Death Magnetic

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 662 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 662

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcF.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Now they finally are using more Dynamics, Key/Time Changes, different Rythms, tempos, and style that balances of what Music real is at a professional Level 6. Don't get me wrong I love their old Music, but the today is more complete. This is a Masterpiece Album!! The CD should have a Label: WARNING: Songs are highly addicting, please listen at your own risk!!
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2008
    8
    Lots of so called "Old School" Metallica fans have been slamming the guys from the bay area for some time. I grew up on these guys from Kill'em All to what I felt was their weakest album...St. Anger. Not to say it wasn't heavy...just wasn't Metallica to me. This is the closest they have been to the Glory Days of Puppets. I like Rick Rubin and his approach he took with the Lots of so called "Old School" Metallica fans have been slamming the guys from the bay area for some time. I grew up on these guys from Kill'em All to what I felt was their weakest album...St. Anger. Not to say it wasn't heavy...just wasn't Metallica to me. This is the closest they have been to the Glory Days of Puppets. I like Rick Rubin and his approach he took with the guys this time around. Everyone ages with time....and so do musicians...you have to take it for what its worth. They still kick some a$$ in my opinion and always will...their Metallica! Expand
  3. JasonB.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Brilliant return to form.
  4. JohnN.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Best Metallica Album in 20 years!
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    Although not the best Metallica album it's at least better than everything else after the black album

    Think as if Master of Puppets and And Justice For All... had a baby, this is it.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    A vast improvement over the previous 15 years' work. Metallica are back to writing solid songs, and the decision to record at standard E-recording, thus stretching Hetfield's vocals, was the best decision they could have made.

    Metallica have reinvented themselves several times over the years, so you certainly can't expect this to sound like Kill 'Em All or Master of Puppets, but why
    A vast improvement over the previous 15 years' work. Metallica are back to writing solid songs, and the decision to record at standard E-recording, thus stretching Hetfield's vocals, was the best decision they could have made.

    Metallica have reinvented themselves several times over the years, so you certainly can't expect this to sound like Kill 'Em All or Master of Puppets, but why would you want it to? You have those albums, go listen to them. The band have bravely followed there own path. It doesn't always work out for the best (Lulu, I'm looking at you), but this album proves they are still able to write killer songs, and perform them with the passion they're known and loved for.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    4
    Death Magnetic is a way for Metallica to appease fans, and it turns out that as long as you say "old skool" fans will buy it. This is not the Metallica of old, but the Metallica of today: a bunch of middle-aged rich american men who try to sound like a lame 80s metal ripoff. Trujillo plays bass guitar for the first time in a Metallica record, but he is a fish out of water, completely takenDeath Magnetic is a way for Metallica to appease fans, and it turns out that as long as you say "old skool" fans will buy it. This is not the Metallica of old, but the Metallica of today: a bunch of middle-aged rich american men who try to sound like a lame 80s metal ripoff. Trujillo plays bass guitar for the first time in a Metallica record, but he is a fish out of water, completely taken out of his comfort zone. The production is plain horrible, with little dynamics involved and some crappy choices (like the sound of Ulrich's drums). Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2016
    4
    This album is a disappointment in Metallica's somewhat polarising discography. It is forgetable when compared to the universally acclaimed Master of Puppets and Ride The Lightning, and the legendarily bad St.Anger, this one is just a bit...lame.

    None of the songs really stick with you, and it feels like the album drags on for its fairly long runtime. All of the songs are long, and
    This album is a disappointment in Metallica's somewhat polarising discography. It is forgetable when compared to the universally acclaimed Master of Puppets and Ride The Lightning, and the legendarily bad St.Anger, this one is just a bit...lame.

    None of the songs really stick with you, and it feels like the album drags on for its fairly long runtime. All of the songs are long, and although they display some technical complexity in the structure, they don't really have any emotion or edge implemented in them. They feel lifeless, and not at all memorable.

