Dark Horse

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 155
  2. Negative: 67 out of 155

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DylanD.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I originally gave it an 8, but because of the criminal underrating this album received, I'll give it a ten. Easily the groups best work so far. I'm loving the fact that they tried something different.
  2. ChrisL.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Nickleback delivers yet again. The disk is exactly what you expect. The first two songs are in your face and blow your doors off. It is sometimes comicle sometimes touching and always fun. These guys rock!!!
  3. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    An album full of fun and relatability. It entertains right from the beginning, mixing up uplifting songs then toning back down to emotional expressions.
  4. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    Nickelback rocks out to a powerful song, â
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    This is in my opinion this is one of Nickelback's best CD yet, while they still have some lame tracks, it will still hold your attention if your into the band.
  6. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    I've never been a huge fan, i like 'Someday' - but mostly had never taken much interest. Then my brother introduced me to this album. And wow, considering Nickleback have always played it quite safe this album really pushed the boat out. With sleezy tracks like 'Something in your Mouth', 'SEX' and 'Next Go Round' you can't help but like it ! It may be alittle unoriginal but if you playI've never been a huge fan, i like 'Someday' - but mostly had never taken much interest. Then my brother introduced me to this album. And wow, considering Nickleback have always played it quite safe this album really pushed the boat out. With sleezy tracks like 'Something in your Mouth', 'SEX' and 'Next Go Round' you can't help but like it ! It may be alittle unoriginal but if you play this album loud it simply blows your head off !! 'Burn it to the Ground' and 'Gotta Be Sombody' make you shout the lyrics when - for example - your driving your car to work or home after a night out, you look foward to hearing them again, it's truly an outstanding rock and roll album, nothing more, nothing less, it's noise at it's best. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    I'll start off by saing that, yes, I'm a longtime Nickelback fan. Right, now that 80% of the readers have left, let's get on with it. Dark Horse is a classic Nickelback album - there's no point in pretending that it's wildly different to their previous efforts, because it isn't. Although the instrumentation is less gritty than on the last few records, the basic lyrical themes and coreI'll start off by saing that, yes, I'm a longtime Nickelback fan. Right, now that 80% of the readers have left, let's get on with it. Dark Horse is a classic Nickelback album - there's no point in pretending that it's wildly different to their previous efforts, because it isn't. Although the instrumentation is less gritty than on the last few records, the basic lyrical themes and core musical elements remain largely unchanged. What were you expecting? Nickelback has always been relatively formulaic in their music, and they're not about to change. That's no reason to not like what they produce, and this is more polished than their previous albums, and with the possible exception of All the Right Reasons, their best effort so far. Don't expect musical inspiration from this record - but what it does, it does very well indeed. Expand
  8. May 31, 2012
    8
    This is a proper rock and roll album. No over-production, just pure, powerful rock. From the tongue in cheek sex songs, the meaningful ballads and the hard rock speaker blowing songs this album is sure to wake you up time and time again.
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Nickelback sure showed they had what it takes to create a fantastic record. Tracks like "Gotta Be Somebody," "This Afternoon," "If Today Was Your Last Day" were all stand out tracks that made 2008 one of my favorite years in music.
  10. elboots
    Nov 30, 2008
    8
    Not a masterpiece, but surely a great album to put on while on the road or.. simply during doing some house cleanups. way to go Nickelback, proud to be canadian!
  11. AshleyC.
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    I think this is the best album Nickelback has put out. There's some different stuff on there and "I'd Come for You" is probably the sweetest song I've ever heard & I will have it at my wedding. "Just to Get High" is probably the strongest lyrically & musicaly. The message it portrays brought me to tears and could be eye opening to some of Nickelback's listeners.
  12. MikeH
    Dec 5, 2008
    8
    More of the same from Nickelback. Some nice easy listening, balls out rock and roll. Why change it if it aint broke? Seriously, why do so many people want a band to reinvent the wheel? Look at Motorhead for another good example of a band that sticks to its guns and keeps giving the fans what they expect. If you're not a pretentious tool and you like a bit of good old fashioned rock, More of the same from Nickelback. Some nice easy listening, balls out rock and roll. Why change it if it aint broke? Seriously, why do so many people want a band to reinvent the wheel? Look at Motorhead for another good example of a band that sticks to its guns and keeps giving the fans what they expect. If you're not a pretentious tool and you like a bit of good old fashioned rock, you'll like this! Expand
  13. TreyN
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Best album they have put out....what amazes me is that so many people dis this, and every other cd, but never offer up a "real artist" to listen to so we can all have a stomping parade on them, mainly because their callow souls cannot take anyone dogging their musical taste, or "lack there-of". If a song sounds the same, they all complain. What do you want....a rock song followed by a Best album they have put out....what amazes me is that so many people dis this, and every other cd, but never offer up a "real artist" to listen to so we can all have a stomping parade on them, mainly because their callow souls cannot take anyone dogging their musical taste, or "lack there-of". If a song sounds the same, they all complain. What do you want....a rock song followed by a piano song, followed by Celtic music, followed by a rap song? Shame on a band to "explore" topics such as sex, drugs, etc, I mean, all artists talk about it, but it is only bad if a mainstream artist does (rolling my eyes)! You would be hard pressed to find any musical act that has not at 1 point or time talked about sex and drugs, unless you are listening to Opera, Classical, Celtic, or Christian! Get a grip and come up with some better excuses to bash Nickelback! Name someone with a better singing voice than Kroger....Cobain, lol!!! I am a singer, and his range is hard to match, but it is pretty easy to sing the candy a$$ songs of so called "artists" that get rave reviews. The people that bash this cd are the same people that wear short sleeved shirts over long sleeved shirts over short sleeved shirts.......grow up and get out of high school! Expand
  14. KayceJ.
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Awesome driving music. If you are looking for lovey dovey songs like Far Away, this is not for you. Harder rock, better guitar, sexier lyrics. I love it.
