David Archuleta

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2008
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 307

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    For a debut album, this is charming. First comes a heavenly, silky, tenor that we only hear such beauty from once probably every decade. The songs are sweet, and are filled with powerful, strong, and catchy choruses.
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Amazing Debut from David. I hope his next album "The Other Side Of Down" will showcase more of David himself. He'll be able to create music more to his liking/style. His first album was time constrained along with too much pop suited for the younger audience. I hope everyone gives his next album a listen.
  3. donna
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Great songs, great voice. Looking forward to the Christmas Album and others after that. David is a natural talent with the best voice in our generation.
  4. DanielR
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    david's cool, dont be too harsh on him..he has the voice he just needs the perfect hit!!
  5. CarmenL
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastique. I loved every second! He's amazing. Vocals are great, no? Crush is my favorite song here.
  6. Ruth
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    Wonderful! but i need to hear and purchase a Christmas Album with Mary Did You Know?.....I just cry every time I hear you sing Christmas songs. I would like to give the albums out for Christmas. Please could you do that for the world?
  7. ChristopherF
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    David Archuleta has an amazing voice. His first album is full of very fun and catchy songs. His songwriters need to step up the quality of lyrics from what the average song has to offer here, but I cannot complain about the melodies or David's amazing performances. I am very excited to see what he will come up with next, and would definitely look into watching him live.
  8. DavidM
    Feb 13, 2009
    9
    The voice of a generation. Who can compare? However, I would agree that the song-writing leaves something to be desired. "Crush" is excellent; "Barriers" is cheesy yet vocally magisterial. But, hey, the boy's so very young, so he'll definitely have additional opportunites to showcase that incredible instrument of his. Kudos on a solid debut effort.
  9. TonyP
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Just unforgettable, David Archuleta is one very special singer/person, and this album demonstrates it, he is actually the first celebrity now (as of Jan 15 in Live Search xRank) does it say something? Big success ! He is the kind of kid every person wants to have around.
  10. JessicaJ
    Dec 8, 2008
    7
    Pretty good effort for a first album, but I can't wait to see him grow and put out songs with more mature lyrics.
  11. LindaC
    Dec 6, 2008
    2
    This album is full of sophomoric, redundant songs. Archuleta has a great voice, but I would like to hear more texture in his choices. It really seems geared to the younger set.
  12. LouiseC
    Dec 6, 2008
    1
    Wow, this is not what I expected. The songs are so...whiny? He was my second favorite on American Idol next to Brooke White, but this is a disappointment. I do like the new cover of Angels.
  13. JohnT
    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    The control of the label is very well heard throughout the entire album. The only song that stands out as not a catchy pop song, and a song that could lead to a long career is "Desperate." Big Archuleta fan here.
  14. BooC.
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    what a shame! it's too cheesy! i'm tryin' to like it but it doesn't contain the substance! it's like a chihuahua trying to be a tiger!!! without his possessed and obsessed fans . ... this album would totally suck!! :)
  15. DebbieH
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Love David's cd, his voice is out of this world amazing. I do not listen to the radio anymore, just David's Cd is the only music my ears, heart and soul needs to be happy.
  16. Jean
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    This album is highly representative of what good singing should be about. It has soul, rhythm, and is full of emotion where needed. You can understand the words. This is an excellent piece of work by as very talented artist.
  17. brendab
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    I love this album. david Archuleta has an amazing voice that is perfect and flawless. Looking forward to many more albums.
  18. KIMK
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Love David's new CD! Such great fresh new music to listen to that is not all covered by that tecno processing stuff! The new cool!
  19. LiseM
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    A beautiful voice from a beautiful (inside & out) and enormously talented person.
  20. DonnieG
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    Every son sounds the same. No originality or creativity. Boring
  21. Juand
    Nov 25, 2008
    3
    I really do not like this type of album. There is no appeal whatsoever and the young kid has no character in his voice whatsoever.
  22. ScottD
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    Sorry, but this is bad. This is empty pop drivel with no depth or artistry. It will appeal to teenage girls, but not much else. Stay away if you hate bubble gum ballads and Nickelodeon.
  23. SteveG
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    Pretty awful. I mean, Archie's got a great voice, and this doesn't do him justice. This could be any pop star out of the pop star factory. I know going the Josh Grobin route wouldn't sell as much, but I think it would make for much better music.
  24. JulieG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    I expected more from this young man. He sounds like he wants to sound like everyone else out there. He has too big of a gift in his voice to have been wasted on this over produced effort.
