Days Go By - The Offspring
Days Go By Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth full-length studio album for the punk rock band was produced by Bob Rock.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    A fine album from an often overlooked band. [30 Jun 2012, p.53]
  2. 67
    It's the same old story on the veteran SoCal punk revivalists' ninth album: pogo-and-whine thrash with a faux-funky detour. [6 Jul 2012, p.73]
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    'Days Go By' doesn't catapult them back to their prime; there's a lot of issues that can be picked out, be it recognisable musicality or questionable song choices. Having said that, when The Offspring do get it right on this record, they are great.
  4. Jul 9, 2012
    40
    It is with frightful ease that one can declare 'Days Go By' as a parody of the efforts which came before.
  5. Aug 1, 2012
    40
    The general rule with Offspring albums is that their buoyant Californian punk will always be pockmarked by two wildly irritating songs. So it is with Days Go By.
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    40
    The Offspring's nervousness is palpable in their protestations of relevance and liveliness, but no matter how fast or loud things get, there's no energy or wit, nothing to convince you this band could win, or even prolong, a fight with oblivion.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    20
    So there are a couple of silly tracks - but then there were two silly Bennett sisters [in Austen's Pride and Prejudice]. Sadly, the remainder of the album is all Mary and no Elizabeth; devoid of life, wit, or energy.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    It annoys me so much that this isn't getting as much praise as it deserves. Seems like all people are doing is saying "HERP DERP CRUISIN CALIFORNIA IS A POP SONG & THE TITLE TRACK SOUNDS LIKE FOO FIGHTERS!!!!" and then just brushing off the rest. I honestly don't see what they're complaining about. To me The Offspring is in top form here. Over the years their sound seems to have gotten more & more diverse. There's songs that sound like classic Offspring ("Hurting as One", "Dividing By Zero", "Slim Pickens") with maybe a hint of Rise Against at times ("The Future Is Now"), emotional piano-driven balladry ("All I Have Left Is You"), mid-tempo Foo Fighters-esque rock ("Days Go By"), quirky pop-punk ("I Wanna Secret Family With You"), fun upbeat & tongue-in-cheek power-pop ("Cruising California"), and even a bizarrely catchy hybrid of mariachi & reggae ("OC Guns"). What's all the negativity towards? For Noodles' sake, even the new Flo Rida album got a higher average critic score than this! While obviously nothing will ever top Smash, this is a close second for sure. People need to get over that The Offspring isn't always gonna be 100% punk 100% of the time and just enjoy the great songwriting for what it is. This is also the problem I have with the reception of the new Linkin Park album. People notice it doesn't sound like nu-metal and instantly throw around the labels "boring", "watered-down", and even "sellout", without giving themselves a chance to embrace the sound they have in front of them rather than just comparing to the older stuff. In my opinion this album is a fantastic addition to the Offspring discography, and every track is catchy & memorable. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    New Offspring, what a way to kick off the summer!!! I have read several "critics" reviews and must wonder why so serious? This is a great record, one of their best in my opinion. I have plowed through it numerous times and now and it just gets better after every listen. In my estimation that's what a great record does, you listen to it once and go yea and then by the time you've listened to several more times you're like hell yea!!! Cruisin California is just a great summer song, these guys have always written silly fun songs, it part of what makes them The Offspring. Love "Slim Pickens" too, great to have the band back and can't wait to see them live!!! Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this album a lot. I would have given it an 8, but they rehashed a lot of the same chord progressions and beats. For example, "Dirty Magic" shares the same chorus melody as "Have You Ever" from "American."

    Dexter's vocals are probably better than they have ever been. There are some awesome guitar solos (something I felt the last album was missing a little).

    If you like their old stuff, you will like most of this album. I have no idea why 'Cruising California' and 'Days Go By' are the first singles they choose from the album. Both songs differ the most from their previous work.

    In my opinion, 'Days Go By' is the weak link in the album. It sounds a lot like the Foo Fighters and gets old really fast.

    'Secrets From The Underground' is probably the best song on the album. Over all, I was very satisfied and think the album is definitely worth buying.
    Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    Whilst not being as good as their previous effort, Ride and fall, Rage and Grace, still pretty good nonetheless. Certainly not their worst work. I just think it's a little disappointing one of the best tracks of the Album 'Dirty Magic' is a rerecord. Still like previous offering from The Offspring these songs will get stuck in your head fairly easily. Also Cruising California really doesn't get it's satirical edge across, which is clear when you read the lyrics but from just hearing it, rather hard to tell. So in conclusion I quite enjoyed this album and whilst there are no real surprises and it's not their best work and the length is just a little disappointing for a 4 year wait, it still is a pretty good album.
    Standout Tracks: All i have left is you Dirty Magic Slim Pickens does the right thing and rides the bomb to hell.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    The Offspring have always been one of my favorite bands, but this is not one of my favorite albums. There are a lot of derivative tracks (I can hear Foo Fighters and Rise Against playing in my head while I listen to some tracks, as well as Offspring songs from prior albums). This bothered me for some time, but after listening to the cd enough, I've gotten over that and have given it my approval. The song has enough singles on it to make the CD worth the purchase. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    3
    These guys are going to get sued for plagiarism. They use to be an excellent punk band, but then they decided that what they wanted to be is the "funny" band, and made songs like "Pretty Fly for a White Guy" and "Hit That." Ugh. This album mixes in some of those types of songs along with some Rise Against and Foo Fighters ripoffs, clearly just desperate to get back on the radio. They need to stop. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews