• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Sep 7, 2010
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    This album is not very creative and doesn't have much of a theme or connection between songs. It's just average. The lyics are so vague they might as well not be there. Just meh. Favorite track: We Owe This to Ourselves
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    4
    Honestly, This does not compare to the Anberlin that produced "Never take friendship personal" or even "New Surrender". Their sound has changed a lot in "Dark is the Way, Light Is a Place", and NOT for the better. This album was produced for the radio and the brainless listener. Anberlin let me down with this album. I don't want to even illegally download it for free that's how much IHonestly, This does not compare to the Anberlin that produced "Never take friendship personal" or even "New Surrender". Their sound has changed a lot in "Dark is the Way, Light Is a Place", and NOT for the better. This album was produced for the radio and the brainless listener. Anberlin let me down with this album. I don't want to even illegally download it for free that's how much I don't want to listen to it. I give it a 4 for at least sounding musically correct and for some catchy hooks. Collapse
  3. Dec 14, 2010
    6
    A solid rock album. Their best? Maybe. Their sound has changed on this album with still keeping the signature Anberlin sound. Songs like 'You Belong Here" strike chords with U2 while other songs like 'Impossible' channel 80's pop/rock. Throughout the album Anberlin shows that they've matured in their songwriting and they can consistently put out good music.
  4. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I would have to say that this is, so far, Anberlinâ
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    40
    Listeners outside their target teen demographic will find all this painfully sincere emoting pretty joyless. [Dec 2010, p.106]
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    80
    With Brendan O'Brien (Pearl Jam, AC/DC) producing, Stephen Christian's vocals cry out louder than ever across closer 'Depraved' and it proves that five albums in Anberlin have moved beyond the light of 'New Surrender' to dabble with a more interesting, darker edge that borders on Circa Survive.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    Dark Is The Way sees the Winter Haven five-piece get it right, returning to form with a combination of heartfelt bombast, big choruses and bona fide hooks. [20 Nov 2010, p.52]