• Record Label: Ferret
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2011
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Dead Throne is outstanding. Now I'm not saying that merely based on the fact that The Devil Wears Prada is my favorite band..... Musically the album is awesome from track 1 til the end. They have set a new bar for metalcore and and everyone else in the genre will be reaching for that bar for a long time. Prada seems to out do themselves with every album and this takes them another step inDead Throne is outstanding. Now I'm not saying that merely based on the fact that The Devil Wears Prada is my favorite band..... Musically the album is awesome from track 1 til the end. They have set a new bar for metalcore and and everyone else in the genre will be reaching for that bar for a long time. Prada seems to out do themselves with every album and this takes them another step in that direction. If you listen to metal/hardcore, you need to give this album a listen. For some it may a take a couple listens to appreciate, but believe me, it is AMAZING! Collapse
  2. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    It's heavy. By taking on a new sound the christian metal band has created an album that has not only appealed to a larger metal audience, but has also lead them to be taken more seriously. Just because their religious beliefs are infused in the music doesn't mean the album is preachy. In fact it just seems to add a more uplifting and positive feel to a genre that's primarily filled withIt's heavy. By taking on a new sound the christian metal band has created an album that has not only appealed to a larger metal audience, but has also lead them to be taken more seriously. Just because their religious beliefs are infused in the music doesn't mean the album is preachy. In fact it just seems to add a more uplifting and positive feel to a genre that's primarily filled with anger and hate. They manage to do that while still capturing the brutal, aggressive, and heavy sound the genre is known for. Mike Hranica's vocals are unlike anyone else in the genre. It's one awesome metal album, and I give it a 9.1/10. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    the Dead Throne is my album of the year. TDWP previously had a lot of good singles but not really a consistent album until Zombie. With the overwhelming positive feedback from the EP, they brought the sound back for a full release so it has a very heavy and sometimes dark sound through out the Dead Throne. Also with Adam Dutkiewicz producing, there's little details that make each songthe Dead Throne is my album of the year. TDWP previously had a lot of good singles but not really a consistent album until Zombie. With the overwhelming positive feedback from the EP, they brought the sound back for a full release so it has a very heavy and sometimes dark sound through out the Dead Throne. Also with Adam Dutkiewicz producing, there's little details that make each song stand out from the others. But one of my favorite parts of the album is the structure of it. It feels like a 3 act show. track 1-6, act 1, 7-9 act 2, and 10-13 act 3. With this the album flows really well never overwhelming and always entertaining. The only thing i didn't really like is that its kind of a short album but for the quality and the detail in each song song, its easy to look over the 40 min length. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say other than amazing. From Vox to drums, it is amazing lyrics are meaningful. I know some christians don't clearly understand the lyrics but they have a huge meaning behind them. Which is one reason why I love this album and all the other albums of theirs. They ALL have a meaning. And this one is really getting there. "we've put the world up onto a dead throne. " keep rocking TDWP
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    There are dramatic dynamic shifts and a defter blend of melody and muscle, making this by far the best album the Ohio outfit have yet produced. [10 Sep 2011, p.51]
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    70
    For the Devil Wears Prada's fourth album, Dead Throne, the Christian metalcore six-piece is at its most technical and most brutal.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    Christians The Devil Wears Prada are in possession of the worst name is metalcore, yet their music is punishing. [Oct 2011, p.120]