User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    In short, David Comes to Life, is saving my life. For it's tale, and it's message. It's a rebirth and a journey of love in every sense. I'm glad I found this. Truly an experience.
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    this would be my frontrunner for album of the year. it's lengthy, has great lyrics, a great concept, and it is catchy and well executed. a really great post punk album that never lets up on the gas pedal for most of its 1.5 hour running time. try listening to "queen of hearts" if you want a good idea of the direction of the album right away.
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Just listen Its great
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Excellent album. A joy to listen. Its near heavy metal that i have listened to in a long time. The track '
    The Other Shoe' is the best song i have heard in a while. Its my most shared track in a while. Needs to be played loud.
  5. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This album is a modern day masterpiece - a genuine gem amongst an overabundance of crap that has true feeling bursting out of it. The multiple guitar tracks overlay each other perfectly creating a delicious sonic texture throughout the album, backed by the rolling bass underlying the guitar tracks. The vocals pack an awesome punch and perfectly compliment the bands sound while giving the album a real 'fist pumping' nature. The album will be difficult to get into for people not open to the vocal style of Pink eyes, but a deeply rewarding album awaits anyone who gives it a go, and you will eventually find that the vocals are one of the most enjoyable aspects of the album. The album makes you feel really empowered about life, and that's something I haven't felt with an album in quite some time. You can relate to the tracks when you're feeling down in the dumps with life or a relationship because they are a mix of optimistic and depressed moods. It oozes the feeling of getting back on your feet again and giving everything a go, regardless of what the world thinks. This is the key thing that the album works as. The band are unconventional and different, and by attempting to create a rock-opera concept album that fits perfectly with our modern culture. It feels very apt, and in my head it feels like a modern version of 'The Wall', albeit with a very different band and sound. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This is a very impressive third album from a very impressive band with two other very good albums. The album as a whole is stellar, not many moments (if any) where i find myself not enjoying what I'm hearing. The lyrics definitely enhance the album as a whole as it revolves around a complex and very interesting story. The major highlights of the album are Queen of Hearts, The Other Shoe (an anthem that will keep you coming back), Turn of the Season and A Little Death, though its really tough to choose with such a great album. This album will hopefully looked back on as a magnum opus for the band and a defining work in the Art Punk arena. Expand
  7. May 10, 2012
    10
    Give it four listens. It is loud and racous. It is hard to understand some of the lyrics. Every song has a heart and a primal beat and feeling. The best album of 2011 (if you can stomach noise). It is a movie in your head. It is the 12 year old kid playing air guitar in the mirror to the Who. It is a monolith. It is perfection.
  8. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    To say the very least, this album took me by surprise. When I heard that it was a hardcore punk album, I immediately didn't listen to it, at least as much as it's possible to immediately not do something. Then it won Spin's Album of the Year award, and I knew I had to listen to it.

    From the very first second the delay-drenched guitars hit, I was in awe. Honestly, I can recall the
    moment perfectly: I had just returned my books and was driving home for Christmas break, listening to the warmest, most inviting, and best punk I have ever heard in my life.

    It's catchy, it's inventive, it's raw, it's furious, and it's GREAT. Listen to this album. Just do it.
    Collapse
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 80
    The eighteen tracks and eighty minutes presented here don't hold a candle to 2008′s The Chemistry of Common Life but I truly admire the tenacity of this outfit to push on toward such a lofty venture.
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    It's a true testament to the band that its windswept glory-rock stays exhilarating for nearly 80 minutes.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    Guitars buzz and chime, melodies uproot from the dirt and stand tall; the sum total being tan indefinable yet fascinating modern day rock opera that is as rewarding as it is unique. [4 Jun 2011, p.52]