David Archuleta

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 306

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielleG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    3
    A snoozer. Nice voice but the songs are dull. Standard poppy licks with gooey lyrics. Even the Robbie Williams song is 'prettified' to a boring ballad without any of the personality or angst Williams brought to it. Chris Brown is still the best male pop star out there - vocally and musically.
  2. KristynG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    Boring, slow, and not catchy. All sounds the same. One of the worst debuts of an Idol
  3. TedK.
    Nov 12, 2008
    3
    This is really unfortunate because the kid has a decent voice. But this album is bland, boring, overprocessed, and extremely forgettable. It feels like it was churned out of some teenpop hit-generator. Zero personality from a singer who really needed to establish an identity with his first album.
  4. MattB.
    Nov 21, 2008
    2
    David Archuleta has a great voice but every song on the album songs exactly the same. Hopefully his next album will be better than this.
  5. MaryC
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    You may be familiar with the warbly teen hit Crush from last summer: that was actually the best song out of a stack of timid, generic, synthetic pop from the male Jordin Sparks.
  6. LouiseC
    Dec 6, 2008
    1
    Wow, this is not what I expected. The songs are so...whiny? He was my second favorite on American Idol next to Brooke White, but this is a disappointment. I do like the new cover of Angels.
  7. LindaC
    Dec 6, 2008
    2
    This album is full of sophomoric, redundant songs. Archuleta has a great voice, but I would like to hear more texture in his choices. It really seems geared to the younger set.
  8. Karlv
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    Very disappointed with this album. The singer has a good voice but that doesn't stand out and doesn't have any passion. Sings everything song the same way. Most of the songs are very immature and sound almost the same, ordinary disney pop. It's like a mix CD but where the singer is the same. Lacks quality.
  9. SteveL
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    Sorry, I am not fond of this album at all. May not be my kind of music, but I found I couldn't listen to this all the way through. I think the term is "over-producd".
  10. JulieG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    I expected more from this young man. He sounds like he wants to sound like everyone else out there. He has too big of a gift in his voice to have been wasted on this over produced effort.
  11. SteveG
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    Pretty awful. I mean, Archie's got a great voice, and this doesn't do him justice. This could be any pop star out of the pop star factory. I know going the Josh Grobin route wouldn't sell as much, but I think it would make for much better music.
  12. ScottD
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    Sorry, but this is bad. This is empty pop drivel with no depth or artistry. It will appeal to teenage girls, but not much else. Stay away if you hate bubble gum ballads and Nickelodeon.
  13. Juand
    Nov 25, 2008
    3
    I really do not like this type of album. There is no appeal whatsoever and the young kid has no character in his voice whatsoever.
  14. DonnieG
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    Every son sounds the same. No originality or creativity. Boring
  15. BooC.
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    what a shame! it's too cheesy! i'm tryin' to like it but it doesn't contain the substance! it's like a chihuahua trying to be a tiger!!! without his possessed and obsessed fans . ... this album would totally suck!! :)
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. So, it delivers exactly what Archuleta promised on the show: something sweet and safe, utterly old-fashioned and forgettable.
  2. A silky tenor with a natural melancholy that makes him a heartbreaker by default. His charming debut exploits that very quality with some strokes of pop genius.
  3. Happily, in a genre where the urge is to err on the side of overwrought, someone smart decided to stick with tasteful, understated production. Archuleta's delivery is likewise low-key and attractive, if predictably generic.