  25. TerryR.
    Nov 25, 2008
    4
    It pains me to say that I am disappointed. I really liked DA on the show and tour and think he is a really nice kid with a super voice. Loved Angels and Stand By Me and the Groban song on the tour. I wish this album were more like those songs, where that beautiful voice could shine. Unfortunately, this album is tweeny cookie cutter over-produced pop, full of gimmicks and sub-par material. It pains me to say that I am disappointed. I really liked DA on the show and tour and think he is a really nice kid with a super voice. Loved Angels and Stand By Me and the Groban song on the tour. I wish this album were more like those songs, where that beautiful voice could shine. Unfortunately, this album is tweeny cookie cutter over-produced pop, full of gimmicks and sub-par material. I hope as DA matures he will have the opportunity to make an album that will truly showcase his considerable talent. Until then... I will have to pass. Expand
  26. SteveL
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    Sorry, I am not fond of this album at all. May not be my kind of music, but I found I couldn't listen to this all the way through. I think the term is "over-producd".
  27. RoseS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    6
    David Archuleta does decently with his self-titled debut. It was one I enjoyed, but wish I could have felt more attached to in some measures. Songs like "Crush", "You Can", "Desperate", "Running", and his rendition of Robbie Williams' "Angels" are stellar offerings, some are lighthearted and sweet with his vocals, while others choose to push his genre boundaries while remaining David Archuleta does decently with his self-titled debut. It was one I enjoyed, but wish I could have felt more attached to in some measures. Songs like "Crush", "You Can", "Desperate", "Running", and his rendition of Robbie Williams' "Angels" are stellar offerings, some are lighthearted and sweet with his vocals, while others choose to push his genre boundaries while remaining meaningful. The problem I had with David's debut was that there were just as many songs that didn't bring out the best in his vocals from a conviction standpoint. They're nice from a pop-listening standpoint, but I found it hard to feel invested in the emotions exuded by the songs on many levels, and his vocals weren't made to be as indicative of his potential as they could have been. In the end, I liked the album, but felt like it could have brought more to the table. Expand
  28. KristynG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    Boring, slow, and not catchy. All sounds the same. One of the worst debuts of an Idol
  29. MaryC
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    You may be familiar with the warbly teen hit Crush from last summer: that was actually the best song out of a stack of timid, generic, synthetic pop from the male Jordin Sparks.
  30. JaneH
    Nov 25, 2008
    4
    I loved Archie on Idol and I love Crush. The rest of the album is only so-so for me. He has a great talent and I know his next effort will better play to his strengths.
  31. Karlv
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    Very disappointed with this album. The singer has a good voice but that doesn't stand out and doesn't have any passion. Sings everything song the same way. Most of the songs are very immature and sound almost the same, ordinary disney pop. It's like a mix CD but where the singer is the same. Lacks quality.
  32. EmilyL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta has a voice of an angel--pure, rich, smooth, and soaring above all others. This album really shows off his maturity as an artist, and has something for everyone.
  33. JimmyD.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta sounds terrific and powerful on this album, the songs are great and the productions are well-executed.
  34. MattB.
    Nov 21, 2008
    2
    David Archuleta has a great voice but every song on the album songs exactly the same. Hopefully his next album will be better than this.
  35. LaurieR.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this album. David's voice is unforgettable and flawless.
  36. WendyC.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    This album is fantastic! There is something for everyone, including a few surprises. His vocals are flawless. If this is David's first album has to offer, I can't wait for the next one.
  37. CaroB.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this album and the people that I've given the album to also just Love it!!! David Archuleta is the one.
  38. CathyT.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Love the album. So many hit songs. This kid has so much potential. Can't wait for more.
  39. RachelW.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Beautifully put together! The writing, the production, and most of all THE VOICE! David and Jive outdid themselves with this CD. Definitely one that will be on repeat for a while.
  40. DebbieH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love David's album, every song that that blessed voice sings. I never preordered a CD before David, never requested songs on the radio before David. Look what you have done to us David, we Love You Forever.
  41. Natashaf.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Fantastic debut album! Can't stop singing along!
  42. LornaL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I love this album. There is such a fixture of styles with David's always incredible smooth vocals.
  43. LauraB.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    His voice is silky-smooth and simply a pleasure to listen to. Many of the songs are purely pop genius. Infectious beats and catchy hooks.
  44. HollyS.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    How refreshing and wonderful. You cannot deny that David Archuleta's voice is unique and beautiful. The songs on the album are catchy and addicting. Great job David!
