Dangerous And Moving Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three years after their sensational debut (and we don't use that adjective in the way that means "outstanding"), it turns out that they aren't schoolgirls, and they aren't lesbians. But what the Russian duo does have on this second album is Sting. Now that's edgy!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. taTu, somehow, miraculously, still matter.
  2. If you don't like t.A.T.u, you don't like pop music.
  3. 60
    Starts powerfully... [but] fizzles out with corny ballads. [Nov 2005, p.111]
  4. Julia and Lena's voices are nothing special, and their lyrics are still derivative -- suitable fodder for Charmed or a Rachel Leigh Cook movie, but not the sort of thing that makes a lasting impression.
  5. Since the beats are monotonous, since the songs are insipid and forgettable, since the girls not only can't sing but have no on-record charisma, since there's no sense of style and, most importantly, sense of fun to this whole enterprise, Dangerous and Moving is the worst kind of pop music: the kind that is better to theorize about than to listen to.
  6. Although spunky cuties Julia Volkova and Lena Katina have improved their English-pronunciation skills, the hooks they're handed this second time around are decidedly duller.
  7. But if t.A.T.u. represents the tippy-top of the marketing universe, it also represents the bottom third of pop songwriting.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    Absolutely the very best album in the whole music industry in 2005. It is a real disappointment that the group no longer exist. I hope there will be back soon. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2010
    This album is probably one of the best albums released in 2005. The music is enjoyable, and the voices are brilliant. The songs from this album will stick in your head. Say no more, say no less. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews