User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 408 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 408

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Definitely the most powerful and deep of The Mars Volta's albums. Labelling this as progressive rock doesn't really do it justice. One of the greatest achievements of this album is that it manages to hit you with oceans of different sounds and noises but still provides catchy hooks and melodies. To really experience the album properly, you need to listen to it all the way through multiple times.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    It is no exaggeration, this album reinvented the progressive rock genre and brought it into the future. It's a sprawling, epic, fantastical hour of jazz, punk, and post-hardcore influences, (to name a few.) I was shocked to find this masterpiece absent from Rolling Stones' Top 100 albums of the 00's (in my opinion, it takes the gold!)
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    The debut album that most fans still consider to be their best. A re-invention of what prog-rock is and what it should sound like, The Mars Volta announce themselves softly, only to sprint out of the tall grass as a vicious tiger, clawing for your soul. The lyrics can be perceived as a stream of consciousness that is very dark and horrifying, but who dares to actually go deeper than justThe debut album that most fans still consider to be their best. A re-invention of what prog-rock is and what it should sound like, The Mars Volta announce themselves softly, only to sprint out of the tall grass as a vicious tiger, clawing for your soul. The lyrics can be perceived as a stream of consciousness that is very dark and horrifying, but who dares to actually go deeper than just scratching the surface will discover they translate into the suicide of a good friend failing, his comatose trip and the inevitable successful suicide.
    Flea as a stand-in bassist and John Frusciante as a guest musician only add up to the equation that this album is just epic.
    If you thought music is all the same these days, you must hear this album.
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    It makes me laugh and cry and the same time! It runs DEEP. And leaves plenty of room 4 imagination. Poetic, explosive masterpiece. Its been my favorie album and an album is my favorite art form. Explores the psyche of a human psycho based on a true story. Perfectly produced in a haunted house and u can feel that energy in it. It gets better every time, i actually thought it was averageIt makes me laugh and cry and the same time! It runs DEEP. And leaves plenty of room 4 imagination. Poetic, explosive masterpiece. Its been my favorie album and an album is my favorite art form. Explores the psyche of a human psycho based on a true story. Perfectly produced in a haunted house and u can feel that energy in it. It gets better every time, i actually thought it was average until like after 5 times cause its very deep musicality and lyrically. Although lyrics seem nonsense they r combined and made up. Each song is a different story under 1 concept. And even gutair and other intruments tell part of the story. ITs not perfect and that makes it better cause its imperfect purposely. A tranformation of an band at their peak. Vocals r frantic and hi yet emoitional. Guitar runs on many levels dissonant, spacy, and fierce. Bass and drums r best in da biznas. Flea and theodore kik a@@ Owens and ward fill in the space great. Specail appearance by frustrate wat else could u want. Rick Rubin? My Fav so far Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    A damn near perfect album which only grows on you with repeated listens. Prog at it's greatest moments, creating an entire different blend of music sounding like nothing else on the market.
  6. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    8
    Not quite the Piper at the Gates of Dawn Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodriguez-Lopez aspired to make, but musically explosive energy. It helps to have Flea and John Frusciante backing you up.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Their Debut album is someting that only comes around once and a good long while! The blend of Latino/jazz riffs on top of what can only be described as poetic harmony on the drums, is something not heard very often in the realm of prog rock! These sounds are aided by the high pitched vocals of Cedric, that help tell the story of a friend who wakes up from acoma only to find his dream worldTheir Debut album is someting that only comes around once and a good long while! The blend of Latino/jazz riffs on top of what can only be described as poetic harmony on the drums, is something not heard very often in the realm of prog rock! These sounds are aided by the high pitched vocals of Cedric, that help tell the story of a friend who wakes up from acoma only to find his dream world stripped away and a sobering reality he had left behind, staring him right in the face! Very powerful, and a first listen, if you havent heard any other of the Mars Volta albums! Collapse
  8. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    The Mars Volta's debut De-Loused In The Comatorium is an absolute treat to the ears. It balances progressive rock with post-hardcore and all of it just sounds so amazing. The songs make no sense, yet every word of it, I absolutely love. All In All, De-Loused is one of my favorite albums and it needs to be listened too. A+
  9. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    One of the most amazing albums ever made. really beautiful and intense. I have listened to it probably 500 times and its still captivating. Its great to see what happens when you put together a group of truly skilled musicians who are constantly pushing the envelope.
  10. 25
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This album is the middle ground between ATDI and what Mars Volta would later become. It avoids Mars Volta's later excesses time and time again over its hour-long running time, breaking out of free jazz sections and ambient noise at just the right moments. Not an extraneous second here.
  11. PatM.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    It's the best album of all time. Seriously, it's up there with Led Zeppelin IV and OK Computer. From start (incredible, tension building intro) to finish (pulse pounding 8 minutes of ambient, yet intense musical perfection wrapped up with an invigorating outro) this album will keep you on the edge of your seat, with your mouth wrapped tightely around the end of a joint. Omar It's the best album of all time. Seriously, it's up there with Led Zeppelin IV and OK Computer. From start (incredible, tension building intro) to finish (pulse pounding 8 minutes of ambient, yet intense musical perfection wrapped up with an invigorating outro) this album will keep you on the edge of your seat, with your mouth wrapped tightely around the end of a joint. Omar Rodriguez-Lopez takes the talent of Jimmy Paige, and injects it with originality unlike anything you have ever heard, while fellow frontman and lead singer, Omar Bilxer-Zavala, vocalizes pain, anguish, and uncertainty in a way that will send chills up your spine for the duration of the album. Songs on the album such as "Roulette Dares", "Cicatriz ESP", "Televators", and "Take the Veil Cerpin Taxt" remind you why music was made. At The Drive-In breaking up is one of the best things that has ever happened to music in my opinion. I beg of you: BUY THIS CD. Expand
  12. DanielB
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Fantastic; simply fantastic.
  13. MichaelW.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Can't be compared to At the Drive-In for me either. This is light years ahead.
  14. BrandonT
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This is not an album that you can download from your shady neighborhood torrent site, and breeze through. Buy this album, Listen to the disc LOUDLY, (headphones or dolby surround for full effect) and immerse yourself in the fact that this was an album that is, from start to finish, so densely layered in sound and ambiance that it will last far longer than anything on MTV today.
  15. elmo.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    the most experimental album of the year utterly mind bending rick rubin seems to have made the songs focused without sacrifcing any of their free form schitzoid jazz.
  16. raxx
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Beautiful density - Heaviest thing I love - Wouldn't have loved it if I hadn't put it on an Interpol Antics mp3cd thats in constant rotation. Hard work pays off.
  17. Matt?A
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    This album is pure tastiness. Me only gripe with it is the "nothing" sections, where all u can hear is the epic sounds of nothingness, u kno? I must say that Televators IS agony, in the most beautiful and amazing way possible. Albeit, Frances the Mute is a bit more of my style...this album is gangsta, tho! Like a 9.3/10, I'd say.
  18. DevinJ
    May 23, 2007
    9
    i am a big fan of at the drive-in aswell and i think that the mars volta is amazing, idk why everyone says that atdi is better by far, i think that the talent that is in this band is amazing. Cedric and omar are still crazy at what they do and can seirouslly change the future in the prog. rock world
  19. BigPaulP
    Apr 22, 2007
    5
    That one is just OK for me. It just can't be compared with At The Drive-In for me.
  20. joeym
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Jon Theodore is a god! Some of the most creative drumming I have ever heard. As far as creativity he ranks up there with Danny Carey and Mike Portnoy.
  21. KyleS
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    Amazing. I have had this album playing in my car for weeks on end. I simply cannot get enough of it. A+
  22. robertg
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    this is the best freaking album ever made!!!! and if you dont think so you just dont know music.
  23. BrianK
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the very best CDs in a long time. Just a great, great example of progressive, experimental rock. I love this album, and can't stop listening to it. Thanks to this CD I bought the other 2 TMV album in a span of a week! Pitchfork sucks, who ppays them to write bad reviews about the best bands out there!! Deloused is amazing!
