De-Loused In The Comatorium

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 426

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DANNY
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    THE LED ZEPPELIN OF OUR GENERATION.
  2. GregH.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    A true masterpiece. I've had the album for a mere 5 days, and it has already become my alll time favorite. Music doesn't get any better than this. De-Loused... has given me new hope for the album as an art form. Simply spectacular
  3. BillyP
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    A great great album. So great, though, it's not for everybody, as the (admittedly well articulated) Pitchfork review proves. It seems, though, that more people like this album than not, which is fortunate, as I adore it so very much. Among other things, it proves that you don't need grunge distortion to rock post 1991, and that Cedric can actually sing! His voice was merely A great great album. So great, though, it's not for everybody, as the (admittedly well articulated) Pitchfork review proves. It seems, though, that more people like this album than not, which is fortunate, as I adore it so very much. Among other things, it proves that you don't need grunge distortion to rock post 1991, and that Cedric can actually sing! His voice was merely unique with ATDI; shakey and seemingly untrained, it contributed power of the songs, but not beauty. Here we get the treat of hearing a delicate and precise performance that loses none of its passion in its elegance. Wonderful. Expand
  4. Maldoror
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    Best album I have heard since years, and maybe best ever Tool's Lateralus put aside. Very ambitious and fucking brain blowing. I've been playing it over and over for a week now, it's pure musical orgasm
  5. RalphP
    Jan 9, 2004
    9
    This CD ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Mincer
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    An album topped only by their live show. If you get the slightest chance.. go and see them. Your jaw will not leave the ground the whole time. A purely brilliant band.
  7. AndresD
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    Damn good album!! The last time i ever felt this musically motivated with a cd was with Ok computer. De-Loused is just a mind-blowing hour of music that reminds us how great music can be.
  8. Chris
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Without a doubt the greatest CD I have ever listened to and certainly my favorite. Beautiful guitars and vocals. Beautifully complex lyrics that leave room for interpretation. Simply Amazing.
  9. EricS
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    Excellent! Needs multiple listenings -- I'm still not finished finding new things in it. But the music stays with you for days on end (in a good way). Driving, exciting, powerful. More, please!
  10. JR
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Bixler and Rodriguez are gods. 10/10
  11. EfrendeJesusJacoboCarrizales
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Uno de los mejores discos que he escuchado jamas
  12. BigDave
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This album is sheer genius. yes its true, you have to put a bit of effort onto it when u listen to it, but when u do u see that it is one of the great records, its simply awesome the amount of genres covered, and all with such style and amazing guitar riffs, sheer genius, this is REAL music
  13. ashley
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    i think this band is AWESOME!! its new and not many people listen to it which is good.
  14. MattP
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    I know I may get some heat for this but, thank God At The Drive In broke up because this is much better and much more interesting. Although I do think they topped it with Frances The Mute. De-Loused In The Comotorium is still an essential purchase.
  15. PaulT
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    incredibely deep. it takes at least 3 or 4 listens to start to comprehend their genius.
  16. Orpheus11
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This is one of the most innovative albums ever. This is an album that will be played as an example of 21st Century geniusness.
  17. aarong
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    An absolutely amazing album
  18. jmaxwell
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    these guys are blazingly good musicians, and equally creative. there may yet be some hope for the future of music after all.
  19. CraigW
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    They say life is a series of moments, which is good because every moment you spend listening to this stupendously fantasmagorical album is a joyous one. They also say that when you lose your virginity you become a man. well, if your talking about your Volta virginity they are definately not mistaken. So go fourth purcase this album and become a better person.
  20. KyleC
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    This album becomes more and more mind-blowing each time you listen to it. you find something new each time, and listening to this band never gets old.
  21. MarieS
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    the best CD since Led Zeppelin and co.
  22. BriarB-A
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Just saw these guys live at Big Day Out 2006. If you had seen them and felt the utter euphoria I felt you wouldn't be talking like this? The guitarist is rubbish. Omar is absolutely fantastic and Cedric is purely engenius. A Long time fan of them and De-Loused in The Comatorium is my favourite. Love it hate, but you should just try and love it. Love, Briar.
