• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 306

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KatherynH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing when you consider the time constraints under which it was made. Even the critics who did not give the album a good review cound not deny that David Archuleta has an amazing voice. Instead, they chose to critique production values, song selection, and, most puzzling of all, David Archuleta as a person. Some of the best tracts, by the way, are on the iTunes preorder This album is amazing when you consider the time constraints under which it was made. Even the critics who did not give the album a good review cound not deny that David Archuleta has an amazing voice. Instead, they chose to critique production values, song selection, and, most puzzling of all, David Archuleta as a person. Some of the best tracts, by the way, are on the iTunes preorder deluxe version. Also, the Walmart CD has a bonus tract "Works for Me" that just may be the best song amongst the entire group, and which was co-written by David and Daniel Bedingfield. Perhaps if these critics had been able to include the bonus tracts in their reviews, they may have given the album a higher rating. Expand
  2. CarmenL
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastique. I loved every second! He's amazing. Vocals are great, no? Crush is my favorite song here.
  3. JulieF
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Love this album. The best I've heard in a long time. David Archuleta rocks!
  4. HollyS.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    How refreshing and wonderful. You cannot deny that David Archuleta's voice is unique and beautiful. The songs on the album are catchy and addicting. Great job David!
  5. LornaL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this album. There is such a fixture of styles with David's always incredible smooth vocals.
  6. MattR
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    I really like this album. Catchy tunes showcasing his vocal ability.
  7. KerriO.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. I really didn't care for David's music too much on idol, but since he put out Crush and then I bought the album I absolutely have fallen in love with this guy. Crush is amazing and the album is fantastic. If you haven't bought it you need to. I love it! There are so many hits on there. He has a beautiful voice.
  8. heartsong
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    What an amazing talent. Considering that this is David Archuleta's first album and the time frame he had to create it, I think it's incredible! I'm truly a fan for life.
  9. DavidG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best Album ever! I love all of the songs and bonuses! Go David!
  10. EricaD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I think this is a great first album. David's voice is intoxicating. I am a fan for life. I love the songs "Barriers" ,"Don't Let Go" and "Desperate"--- great job David!!! I adore all the bonus tracks too!
  11. Fancy.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Something for everybody, and with that voice, all of it is a treat. Check out the Walmart Bonus Track, "Works for Me!", for a sample of what's to come from this young artist.
  12. BeccaP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    As a child of the late 70ss, this album has brought music back into my life. Love the different genre of songs in this album. David has the ability to adjust his voice to the flavor of the song, for example, In Don't Let Go which has a "coldplay" sound to it, and it's amazing that this is David singing. My 16 yr son was listening to this song and he couldn't believe it was As a child of the late 70ss, this album has brought music back into my life. Love the different genre of songs in this album. David has the ability to adjust his voice to the flavor of the song, for example, In Don't Let Go which has a "coldplay" sound to it, and it's amazing that this is David singing. My 16 yr son was listening to this song and he couldn't believe it was David. He totally loved it. There is R/B in a few songs which I totally love. David'srich and smooth voice is delightful and not to mention his failing falsetto. I thoroughly enjoyed this album. Just one thing that I have a problem with , there are not enough songs to wet my appetite!! I want more David!! My rating is a perfect 10!! Expand
  13. RebekahCole
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is a great album with a variety of songs. David Archuleta's soaring vocals shine through as he connects you to the emotion of each song. It's a winner!
  14. ConnieL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this CD (as do both my 21 year old son and 19 year old daughter!) David has so much talent! I can't wait to watch him progress through the years!
  15. SusanM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Every single song is worth listening to over and over again. The album has variety--pop, r&b, jazz, ballads. But most importantly, David Archuleta can sing with passion and has a voice of a soulful, melodic storyteller. Great freshman album!
  16. YahnsC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love all the songs! David Archuleta is pure talent! Somebody out There, Worked For Me, You Can and My Hands are the best!
  17. DebbieH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love David's album, every song that that blessed voice sings. I never preordered a CD before David, never requested songs on the radio before David. Look what you have done to us David, we Love You Forever.
  18. CathyT.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Love the album. So many hit songs. This kid has so much potential. Can't wait for more.
  19. WendyC.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    This album is fantastic! There is something for everyone, including a few surprises. His vocals are flawless. If this is David's first album has to offer, I can't wait for the next one.
  20. LaurieR.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this album. David's voice is unforgettable and flawless.
  21. CarrieT.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I haven't heard a CD that I've wanted to listen to over and over and over again in years!! David's voice and emotions come through on every song which are all crazy catchy and addictive (I'll admit I cried when I first heard To Be With You). What an amazing first effort. David is AWESOME! (and adorably hot!).
  22. LauraB.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    His voice is silky-smooth and simply a pleasure to listen to. Many of the songs are purely pop genius. Infectious beats and catchy hooks.
  23. Natashaf.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Fantastic debut album! Can't stop singing along!
  24. TonyP
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Just unforgettable, David Archuleta is one very special singer/person, and this album demonstrates it, he is actually the first celebrity now (as of Jan 15 in Live Search xRank) does it say something? Big success ! He is the kind of kid every person wants to have around.
  25. DavidM
    Feb 13, 2009
    9
    The voice of a generation. Who can compare? However, I would agree that the song-writing leaves something to be desired. "Crush" is excellent; "Barriers" is cheesy yet vocally magisterial. But, hey, the boy's so very young, so he'll definitely have additional opportunites to showcase that incredible instrument of his. Kudos on a solid debut effort.
  26. donna
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Great songs, great voice. Looking forward to the Christmas Album and others after that. David is a natural talent with the best voice in our generation.
  27. AndreaC.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    The album is awesome... the best songs are the ones that come as a bonus track in Walmart (Works for Me) or in the Deluxe Version like Someone Out There and Falling.
  28. vm
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Love this album! Sure, it's a little over-produced, but the music is earcandy! Favorite songs are Barriers, Running, Touch My Hand, You Can and My Hands... Bonus Track Falling and Somebody Out There are fantastic. David is well on his way to becoming a force to be reckoned with... not only does he have stellar vocals, but his songwriting ability is very exciting. This is a fantastic Love this album! Sure, it's a little over-produced, but the music is earcandy! Favorite songs are Barriers, Running, Touch My Hand, You Can and My Hands... Bonus Track Falling and Somebody Out There are fantastic. David is well on his way to becoming a force to be reckoned with... not only does he have stellar vocals, but his songwriting ability is very exciting. This is a fantastic first album for David and I can't wait to see what's to come. Expand
  29. GeriM.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Think this is a perfect freshman album from at wonderful 17 year old. He will only get better and better as he mutures. Love his voice and how I am able to feel the emotion of every song. He is someone that I will follow through out his entire career. Love him!
  30. AngieaH.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    I really like this cd, and find it very addicting to listen too. most of the songs are wonderful which doesn't always happen with a cd from singers.
  31. Belle
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. David's once-in-a-decade pop voice makes this album worth every penny. Every single track, bonus tracks included, is so different yet so well produced and sung. David's versatility really shows.
  32. ShawnaT.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this album. I am 55 years old and I could listen to it nonstop. I have a CD in my car, in my CD player in the house, and I also downloaded it from itunes onto my ipod. I fall asleep to his music every night and I play it whenever I can. It is so soothing and wonderful. I know he has a great career ahead of him and I love all the songs on the CD, especially "Don't I absolutely love this album. I am 55 years old and I could listen to it nonstop. I have a CD in my car, in my CD player in the house, and I also downloaded it from itunes onto my ipod. I fall asleep to his music every night and I play it whenever I can. It is so soothing and wonderful. I know he has a great career ahead of him and I love all the songs on the CD, especially "Don't Let Go" and "Touch My Hand". Collapse
  33. NancyB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love David Archuleta's album. It is amazing. Every song on there is amazing. That voice cannot be matched. There is a mix of amazing songs. Crush is amazing and will go platinum this next week. There are some big hits on this album and all the songs have their own catch and musicality. I give this album the highest score possible.
  34. LizB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums I've purchased in a long time, not a bad track on there. Awesome
  35. LauraM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I really enjoy the diversity of songs on the album. There's something for everyone to enjoy.
  36. SandraD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta is amazing! he is so talented. His voice is so unique, so powerful. You can feel the emotion and the love he has for music in each and every song he performs. I love his first album. It is awesome. Each song is great in its own special way. All the bonus tracks are fantastic. Everybody should listen to them. I have no doubt that David will be a huge music star around the David Archuleta is amazing! he is so talented. His voice is so unique, so powerful. You can feel the emotion and the love he has for music in each and every song he performs. I love his first album. It is awesome. Each song is great in its own special way. All the bonus tracks are fantastic. Everybody should listen to them. I have no doubt that David will be a huge music star around the world. This is only the beginning of his amazing music career. Expand
  37. JulieC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Perfect debut album, great variety and great vocals.
  38. LynnW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air in the musical world! Love every song! Love the variety of musical styles coupled with David Archuleta's beautiful, pure, buttery vocals!
  39. DanielleK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this whole CD. I don't think the song or melodies are one bit boring. His voice is so smooth and has so many different ranges and colors. I love all the different melodies and arrangements with his own back up voice mixing with the main melody. That is just phenomenal how he does that! And how he carries out notes just makes my heart melt! His voice is outstanding and the I love this whole CD. I don't think the song or melodies are one bit boring. His voice is so smooth and has so many different ranges and colors. I love all the different melodies and arrangements with his own back up voice mixing with the main melody. That is just phenomenal how he does that! And how he carries out notes just makes my heart melt! His voice is outstanding and the catchy lyrics and melodies on each song makes me want to hear them over and over! Expand
  40. AngelaM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love his new CD. It is so refreshing compared to the music that is now being played on today's radio. I cannot wait to watch him grow musically in the years to come.
  41. Karyn
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's voice by itself is pure ecstacy, so when you combine it with fun, catchy, and beautiful songs it's more than anyone could wish for. Not only is he an amazing singer, but he's also an incredible human being. I absolutely adore him and his album.
  42. martiee
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    The best sound in music and vocals. I can't stop listening to this beautiful album!
  43. BrettL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is a great album. David's voice is shining. They're many songs which will be hits. Pop/Rock, Pop/R7B, Pop/Country, Pop/Balland, etc. His voice and the beat are so unique and enjoyable. Must buy!!
  44. GaylynnG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this album usually when you buy a CD there are one or two good songs on it but on David's CD the songs are amazing could listen to the CD all day and I do actually.
  45. Me2
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Many, many catchy songs with a few soul wrenching songs thrown in. Spot-on vocals although it's hard to tell since the album is slightly over-produced. You'll find yourself humming these songs long after you've listened to them.
  46. EllieL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Never get dull or tired after repeated listening. Nice job by David Archuleta. He has great future ahead.
  47. KathleenC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    For having such a short amount of time to put this CD together, David Archuleta did an amazing job! His voice is incredible and there is a great mix of song styles on this album! Whether it is a beautiful ballad like "You Can" or a deep song like "Desperate" to a funky song like "Your Eyes Don't Lie"...there is something for everyone!
  48. KarenBryant
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I found that I loved every song on this cd for one reason or another. It is an awesome and varied collection that is held together by the fantastic vocals of David Archuleta. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
  49. KarenD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's voice is exquisite, soaring and passionate. Great album! I love all the songs. My favorites besides Crush are To Be With You, You Can, Somebody Out There, and A Little Too Not Over You.
  50. TammyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    love this album. his vocals are great. Plus, he's 17 and the content is so within is age. Go David.
  51. DonnaG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Fabulous! I loved every song. (Some more than others. My favorite is "Crush" but I also loved "A Little Too Not Over You" and "Desperate". Not a bad song in the bunch! A++++.
  52. AngelN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Archuleta's debut album as promised, has something for everyone. A little sampler of many of his talents. Perfectly, beautiful, silky and yes even a litttle sexy best voice ever! David just keeps getting better and better. Love this guy!!!
  53. Lisa
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I am very happy with David's first album, I think it has a great mix of pop, ballads and I love the country feel of "works for me" the song David co -wrote. I love this teens voice.
  54. VivianA.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I am very excited about David's album. I actually love all of the songs, so much so, that I have not been able to pick a favorite. WTG David!!!
  55. RobinG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome album. I love all the songs.
  56. faytan
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Love Archie! I'm not a music fan. this is my 1st time to buy a CD. i don't have a favorite in his album because i like them all. i love his voice & how he connects the song to his feelings. all the success, david archuleta!
  57. AnneR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Never have I purchased a CD and loved each and every song! Something for everyone--I quite simply cannot listen to David Archuleta enough! His music is pure pleasure and joy!
  58. MicheleV.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Great debut album, Lots of hit potential. Excellent first release song "Crush".
  59. BrookeA.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This boy has staying power. I am addicted to almost every song on the album. GREAT JOB!
  60. EmilyL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta has a voice of an angel--pure, rich, smooth, and soaring above all others. This album really shows off his maturity as an artist, and has something for everyone.
  61. RachelW.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Beautifully put together! The writing, the production, and most of all THE VOICE! David and Jive outdid themselves with this CD. Definitely one that will be on repeat for a while.
  62. CaroB.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this album and the people that I've given the album to also just Love it!!! David Archuleta is the one.
  63. JimmyD.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta sounds terrific and powerful on this album, the songs are great and the productions are well-executed.
  64. Jean
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    This album is highly representative of what good singing should be about. It has soul, rhythm, and is full of emotion where needed. You can understand the words. This is an excellent piece of work by as very talented artist.
  65. DebbieH
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Love David's cd, his voice is out of this world amazing. I do not listen to the radio anymore, just David's Cd is the only music my ears, heart and soul needs to be happy.