    This album is not an essential component in the Metallica discography, which is to be expected, as Metallica (and other ageing metal acts) are well past their prime.

    For me this album does not ruin, but certainly tarnishes Metallica's immense reputation, and simply going back to their "thrash roots" is not enough to compose genuine and interesting songs. Lets hope with their next album they can leave a bigger impression than simply 'okay'...
    Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    1981-2003. R.I.P Metallica....2008: Metallica has spoken and will live on!! Yes, Metallica fans, Metallica is back! Better than ever! Songs heavier than ever, and more meaning. Only problem is that their songs in this album were depressing. But besides the depressing lyrics, their music has came back!! METALLICA IS BACK!!
  10. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a celebration of 25 years since KILL 'EM ALL--it's original, and every song is worth listening to--over and over and over.
  11. JasonM.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Metallica is back in my life. Like scores of once rabid fans, I was VERY turned off by the whole Napster circus. This was followed by "St. Anger," which I continue to convince myself was recorded by a tribute band called "Shmetallica." Anyway, I've been waiting over ten years for this. Since "Re-Load," Metallica released a cover album, a live album, and an unspeakably awful album. Metallica is back in my life. Like scores of once rabid fans, I was VERY turned off by the whole Napster circus. This was followed by "St. Anger," which I continue to convince myself was recorded by a tribute band called "Shmetallica." Anyway, I've been waiting over ten years for this. Since "Re-Load," Metallica released a cover album, a live album, and an unspeakably awful album. Death Magnetic has brought me back to new, AWESOME Metallica music. The album honors their roots, draws upon their years of stardom, and yet still has a tinge of metal progression to it. Like "Back In Black," every single track of this quasi-masterpiece is infectious. A must for any Metallica fan, 18 to 45. Expand
  12. SeanC.
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    Music good, but the whole thing is distorted to hell. It has no power and no dynamics and sounds like your speakers have blown up. One of the worst sounding discs I've ever heard. Very low quality product from such an important band.
  13. mokab.
    Sep 18, 2008
    2
    Painfully dull and poorly produced, A great improvement on St. Anger, true. But being honest, a recording of them taking a dump would be mildly more interesting than the past one.
  14. JoshH
    Oct 15, 2009
    5
    It still is the best album they've done for about twenty years, but God that's not a difficult thing to achieve. This album does nothing for the imagination though, it's just plain same old Metallica. Nothing special really.
  15. TOmD.
    Sep 18, 2008
    1
    Please give up the Name Metallica, belongs to young more aggressive Bands.
  16. JohnK
    Apr 14, 2009
    3
    I really liked this album the first few times I listened to it. Perhaps it was a new Metallica CD inspired euphoria. Immediately I was thrown back to the MoP days when riffs were hard, Solos fit the song, and intros were mandatory. Somewhere between 10 and 15 times listening to the album through, the novelty was gone, and I could listen to it as a musician, and not a fan. The riffing is I really liked this album the first few times I listened to it. Perhaps it was a new Metallica CD inspired euphoria. Immediately I was thrown back to the MoP days when riffs were hard, Solos fit the song, and intros were mandatory. Somewhere between 10 and 15 times listening to the album through, the novelty was gone, and I could listen to it as a musician, and not a fan. The riffing is not bad. It comes at you hard, but the ebb and flow of Metallica is just not there. James voice sounds absolutely terrible. The production quality of the album is quite bad, and Kirk has layed down some of the worst guitar solos ever recorded. Somewhere a few years ago, Kirk decided to stop making solos match anything in the song. Just playing 16th notes with a WahWah does not a great solo make. Every solo on this album is mindless, feeling less, garbage, and virtually ruin every song to the point of no return. Seriously though, you would be better off leaving them out, the musicality of the album would have dramatically improved. Expand
