User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 267 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 267

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2018
    10
    I liked this album at first. Then I loved it. Then I got kind of tired of it. Now I love it more than I ever did before
  2. Mar 2, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely beautiful music. I would describe them as what Radiohead would sound like if they were black: just as musically and creatively marvellous, but more funky. This is the type of album you should listen to with a good pair of headphones, because there are so many sounds and textures that you want to be able to experience them al to the fullest degree.
    9.7
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Analytical as any critic may be, dissecting TV on the Radio's lyrics, slobbering over their dedication to unique, eccentric songwriting, they're gonna have to shut their mouths here. "Dear Science" showcases an eccentric TV on the Radio, but also a f**king drop dead sexy, kick-back-and-soak one. My God, this thing is dope.
  4. May 15, 2011
    9
    OMG THIS ALBUM IS GREAT. every song is good. Crying, Stork & Owl, Family tree, and Lovers Day and Golden Age are the highlights of the album. its a near perfect album i loved it. whoever didn't like this album either hate alternative or they don't appreciate music. 9 out of 10 it was genius
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I was never a big fan of Return To Cookie Mountain but Dear Science blew me away with all its funkadelic sound to it. This is what I call experimenting with rock. There is a little bit of jazz fusion, little bit of soul, little bit of funk, lots of rock. Everything sounded so good. "Halfway Home" was a great starter. "Family Tree" is easily the best song on the album. And "Dancing Choose"I was never a big fan of Return To Cookie Mountain but Dear Science blew me away with all its funkadelic sound to it. This is what I call experimenting with rock. There is a little bit of jazz fusion, little bit of soul, little bit of funk, lots of rock. Everything sounded so good. "Halfway Home" was a great starter. "Family Tree" is easily the best song on the album. And "Dancing Choose" was another great track. All In All, Dear Science is an impressive, articulate album. A- Expand
  6. TobyH
    Oct 4, 2009
    8
    A great album, if a little irritating at times. Bursting with infectiously creative energy, the best tracks are Crying, Red Dress, Love Dog, and the horrendously-aggressive-but-scarily-catchy DLZ. TV On The Radio are much better when they go for excitement over contemplation (with the exception of Family Tree, the slow tracks, Stork & Owl and the overly-long Lover's Day, just dont A great album, if a little irritating at times. Bursting with infectiously creative energy, the best tracks are Crying, Red Dress, Love Dog, and the horrendously-aggressive-but-scarily-catchy DLZ. TV On The Radio are much better when they go for excitement over contemplation (with the exception of Family Tree, the slow tracks, Stork & Owl and the overly-long Lover's Day, just dont work for me). Anyway, well worth getting, mostly brilliant! Guaranteed to cheer you up! Expand
  7. MingV
    Sep 11, 2009
    6
    In my definition, music is all about to erupt emotions but not to engulf us in thoughts. If the reverse is true then I'll consider this album to be great. What it lacks is any truly emotional tune-ups at any moment. A little bit of dullness and a lot of turgidity, to sum up.
  8. Michael
    May 28, 2009
    5
    The critical babble heaped upon Dear Science is concerning, as it is certainly not the absolute best album of 2008, as many will tell you. Almost by default, it has attained this status. If you have enough critics and fans plumping it their top 25 or 50 of the year, of course it will end up it the top ten of that list. If you look at the overly positive critic reviews, they actually The critical babble heaped upon Dear Science is concerning, as it is certainly not the absolute best album of 2008, as many will tell you. Almost by default, it has attained this status. If you have enough critics and fans plumping it their top 25 or 50 of the year, of course it will end up it the top ten of that list. If you look at the overly positive critic reviews, they actually don't make any sense! Greatness is measured in the music itself, not because someone tells you it is. There was beauty abound in TV on the Radio's previous work. In Dear Science, the band's trademark atmosphere is all but lost to anonymous/annoying beats and over-reaching lyrics. But the greatest criticism I have for this album is its indifference. The band never sticks its neck out on Dear Science in search for something potentially great. But as I said earlier, much worse than the actual album is the generally very poor critiquing of it. Oh well. Expand
  9. exe.
    May 14, 2009
    10
    I can't stop listening to this amazing collection of songs. Hearing most of this album performed live certainly helped me to appreciate the music more as a living breathing thing, where as a lot of songs from Return To Cookie Mountain (an album I find to be without flaw) were not as satisfying on stage. Anyway, it's not it's predecessor, without a doubt, but I'm into I can't stop listening to this amazing collection of songs. Hearing most of this album performed live certainly helped me to appreciate the music more as a living breathing thing, where as a lot of songs from Return To Cookie Mountain (an album I find to be without flaw) were not as satisfying on stage. Anyway, it's not it's predecessor, without a doubt, but I'm into TVOTR's journey and see no reason to pick apart one of the few bands I can still get excited about. To each his own. Expand
  10. krishans
    May 12, 2009
    10
    Been listening to this for almost 6 moths now. Everyday. Still not bored. Maybe never will be.
  11. DJDJ
    May 6, 2009
    10
    GLC what the heck are you tliking about!!! this is one of the best albums of the last 10 years. OVERCOMPRESSED,CRAPFEST!!! the production shimers and the songs are perfect. If you dont want to listen to this then don't, but I most certainly will be.
  12. ScottW.
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    One of the best constructed rock albums of the 2000s. TV On The Radio's best so far. Its artsy but still very much good rock. The band has fun with the songs, yet keeps them coming with a experimental freshness that very few bands can pull off.
  13. RichardR.
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    I especially love the very first track: for me, it's the Beach Boys meet the Mary Chain. Whole album is great, very inventive.
  14. johne
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Simply put, Perfection!! I listen to it every day and find something new every time. Intelligent, dynamic, and deep.
  15. Ollie
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    I love this album. Why? Because it sounds like nothing else; its fresh, deep and....blatantly insane-ly freakin' awesome. Theres never a time when i dont play any songs of it when i drive. There never will be a time. Genius.
  16. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    5
    Another of those bands which are percieved to be cool and so people jump on the band wagon. Like Elbow the songs are ok but not brilliant. You will bore fro this album after a few listens.
  17. GLC
    Feb 4, 2009
    0
    Cliffy B - the reason you can't listen to this album is because it's overcompressed. That's right - David Sitek decided to follow in the footsteps of "mainstream" bands and make his band physically unlistenable on any sort of half-decent sound system. Suffice to say, I will not be buying the next album without thorough research. I loved Cookie Mountain, but I won't Cliffy B - the reason you can't listen to this album is because it's overcompressed. That's right - David Sitek decided to follow in the footsteps of "mainstream" bands and make his band physically unlistenable on any sort of half-decent sound system. Suffice to say, I will not be buying the next album without thorough research. I loved Cookie Mountain, but I won't listen to another track from this crapfest again. Expand
  18. SeanP
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    OH NO. This album is approachable. Its terrifying. I usually listen to music that alienate my friends and makes them feel inferior to my great skills of being able to surf the fucking internet and pick music that sounds to fucking artsy to be true. But now there are Raps and Dance music (although done amazingly well with a great overarching theme). What kind of shit is this? And I cant OH NO. This album is approachable. Its terrifying. I usually listen to music that alienate my friends and makes them feel inferior to my great skills of being able to surf the fucking internet and pick music that sounds to fucking artsy to be true. But now there are Raps and Dance music (although done amazingly well with a great overarching theme). What kind of shit is this? And I cant believe a bunch of unpaid reviewers on this site are just handing out tens. I mean the people here are ridiculous. Thinking this album is one of the greats. Them and their damn opinions. Now I'm going to list a bunch of albums that have nothing to do with this C.D. so that my opinion becomes validated. How about its a great C.D. that captures our time in America perfectly without feeling depressing. We are in a bad time. Its good to hear someone capture our feelings perfectly. God forbid we dance into dark times and not bitch. Expand
  19. LexieM
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    This album is amazingly fresh, blending the latest musical experiments with tried and true themes. I love it's references to the best of the '80s, and how they invent new musical moments. A real gem.
  20. DavidRussell
    Jan 13, 2009
    7
    I like it more than their last album but I'll never love this band. They are talented but there's something missing. It's like they're satisfied being cool and sounding good without laying it all out there. They're not fun, if you want proof try playing their albums at parties and see how it goes over. The parts are better than the whole. Maybe I'm being a I like it more than their last album but I'll never love this band. They are talented but there's something missing. It's like they're satisfied being cool and sounding good without laying it all out there. They're not fun, if you want proof try playing their albums at parties and see how it goes over. The parts are better than the whole. Maybe I'm being a little hard on these guys but I don't think I'll ever love these songs. Expand
  21. emilywilde
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Jay, give it up you Too-cool-for-school hipster bitch. TV on the Radio's sound has definitely changed but that doesn't mean it isn't any good anymore. Clearly your jeans are too tight and your fauxhawk is affecting your ability to think.
  22. CliffyB
    Dec 17, 2008
    2
    Two words: pure GARBAGE. I'm sorry, I really loved (exactly) three tunes off of "Return to Cookie Mountain", so I was looking forward to at least, oh, maybe ONE song that I could play with some volume without being embarrassed. I bought this, popped it into my CD player, and resisted the temptation to hit FAST FORWARD a good 15 seconds into every song. I forced myself to listen to Two words: pure GARBAGE. I'm sorry, I really loved (exactly) three tunes off of "Return to Cookie Mountain", so I was looking forward to at least, oh, maybe ONE song that I could play with some volume without being embarrassed. I bought this, popped it into my CD player, and resisted the temptation to hit FAST FORWARD a good 15 seconds into every song. I forced myself to listen to this festering squirrel turd of an album and now I want my wasted life back! TV on the Radio needs to either lay off the drugs, or switch to another form of intoxication, because these songs make me physically ill! Expand
  23. MV
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    At the end of the day, it's all about different tastes. Another reviewer pointed out that TV has moved past the mowtown/industrial and into a sort of Talking Heads/ Bowie sort of vibe. And while some may view this (accurate) description as a negative thing - it couldn't be a more rewarding album to listen to. To say TV on the Radio have 'matured' would be wrong; they At the end of the day, it's all about different tastes. Another reviewer pointed out that TV has moved past the mowtown/industrial and into a sort of Talking Heads/ Bowie sort of vibe. And while some may view this (accurate) description as a negative thing - it couldn't be a more rewarding album to listen to. To say TV on the Radio have 'matured' would be wrong; they have evolved. 'Dear Science' is one of 2008s highlights. Expand
  24. JeffW
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    Great disk. It sounds to me like all the band members got to play to their strengths, making for a very interesting listen. Lots of variety, lots of lively songs. I find myself liking it more with every listen. Highly recommended.