  23. GuillermoB
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    those that dont' appreciate these two passionate musicians, Cedric Bixler Zavala and Omar A. Rodriguez, don't appreciate music. Music is all about expressing your self in any way you can, any sedative sound wave that pours out of your mind and soul, just like The Mars Volta does. Cedric has excellent vocals, that is lullaby, melodelic to ears. Cedric's amazing lyrics of those that dont' appreciate these two passionate musicians, Cedric Bixler Zavala and Omar A. Rodriguez, don't appreciate music. Music is all about expressing your self in any way you can, any sedative sound wave that pours out of your mind and soul, just like The Mars Volta does. Cedric has excellent vocals, that is lullaby, melodelic to ears. Cedric's amazing lyrics of thruth and fiction. Omars's amazing guitar solo's that reminds us of Santana. His magnificent sound shifts taht tarnspotrs us into the next dimension. Jon Theodore's crazy, smashing, jammong, hard drumming, that clutches the pulses of your hearts that makes your body dance. These and many aspects that bring some punk-rock, metal, tropicana, jazz, and pshhycodelic fusions melting our brains. This band fucking rules the shit out of any other band out there. They are music god's Expand
  24. Benlol
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Superb album, if you dont like it turn on your green day and be a mainstream junkie like all the other losers on MTV.
  25. ChristopherP
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    A breath of fresh air to the saturated mediocre music industy! The music is beyond stimulating with emense debth and talent. A beautiful blend of influences from Blues, punk-rock, Jazz, psyc rock, and latin. Probably one of my favorite albums in years. They don't comprimise any of their talents, with that they continue to stretch into an entirely new genre. Feels like your on drugs A breath of fresh air to the saturated mediocre music industy! The music is beyond stimulating with emense debth and talent. A beautiful blend of influences from Blues, punk-rock, Jazz, psyc rock, and latin. Probably one of my favorite albums in years. They don't comprimise any of their talents, with that they continue to stretch into an entirely new genre. Feels like your on drugs when you see them live!!! Expand
  26. joeym
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Jon Theodore is a god! Some of the most creative drumming I have ever heard. As far as creativity he ranks up there with Danny Carey and Mike Portnoy.
  27. raxx
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Beautiful density - Heaviest thing I love - Wouldn't have loved it if I hadn't put it on an Interpol Antics mp3cd thats in constant rotation. Hard work pays off.
  28. elmo.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    the most experimental album of the year utterly mind bending rick rubin seems to have made the songs focused without sacrifcing any of their free form schitzoid jazz.
  29. LanceRomance
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    I will compare this to abstract art. This album is like a huge playground for my imagination to run wild. Its somewhat of a reminder that there aren't "rules" in music, something many critics tend to forget. This CD won't work for you IF you don't let it work for you. Please, cast aside all your musical DO's and DONT's and you WILL enjoy this album. Though it may I will compare this to abstract art. This album is like a huge playground for my imagination to run wild. Its somewhat of a reminder that there aren't "rules" in music, something many critics tend to forget. This CD won't work for you IF you don't let it work for you. Please, cast aside all your musical DO's and DONT's and you WILL enjoy this album. Though it may not be very lucid or accessible, this album IS FUN, if you have a good imagination. And that's what makes it all the more rewarding. Expand
  30. Steve
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    Hasn't left my CD player yet. I'm hooked.
  31. scottyd
    Oct 31, 2003
    9
    The best cd that i have heard this year.Makes you think!!
  32. franchisej
    Jun 23, 2003
    9
    i'm proud that these gentalman are out of E.P. and showing the world there beautiful soulful blood just fuking amazing
  33. JamesS
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    Simply stated, this album is incredible. I doubt I've much to say that hasn't already been said, and won't be repeated ad nauseum as this album is reviewed, but for those that want the reiteration: this is quite simply the most artistic, varied and creative that punk can get while still being able to rock. Its art-rock with a strongly beating heart and experimental music Simply stated, this album is incredible. I doubt I've much to say that hasn't already been said, and won't be repeated ad nauseum as this album is reviewed, but for those that want the reiteration: this is quite simply the most artistic, varied and creative that punk can get while still being able to rock. Its art-rock with a strongly beating heart and experimental music with an empassioned soul. Expand
  34. PeterC
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    This is probably the best album to come out this year, and probably will stay that way, even though we still have July and onward to look foward to. Heck, it might even be the best album to come out of this millenium so far! It totally blew me away. It's everything I expected it to be: from the Latin laced prog rock, to the errie and hypnotic soundscapes. If you want to hear what a This is probably the best album to come out this year, and probably will stay that way, even though we still have July and onward to look foward to. Heck, it might even be the best album to come out of this millenium so far! It totally blew me away. It's everything I expected it to be: from the Latin laced prog rock, to the errie and hypnotic soundscapes. If you want to hear what a masterpiece sounds like, buy this album!! Expand
  35. thePUSHER
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    Undoubtably one of the most inspiring and moving pieces of work to be put out since "Nothing Shocking"! This album proves that you don't have to follow all the other mindless bands out there that have been sucked in by today's crap radio. If there is a downside to "Deloused..." It would be that we will now have a bunch of other crappy bands out there that will imitate (or at Undoubtably one of the most inspiring and moving pieces of work to be put out since "Nothing Shocking"! This album proves that you don't have to follow all the other mindless bands out there that have been sucked in by today's crap radio. If there is a downside to "Deloused..." It would be that we will now have a bunch of other crappy bands out there that will imitate (or at least try) the Mars Volta. Nobody's perfect right. Definetely one of the best pieces of true art in this new crappy millenium. Expand
  36. BrennanH
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    while sparta has the instrumental sound of atdi, mars volta has the vocals...kind of. bixler and rodriguez have succeded in that they didn't make another atdi album, but left enough sonic treats in there to remind us where they came from. and who the hell is that drummer? best "punk" drummer i've heard in a while.
  37. MichaelA
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    This is one of the most amazing CDs I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. It certainly requires more than one listen to appreciate the work you're hearing. I find it amazing that so much art can be crammed into 60 minutes of music, it's truely beautiful.
  38. nickb
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    good god they are going to change music as we know it.
  39. DannyC
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    One of the greatest albums ever... and probably the most dynamic. Beautiful melodies layered over chaotic driving rythems that jump from every emotion across the board. It will make most good musicians feel like they lack in creativity. Just F...ing amazing
  40. dans
    Jun 26, 2003
    9
    rocks
  41. Jacqui
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Omar and Cedric are BRILLIANT!!!! I've been listening to this album nonstop!! If you haven't picked up your copy...SHAME ON YOU!!
  42. MikeK
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    the sounds that they produce with their instruments are simply incredible. on top of this, they manage to stay melodic and astonishingly creative. this album really showcases the talents of the musicians involved.
  43. aakashp
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    I anticipated this album for 2 years and finally Im going to play it as I write this review. So I just popped it in, first track playing sounded like a massive fuzz that warped into this great piano piece written in space then it got stronger and stronger and stronger and stronger the piano outshining everything now, wow now cedric bixler comes in beautifuly manipulated voice "the vermin I anticipated this album for 2 years and finally Im going to play it as I write this review. So I just popped it in, first track playing sounded like a massive fuzz that warped into this great piano piece written in space then it got stronger and stronger and stronger and stronger the piano outshining everything now, wow now cedric bixler comes in beautifuly manipulated voice "the vermin you need to loaaath" then bam thundering thundering thundering drums, perfect beat like it was done. silence. wow the yells of cedric are the same beautiful. "flinch like birth defects" incredible how smoothly he says thats. great song, by the way we are into song 2 right into, very pinkfloydish im loving how the songs lead into each other. this band will certainly be known for albums rather than songs, like floyd. His voice dynamic as ever from the vaya days to now still the greatest voice ive ever heard in rock and roll, he just does so much with it. this song will be big hit amongst the core atdi fans. WOW "preforraated at the neeaack" i think its what he said but god it blew me away like angels singing. "pink eyed mountain" wow the 12 dollars i paid already have been fully valued in these 4 minutes the cd has been on, its that good kids, its that good. song 3 is starting now, lots of wacky sounds im loving it bam haunt of roullete dares, oh god heres the drum bam bam bam now the explosion oh yes oh hell yes now i know why i love this band so much, "THIS IS THE HAUNT OF THE ROULLLETE DAAAARES" god and now we are at the quieting and whispering almost, wow wow wow wow "through umbelical blisters" "exoskeltal junction at the railroad delayed" god how he says these lines with such suave and smoothness. amazing trully amazing, only he can pull this off the manip sounds perfect the keyboards great, voice of course astonishing but seems a little off, and the drums god the drums Jon is my new favourite drummer. the vocals are a little shabby in this but the music is making up for it sooo much it doesnt matter and now that i think of it the vocals are not bad at all. Ahhhh.. "ahhhhh..." god he can scare a lion away and lul a baby to sleep cedric bixler is astonishing. alright roullete dares is over, amazing amazing track now we are getting into track 4 its 1:28 time and its called tira me a las arana`s which in rough translation means "the spiders are swarming me?" im probably really wrong but thats what i get out of my 2 years in high school span but bakc to the song, im loving hte guitar coinciding with the effects really super sounds complete instrumental track now it just sounds like this effect thing leading up to something then bam drum roll ooooh now we are at track 5 drunkship lanterns god perfect introduction for it "SHOVEL PICKS MOTHER CRIES" god thsi song is excellent i cant stop praising them, perfect blend of guitar and keyboarding here wow this is amazing and the lyrics and the drums. and i love that spanish salsa flavor it has in the back, like morroco`s in the arms of a man wit ha ceasure going crazy its a great effect. "SHARP AS AN ARROW" super song simply super. wow quick abrupt end into eriatarka sounds like a slower song, oh god superbly manipulated voice great great great great. damn powerful drums in this go jon, wow cedric picks up the pace nicely i can see him dancing like hell to this song on stage. wow sorry back i started dancing in my desalite room listening to this god its good you wont able to stop moving "they used to have impulsed in bound"... wow the end is magical man they have that "glimering sound" now the songs over its leading into in cicatriz i think but i dont know how track 6 about to begin woah.. this is weird very extended outro omg wow "DO YOU RECALLL ITS NAME" damn amazingly done, f*cking WOW what a song and this is the masterpiece the 12 minute master piece. Sutraaaa contusion beyond the anthills of this plaaaague. wow what an album. "to reach inside a vault whatever be the cost" if you do not have this album then you dont know what music is. sudden stop drumming is building tension bam blows up in cedrics explosive yet comforting voice saying god knows what but its beautiful. this my friends is art. wow the singings stop but crazy instrumental crazy crazy crazy, woah whats happening now the tone has changed dramatically and right dead center at the 6 minute mark, now its getting hazy strong sounds like dropping pebbles in water with that big time "futuristic" sound effects richocheting off the walls and now wow what the hell did i take acid or something before i put this cd on, their is no definite rhtyhmm and it is still so beautiful god my god, i just pinched my self to make sure this isnt a dream okay the glimmering is back and something that sounds sort of like ocean waves the drops are getting more and more repeititive i can feel something coming GOD give it to me already quit this teasing that they are doing just put me at rest but at the same time i want this to go on forever my god i dont know what to say this is amazing, oh here we go i hear light drumming oh its building its building its building oh my god, here we go wow beautiful guitar god this amazing what a guitarist. beautiful sound manip beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful, god this is brilliant what a cd, id pay 100 dollars if they charged it for this. "BEYOND THE ANTHILLS OooOooooF" cedric is back wow great great greatly maniped and voice remixed, PUNCH YOUR CLOCK IN! undeeeefecteeeed PUNCH YOUR CLOCK IN. wow what a song, now we are getting into track 8 "this apparatus must be unearthed" very thick guitars wow nice drumming everythings coming together nicely very nicely, wow a little too much manipulation on cedric`s voice.... god overkill right there but still brilliant, their we go back to normal, first verse shaky 2nd verse making it all go away and lulling me back "CAN YOU CURE OF THIS FAAAAATE" wow "IVE beeeen wiating for so long someone to mend all the blame" god i dunno if those are the lyrics but sorry i cant stop, sorry whoever is reding this im going crazy here this is amazing, this is so far the lesser of all the songs and i still love it. its a very dynamic song it`ll take a couple songs, but all my favourites do. "this is the alter, why wont you let me die..., on your knees" wow beatiful last verse makes up for everything thsi song is no lesser than any other song this is great im loving this song more and more as it progresses. wow thick ending big crazy musical explosion, thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick, now wait what the hell? silence? what thell? is that birds i hear...? can someone say uMMugumMMAMa pink floyd? this is track 9 now everyone televators, alright sounds acoustic. wow picking up omg... i feel the thick emotion of this song already. wow cedrics voice like i said can scare a lion and lul a baby. beautiful song beautiful lyrics very very emotional. 