  17. GregV.
    Oct 11, 2008
    2
    gotta tell ya, i think St. Anger might actually have been better. James' voice went to complete crap. now i know hes getting older now but come on guys, this is nowhere near old Metallica. and to say that Load and Reload weren't good, dude you gotta listen to those albums again cause theres something wrong with you. they're close to old Metallica than this new crap. the gotta tell ya, i think St. Anger might actually have been better. James' voice went to complete crap. now i know hes getting older now but come on guys, this is nowhere near old Metallica. and to say that Load and Reload weren't good, dude you gotta listen to those albums again cause theres something wrong with you. they're close to old Metallica than this new crap. the music isn't speed metal, its a bunch of repeating riffs that have no uniqueness what so ever. i gotta say Metallica definitely let me down with this one. and believe me they are one of my fav bands. i don't think i ever wanna listen to this cd again. i cant understand how you can seriously and honestly compare this album to any of their other ones. they've lost their touch in metal. but i agree with jimmy w., they should play more their age metal. slow it down guys your not in your 20's and 30's anymore. and im sorry James but you gotta do something about your voice brother cause it strayed away from what made Metallica so amazing. and even in Master of Puppets when they played fast, there was so much more feeling in the guitar than there is now. its just noise. they used to "make love" to their guitars while they played and they don't anymore. i gotta give it a 2 cause it is so disappointing. Expand
  18. AngeloM.
    Oct 3, 2008
    1
    My vote is due to technical reasons, is not a vote to the artistic value. Sound on this CD is awful, audio is too compress, there's no definition of nothing! Please Metallica, remaster your album.
  19. flyh.
    Sep 11, 2008
    3
    R.I.P. Metallica has died.
  20. D.
    Sep 11, 2008
    2
    I tried listening to this album with an open mind but that was nowhere near enough to make me want to ever listen to this album again. Boring and uninspired average hard rock from a one time great band. If I was given this album for free I'd still feel ashamed for owning it.
  21. AshP.
    Sep 13, 2008
    5
    Sounds like a remake of load till you get to all nightmare long,then you feel like your back to the master of puppets days but only for a brief second,get out of the studio go back to the garage drink some piss and go back to where it all started,and we might have some hope of getting the seek and destroy days back.
  22. May 17, 2013
    1
    Really enjoyed this album when it first came out. Seen them live in Boston around the same time and the guys put on a great show. But upon returning to magnetic, recently, I am feeling more and more like this may be an extremely over-rated pile of Clearly thrown together to combat the festering image of st. Anger, it's overall feel is very generic and if it wasn't Metallica that put thisReally enjoyed this album when it first came out. Seen them live in Boston around the same time and the guys put on a great show. But upon returning to magnetic, recently, I am feeling more and more like this may be an extremely over-rated pile of Clearly thrown together to combat the festering image of st. Anger, it's overall feel is very generic and if it wasn't Metallica that put this out it wouldn't be in anyone's collection. Even the load sessions had more depth than this. Expand
  23. Jan 12, 2016
    3
    Death Magnetic by Metallica. A german review.
    Wurde St. Anger von Medien und Anhängern zerrissen, sollte der eigentliche Tiefpunkt noch kommen. DEATH MAGNETIC. Ein Album mit einem Sound, so schlecht, dass einem das Ohr blutet.
    Zudem sind die Lyrics teilweise so schlecht wie in der über 30 jährigen Bandgeschichte nicht. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der Song Cyanide. Der einzige Lichtblick auf
    Death Magnetic by Metallica. A german review.
    Wurde St. Anger von Medien und Anhängern zerrissen, sollte der eigentliche Tiefpunkt noch kommen. DEATH MAGNETIC. Ein Album mit einem Sound, so schlecht, dass einem das Ohr blutet.
    Zudem sind die Lyrics teilweise so schlecht wie in der über 30 jährigen Bandgeschichte nicht. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der Song Cyanide. Der einzige Lichtblick auf dem Album trägt den Namen Suicide & Redemption. Ein reines Instrumentalstück á la Orion. Insgesamt eine ganz ganz schwache Leistung: 3/10
    Expand
  24. Fred
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    There's just nothing to complain. Death Magnetic is a 100%-Metallica album, and everyone who gives it less than 10 points probably forgets that Metallica is Metallica oder just doesn't like the real, original Metallica sound.
  25. ChrisG
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    This is a return to glory for Metallica. If you don't like this album it is probably because you were a fan of the black album pop-metal era of Metallica. This album reminds me of Justice. The music is awesome, but the lyrics and subjects they now right about keep them from receiving a perfect score.
  26. JeffM.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    If this album had come out between Justice... and the Black Album, it would have been hailed as the natural progression, the forth 'conclusion' to the 'holy trinity', aka the 3 Ride/Master/Justice album series - but more accessible. The songs on this disk are catchy as hell, and addictive. If anything, critics unfairly down-rate this album, because it is not cool in If this album had come out between Justice... and the Black Album, it would have been hailed as the natural progression, the forth 'conclusion' to the 'holy trinity', aka the 3 Ride/Master/Justice album series - but more accessible. The songs on this disk are catchy as hell, and addictive. If anything, critics unfairly down-rate this album, because it is not cool in some of the the 'art' circles to give props to Metallica, and many people have still not forgiven them for the Load/St Anger era. Expand
  27. MikeG
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Metallica have reinvented the term metal with this stunning new album. After the very poor St Anger, metallica have reinstated themselves as the slaves to metal. Epics such as The Day That Never Comes and the latest in tune to the Unforgiven it's not hard to see why Metallica are the most successful band in Metal.
  28. NikhilM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Best Metallica album since Justice. Enough said. Haters of the album have no arguments, and just want to hate. This is too good to describe. The main draw back is the drums, but I still give it 10/19.
  29. UlrikG.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Simply the best album ever!
  30. JohnS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Great album, boys are back in town with thrash metal !
  31. MartinK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    Not single bad or filler song here, just great all the way through. Two thumbs up for Metallica!!
  32. RishiG.
    Sep 14, 2008
    8
    It is Metallica tapping into their hey day for inspiration but it is very good and worth listening to.
  33. HamesJ.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    Kirk, James and Lars were recently taken off life support and to everyone's surprise they regained consciousness, suffering only minor brain damage (debatable in Lars' case). They went into the studio and recorded a "Metallica" album! "Death Magnetic" deserves the stamp of the original Metallica band logo but I would argue that they should have named it "Awakenings" in reference Kirk, James and Lars were recently taken off life support and to everyone's surprise they regained consciousness, suffering only minor brain damage (debatable in Lars' case). They went into the studio and recorded a "Metallica" album! "Death Magnetic" deserves the stamp of the original Metallica band logo but I would argue that they should have named it "Awakenings" in reference to the DeNiro film because DAMN... where the hell have these guys been? I first heard Metallica around '84 or '85 when a friend popped "Ride the Lightning" into his cassette deck and let "Fight Fire with Fire" rip. Since that moment I was a fan and no amount of change in my musical tastes throughout middle and high school changed that until the black album was released. I threw in the proverbial towel and retired any Metallica T's in the closet and fed off the carcass of their 80's output, another one bites the dust. Now in my mid-thirties, I'm enjoying the popular resurgence of metal, bands like High on Fire and Mastodon (among many others) carry the torch of "real" metal to the masses and finally it seems an old friend wants to join the party. Welcome back, leave your Armani shopping bag outside and have a beer. Expand
  34. BhaskarR.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Just what I expected out of Metallica. I actually didn't hate St Anger as much as most people do. They just went too far from their roots trying to be different and sounded very weird. I've got no complaints with this one. Double thumbs up and I hope they can dish out a couple more albums in the next few years.
  35. RodS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Eventhough critics are unfairly comparing it to their earlier works, Death Magnetic stands on its own as a great album... although the post Black albums were'nt up to expectations, you still have to give the band credit for trying to evolve musically (I'd like to think Death Magnetic is just the first of many albums showcasing that evolution)... Well done!
