar was involved with the band. Every album recorded and released by My Chemical Romance previously all sounded completely different, though they all had the same feel to them--making them work well together. Danger Days completely throws this out and makes no connection towards the other records. If this album happened to have been released as one of the original three, it would have screwed My Chemical Romance over. It seems to be the fact that it took them four years to get a new album out, that the younger fans are willing to love what was released no matter how good or bad it ended up being. This is an album for either the new My Chemical Romance fans, or those who have never taken an interest in My Chemical Romance. Expand
  43. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Not surprisingly, MCR change their style in every new job, because obviously no exception.
    Perhaps for many, especially the fans, not like this new work,
    because they are not at all similar to comparison of The Black Parade, taking ortho ground in the sound, with less hard and more electronic. This may disappoint many MCR fans because we've never seen that style, if there are songs that
    Not surprisingly, MCR change their style in every new job, because obviously no exception.
    Perhaps for many, especially the fans, not like this new work,
    because they are not at all similar to comparison of The Black Parade, taking ortho ground in the sound, with less hard and more electronic.
    This may disappoint many MCR fans because we've never seen that style, if there are songs that still has the hard sound that characterizes them, but as I said, went to a new realm of sound.
    There is nothing wrong and is more than good, does not disappoint us but we must admit that we prefer hard and emotional style they have always had and hope that in future work to impress us again with better thematic and emotion in the sound.
    Expand
  44. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    What turned out to be the final album released by MCR happens to be their finest. This time instead of "emo" and death this is a power pop record that actually works considering who made it. The narrative is, as always, ridiculous; but what do you expect from a man who writes comic books when not writing music? Either way the story works for most of the album, but the songs also work asWhat turned out to be the final album released by MCR happens to be their finest. This time instead of "emo" and death this is a power pop record that actually works considering who made it. The narrative is, as always, ridiculous; but what do you expect from a man who writes comic books when not writing music? Either way the story works for most of the album, but the songs also work as individual pieces and once again the instrumentation is brilliant and the use of synthesisers creates a few lively party songs (see Planetary (GO!)) and actually makes the album impressive. This is a perfect record, although some would claim The Black Parade to be superior on many levels, this is MCR's greatest achievement in their career. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. This is the kind of album you just throw on to have fun. If anything, it proves My Chemical Romance don't need to be eccentric or theatrical to put out an enjoyable record.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    The reason this convoluted rock opera can't match the Who, U2, Green Day, or even Styx is that Danger Days is a story constructed without rising or falling action.
  3. Mojo
    Dec 20, 2010
    60
    For a band feeling they had painted themselves into a corner, this is them sodding the consequences and stomping their way out. [Dec 2010, p.96]