'you should have seeen the curse that flew right by you..." wow this is an exceptional song my favourite so far. the guitar is great bass is nice and the right amount of nature also. "pull the pill........." wow what a great song, very very very distinctive ending leading into the last song take the vel cerpin-taxt, wow im liking this alot making me dance again wow omg i love it i change my mind this is my favourite song god everything about this is great, YOU TAKE THE VEIAHHAAAAAIL! wow such anger it seems like a final "WHY AM I HERE! WHO PUT ME HERE!" god what a song. what a closing for such an amazing album wow is all i can say. this album blew me away but such an abrupt ending like so many things had to be said but their was no time god this is good. if you dont have it. get your self up and run to the store this is an amazing bit of music, hopefully more shall come. sorry i didnt review the last song but im too much in bliss. its a very intricate song and its very very very very amazing thats all i can say so thank you for reading, if you did sorry for making it extensive but give these guys a chance you wont regret it, its the greatest thing ive heard in a very very very long time and an album has never made me smile this hard in a very very long time so go out and grab it, im out. enjoy. astonishing. Expand
  44. aakashp
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    I anticipated this album for 2 years and finally Im going to play it as I write this review. So I just popped it in, first track playing sounded like a massive fuzz that warped into this great piano piece written in space then it got stronger and stronger and stronger and stronger the piano outshining everything now, wow now cedric bixler comes in beautifuly manipulated voice "the vermin I anticipated this album for 2 years and finally Im going to play it as I write this review. So I just popped it in, first track playing sounded like a massive fuzz that warped into this great piano piece written in space then it got stronger and stronger and stronger and stronger the piano outshining everything now, wow now cedric bixler comes in beautifuly manipulated voice "the vermin you need to loaaath" then bam thundering thundering thundering drums, perfect beat like it was done. silence. wow the yells of cedric are the same beautiful. "flinch like birth defects" incredible how smoothly he says thats. great song, by the way we are into song 2 right into, very pinkfloydish im loving how the songs lead into each other. this band will certainly be known for albums rather than songs, like floyd. His voice dynamic as ever from the vaya days to now still the greatest voice ive ever heard in rock and roll, he just does so much with it. this song will be big hit amongst the core atdi fans. WOW "preforraated at the neeaack" i think its what he said but god it blew me away like angels singing. "pink eyed mountain" wow the 12 dollars i paid already have been fully valued in these 4 minutes the cd has been on, its that good kids, its that good. song 3 is starting now, lots of wacky sounds im loving it bam haunt of roullete dares, oh god heres the drum bam bam bam now the explosion oh yes oh hell yes now i know why i love this band so much, "THIS IS THE HAUNT OF THE ROULLLETE DAAAARES" god and now we are at the quieting and whispering almost, wow wow wow wow "through umbelical blisters" "exoskeltal junction at the railroad delayed" god how he says these lines with such suave and smoothness. amazing trully amazing, only he can pull this off the manip sounds perfect the keyboards great, voice of course astonishing but seems a little off, and the drums god the drums Jon is my new favourite drummer. the vocals are a little shabby in this but the music is making up for it sooo much it doesnt matter and now that i think of it the vocals are not bad at all. Ahhhh.. "ahhhhh..." god he can scare a lion away and lul a baby to sleep cedric bixler is astonishing. alright roullete dares is over, amazing amazing track now we are getting into track 4 its 1:28 time and its called tira me a las arana`s which in rough translation means "the spiders are swarming me?" im probably really wrong but thats what i get out of my 2 years in high school span but bakc to the song, im loving hte guitar coinciding with the effects really super sounds complete instrumental track now it just sounds like this effect thing leading up to something then bam drum roll ooooh now we are at track 5 drunkship lanterns god perfect introduction for it "SHOVEL PICKS MOTHER CRIES" god thsi song is excellent i cant stop praising them, perfect blend of guitar and keyboarding here wow this is amazing and the lyrics and the drums. and i love that spanish salsa flavor it has in the back, like morroco`s in the arms of a man wit ha ceasure going crazy its a great effect. "SHARP AS AN ARROW" super song simply super. wow quick abrupt end into eriatarka sounds like a slower song, oh god superbly manipulated voice great great great great. damn powerful drums in this go jon, wow cedric picks up the pace nicely i can see him dancing like hell to this song on stage. wow sorry back i started dancing in my desalite room listening to this god its good you wont able to stop moving "they used to have impulsed in bound"... wow the end is magical man they have that "glimering sound" now the songs over its leading into in cicatriz i think but i dont know how track 6 about to begin woah.. this is weird very extended outro omg wow "DO YOU RECALLL ITS NAME" damn amazingly done, f*cking WOW what a song and this is the masterpiece the 12 minute master piece. Sutraaaa contusion beyond the anthills of this plaaaague. wow what an album. "to reach inside a vault whatever be the cost" if you do not have this album then you dont know what music is. sudden stop drumming is building tension bam blows up in cedrics explosive yet comforting voice saying god knows what but its beautiful. this my friends is art. wow the singings stop but crazy instrumental crazy crazy crazy, woah whats happening now the tone has changed dramatically and right dead center at the 6 minute mark, now its getting hazy strong sounds like dropping pebbles in water with that big time "futuristic" sound effects richocheting off the walls and now wow what the hell did i take acid or something before i put this cd on, their is no definite rhtyhmm and it is still so beautiful god my god, i just pinched my self to make sure this isnt a dream okay the glimmering is back and something that sounds sort of like ocean waves the drops are getting more and more repeititive i can feel something coming GOD give it to me already quit this teasing that they are doing just put me at rest but at the same time i want this to go on forever my god i dont know what to say this is amazing, oh here we go i hear light drumming oh its building its building its building oh my god, here we go wow beautiful guitar god this amazing what a guitarist. beautiful sound manip beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful, god this is brilliant what a cd, id pay 100 dollars if they charged it for this. "BEYOND THE ANTHILLS OooOooooF" cedric is back wow great great greatly maniped and voice remixed, PUNCH YOUR CLOCK IN! undeeeefecteeeed PUNCH YOUR CLOCK IN. wow what a song, now we are getting into track 8 "this apparatus must be unearthed" very thick guitars wow nice drumming everythings coming together nicely very nicely, wow a little too much manipulation on cedric`s voice.... god overkill right there but still brilliant, their we go back to normal, first verse shaky 2nd verse making it all go away and lulling me back "CAN YOU CURE OF THIS FAAAAATE" wow "IVE beeeen wiating for so long someone to mend all the blame" god i dunno if those are the lyrics but sorry i cant stop, sorry whoever is reding this im going crazy here this is amazing, this is so far the lesser of all the songs and i still love it. its a very dynamic song it`ll take a couple songs, but all my favourites do. "this is the alter, why wont you let me die..., on your knees" wow beatiful last verse makes up for everything thsi song is no lesser than any other song this is great im loving this song more and more as it progresses. wow thick ending big crazy musical explosion, thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick thick, now wait what the hell? silence? what thell? is that birds i hear...? can someone say uMMugumMMAMa pink floyd? this is track 9 now everyone televators, alright sounds acoustic. wow picking up omg... i feel the thick emotion of this song already. wow cedrics voice like i said can scare a lion and lul a baby. beautiful song beautiful lyrics very very emotional. 'you should have seeen the curse that flew right by you..." wow this is an exceptional song my favourite so far. the guitar is great bass is nice and the right amount of nature also. "pull the pill........." wow what a great song, very very very distinctive ending leading into the last song take the vel cerpin-taxt, wow im liking this alot making me dance again wow omg i love it i change my mind this is my favourite song god everything about this is great, YOU TAKE THE VEIAHHAAAAAIL! wow such anger it seems like a final "WHY AM I HERE! WHO PUT ME HERE!" god what a song. what a closing for such an amazing album wow is all i can say. this album blew me away but such an abrupt ending like so many things had to be said but their was no time god this is good. if you dont have it. get your self up and run to the store this is an amazing bit of music, hopefully more shall come. sorry i didnt review the last song but im too much in bliss. its a very intricate song and its very very very very amazing thats all i can say so thank you for reading, if you did sorry for making it extensive but give these guys a chance you wont regret it, its the greatest thing ive heard in a very very very long time and an album has never made me smile this hard in a very very long time so go out and grab it, im out. enjoy. astonishing. Expand
  45. jerryp
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    fantastic
  46. William
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    This record is a revolution. If anyone had managed not to notice how stagnant rock music had become over the last 5 years, then this should open their eyes. The Mars Volta have managed to create an album full of heart, and devoid of typicality or trend hopping. One small step for Bixler and company, but one GIANT step for music as we know it. There have only been a handful of bands in the This record is a revolution. If anyone had managed not to notice how stagnant rock music had become over the last 5 years, then this should open their eyes. The Mars Volta have managed to create an album full of heart, and devoid of typicality or trend hopping. One small step for Bixler and company, but one GIANT step for music as we know it. There have only been a handful of bands in the last ten years who have managed to create an album so pure, and TMV certainly rank among the best of them. Finally a band who deserves all of the hype. INCREDIBLE. Expand
  47. ari
    Jun 28, 2003
    9
    one of the best cds i have, i can play it from start to finish without skippin a track. at first i didn't think i liked it, but after two days it's blowing me away. buy this!