  36. JuuKaB
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Many may say that Metallica lost their touch throughout the last decade or so. In reality, Metallica has always had that fresh enticing feeling to their music that I personally love. Those who complain about the changes Metallica went through are ignorant. The alteration in their style was necessary to their progression as the dominant band in the heavy metal genre. Nobody wants to listen Many may say that Metallica lost their touch throughout the last decade or so. In reality, Metallica has always had that fresh enticing feeling to their music that I personally love. Those who complain about the changes Metallica went through are ignorant. The alteration in their style was necessary to their progression as the dominant band in the heavy metal genre. Nobody wants to listen to a band that always sounds the same! That, however, does not deduct from the fact that I am glad about Metallica's return to their original ear pounding sound. As previously stated, they always manage to seem unfermented. Metallica is usually far ahead of their time. In addition, I find it ridiculous when individuals bring Metallica's member's age onto the table. Musical expression has nothing to do with age. On the contrary, the soul gains experience and expressive ability with age. Expand
  37. JesseK
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic rebirth of Metallica. St. Anger was nothing to be proud of, sure the album has its low spots, but so does any other album. Sure Metallica sold out with Bob Rock, following the huge sucess of the Black Album noone knew he was going to steer Metallica straight into the ground with the double shot of Load and on top that St. Anger. That pretty much explains why he was This is a fantastic rebirth of Metallica. St. Anger was nothing to be proud of, sure the album has its low spots, but so does any other album. Sure Metallica sold out with Bob Rock, following the huge sucess of the Black Album noone knew he was going to steer Metallica straight into the ground with the double shot of Load and on top that St. Anger. That pretty much explains why he was fired now doesn't it? This is the album that most fans will say "should have came after ..And Justice For All." Metallica has regained their unique sound that made them famous in the first place. This is a must own for any Metallica and metal music fan. I do believe James Hetfield says it best "what don't kill ya, make ya more strong" Cheers to the long anticipated album fans have been awaiting for the past 15 years. Expand
  38. AndreiC
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    It took them more than 10 years to become metallica again...better later than never.
  39. ScottJ
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Best album since ...And Justice For All! Faith has been restored - later Bob Rock; may you harm us no more!
  40. GiòF
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    10 tracks on this album each one is absolutely fantastic. Each song is arranged like ã classical composition. Comparable to ''...and justice for all'' in heaviness and song length. This one is an instant classic.
  41. Ret
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Finally, a proper metal album.
  42. NileshP.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Metallica Rules... !!!
  43. MusicMaven
    Oct 7, 2008
    7
    It's a return to their hardcore, thrash-metal style, but without the superior songwriting of their 1980s albums. Several songs come close to matching those high standards, but the overly long album is burdened by too many rehashed riffs that they did better back in the day. The over-compressed mix doesn't help either. While it is their best since 1991, it is nowhere near their It's a return to their hardcore, thrash-metal style, but without the superior songwriting of their 1980s albums. Several songs come close to matching those high standards, but the overly long album is burdened by too many rehashed riffs that they did better back in the day. The over-compressed mix doesn't help either. While it is their best since 1991, it is nowhere near their best work overall. Expand
  44. GwynneH
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    no matter what the negative critics say - this album kicks. if it were relabelled with another 'age suitable' band they would certainly approve. remove the 'idea' of what metallica are supposed to be and you have one kick ass album. At its core is killer riffs, great breakdowns and some of the best head busting double bass metal flows that you have ever heard - check no matter what the negative critics say - this album kicks. if it were relabelled with another 'age suitable' band they would certainly approve. remove the 'idea' of what metallica are supposed to be and you have one kick ass album. At its core is killer riffs, great breakdowns and some of the best head busting double bass metal flows that you have ever heard - check broke, beat and scarred and I challenge any critic to not bang that head like their life depended upon it. Expand
  45. SimM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    Metallica used to be my favorite band - when I heard this album was going to between MoP and Justice - I was out of mind excited. But unfortunately - I was very disappointed. Poor lyrics and solos for the sake of solos bring the album down. Not a single song would even make it as a filler song on Pre Black Album.
