David Cook

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
David Cook Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 473 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The American Idol winner's first album on the RCA label, produced by Rob Cavallo and Brian Howes, features songs co-written by Chris Cornell, Goo Goo Dolls' Johnny Rzeznik, and Our Lady Peace's Raine Maida.

Top Track

The Time Of My Life
I've been waiting for my dreams To turn into something I could believe in And looking for that, magic rainbow On the horizon, I couldn't see it until... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. The producers give David Cook's clutch of bombastic verse-chorus- verse rockers an impressive melodic sheen, one well suited to Cook's husky, expressive vocals.
  2. Indeed, it's hard to distinguish Cook's sound from that of his own idols, like Our Lady Peace and Better Than Ezra.
  3. Much like his predecessors' quick-turnaround debuts, Cook's is fairly generic, but its rock edge is dirtied up with crunching guitars and the artist's tuneful growl.
  4. David Cook [is] remarkably similar to the debut of his AmIdol forefather, DAUGHTRY, but where Chris Daughtry wallows in his stylized amorphous angst, Cook is a friendly puppy dog, eager to please.
  5. The Johnny Rzez­nik-assisted opener 'Declaration' sets the tone--guitars, lots of 'em--and 'Light On' has its Soundgarden-like charms, but without the right hook, 'Life on the Moon' and 'I Did It for You' come off like assembly-line active rock.
  6. 30
    As overblown as he is oversensitive, reaching toward the rafters whether his jumbled platitudes about wounded relationships warrant it or not, Cook is more like Michael Bolton in a T-shirt.
Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 308
  1. MelissaR
    Nov 25, 2008
    Absolutely loved it.
  2. KristynG.
    Nov 20, 2008
    This CD is amazing for the amount of time he had to work on it. I'm really proud of what he accomplished. Love Permanent and Ba Bar Sol
  3. LoriW
    Feb 3, 2009
    Every song is a gem. Ignore the 1s. We know who they are and why they give this CD a 1 and it won't work. David Cook is here to stay.
  4. SuzyM
    Nov 25, 2008
    Finally a great singer/songwriter/musician to come onto the music scene. Great album, and i expect more to come.
  5. ShelS
    Nov 25, 2008
    I love every song on this CD.
  6. PattieH.
    Nov 29, 2008
    This is best rock album to come along in a long time. Every song is great and every song is different. I never have the urge to skip one, and This is best rock album to come along in a long time. Every song is great and every song is different. I never have the urge to skip one, and I listen to the album over and over. David Cook's voice is remarkable in his range and all of the textures from his husky growl to his beautiful clear tenor. The lyrics of all of these songs speak directly to the listener, as they were written from the heart. This one is definitely a "10". Expand
  7. DebbieH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    Don't care for Cooks style, voice or his smugness. Gook Luck to him anyway.

See all 308 User Reviews