  24. BSmith
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    It's amazing how wrong critics can be about an album at it's time of release. Everyone is SO quick to praise Zoso or Moving Pictures, but I really wonder what people these days would think about them. De-Loused is what happens when you fuse elite musicians at EVERY instrument (vocals included) and make an unbelievable conception a reality. I can honestly say that this is It's amazing how wrong critics can be about an album at it's time of release. Everyone is SO quick to praise Zoso or Moving Pictures, but I really wonder what people these days would think about them. De-Loused is what happens when you fuse elite musicians at EVERY instrument (vocals included) and make an unbelievable conception a reality. I can honestly say that this is probably the best album I will ever listen to, and that I am still not tired of it, even after having purchased it two and a half years ago. Yes, it takes a while to get used to. Yes, the songs are long. GET OVER IT! This will change your idea of how much music can really impact you. Expand
  25. JesseK
    May 16, 2006
    10
    This is album is the most solid piece of progressive rock I have heard in ages. I only hope they can follow it up with more albums like it. Frances didn't exactly do the trick for me :-(
  26. Yoel
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    It's like a story. There's a temptation, then a problem, then a hero. cool
  27. ChristopherP
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    A breath of fresh air to the saturated mediocre music industy! The music is beyond stimulating with emense debth and talent. A beautiful blend of influences from Blues, punk-rock, Jazz, psyc rock, and latin. Probably one of my favorite albums in years. They don't comprimise any of their talents, with that they continue to stretch into an entirely new genre. Feels like your on drugs A breath of fresh air to the saturated mediocre music industy! The music is beyond stimulating with emense debth and talent. A beautiful blend of influences from Blues, punk-rock, Jazz, psyc rock, and latin. Probably one of my favorite albums in years. They don't comprimise any of their talents, with that they continue to stretch into an entirely new genre. Feels like your on drugs when you see them live!!! Expand
  28. Benlol
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Superb album, if you dont like it turn on your green day and be a mainstream junkie like all the other losers on MTV.
  29. alexd
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    I love basketball, and now have realized i also love the mars volta, so here's my analogy. Listening to this album is like watching Kobe Bryant score 81 points in Toronto. He did not make all his shots (album is not perfect) but you couldnt believe how good it was, and even though he is no Michael Jordan (the mars volta is no zepplin or hendrix or beatles) but you have to say Kobe I love basketball, and now have realized i also love the mars volta, so here's my analogy. Listening to this album is like watching Kobe Bryant score 81 points in Toronto. He did not make all his shots (album is not perfect) but you couldnt believe how good it was, and even though he is no Michael Jordan (the mars volta is no zepplin or hendrix or beatles) but you have to say Kobe (the mars volta's Deloused album) is one of the greatest players ever, maybe of our generation. The music rocks out without having to use heavy distortion (which i love) and Bixler's vocals are absolutely mezmerizing, passionate, powerful. His lyrics are a bit too abstract and weird to the point that he is not a true poet, but i think the abstract lyrics allow you to allow the music to talk to you as a whole more than sappy lyrics about anger and women. Expand
  30. GuillermoB
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    those that dont' appreciate these two passionate musicians, Cedric Bixler Zavala and Omar A. Rodriguez, don't appreciate music. Music is all about expressing your self in any way you can, any sedative sound wave that pours out of your mind and soul, just like The Mars Volta does. Cedric has excellent vocals, that is lullaby, melodelic to ears. Cedric's amazing lyrics of those that dont' appreciate these two passionate musicians, Cedric Bixler Zavala and Omar A. Rodriguez, don't appreciate music. Music is all about expressing your self in any way you can, any sedative sound wave that pours out of your mind and soul, just like The Mars Volta does. Cedric has excellent vocals, that is lullaby, melodelic to ears. Cedric's amazing lyrics of thruth and fiction. Omars's amazing guitar solo's that reminds us of Santana. His magnificent sound shifts taht tarnspotrs us into the next dimension. Jon Theodore's crazy, smashing, jammong, hard drumming, that clutches the pulses of your hearts that makes your body dance. These and many aspects that bring some punk-rock, metal, tropicana, jazz, and pshhycodelic fusions melting our brains. This band fucking rules the shit out of any other band out there. They are music god's Expand
  31. BriarB-A
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Just saw these guys live at Big Day Out 2006. If you had seen them and felt the utter euphoria I felt you wouldn't be talking like this? The guitarist is rubbish. Omar is absolutely fantastic and Cedric is purely engenius. A Long time fan of them and De-Loused in The Comatorium is my favourite. Love it hate, but you should just try and love it. Love, Briar.