  46. Pete
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Overall a very solid album, and a return to form. Would seem to be the missing link between ...And Justice for All and the Black Album.
  47. ThomasC
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Metallica is really back in this album. Every song on the disc kicks ass except Unforgiven 3 which is just good. The best tracks in my opinion are All Nightmare Long, My Apocalypse, and the Judas Kiss. Buy this album ITS F*CKING EPIC!!!
  48. NicoD.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Excellent album, rating an album with a 10 is very unlikely but i am looking at thrash metal in this day and age and this album is seriously the best thing out there right now. Since the 80's no good thrash metal has come out.
  49. AlexM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    Finally a good album of Metallica since And justice for all... There is a lot of epic songs, Cyanide is the one i prefer. My only bad note, the drum is sometimes overplayed. Death Magnetic is and will be the metal album of the year, without doubts.
  50. BitBurn
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    Finally they did it! Metallica back to its roots. Here's an album that will shut up a lot of people, mostly those that thought Metallica were finished. Try this: This is one of their best album.
  51. MikeMoran
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Best In awhile!! I LOVE IT!!!!!
  52. TomC
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Imagine Metallica having made albums for the past 15 years which weren't up to the standard produced from the 80's. What sort of album does Metallica need to get their career back to the point of making groundbreaking music? Well, whatever it is they have certainly done that on Death Magnetic. The album sounds as if it fits perfectly inbetween ...And Justice For All and The Imagine Metallica having made albums for the past 15 years which weren't up to the standard produced from the 80's. What sort of album does Metallica need to get their career back to the point of making groundbreaking music? Well, whatever it is they have certainly done that on Death Magnetic. The album sounds as if it fits perfectly inbetween ...And Justice For All and The Black Album. The album has Slayer-esque riffs aswell as Dream Theater influences. Not a single song on the album can be skipped as they all sound so good the moment you hear the thumping of the heart on "That Was Just Your Life". Overall, a fantastic rendition of 80's Metallica. Metal up your ***. Expand
  53. Dean
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    I never give an album a 10, but i had to with Death Magnetic, Because this is truly Metallica best album since "The Black Album".
  54. StevenO.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    This album is great!!! Metallica is back and with something to prove. They once again the kings of metal.
  55. KristopherC.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    Awesome album. Not perfect, but better than any other metal album of recent memory. Gets better with repeated listens, which creates familiarity with the connections between the scattered riffs. It all comes together in the end.
  56. WadeW.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    A definite return to form. Bravo.
  57. LC
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    Metallica are back!
  58. MikaK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    The boys are definitely back! This is awesome! Sounds like ..And justice for all mixed with rest of the past albums. This is good enough to compare with the 80's records of Metallica. My favourites are "That was just your life", "Broke, beat & scarred" and "All nightmare long". Can't stop listening this record.. I'm on fire!
  59. KevinD
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    The gods who perfected Heavy Metal after Black Sabbath created it are here to stay. All you haters can go back into your caves for a while.
  60. TonyM.
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    This is easily their best work since ...And Justice For All and the best album of the new millenium. Old Metallica fans will feel right at home with that kick ass, in your face metal sound found on Death Magnetic. Kirk Hammet basically reinvents the speed metal guitar with some of his riffs and solos, and James's voice has changed a bit, yes, but I think it's for the better. If This is easily their best work since ...And Justice For All and the best album of the new millenium. Old Metallica fans will feel right at home with that kick ass, in your face metal sound found on Death Magnetic. Kirk Hammet basically reinvents the speed metal guitar with some of his riffs and solos, and James's voice has changed a bit, yes, but I think it's for the better. If you're a music fan in general, DO NOT pass up this album! Expand
  61. Daniel
    Sep 13, 2008
    8
    All in all i think this is a great album. Sure it had a few flaws here and there but nothing is ever really perfect. The most disappointing aspect of the album for me were kirks leads,which, for the most part did nothing to elevate the songs and sometimes brought them down a touch. The production also left a little something to be desired, but does not really bother me too much. Overall All in all i think this is a great album. Sure it had a few flaws here and there but nothing is ever really perfect. The most disappointing aspect of the album for me were kirks leads,which, for the most part did nothing to elevate the songs and sometimes brought them down a touch. The production also left a little something to be desired, but does not really bother me too much. Overall the album not only met my expectations but passed them. I will be keeping this in my CD player for a long long time to come. Job well done Metallica Thank you. Expand
  62. IanW.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Easily sits along Master of Puppets and And Justice For All.