  48. hog
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    this has raped me badley. WOW
  49. Tim
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    Jake....how can art and poetry be pretentious? The same ignorant asses like you said the same crap about the new Shai Hulud album as well, when in reality you couldn't put out anything remotely creative compared to either Shai Hulud or The Mars Volta.
  50. bobbob
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    best album ever .
  51. TimM
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    Definitly worth orgamsing to.
  52. WigglesVieten
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    outstanding, overwhelming, bizarre, big, fat bastard!
  53. EvanG
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    By far the best CD ever released. Proving once and for all that music can incorporate peices of every other for of art. Even down to the CD booklet, this record hits a peak on every level. Visually, Mentally, Audibly especially, everything. I got chills and even breathed heavier on some parts of this song. And if you wanna call that gay go ahead, you write bullshit songs.
  54. JoseH
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    Finally, an album that is released with no bussines intentions. An album for intelligent people who need to feel the power, beauty and magnificence of music & poetry. Leave behind the idea of verse-chorus(X2) ending. Forget about silly bands waillin' about love and violence. Just listen to it ! Feel it and then try to understand it !
  55. prescottm
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    I dont know what pat mcg is smoking but he should plobably try not to o-d. the guitar is rubbish ?!?!?!? i dont know what youre talking about, this is some of the best guitar around. to be put blatently this album is sheer energy and brilliance
  56. JohnJack
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2004
  57. JustinW
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    This album has some of the most refreshing and exciting music I've heard. To appreciate it you'll need to listen to it over and over again, but luckily with this album that is a good thing. Every time I listen to it I find something new to love. Highly reccomended.
  58. Tphil
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Sexual!!
  59. AmeliaW
    May 24, 2005
    10
    A mind-blowing, spiritual experience.
  60. KellyH
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Completely brilliant, passionate, groundbreaking, off the charts inspiring genius.
  61. Hugh
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    I've liked it since it came out.
  62. alexd
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    I love basketball, and now have realized i also love the mars volta, so here's my analogy. Listening to this album is like watching Kobe Bryant score 81 points in Toronto. He did not make all his shots (album is not perfect) but you couldnt believe how good it was, and even though he is no Michael Jordan (the mars volta is no zepplin or hendrix or beatles) but you have to say Kobe I love basketball, and now have realized i also love the mars volta, so here's my analogy. Listening to this album is like watching Kobe Bryant score 81 points in Toronto. He did not make all his shots (album is not perfect) but you couldnt believe how good it was, and even though he is no Michael Jordan (the mars volta is no zepplin or hendrix or beatles) but you have to say Kobe (the mars volta's Deloused album) is one of the greatest players ever, maybe of our generation. The music rocks out without having to use heavy distortion (which i love) and Bixler's vocals are absolutely mezmerizing, passionate, powerful. His lyrics are a bit too abstract and weird to the point that he is not a true poet, but i think the abstract lyrics allow you to allow the music to talk to you as a whole more than sappy lyrics about anger and women. Expand
  63. JesseK
    May 16, 2006
    10
    This is album is the most solid piece of progressive rock I have heard in ages. I only hope they can follow it up with more albums like it. Frances didn't exactly do the trick for me :-(
  64. robertg
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    this is the best freaking album ever made!!!! and if you dont think so you just dont know music.
  65. PersonP
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  66. Andre
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    Holy crap you can't buy anything else this good
  67. AlexN
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    Best CD I OWN
  68. KevinH
    Nov 28, 2003
    9
    the concept is great, the lyrics are for your interpretation, but then again so is all great art
  69. Alex
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Simply put, among the best albums of its generation. The love child spawn of Led Zeppelin, RHCP, Hendrix, and Pink Floyd.
  70. BrandonT
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This is not an album that you can download from your shady neighborhood torrent site, and breeze through. Buy this album, Listen to the disc LOUDLY, (headphones or dolby surround for full effect) and immerse yourself in the fact that this was an album that is, from start to finish, so densely layered in sound and ambiance that it will last far longer than anything on MTV today.