  32. Hugh
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    I've liked it since it came out.
  33. prescottm
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    I dont know what pat mcg is smoking but he should plobably try not to o-d. the guitar is rubbish ?!?!?!? i dont know what youre talking about, this is some of the best guitar around. to be put blatently this album is sheer energy and brilliance
  34. Alex
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Simply put, among the best albums of its generation. The love child spawn of Led Zeppelin, RHCP, Hendrix, and Pink Floyd.
  35. EfrendeJesusJacoboCarrizales
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Uno de los mejores discos que he escuchado jamas
  36. patmcg
    Nov 3, 2005
    1
    i give 1 coz im nice but come on the guitarist is rubbish dunno wat u newbs listen to in a song but they all shit newbs!
  37. BigDave
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This album is sheer genius. yes its true, you have to put a bit of effort onto it when u listen to it, but when u do u see that it is one of the great records, its simply awesome the amount of genres covered, and all with such style and amazing guitar riffs, sheer genius, this is REAL music
  38. MattP
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    I know I may get some heat for this but, thank God At The Drive In broke up because this is much better and much more interesting. Although I do think they topped it with Frances The Mute. De-Loused In The Comotorium is still an essential purchase.
  39. MarieS
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    the best CD since Led Zeppelin and co.
  40. WagnerT
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    I am loving this CD. So excellent and sexy. It makes me want to smoke the happy. You know. Peace outside!
  41. JuliusW
    Sep 5, 2005
    9
    Not perfect, but very close. The only rock band I like. Bravo!
  42. Aidank
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    Simply a masterpiece, a brilliant jounrney
  43. harryk
    Aug 19, 2005
    9
    fucking good
  44. umpeik
    Aug 13, 2005
    2
    gets crappier with each listen.
  45. KyleC
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    This album becomes more and more mind-blowing each time you listen to it. you find something new each time, and listening to this band never gets old.
  46. KellyH
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Completely brilliant, passionate, groundbreaking, off the charts inspiring genius.
  47. ChrisB
    Jun 15, 2005
    1
    Wow, simply awful-sounding with no sense of melody or message. Listening to the lyrics are akin to a drunk's babble after a long night of tequilla, cheap wine, and E&B brandy. If you like prog, stick to Rush.
  48. AmeliaW
    May 24, 2005
    10
    A mind-blowing, spiritual experience.
  49. Anonymous
    May 11, 2005
    9
    Three words: Mind-blowing and bewildering.
  50. CraigW
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    They say life is a series of moments, which is good because every moment you spend listening to this stupendously fantasmagorical album is a joyous one. They also say that when you lose your virginity you become a man. well, if your talking about your Volta virginity they are definately not mistaken. So go fourth purcase this album and become a better person.
  51. jmaxwell
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    these guys are blazingly good musicians, and equally creative. there may yet be some hope for the future of music after all.
  52. stevenB
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    satisfaction guaranteed
  53. aarong
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    An absolutely amazing album
  54. RobertG
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I believe that De-Loused in the Comatorium will prove it side to be the "Dark Side of the Moon" of our generation
  55. Orpheus11
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This is one of the most innovative albums ever. This is an album that will be played as an example of 21st Century geniusness.
  56. miker
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    this album is trippy and when summer comes ill definetly smoke a bowl and listen to this one.
  57. BobB
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    The music on this CD is on par with the sound of gerbils getting slaughtered in a blender.
  58. Tphil
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Sexual!!