  66. Ruth
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    Wonderful! but i need to hear and purchase a Christmas Album with Mary Did You Know?.....I just cry every time I hear you sing Christmas songs. I would like to give the albums out for Christmas. Please could you do that for the world?
  67. BonnieT.
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    I enjoy listening to every song on this album. That's never happened to me before. Such a variety in the styles of songs. I love it!
  68. LeighH.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    David's voice soothes the soul, no matter what he sings. I love his album for it's variety. A good 1st. album for a talented young singer.
  69. JessT.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    it's a great mix of all kinds of pop and pop rock music. the best tracks though, are the bonus tracks. The Walmart bonus Works For Me and the deluxe albums with the 3 bonus songs are the way to go. The album would have been much better if they had replaced some of the safer songs with the bonus songs, 3 of which David wrote or co wrote.
  70. MinnaB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    With a voice like his, David makes any song live in my heart and mind. His debut album has many beautiful HITS! I'll be listening to these songs for years to come.
  71. SallyW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I think for a debut album, David Archuleta's is very good!!! I like that there is a variety of songs which offers a little bit of something for everyone! Both me and my teenage daughter each brought the CD. My daughter likes "Crush", "Touch My Hands" and "All Too Not Over You". I actually like all of the songs but find myself really liking "Barriers" and "All Too Not Over You" with I think for a debut album, David Archuleta's is very good!!! I like that there is a variety of songs which offers a little bit of something for everyone! Both me and my teenage daughter each brought the CD. My daughter likes "Crush", "Touch My Hands" and "All Too Not Over You". I actually like all of the songs but find myself really liking "Barriers" and "All Too Not Over You" with "Angels" being my all time favorite. David Archuleta has a very pure and distinctive voice and for a 17 yr. old has really shown he has the talent to become successful. Expand
  72. VirginiaB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta is the most awesome 17 year old that I have every known. I love his music and there is not a day that can go by with out listening to him sing. I will always love and support David. There is some thing about David that when he sings he just drews you right in. He is enbeded into my heart and soul forever.
  73. TaylorC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    This the first cd I have ever bought. I don't likee to buy cds because you usually get 1 or 2 songs that you will like. I am glad I did!! There are so many songs on here that I love! I can decide which are my favs. I love Desperate, Your Eyes Don't Lie, To Be With You. I also love Somebody Out There but I don't think its on this CD. It was a special:( but if you can get This the first cd I have ever bought. I don't likee to buy cds because you usually get 1 or 2 songs that you will like. I am glad I did!! There are so many songs on here that I love! I can decide which are my favs. I love Desperate, Your Eyes Don't Lie, To Be With You. I also love Somebody Out There but I don't think its on this CD. It was a special:( but if you can get your hands on it! Listen to it! Again there are so many songs on here I really like!!! So get it! Its worth the money! Expand
  74. LIndaB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    LOVE IT!!! I usually don't like to buy CD's cause I end up only liking one or two songs. This entire CD is awesome. Such a talented young man!
  75. KevinN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing debut album by the great Archuleta.
  76. Claudia
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    This CD is very good. But you have to listen more than once some songs. Like "Barriers" -first I was..OK, but after third listen I am addicted. Now it is on repeat. This CD has one of the best rank on Itunes 4 1/2 and this shows that the general people enjoy the music.
  77. Pastel
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Although some critics have been unnecessarily harsh, it's totally great to listen to and is pure pop. David will do well; debut CDs are just that - experiments. I like your experiment David!
  78. RikaC
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing album with diversified music from David Archuleta. Majestic and Heavenly.
  79. KathyM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic cd. If I had to pick a song to skip, I would not be able to find one. Powerful emotion, perfect delivery, what a talent.
  80. LillianH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David has great vocals and emotes well on this album. Some of the songs could be great single hits. His is destined to be one of the best pop artists in the last decade.
  81. JonerZ.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    This is a terrific freshman CD. It proves that he can sing ANYTHING! I honestly had to ask myself several times, "how can he do that with his voice?" He's amazing.
  82. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Excellent cd! David's vocals are superb throughout, and the songs are very catchy. Couldn't have asked for anything more and can't wait for his solo tour!
  83. JoshL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This album is a genuine pop. Critics say that too processed songs do not show his vocal talent. But as a new artist, he mixed contemporary trend and straightford simple music that shows his vocal ability. Especially bonus songs are excellent qualities.
  84. Isabelfan4ever
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Love this Cd, David is awesome, he deiniately has a great career ahead in this business.