  71. 25
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This album is the middle ground between ATDI and what Mars Volta would later become. It avoids Mars Volta's later excesses time and time again over its hour-long running time, breaking out of free jazz sections and ambient noise at just the right moments. Not an extraneous second here.
  72. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    One of the most amazing albums ever made. really beautiful and intense. I have listened to it probably 500 times and its still captivating. Its great to see what happens when you put together a group of truly skilled musicians who are constantly pushing the envelope.
  73. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    The Mars Volta's debut De-Loused In The Comatorium is an absolute treat to the ears. It balances progressive rock with post-hardcore and all of it just sounds so amazing. The songs make no sense, yet every word of it, I absolutely love. All In All, De-Loused is one of my favorite albums and it needs to be listened too. A+
  74. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    8
    Not quite the Piper at the Gates of Dawn Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodriguez-Lopez aspired to make, but musically explosive energy. It helps to have Flea and John Frusciante backing you up.
  75. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    A damn near perfect album which only grows on you with repeated listens. Prog at it's greatest moments, creating an entire different blend of music sounding like nothing else on the market.
  76. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    The debut album that most fans still consider to be their best. A re-invention of what prog-rock is and what it should sound like, The Mars Volta announce themselves softly, only to sprint out of the tall grass as a vicious tiger, clawing for your soul. The lyrics can be perceived as a stream of consciousness that is very dark and horrifying, but who dares to actually go deeper than justThe debut album that most fans still consider to be their best. A re-invention of what prog-rock is and what it should sound like, The Mars Volta announce themselves softly, only to sprint out of the tall grass as a vicious tiger, clawing for your soul. The lyrics can be perceived as a stream of consciousness that is very dark and horrifying, but who dares to actually go deeper than just scratching the surface will discover they translate into the suicide of a good friend failing, his comatose trip and the inevitable successful suicide.
    Flea as a stand-in bassist and John Frusciante as a guest musician only add up to the equation that this album is just epic.
    If you thought music is all the same these days, you must hear this album.
    Expand
  77. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    It is no exaggeration, this album reinvented the progressive rock genre and brought it into the future. It's a sprawling, epic, fantastical hour of jazz, punk, and post-hardcore influences, (to name a few.) I was shocked to find this masterpiece absent from Rolling Stones' Top 100 albums of the 00's (in my opinion, it takes the gold!)
  78. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Definitely the most powerful and deep of The Mars Volta's albums. Labelling this as progressive rock doesn't really do it justice. One of the greatest achievements of this album is that it manages to hit you with oceans of different sounds and noises but still provides catchy hooks and melodies. To really experience the album properly, you need to listen to it all the way through multiple times.
  79. Oct 27, 2016
    9
    After the break-up of At the Drive and a brief stint with De Facto, Omar and Cedric return with the follow up to their Tremulant EP. The Mars Volta hold nothing back as they unleash their creativity and skill while retaining their Post-Hardcore roots. While the album starts off very strong with an enjoyable album opener to their lead single, the album slows down in the middle for an epicAfter the break-up of At the Drive and a brief stint with De Facto, Omar and Cedric return with the follow up to their Tremulant EP. The Mars Volta hold nothing back as they unleash their creativity and skill while retaining their Post-Hardcore roots. While the album starts off very strong with an enjoyable album opener to their lead single, the album slows down in the middle for an epic and lengthy 12 minute long tack, complete with trippy sound effects and groovy bass. The song perfectly captures the essence of what the Mars Volta will become before hitting us with the last three tracks where the album pieces itself together.
    The hard hitting "This Apparatus Must Be Unearthed" unleashes the full emotion of the album’s protagonist while "Televators" (which remains the albums slowest and quietest song) gives the listener a layer of atmosphere which the album hasn’t yet given us.
    Finally, the album finishes off with the song "Take the Veil Cerpin Taxt" which feels like the only way to end such an album.
    If you’re into prog-rock or you want a more modern form of it, this is the album for you. Every song has something special to take with you and while the album isn’t as good as its follow up, I recommend you give this one a listen before you try “Frances The Mute”.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. A disjointed mess- brilliant songs gone so awry that I find myself no longer excited by the prospect of listening to the album through, but disappointed.
  2. Recall[s] both Fugazi's punk slam and early Santana's psychedelic sheen.
  3. Contrary to nearly every other band in music today, the Mars Volta suffer from an abundance of ideas and concepts, not a lack thereof.