  59. JustinW
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    This album has some of the most refreshing and exciting music I've heard. To appreciate it you'll need to listen to it over and over again, but luckily with this album that is a good thing. Every time I listen to it I find something new to love. Highly reccomended.
  60. JimR
    Feb 26, 2005
    0
    sucksass
  61. JohnJack
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2004
  62. PaulT
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    incredibely deep. it takes at least 3 or 4 listens to start to comprehend their genius.
  63. TroyL
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    This album has revitalized my interest in Prog Rock and Art rock. This is a greatly put together album and i look forward to Frances the Mute on March 1st 2005
  64. VitoL
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    the most underated band out there
  65. JcChavez
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This is a bad album....every song is moving and you can just listen to the whole album....this has to be one of my favorite albums in my collection and i have a pretty big one!!!!
  66. ashley
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    i think this band is AWESOME!! its new and not many people listen to it which is good.
  67. NeilC
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    This album presents hope for the future of music. In an industry dominated by dance music disguised as rock, MV have managed to bring back the creativity and intesity birthed by the likes of Pink Floyd and the Beatles. This album, like PF's The Wall, goes beyond simply music; it is truly a work of art.
  68. TimM
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    Definitly worth orgamsing to.
  69. stevec
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    awesome and enjoyable, there is something missing though (paul, jim and tony) it will never sound complete to me, but this is the closest it can get, cedric is god of emo
  70. bobbob
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    best album ever .
  71. Cyberxero
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    Hi every one.This band is one of the best bands out there.Its fresh,new,unique and everything about it is awesome.Get all the albums and I hear a new one is coming out soon so get that one to lol.Anyway for further awesome music,check out At the drive-in and Sparta.I am sure anyone will like At the drive-in and Sparta if they like Mars Volta because all the band members in At the drive-in Hi every one.This band is one of the best bands out there.Its fresh,new,unique and everything about it is awesome.Get all the albums and I hear a new one is coming out soon so get that one to lol.Anyway for further awesome music,check out At the drive-in and Sparta.I am sure anyone will like At the drive-in and Sparta if they like Mars Volta because all the band members in At the drive-in split up,two of the members formed Mars Volta and the others formed Sparta so I am sure you will enjoy both bands.Anyway buy this cd and the others and buy all of Sparta's and At the drive-in's albums aswell :p Expand
  72. JR
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Bixler and Rodriguez are gods. 10/10
  73. justins
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    it doesnt get much better than this!
  74. JoseH
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    Finally, an album that is released with no bussines intentions. An album for intelligent people who need to feel the power, beauty and magnificence of music & poetry. Leave behind the idea of verse-chorus(X2) ending. Forget about silly bands waillin' about love and violence. Just listen to it ! Feel it and then try to understand it !
  75. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    another bixler masterpiece
  76. EricS
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    Excellent! Needs multiple listenings -- I'm still not finished finding new things in it. But the music stays with you for days on end (in a good way). Driving, exciting, powerful. More, please!
  77. EvanG
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    By far the best CD ever released. Proving once and for all that music can incorporate peices of every other for of art. Even down to the CD booklet, this record hits a peak on every level. Visually, Mentally, Audibly especially, everything. I got chills and even breathed heavier on some parts of this song. And if you wanna call that gay go ahead, you write bullshit songs.
  78. WigglesVieten
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    outstanding, overwhelming, bizarre, big, fat bastard!
  79. Christian
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Takes you on a musical journey and a rollercoaster of emotions, lopez and bixler never been better, Prog rock given a complete make over
  80. AndresD
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    Damn good album!! The last time i ever felt this musically motivated with a cd was with Ok computer. De-Loused is just a mind-blowing hour of music that reminds us how great music can be.
  81. Mincer
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    An album topped only by their live show. If you get the slightest chance.. go and see them. Your jaw will not leave the ground the whole time. A purely brilliant band.
  82. Chris
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Without a doubt the greatest CD I have ever listened to and certainly my favorite. Beautiful guitars and vocals. Beautifully complex lyrics that leave room for interpretation. Simply Amazing.