  85. VickieF.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I loved David on Idol and could not wait for his first CD. I have played it non-stop since it came out on Tuesday. The blend of different styles of music shows that David can sing anything.
  86. TrishM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Loved every song on the album including all the bonus tracks!!!!
  87. NurulA.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta has a great voice and talent.. He hits the notes in every song. Can't stop listening to his CD ever since I bought it.
  88. MaryD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I think This is a great album! It has a good mix of styles and tempos. David has the voice and technique to carry it off. I own the CD and listen tol it constantly.
  89. NancyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love David's voice and this album exceeds even my high expectations for it. There is something for everyone on it, and for the first time ever on an album, there isn't ONE SONG that I don't love. The bonus tracks are all phenomenal, too, and may be even more reflective of where David will go musically in the future. He is only 17 and still experimenting. I really I love David's voice and this album exceeds even my high expectations for it. There is something for everyone on it, and for the first time ever on an album, there isn't ONE SONG that I don't love. The bonus tracks are all phenomenal, too, and may be even more reflective of where David will go musically in the future. He is only 17 and still experimenting. I really don't understand how anyone can call this album bland. The vocals are extremely complicated, and David's unique sound comes through on every song, whether it be the more edgy Desperate or Let Me Go, or the beautiful ballads like To Be With You, You Can and Barriers. I love it! Expand
  90. TomS.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    While I had hoped for more depth from Archie, i find myself completely sated with this release and i am convinced that a deeper Archie now would have been too soon in his career and therefore this is perfect.
  91. NancyN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year. A little something for everyone. We love David Archuleta!!!!!
  92. MichelleB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Best album I've ever came across. Very well done and just amazing for David's first album..great job.
  93. TaraH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing! David Archuleta has such strong, smooth vocals on this album! He is an unbelievable singer and his songs are so much fun. He really connects emotionally to all his songs and you can really feel that. Awesome!!
  94. MollyK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's first CD delivers a lovely blend of top 40 pop along with more intimate and sometimes quirky ballads. The singing is flawless and expressive. Surprisingly, the most moving and memorable pieces--those that best represent Archuleta the artist--are the bonus tracks available only from ITunes, along with one delightful R & B number on the Walmart Delux CD. These are also songs David's first CD delivers a lovely blend of top 40 pop along with more intimate and sometimes quirky ballads. The singing is flawless and expressive. Surprisingly, the most moving and memorable pieces--those that best represent Archuleta the artist--are the bonus tracks available only from ITunes, along with one delightful R & B number on the Walmart Delux CD. These are also songs that Archuleta either wrote himself or co-authored, namely, "Falling" (the most evocative song of the bunch and one penned entirely by Archuleta), "Somebody Out There" (touchingly intimate with a wonderfully simple yet jaunty guitar intro), "Works for Me," and the vocally soaring "A Little Too Not Over You" (with the most clever lyrics of all and fun metric play between duple and triple time). "A Little Too Not Over You" is one of the 12 standard tracks available on all versions of the album. Jive set out to display David's vocal versatility, and they succeeded ten fold. And to think the entire 17+ tracks were composed and recorded in only a few months (on days off during the American Idol tour and slightly after) leaves me breathless and amazed. David Archuleta the album is not only fun and catchy, the stuff of top-of-the pops, but in its best moments, extremely touching. Regardless of how critics and pseudo-critics love to pan anything American Idol, one cannot deny that this is a well-crafted and beautifully delivered first CD. Buy it! Expand
  95. ReginaR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This CD by David Archuleta is beautiful and smooth music that will amaze and enlighten listeners. It's a great pop album that includes some R&B and Soul sounds also. You should check it out!
  96. ArleneJ.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta's album rocks! I love the variety of different styles of music, and his voice is one of the best I've EVER heard!
  97. AnneW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Very good music and vocals from a 17 year old. Also the lyrics are well composed! Love each song Love "Works for me" the best
  98. MaryO.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Fantastic! Especially love the bonus track "Falling," written by David at age 14. Can't wait to see what this immensely gifted young singer does next.
  99. SharleeD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I LOVE this entire album. I actually like the bonus tracks (available on iTunes) the best. What an amazing singer!
  100. AldyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Great pop album and really great vocals! Love all the songs including the bonus tracks!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. So, it delivers exactly what Archuleta promised on the show: something sweet and safe, utterly old-fashioned and forgettable.
  2. A silky tenor with a natural melancholy that makes him a heartbreaker by default. His charming debut exploits that very quality with some strokes of pop genius.
  3. Happily, in a genre where the urge is to err on the side of overwrought, someone smart decided to stick with tasteful, understated production. Archuleta's delivery is likewise low-key and attractive, if predictably generic.