Days Are Gone

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Days Are Gone Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the Los Angles indie pop trio of sisters was produced by Ariel Rechtshaid and James Ford.
Buy On

Top Track

Don't Save Me
Never thought that I would grow so old of seeing the gold Still I never want it to go I would hold it up to my cold heart Feel the way it used to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    91
    It could be an overstatement to say that if Days Are Gone is any indication of what’s to come for Haim, the band is set.
  2. With the triumvirate of googly-eyed rhythms, sinfully catchy melodies and a breeziness that seems only fitting, they’ve served up one of the most auspicious debuts of the year.
  3. 80
    Overall, Days Are Gone showcases the band’s individual strengths that have been pulled together to create a collective group with intensity and depth of potential.
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    The music is propulsive and upbeat, but executed with the almost blasé confidence of people who sound like they have nothing to prove.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    It’s a taut, punchy album full of winning charm, and blessedly free of cynicism and ego.
  6. Uncut
    Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Hook-heavy hummability abounds, but most interesting are the newer "My Song" and "Let Me Go"--darkly atmospheric chunks of contemporary R&B/Hip-pop. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    50
    The lyrics flirt with turmoil--there are lots of songs about holding on or jumping into the fire, and so forth--but don’t really say much of anything.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    This band is a breath of fresh air. The harmonies, song structures, melodies, and vocal arranges are absolutely breath-taking! It will keep meThis band is a breath of fresh air. The harmonies, song structures, melodies, and vocal arranges are absolutely breath-taking! It will keep me hooked until their next album. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best pop records of the last few years. Imagine every musical influence of your youth put into a blender, paired withEasily one of the best pop records of the last few years. Imagine every musical influence of your youth put into a blender, paired with unbelievably catchy hooks and flawless production. The result is Haim. Fantastic. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    An incredible debut album by a group of sisters that will hopefully be on the music scene for years to come. Their music is so fresh, organicAn incredible debut album by a group of sisters that will hopefully be on the music scene for years to come. Their music is so fresh, organic and a revolution in an album Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    While the influences are there for all to hear, HAIM do bring something fresh to the indie pop table. "Day Are Gone" at times has a lateWhile the influences are there for all to hear, HAIM do bring something fresh to the indie pop table. "Day Are Gone" at times has a late 70's/early 80's feel but in the best possible way. At the same time the record feels current which makes it widely appealling while at the same time standing out. Rather than containing any standout tracks, the album is consistent throughout, maintaining a high level of quality from start to finish. HAIM are tight and you can tell that they have put a lot of time into the writing of their material. The closer you listen, the more you can hear the layers in each track. The more you listen, the more you enjoy it. It's engaging pop music but challenges you. What more do you want? Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Ask any girl, not many of them will like rock, some will but in retrospect some won't. It's a cultural stereotype that they will like pop orAsk any girl, not many of them will like rock, some will but in retrospect some won't. It's a cultural stereotype that they will like pop or something along the lines of that and we're all guilty of this form of labeling. With Haim's musical roots, they bring a unique force on this album with this style. It's unexpected from a girl band, and yet it's still strangely safe for them as well. It's Fleetwood Mac's Rumours meets Michael Jackson's Thriller, just to put it explicitly. It's seems new, but then again the roots and inspirations are still evident, and its influence will be greatly appreciated.

    Days Are Gone isn't anything new lyrically as well, lacking flow and grace at some points but not so much to be a nuisance. Musically, it is incredibly interesting and intriguing, and with Haim behind the wheel, letting them drive us through their journey is probably our best decision yet.
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2015
    7
    HAIM ir trio kas, gan vokālā, gan instrumentālā ziņā, rada, nebaidīšos vārda, “stilīgas” 80to gadu vieglā roka un popa dziesmas, kurāmHAIM ir trio kas, gan vokālā, gan instrumentālā ziņā, rada, nebaidīšos vārda, “stilīgas” 80to gadu vieglā roka un popa dziesmas, kurām raksturīga tikai instrumentāls pavadījums, kam pāri skan meiteņu 80to gadu čilīgas Brūsa Springstīna stila vai, tikpat labi, tās pašas desmitgades Madonnas melodijas. Tieši albuma muzikālais skanējums to padara baudāmu, viegli klausāmu un attiecināmu katram tā izmēģinātājam. Taču nedaudz čābīgāk iet ar dziesmu tekstiem un to vēstījuma tematiku; vairums dziesmu ir par nedaudz vidusskolīgām attiecībām, no kurām dažas ir veiksmīgākas, citas – diezgan viduvējas. Turpmāk nedaudz par atsevišķām dziesmām.