  45. CarrieT.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I haven't heard a CD that I've wanted to listen to over and over and over again in years!! David's voice and emotions come through on every song which are all crazy catchy and addictive (I'll admit I cried when I first heard To Be With You). What an amazing first effort. David is AWESOME! (and adorably hot!).
  46. KatherynH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing when you consider the time constraints under which it was made. Even the critics who did not give the album a good review cound not deny that David Archuleta has an amazing voice. Instead, they chose to critique production values, song selection, and, most puzzling of all, David Archuleta as a person. Some of the best tracts, by the way, are on the iTunes preorder This album is amazing when you consider the time constraints under which it was made. Even the critics who did not give the album a good review cound not deny that David Archuleta has an amazing voice. Instead, they chose to critique production values, song selection, and, most puzzling of all, David Archuleta as a person. Some of the best tracts, by the way, are on the iTunes preorder deluxe version. Also, the Walmart CD has a bonus tract "Works for Me" that just may be the best song amongst the entire group, and which was co-written by David and Daniel Bedingfield. Perhaps if these critics had been able to include the bonus tracts in their reviews, they may have given the album a higher rating. Expand
  47. SusanM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Every single song is worth listening to over and over again. The album has variety--pop, r&b, jazz, ballads. But most importantly, David Archuleta can sing with passion and has a voice of a soulful, melodic storyteller. Great freshman album!
  48. DoreenN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    He is an amazingly talented singer and to think he's only 17! The CD is awesome and he only had 6 months to work on it while performing on the AI tour. I'm a fan of David's for life.
  49. PhilipD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Great debut for an amazing young man!
  50. ClaraS.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, best album I've ever owned! BEST voice I heard in a long time WOW
  51. VivianA.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I am very excited about David's album. I actually love all of the songs, so much so, that I have not been able to pick a favorite. WTG David!!!
  52. TarynP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this CD, including all the bonus tracks. Of course Crush is great, but I'm also really enjoying Your Eyes Don't Lie and To Be With You a lot. The songs all get stuck in my head and I find myself humming them without realizing it.
  53. RebekahCole
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is a great album with a variety of songs. David Archuleta's soaring vocals shine through as he connects you to the emotion of each song. It's a winner!
  54. AnneR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Never have I purchased a CD and loved each and every song! Something for everyone--I quite simply cannot listen to David Archuleta enough! His music is pure pleasure and joy!
  55. faytan
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Love Archie! I'm not a music fan. this is my 1st time to buy a CD. i don't have a favorite in his album because i like them all. i love his voice & how he connects the song to his feelings. all the success, david archuleta!
  56. RobinG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome album. I love all the songs.
  57. ConnieL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this CD (as do both my 21 year old son and 19 year old daughter!) David has so much talent! I can't wait to watch him progress through the years!
  58. Lisa
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I am very happy with David's first album, I think it has a great mix of pop, ballads and I love the country feel of "works for me" the song David co -wrote. I love this teens voice.
  59. YahnsC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love all the songs! David Archuleta is pure talent! Somebody out There, Worked For Me, You Can and My Hands are the best!
  60. DonnaG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Fabulous! I loved every song. (Some more than others. My favorite is "Crush" but I also loved "A Little Too Not Over You" and "Desperate". Not a bad song in the bunch! A++++.
  61. BiancaN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    A super debut by a charming young vocalist, this album contains mostly poppy songs with great hooks. However if you look deeper you find that the 17-year-old artist has begun to co-write his own material. Plus the lyrics are very thoughtful and the styles are diverse. A very listenable album!
  62. RebeccaB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta at his finest. His musicality shines though each and every song. Listen and feel the raw emotion he is able to bring with each note. You will be drawn in to the songs.
  63. AngelN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Archuleta's debut album as promised, has something for everyone. A little sampler of many of his talents. Perfectly, beautiful, silky and yes even a litttle sexy best voice ever! David just keeps getting better and better. Love this guy!!!
  64. Fancy.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Something for everybody, and with that voice, all of it is a treat. Check out the Walmart Bonus Track, "Works for Me!", for a sample of what's to come from this young artist.
  65. BeccaP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    As a child of the late 70ss, this album has brought music back into my life. Love the different genre of songs in this album. David has the ability to adjust his voice to the flavor of the song, for example, In Don't Let Go which has a "coldplay" sound to it, and it's amazing that this is David singing. My 16 yr son was listening to this song and he couldn't believe it was As a child of the late 70ss, this album has brought music back into my life. Love the different genre of songs in this album. David has the ability to adjust his voice to the flavor of the song, for example, In Don't Let Go which has a "coldplay" sound to it, and it's amazing that this is David singing. My 16 yr son was listening to this song and he couldn't believe it was David. He totally loved it. There is R/B in a few songs which I totally love. David'srich and smooth voice is delightful and not to mention his failing falsetto. I thoroughly enjoyed this album. Just one thing that I have a problem with , there are not enough songs to wet my appetite!! I want more David!! My rating is a perfect 10!! Expand
  66. KarenD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's voice is exquisite, soaring and passionate. Great album! I love all the songs. My favorites besides Crush are To Be With You, You Can, Somebody Out There, and A Little Too Not Over You.
