Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    100
    They're also bracingly potent and screamingly vital; David Comes To Life is the work of a band openly aspiring to be great, and pulling it off.
  2. What sets Fucked Up's new album aside from their previous records though is the accessibility and bright tone throughout.
  3. Jun 9, 2011
    90
    In the end, the greatest testament to David Comes to Life is how it feels like there's more and more to it, even when you're already on sensory overload as it is.
  4. Jun 8, 2011
    86
    David Comes to Life is absolutely worth the commitment, a convincing demonstration of what can happen when a band works without limitations.
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    90
    One brilliant rock song follows another, defiantly leaden in construction but stalwart in performance. Rarely does such simple rock sound so satisfying.
  6. Jun 6, 2011
    88
    In "Turn the Season," "Ship of Fools" and "Life in Paper," the guitars suggest a torrent busting through a dam, sweeping away all in its path. It's an exhilarating, engulfing sound that might've been better served by a more concise album. But then F Up never has been much for holding itself back.
  7. Jun 6, 2011
    90
    It's one 
of the most overly complicated hard-rock records 
of the past ten years. It's also one of the best.
  8. Jun 6, 2011
    90
    What Fucked Up have done here is to take what they've been honing for the past 10 years and go one better, adding lush female vocals and celestial, electronica-inspired effects in an effort to constantly titillate and surprise.
  9. Fucked Up actively refuse any sort of definition, and David Comes To Life proves that they're more than capable of shouldering that burden.
  10. Jun 6, 2011
    100
    Fucked Up's grand ambition may one day be their downfall, but right now it has produced an intricate, rewarding beast of an album, their magnum opus.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    To say the very least, this album took me by surprise. When I heard that it was a hardcore punk album, I immediately didn't listen to it, at least as much as it's possible to immediately not do something. Then it won Spin's Album of the Year award, and I knew I had to listen to it.

    From the very first second the delay-drenched guitars hit, I was in awe. Honestly, I can recall the moment perfectly: I had just returned my books and was driving home for Christmas break, listening to the warmest, most inviting, and best punk I have ever heard in my life.

    It's catchy, it's inventive, it's raw, it's furious, and it's GREAT. Listen to this album. Just do it.
    Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2012
    10
    Give it four listens. It is loud and racous. It is hard to understand some of the lyrics. Every song has a heart and a primal beat and feeling. The best album of 2011 (if you can stomach noise). It is a movie in your head. It is the 12 year old kid playing air guitar in the mirror to the Who. It is a monolith. It is perfection. Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Just listen Its great