    Falling – Albuma pirmā un spēcīgākā dziesma; retā dziesma ne par attiecībām. Šeit māsas dzied par tiem brīdīšiem, kuros neveicas tā, kā gribētos, bet tam pāri ir atziņa, ka tādi ir vienkārši izdzīvojami un visam ir savs laiks. Don’t stop, no one’s ever enough; I’ll never look back, never give up; And if it gets rough, it’s time to get rough; But now I’m falling,(…) Vienkārši uztveramas lirikas, bet artava gudrības tajās. Taču dziesmu vēl baudāmāku padara izcili piemeklēti akustiski dabīgi un dinamiski 80to gadu ritmi. Uzteicams ir arī māsu grupas vadošās vokālistes Alanas dziedājums šeit, kas ir ar īpaši ausij patīkamu tembru un sadzirdams kas tuvs Džeksona saraustīti izdziedātajai pārliecībai un cīņas sparam. Ņau.

    Don’t save me – Enerģiska un ritmiska dziesma, kurā uztverts brīdis – tas, kurā nav spēka attiecībām. Tajā Alana, piedziedot pārējām abām māsām, attīsta šo izjūtu līdz pārdomām par neveselīgu attiecību nepieciešamību. Take me back/ Give it up, give it up to me/ Cause I can’t go on/ If your love isn’t strong/See I wanna know/ Give me, give me all your love/ If you can’t hold on/ Then baby, baby don’t save me now. Skanējuma ziņā tā izklausās kā leģitīma 80to dziesma, ar mainīgu dinamiku, ko visu vieno jaukās māsu balsis.

    The wire – Svinīgāka, melodiskāka un gudrāka versija par Teičas Sviftas “We are never ever getting back together” tēmu. Tā ir kā vēstule draugam, no kura meitene grib šķirties un racionāli paskaidro, ka prātam vienmēr ebreju stilā ir jāvalda pār sirdi un ka skaidri zināms, ka attiecību beigas ir pārdzīvojamas un tas nav pasaules gals. Dziedāts tiek arī par to, ka ir grūti pateikt lietas, kuras atrisinātu problēmas, tāpēc šeit izmantota “noklausīšanās ierīces” metafora, kas atrisinājusi problēmu. Always keep your heart locked tight, don’t let your mind retire, oh/ But I just couldn’t take it, I tried hard not to fake it/ But I fumbled it when I came down to the wire. Kopumā dziesmā ir ļoti daudz teksta un jauki, ka šajā gabalā katrai māsai ir sava solo daļa, kas atklāj, ka viņu balsis ir līdzīgas, taču tajā pašā laikā unikālas. Kopumā visvieglāk klausāmā dziesma, ar ļoti dabīgu muzikālo pavadījumu, ko klausoties liekas, ka esi dzīvajā koncertā un tempu tik pat labi pēkšņi var apstādināt un Haimuškas sāks runāt ar koncerta apmeklētājiem.

    Citas jaukas dziesmas ir “Forever“, “Honey and I“; pozitīvi vērtējama arī visatšķirīgākā dziesma albumā, kuras skanējums rada perspektīvu meiču nākamajam albumam “Song Nr. 5“, kurā tiek atdarināts kas līdzīgs instrumentālam dapstepam un kura ir tumšāks muzikāli un teksta ziņā citas attiecību problemātikas atspoguļojums. Pārējās dziesmas ir muzikālā ziņā ļoti jaukas, taču albumu klausoties nedaudz sāk apnikt attiecības kā tematika, iespējams, ka lasot šo recenziju, vārds attiecības varētu arī šķist par daudz izmantots, bet tā arī ir… galvenā tēma “Days ar gone” ir divu cilvēku attiecības. Dziesmās kā Running if you call my name vai Let me go, teksts šķiet garlaicīgs un, kopumā vērtējot, spēcīgākās dziesmas ir tās, kuras iznākušas publikā albuma ilgā tapšanas posmā pirms klajā laišanas un pārējās, brīdim, šķiet ir ir pierakstītas klāt, lai iznāktu pilns albums. Tāpēc atsevišķas albuma dziesmas ir ļoti klausāmas un baudāmas, taču visu albumu kopumā, atzīšu, esmu noklausījies kopš iznākšanas pagājušajā septembrī, iespējams, trīs reizes. Visu augstāk rakstīto summējot, tomēr jāsecina, ka arī šis albums ir ar unikālu skanējumu un pirmo reizi, kopš ēras, kurā tiek atgriezta modē 60to un 70to gadu mūzika, kāds ir tīri veiksmīgi izcēlis un atjaunojis to, ko tik ļoti daudz mīl 80to gadu mūzikā un darījis to veiksmīgi.
    Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2014
    3
    I pre-ordered "Days Are Gone" because I loved HAIM's 2013 iTunes concert set, which combined raw rock with catchy pop. When the album finallyI pre-ordered "Days Are Gone" because I loved HAIM's 2013 iTunes concert set, which combined raw rock with catchy pop. When the album finally dropped, though, my excitement changed to disappointment at hearing only one song (My Song 5) with the energy I enjoyed in the band's live performance. In the studio, HAIM loses its power, buffing and layering until no rock edges remain. Yes, it's still possible to hear some smoking guitar riffs, but they're buried so deep in the mix that most listeners will miss them. Or not miss them, judging by the rave reviews on this site.... Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.