  63. JohnD.
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Great Album - love the opener and Cynide, maybe not up the with ...and Justice but I've had 20 years for that to grow on me - I've heard this album once and I felt like I was 20 years old again - this is Metaliica back at their best - Loved it!
  64. DaveT
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    May very well be on par with Puppets and ...AJFA when the dust settles. I am still surprised at the sense of urgency they show here, as if they knew this would be a make-or-break point in their career. Also, Hammett is out of his f**king mind here.
  65. MadhuD.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Metallica baby, who the hell said they are not relevant anymore.
  66. BrianW.
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    This album is superb, its a return to thrash metal yet it is all new sound I love it 1 thru 10, A little tip for listening pleasure: turn it up to 11.
  67. JohnH.
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    Put Justice and Black albums in a blender, and you get Death Magnetic. It's actually really good. Best new Metallica I've heard in a long time. P.S. It's NOTHING like that St.Anger crap.
  68. Rob
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    St. what? Best album in a good while that I have had the pleasure of listening to. 10 hours and counting! Glad to have 'Tallica back in the swing of things!
  69. MadM.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    I feel like i'm living in 1988-1991 again!! A welcome return. To fall in love with their new album most people will have to listen to it twice. For me, the first song That Was Just Your Life blew me away, it was as if they forgot to put it on ..And Justice For All. I listen to it every day and i'm still not sick of it. St Anger Who?
  70. BigS.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Album of the year. On par with Justice, Puppets, Lightning. Just absolutely phenomenal. One of the rare occasions when a record exceeds ridiculously high expectations.
  71. BruceT.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    This is easily the best album since "Metallica" in '91 - this coming from a fan since Lightning came out in '84. I might go so far as to call it the album that should have followed Justice - in other words, forget all the Bob Rock years, in spite of some really deadly tunes in the last 17 years. As a semi-pro drummer, I can attest that this is one of Lars' finest records This is easily the best album since "Metallica" in '91 - this coming from a fan since Lightning came out in '84. I might go so far as to call it the album that should have followed Justice - in other words, forget all the Bob Rock years, in spite of some really deadly tunes in the last 17 years. As a semi-pro drummer, I can attest that this is one of Lars' finest records since Justice - I got blisters 3 songs in playing along with it. James' riffs are back with a vengeance, and FINALLY they let Kirk cut loose!!! Awesome album. A must-buy for metal fans. Expand
  72. BaronS.
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    Call it Kirk's redemption. He sounds like a long caged animal set free! If you happen to be a "real" Metallica fan who finds him or herself not liking this record....than I say you've given up a long time ago. Past disappointments of the Loads and St. Anger have made you unable to forgive and love Metallica again because this record stands strong with their 80's material.
  73. BigD
    Sep 18, 2008
    4
    I don't have much to say just that since cliff died metallica have never been the same, never will be and never can be. He made the band, made so many of the riffs and since dieing they've lost it. O well least the first 4 albums are good. R.I.P Cliff.
  74. AndreaR
    Sep 19, 2008
    8
    Death Magnetic is the best thing to come out from these guys since ...AJFA, and it keeps getting more infectious on each listen. Although there are a few remnants of the Black Album - St Anger era, it's a damn good mix of thrash and hard rock, sprinkled with a nice bit of speed. Awesome stuff. Thanks 'tallica!