  83. g_/\/\_b
    Apr 12, 2004
    9
    Quite the listening experience. The only problems I found with it were the periods where, four minutes into a song, it would get dead silent and revel in nothingness. Just experimental sounds here and there, echoes, etc. but..it dragged on too long. Then, two minutes later, the song picks up where it left off (still rocking your f*ucking socks off). But, those minutes of scrathes and Quite the listening experience. The only problems I found with it were the periods where, four minutes into a song, it would get dead silent and revel in nothingness. Just experimental sounds here and there, echoes, etc. but..it dragged on too long. Then, two minutes later, the song picks up where it left off (still rocking your f*ucking socks off). But, those minutes of scrathes and samples, which could have been cool were they cut to the bare minimum, became overused and trifled the, otherwise, flawlessness of this great album. That's my only gripe. And I also enjoy the lyrics because they're up for interpretation, pulling you in that much more. If you can't do that..then you're just lacking imagination. Go watch xXx and listen to Slipknot to satisfy your delusions of fine tastes. As for myself, I'll be listening to De-Loused in the Comatorium. Expand
  84. JamesJ
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    Timeless, epic, demands your attention, even on the 50th listen. Been waiting for our generation to reach a musical crescendo for a long time? i think this is it -=theMarsVolta=-
  85. AngelA
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Best CD ever. This record oozes salsa (I should since I live in Puerto Rico and I know the members of The Fania All-Stars personally) I mean it makes you want to get up and dance just like Omar does (it's called salsa dancing btw) at the shows. Best meltdown of salsa and everything genre of music in the world I've heard (Punk, Psychedelia, Rock, Jazz, Etc...) Don't you agree?
  86. BrianF
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    fucking incrediable. how could any of those fucking "stylus magazine", "pitch fork" and "Neumu.net" call it a mess?? boy they know thier music huh?
  87. Maldoror
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    Best album I have heard since years, and maybe best ever Tool's Lateralus put aside. Very ambitious and fucking brain blowing. I've been playing it over and over for a week now, it's pure musical orgasm
  88. RalphP
    Jan 9, 2004
    9
    This CD ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  89. andrewg
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    Even after repeated listens, I still can't fully comprehend what it all means. All I know is that it's completely different than anything I've ever heard. A complete work of art.
  90. wackyman
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    this is a remarkable album, I think it will inspire a lot of bands to take new directions in music. their musical vision/abilities are astounding. Listening to the album it feels like you are listening to a mix of several albums different in style but flowing together to create an atmosphere that is really intense.
  91. KevinH
    Nov 28, 2003
    9
    the concept is great, the lyrics are for your interpretation, but then again so is all great art
  92. AlexN
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    Best CD I OWN
  93. Andre
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    Holy crap you can't buy anything else this good
  94. PersonP
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  95. Steve
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    Hasn't left my CD player yet. I'm hooked.
  96. LanceRomance
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    I will compare this to abstract art. This album is like a huge playground for my imagination to run wild. Its somewhat of a reminder that there aren't "rules" in music, something many critics tend to forget. This CD won't work for you IF you don't let it work for you. Please, cast aside all your musical DO's and DONT's and you WILL enjoy this album. Though it may I will compare this to abstract art. This album is like a huge playground for my imagination to run wild. Its somewhat of a reminder that there aren't "rules" in music, something many critics tend to forget. This CD won't work for you IF you don't let it work for you. Please, cast aside all your musical DO's and DONT's and you WILL enjoy this album. Though it may not be very lucid or accessible, this album IS FUN, if you have a good imagination. And that's what makes it all the more rewarding. Expand
  97. SableG
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    best album ever. enough said.
  98. wannabebixler
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    speechless
  99. scottyd
    Oct 31, 2003
    9
    The best cd that i have heard this year.Makes you think!!
  100. Dave
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. A disjointed mess- brilliant songs gone so awry that I find myself no longer excited by the prospect of listening to the album through, but disappointed.
  2. Recall[s] both Fugazi's punk slam and early Santana's psychedelic sheen.
  3. Contrary to nearly every other band in music today, the Mars Volta suffer from an abundance of ideas and concepts, not a lack thereof.