Dark Roots of Earth Image

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 10th album for the trash metal band from from Berkeley, California, includes Dethklok’s Gene Hoglan and Lamb of God’s Chris Adler substituting on drums for injured drummer, Paul Bostaph (who later left the band in November 2011 to pursue his own music).
Buy On

Top Track

Native Blood
Whenever I stumble, whenever I fall Whenever I'm pushed against the wall This white man's world won't tell me what to do Nowhere to run my native... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    Dark Roots offers shred-heavy political statements ("True American Hate"), hook-laden power-jags ("Native Blood"), and straight-up rippers ("Man Kills Mankind"), slipping only on slower material like the title track and quasi-ballad "Cold Embrace."
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    For now, Dark Roots of Earth improves upon 2008's comeback The Formation of Damnation and, in tandem with those rejuvenated live performances, promises a well-deserved second act for a band that so narrowly missed grasping the golden ring their first time around.
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    Testament just don't make missteps (the album could be a couple songs shorter, but that's my biggest complaint), continuing to craft thrash that's mature, heavy and aggressive in all the best ways.
  4. Kerrang!
    Aug 13, 2012
    This is Testament doing what they do best--serving a trashterclass in malevolent metal. [28 Jul 2012, p.53]
  5. Aug 13, 2012
    Despite Testament's commendable attempt to spice their sound with something a little different, one can't help feeling that Dark Roots of Earth is one track short of achieving overall excellence.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    After listening to True American Hate before the release of the album, I was sure that Testament's latest release was going to be somethingAfter listening to True American Hate before the release of the album, I was sure that Testament's latest release was going to be something amazing. Was I right? Yes. The album starts off with "Rise Up" which tops pretty much everything on previous record "The Formation Of Damnation" which was a pretty good record. Native Blood is slightly weaker, but still amazing. Every song on the album is amazing. With "Rise Up" and "Cold Embrace" being my favourites. Sadly, there are only 9 tracks. Making it better to get the special edition. Which has 13 tracks. Including an amazing cover of Iron Maiden's "Powerslave" If you like metal, you'll love this album Collapse