Dear Science,

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 260

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyB.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Cookie Mountain was an amazing album, but this is not just TVOTR's best work to date, but one of the complete, individual and well written I have heard in years. Best album I have heard all year by a long way. There will always be ratings like that of 'under the radar' but don't let that put you off. And to be honest who reads under the radar anyway.
  2. BriC
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    All you have to do is give it a little bit of time to sink in. When it does, the intricate music, addictive drum machines and lyrics THAT ACTUALLY MAKE SENSE will pull you in. Every song fits perfectly, the album soars to a height from the first song and stays there until the very last note of track eleven. Amazing. I love this album.
  3. WillC.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I would vote it a 10.1 if I could.
  4. HugoT
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Seems, we're now listenign to something else entirely. For this New year the NEW TV on The Radio are like a New Batman in music. Komplex, great, thrilling and probably this years finest.
  5. UjnH.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    I can't take the CD out of my Car Stereo... it's TOO good.
  6. Ollie
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    I love this album. Why? Because it sounds like nothing else; its fresh, deep and....blatantly insane-ly freakin' awesome. Theres never a time when i dont play any songs of it when i drive. There never will be a time. Genius.
  7. Mike
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Good stuff. Cant wait to see them play live.
  8. Will
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Surely destined to be a classic? By far and away the most exciting release of 2008, even if it has been a poor year for music.
  9. SeanP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Siteh proves once more why he probably did deserve to be number 1 on NME's list.
  10. DarrylM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    "Dear Science, spends its 50 minutes in flux between several worlds, none of them particularly memorable." -Under The Radar Worst. Review. Ever. Look, I'm not expecting everyone to like this album, but, please, not memorable? The production is too elaborate, the voices too distinct, the structures too unconventional to not make it memorable. In my mind, this is a perfect, memorable album.
  11. C.O.J.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    This record has me giddy. I actually look forward to the drive home now. Consider this a must buy.
  12. Devn
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Wonderful. This will be near the very top of my "best albums of the year" list, for sure, as it will be for many others. I've been a big fan of TV on the Radio for years, and I'm not in the least bit put off by the production values or the broadened songwriting on this album. They continue to strike an amazing balance between noise and pop sensibility, and the added polish only Wonderful. This will be near the very top of my "best albums of the year" list, for sure, as it will be for many others. I've been a big fan of TV on the Radio for years, and I'm not in the least bit put off by the production values or the broadened songwriting on this album. They continue to strike an amazing balance between noise and pop sensibility, and the added polish only lends listenability without detracting from that vision. Kudos! Expand
  13. DanL
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    I've found it hard to get into past albums from TV on the Radio, but Dear Science just grabbed my attention right from the start. There's much beauty and depth to be uncovered here. "Halfway House" is downright amazing, I love it more each time I hear it. "Crying", "Golden Age" and "DLZ" are a few of my other favorites on the album, but there's really not one stinker to be I've found it hard to get into past albums from TV on the Radio, but Dear Science just grabbed my attention right from the start. There's much beauty and depth to be uncovered here. "Halfway House" is downright amazing, I love it more each time I hear it. "Crying", "Golden Age" and "DLZ" are a few of my other favorites on the album, but there's really not one stinker to be found here. All killer, no filler... best album I've heard all year. Expand
  14. NdukaA.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Just a f****g masterpiece. You want to dance and cry at the same time, but you mostly just sit there and listen, spellbound, mesmerized.
  15. OwenL.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Beautifully constructed, this is the best album of the year, and a major step for the most inspired band of the decade. Kudos.
  16. AlexH.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Truly an amazing album. This is the first I have heard of them and they have a new fan.
  17. Aaron
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    They never cease to amaze. Red Dress is great to speed through town, blasting on your stereo with the windows down.
  18. Mark
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    This thing is amazing. hands down my favorite album of the year.
  19. VitoV.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    As of now, the best record of this year.
  20. JamesS.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    This is a truly excellent album, it fully holds up beneath of the weight of the expectations that Return to Cookie Mountain had laid out. TVotR continue their streak of stellar first tracks with the gorgeous Halfway Home, and follow up with a string of high points, particularly Red Dress and DLZ. Just beautiful all the way around.
  21. NoahK.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. Even better than Return to Cookie Mountain. I simply don't understand how anyone can give this anything less than a 9.
  22. MattJ
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Simply awesome, though theres nothing simple about the music. May take some a few listens. If your not impressed by this initially, give it a couple of go's. There a lot to take in the first couple of listens.
  23. DavidD.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Many layers of beauty and ideas with little sparks of references to other great music - after listening you feel like its not just an album you heard but a great weekend show you experienced with masses of humanity .
  24. TVRadio
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing. Every Track is spot on. This is how MGMT would sound like if they had some groove. the combination of rock, pop and electro never sounded better. A must have for the open minded.
  25. MikeC
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Utterly brilliant
  26. JohnB.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Another kick ass album from TV on the Radio
  27. DerekS
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, and very accessible for a TVOTR album.
  28. AlexL.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Incredible. TV on the Radio went above and beyond on this album. I didn't really enjoy it through the first listen... but it's one of those albums you'll have seeping into your brain and be dying to get out of work so you can listen to its smooth melodies. I'm hooked.
  29. OllieG.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    Nearly had a seizure about 8 times upon first listen. Incredibel album - dare I say their best work to date? I thinks so!
  30. CurtisH.
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    The best album this year, hands down.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. There’s a sense of purpose here, of direction and clarity, shafts of accessibility that relegate the din to the background without ever compromising the potentially hostile underbelly of the band’s core sound.
  2. 90
    Throughout Dear Science, TV on the Radio--which includes the rhythm section of bassist Gerard Smith and drummer Jaleel Bunton--flesh out Adebimpe's and Malone's ruminations with relentlessly inventive arrangements that make even familiar sentiments seem fresh.
  3. On Dear Science, TVOTR finds a more traditional consistency, transmuting that dirty experimentalism into a lush cleanliness that eases--rather than hurls--its songs into the art-making ether.