  67. NancyR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best album I have owned in 45 years. I love every track and can't get enough of it. Awesome debut album with a great variety.
  68. AldyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Great pop album and really great vocals! Love all the songs including the bonus tracks!
  69. KarenBryant
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I found that I loved every song on this cd for one reason or another. It is an awesome and varied collection that is held together by the fantastic vocals of David Archuleta. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
  70. KathleenC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    For having such a short amount of time to put this CD together, David Archuleta did an amazing job! His voice is incredible and there is a great mix of song styles on this album! Whether it is a beautiful ballad like "You Can" or a deep song like "Desperate" to a funky song like "Your Eyes Don't Lie"...there is something for everyone!
  71. TammyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    love this album. his vocals are great. Plus, he's 17 and the content is so within is age. Go David.
  72. JulieF
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Love this album. The best I've heard in a long time. David Archuleta rocks!
  73. Me2
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Many, many catchy songs with a few soul wrenching songs thrown in. Spot-on vocals although it's hard to tell since the album is slightly over-produced. You'll find yourself humming these songs long after you've listened to them.
  74. GaylynnG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this album usually when you buy a CD there are one or two good songs on it but on David's CD the songs are amazing could listen to the CD all day and I do actually.
  75. SharleeD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I LOVE this entire album. I actually like the bonus tracks (available on iTunes) the best. What an amazing singer!
  76. MaryO.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Fantastic! Especially love the bonus track "Falling," written by David at age 14. Can't wait to see what this immensely gifted young singer does next.
  77. AnneW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Very good music and vocals from a 17 year old. Also the lyrics are well composed! Love each song Love "Works for me" the best
  78. ArleneJ.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta's album rocks! I love the variety of different styles of music, and his voice is one of the best I've EVER heard!
  79. ReginaR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This CD by David Archuleta is beautiful and smooth music that will amaze and enlighten listeners. It's a great pop album that includes some R&B and Soul sounds also. You should check it out!
  80. MollyK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's first CD delivers a lovely blend of top 40 pop along with more intimate and sometimes quirky ballads. The singing is flawless and expressive. Surprisingly, the most moving and memorable pieces--those that best represent Archuleta the artist--are the bonus tracks available only from ITunes, along with one delightful R & B number on the Walmart Delux CD. These are also songs David's first CD delivers a lovely blend of top 40 pop along with more intimate and sometimes quirky ballads. The singing is flawless and expressive. Surprisingly, the most moving and memorable pieces--those that best represent Archuleta the artist--are the bonus tracks available only from ITunes, along with one delightful R & B number on the Walmart Delux CD. These are also songs that Archuleta either wrote himself or co-authored, namely, "Falling" (the most evocative song of the bunch and one penned entirely by Archuleta), "Somebody Out There" (touchingly intimate with a wonderfully simple yet jaunty guitar intro), "Works for Me," and the vocally soaring "A Little Too Not Over You" (with the most clever lyrics of all and fun metric play between duple and triple time). "A Little Too Not Over You" is one of the 12 standard tracks available on all versions of the album. Jive set out to display David's vocal versatility, and they succeeded ten fold. And to think the entire 17+ tracks were composed and recorded in only a few months (on days off during the American Idol tour and slightly after) leaves me breathless and amazed. David Archuleta the album is not only fun and catchy, the stuff of top-of-the pops, but in its best moments, extremely touching. Regardless of how critics and pseudo-critics love to pan anything American Idol, one cannot deny that this is a well-crafted and beautifully delivered first CD. Buy it! Expand
  81. TaraH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing! David Archuleta has such strong, smooth vocals on this album! He is an unbelievable singer and his songs are so much fun. He really connects emotionally to all his songs and you can really feel that. Awesome!!
  82. EllieL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Never get dull or tired after repeated listening. Nice job by David Archuleta. He has great future ahead.
  83. EricaD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I think this is a great first album. David's voice is intoxicating. I am a fan for life. I love the songs "Barriers" ,"Don't Let Go" and "Desperate"--- great job David!!! I adore all the bonus tracks too!