  25. nick
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I think people who are complaining about the "drastic" change in sound (spoiler alert: all the noise is still here, it's just in different places) are missing the point of Dear Science. The reason Sitek's production has become so much lighter is just to let this band breathe. I know that Cookie Mountain is a Holy Grail of a record in the critics' circle, but let's be I think people who are complaining about the "drastic" change in sound (spoiler alert: all the noise is still here, it's just in different places) are missing the point of Dear Science. The reason Sitek's production has become so much lighter is just to let this band breathe. I know that Cookie Mountain is a Holy Grail of a record in the critics' circle, but let's be honest: it's mostly the production that takes the center stage on that album, a barrage of drums and fuzz and loudness. In Dear Science the rhythm and melody get their much needed spotlight- drummer Jaleel Bunton and bassist/keyboardist Gerard Smith assert their expertise and steadiness under Kyp Malone's wavery rasp and Abedimpe's joyful shouts. Reverb and distortion are replaced with tighter and clearer guitars and wailing horns. If Cookie Mountain was an album about living in a post-9/11 Bush-era world, Dear Science is about the dawn of another age. In between ballads we are greeted with the punches of "Dancing Choose" and "Golden Age"- two songs that are simply expressions of pure energy and joy, two emotions completely new to this band. Heck, this band seem to be so relieved at something (the election?) that they actually have time to record a really good love song and a really good sex song. This album is not about a band selling out- it's about a band just starting to have fun. Expand
  26. myrrhman
    Nov 1, 2008
    5
    This album is an identity crisis. Crying is the only song that hints at what the album could have been, but Red Dress and Family Tree are so embarrassing and faceless. Dancing Any band could have written those songs, and even though I think Lover's Day is one of the better tracks, it still lacks what the band is about is filled with unnecessary pomp to compensate for it's This album is an identity crisis. Crying is the only song that hints at what the album could have been, but Red Dress and Family Tree are so embarrassing and faceless. Dancing Any band could have written those songs, and even though I think Lover's Day is one of the better tracks, it still lacks what the band is about is filled with unnecessary pomp to compensate for it's shallowness. Not to mention Dancing Choose is a trainwreck of a song. Expand
  27. JodieL
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    It still beggars belief that so many people give such high ratings to albums (not just this, any album), a rating of 10 should be reserved for one of the greatest album(s) you've ever listened to (I would only have 3 and own over 1000 albums). I have tried on numerous occasions to get into TV On The Radio, but alas every time I listen to one of their albums I get the feeling I could It still beggars belief that so many people give such high ratings to albums (not just this, any album), a rating of 10 should be reserved for one of the greatest album(s) you've ever listened to (I would only have 3 and own over 1000 albums). I have tried on numerous occasions to get into TV On The Radio, but alas every time I listen to one of their albums I get the feeling I could be listening to something in a similar genre that is so much better (like The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds). It's good, but it doesn't set the world on fire, some of the songs are incredibly weak in lyricism (as bastu said, "he's a what?, he's a what?, he's a newspaper man, and he gets his best ideas from a newspaper stand" come on be serious, love and dove also rhyme), even though the music is good that will never save an album. If you really want a good album spend your dough on. Bon Iver - For Emma, Forever Ago Spiritualized - Songs In A&E Joan As Police Woman - To Survive Portishead - Third. These are much superior albums. Expand
  28. Will
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Surely destined to be a classic? By far and away the most exciting release of 2008, even if it has been a poor year for music.
  29. RaphS
    Oct 18, 2008
    8
    Good, if not great, album but certainly not music-defining, career-defining, genre-defining etc etc too much aping of talking heads, prince and others for it to be the best thing since sliced bread. more like a pitchfork-style 7.8
  30. MarkS.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    Accelerate through to the next revolution on some excelllent laser beaming R&R Bohemian blues for our tour through troubled times.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. There’s a sense of purpose here, of direction and clarity, shafts of accessibility that relegate the din to the background without ever compromising the potentially hostile underbelly of the band’s core sound.
  2. 90
    Throughout Dear Science, TV on the Radio--which includes the rhythm section of bassist Gerard Smith and drummer Jaleel Bunton--flesh out Adebimpe's and Malone's ruminations with relentlessly inventive arrangements that make even familiar sentiments seem fresh.
  3. On Dear Science, TVOTR finds a more traditional consistency, transmuting that dirty experimentalism into a lush cleanliness that eases--rather than hurls--its songs into the art-making ether.