  15. MichaelC.
    Dec 14, 2008
    9
    One of their best. Not quite as good as Silver Side Up but much better than All The Right Reasons.
  16. SamH.
    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    I think as NYT puts it the band does move a little away from their comfort zone, but I do enjoy the album, and Kroeger's lack of self gratification.
  17. ScottieS
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    I think its their best album. Anyone claiming originality to be the problem need to go back about 70 years and/or get shot. Out of so many years of music, what the heck else are you going to right a song about? I think it beat All the Right Reasons, and that was a tough one for me too. Each album gets better, and yea, they're sound has changed over the years. That's what keeps I think its their best album. Anyone claiming originality to be the problem need to go back about 70 years and/or get shot. Out of so many years of music, what the heck else are you going to right a song about? I think it beat All the Right Reasons, and that was a tough one for me too. Each album gets better, and yea, they're sound has changed over the years. That's what keeps them at the top of charts people. Not sounding the same every time. Expand
  18. MarieP.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    How cruel can these people be? obviously they are do not listen to Nickelback! This is their best album yet hands down!
  19. RonB.
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    I liked it, but it does have almost predictable rythm and lyrics at times so for that I gave it a 9. But I really am enjoying listening to it. I did notice some repetitiveness that may get more annoying the more I listen to it. But like all CD's I will end up with a handful of gems that I listen to all the time. Good stuf.
  20. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    meh, this album isnt as good as all the right reasons but its still pretty good. burn it to the ground is my favourite song, and if today was your last today is cool too
  21. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    nickleback are down and dirty with dark horse from loving when there's something in your mouth to hanging out this afternoon and everything in between easily one of there greatest albums
  22. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Nickelback's new album, Dark Horse, is arguably one of their best yet. It houses over 10 tremendously good songs with purpose and with reason. The songs are all in a beautiful tempo and tone and the music sends a message, it is great if you are not feeling good, it cheers you up. Nickelback have always made music from their heart, and this is no different.
  23. philj
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    Right i know, i know why do i give Nickelback the most hatest band in the world a 9 for this album. Well i'll tell you now i aint a fan, i work for the music industary and have no interest in this band. but when I heard this album it was like where's the party? I think people just give bad reviews for this band cos they are so successful. The song are very catchy and i did watch Right i know, i know why do i give Nickelback the most hatest band in the world a 9 for this album. Well i'll tell you now i aint a fan, i work for the music industary and have no interest in this band. but when I heard this album it was like where's the party? I think people just give bad reviews for this band cos they are so successful. The song are very catchy and i did watch a DVD of a live performace and yes they do talk dirty but from an adults point of view with out a child they were very funny and the music and the pyro were very good. like i said I don't like the band but this is a great album! Expand
  24. charlie
    Jan 11, 2009
    7
    Its a bit cruel of some ppl 2 say that the new album is total shit,cuz it defiently have some worthy singles to listen 2,but as a huge fan of nickelback i must confess that their new style is a bit unexpectable.
  25. AlexN.
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    I believe myself that this is one of Nickelback's greatest albums yet. It may have what you guys say recycled music but its still great and has some amazing songs.. I myself do not hear any recycled music in this album just like i don't when I heard a different album that a so called professional critic said was recycled junk.
  26. MikkT
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    Perfect album for fans, radiolisteners, and for critics to get their teeth into.
  27. DamienR.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    This truly is a fantastic album, I honestly cant understand why the so called "critics" would give this record a bad rep. It's everything Nickelback is; the sound, the lyrics, the sex... its all here. If you never liked Nickelback to begin with then this album is not for you; but I can honestly say without question this is an album the fans will not be disappointed with. Think "All This truly is a fantastic album, I honestly cant understand why the so called "critics" would give this record a bad rep. It's everything Nickelback is; the sound, the lyrics, the sex... its all here. If you never liked Nickelback to begin with then this album is not for you; but I can honestly say without question this is an album the fans will not be disappointed with. Think "All the Right Reasons" if you have to compare it to anything; and you'll know exactly what you're in for. 9/10 Expand
  28. MikeW
    Nov 21, 2008
    7
    Nice to see them get away from all Ballads.
  29. ScottM.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This is just as good as All the Right Reasons. If you like Nickelback, you'll like the album. If you don't like Nickelback, you won't like the album, it's that simple. For fans of the band this is what they want.
  30. StephanieS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    I think the album is pretty good. Sure, it's different from all the right reasons but it's not BADDD... I love it, except for all the raunchy songs. However, I really think Nickleback should stick to ballads. They're raunchy songs sound really forced.
  31. MorganE
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    What is wrong with the "professional" critics? Nickelback is not like your precious Radiohead! Nickelback is for us "normal" folk. They give us songs about hope, love, sex, and having faith in something that you dummies can't see right in front of your face. Mutt Lang did these guys justice on this album and you all can just bite it!
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. The band's Beavis- like embrace of rock & roll debauchery is a sort of marvel of low art.
  2. Lange keeps things rolling--and to his credit, Chad Kroeger gratifyingly comes off as more of a regular guy than a rock star.
  3. The hilarious, parodic single 'Rockstar' excepted, Nickelback's music reaffirms every sex-and-stupidity cliche hard rock can offer.