  84. BrettL.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is a great album. David's voice is shining. They're many songs which will be hits. Pop/Rock, Pop/R7B, Pop/Country, Pop/Balland, etc. His voice and the beat are so unique and enjoyable. Must buy!!
  85. MichelleB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Best album I've ever came across. Very well done and just amazing for David's first album..great job.
  86. NancyN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year. A little something for everyone. We love David Archuleta!!!!!
  87. TomS.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    While I had hoped for more depth from Archie, i find myself completely sated with this release and i am convinced that a deeper Archie now would have been too soon in his career and therefore this is perfect.
  88. NancyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love David's voice and this album exceeds even my high expectations for it. There is something for everyone on it, and for the first time ever on an album, there isn't ONE SONG that I don't love. The bonus tracks are all phenomenal, too, and may be even more reflective of where David will go musically in the future. He is only 17 and still experimenting. I really I love David's voice and this album exceeds even my high expectations for it. There is something for everyone on it, and for the first time ever on an album, there isn't ONE SONG that I don't love. The bonus tracks are all phenomenal, too, and may be even more reflective of where David will go musically in the future. He is only 17 and still experimenting. I really don't understand how anyone can call this album bland. The vocals are extremely complicated, and David's unique sound comes through on every song, whether it be the more edgy Desperate or Let Me Go, or the beautiful ballads like To Be With You, You Can and Barriers. I love it! Expand
  89. martiee
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    The best sound in music and vocals. I can't stop listening to this beautiful album!
  90. heartsong
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    What an amazing talent. Considering that this is David Archuleta's first album and the time frame he had to create it, I think it's incredible! I'm truly a fan for life.
  91. Karyn
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's voice by itself is pure ecstacy, so when you combine it with fun, catchy, and beautiful songs it's more than anyone could wish for. Not only is he an amazing singer, but he's also an incredible human being. I absolutely adore him and his album.
  92. AngelaM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love his new CD. It is so refreshing compared to the music that is now being played on today's radio. I cannot wait to watch him grow musically in the years to come.
  93. MaryD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I think This is a great album! It has a good mix of styles and tempos. David has the voice and technique to carry it off. I own the CD and listen tol it constantly.
  94. NurulA.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta has a great voice and talent.. He hits the notes in every song. Can't stop listening to his CD ever since I bought it.
  95. DavidG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best Album ever! I love all of the songs and bonuses! Go David!
  96. DanielleK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this whole CD. I don't think the song or melodies are one bit boring. His voice is so smooth and has so many different ranges and colors. I love all the different melodies and arrangements with his own back up voice mixing with the main melody. That is just phenomenal how he does that! And how he carries out notes just makes my heart melt! His voice is outstanding and the I love this whole CD. I don't think the song or melodies are one bit boring. His voice is so smooth and has so many different ranges and colors. I love all the different melodies and arrangements with his own back up voice mixing with the main melody. That is just phenomenal how he does that! And how he carries out notes just makes my heart melt! His voice is outstanding and the catchy lyrics and melodies on each song makes me want to hear them over and over! Expand
  97. LynnW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air in the musical world! Love every song! Love the variety of musical styles coupled with David Archuleta's beautiful, pure, buttery vocals!
  98. TrishM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Loved every song on the album including all the bonus tracks!!!!
  99. SandraD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta is amazing! he is so talented. His voice is so unique, so powerful. You can feel the emotion and the love he has for music in each and every song he performs. I love his first album. It is awesome. Each song is great in its own special way. All the bonus tracks are fantastic. Everybody should listen to them. I have no doubt that David will be a huge music star around the David Archuleta is amazing! he is so talented. His voice is so unique, so powerful. You can feel the emotion and the love he has for music in each and every song he performs. I love his first album. It is awesome. Each song is great in its own special way. All the bonus tracks are fantastic. Everybody should listen to them. I have no doubt that David will be a huge music star around the world. This is only the beginning of his amazing music career. Expand
  100. VickieF.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I loved David on Idol and could not wait for his first CD. I have played it non-stop since it came out on Tuesday. The blend of different styles of music shows that David can sing anything.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. So, it delivers exactly what Archuleta promised on the show: something sweet and safe, utterly old-fashioned and forgettable.
  2. A silky tenor with a natural melancholy that makes him a heartbreaker by default. His charming debut exploits that very quality with some strokes of pop genius.
  3. Happily, in a genre where the urge is to err on the side of overwrought, someone smart decided to stick with tasteful, understated production. Archuleta's delivery is likewise low-key and attractive, if predictably generic.