  75. BozhidarR.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year and definitely their best since and justice for all... Greta riffs, great dynamic, it just grabs you and make you to play over and over again...that`s just All Nightmare Long:)
  76. GuyH
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    You know what - I was going to give this a 7/10 but because this is Metallica I'll notch up an extra point on my rating. The reason? This album made me grin with the knowledge that I would have LOVED it when I was 15. 'Death Magnetic' has many, many faults - the vocals and drums are way too samey, so many of the riffs are reminiscent of past material, the 2nd half of the You know what - I was going to give this a 7/10 but because this is Metallica I'll notch up an extra point on my rating. The reason? This album made me grin with the knowledge that I would have LOVED it when I was 15. 'Death Magnetic' has many, many faults - the vocals and drums are way too samey, so many of the riffs are reminiscent of past material, the 2nd half of the album is undeniably weaker than the 1st, there are no truly amazing melodic passages a la 'Master of Puppets', some parts of songs seem superfluous, some of the lyrics are cringe-inducing... but - this is METALLICA and large chunks of this album rock hard so in my best Hetfield roar it is an eiiiiggghhtttt-tahhh!! Expand
  77. RudyS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    I bought St Anger the day it was released here in South Africa, and gave it away 30 minutes after listening it, that was crud. I'm a fan of Load and Reload, as they have their own hidden gems. Death Magnetic is as everyone says not up there with MoP or Justice...but I think this is the first album Metallica can be proud of in a very long while! Really really really good!
  78. PatrickS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Death Magnetic rocks SO hard! Anyone who is bashing it is closed minded and to old to know what good music is anymore.
  79. MickT.
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    It's alright. Better than Load and so forth. Another band destroyed by overexposure. Metallica eponymous was their swan song. What happened to the winding mystery. To much straight ahead, not enough story. I by chance listened to #9, the suicide instrumental and I hoped the rest would be better. It wasn't. Dumbed down Metallica.
  80. JamesM.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    I am a die-hard fan of tallica ,even st.anger couldn't cut my strings from boyz,I listened to this album and i'm gonna say that this is HEAVY Baby. it is a real Masterpiece!
  81. JasonP.
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Iv'e been waiting 17 years its about time metallica comes back strong.
  82. JamesD.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing, totally makes up for St. Anger. "All Nightmare Long" is the best song, but I love it all. Tallica is back baby.
  83. NickR.
    Sep 30, 2008
    8
    Whew that was a rough 17 years. Metallica comes in strong with some heavy beats and some strong vocals from Hetfield and finally...FINALLY, we have good quality recording and songs that aren't singles aren't throw-aways anymore. Not too crazy about Ulrich's inconsistent drumming and there are some unnecessarily long moments in the album, but overall, very enjoyable metal Whew that was a rough 17 years. Metallica comes in strong with some heavy beats and some strong vocals from Hetfield and finally...FINALLY, we have good quality recording and songs that aren't singles aren't throw-aways anymore. Not too crazy about Ulrich's inconsistent drumming and there are some unnecessarily long moments in the album, but overall, very enjoyable metal once again. Expand
  84. PavithranCR
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    Ah ! Am I really hearing what they say is music? I don't think so... It friggin' elevates me and I might alost believe in levitation...! Yes, one of the finest comebacks of all times a legendary band can ever have.. You have proved it, Metallica ! Right on!
  85. tankJ.
    Jan 16, 2009
    6
    Two great songs. The rest sounds like the same stuff you have already heard from Metallica.
  86. RyanG.
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Metallica has illustrated with this album the gifts given to a select few honed to a point that transcends music. Drums and bass that retrain your involuntary heartbeat to triple-time, guitar riffs that send ice-cold adrenaline through your body; the things Metallica's brand of music does for which an alternative has yet to be invented . There may be musicians as talented as each of Metallica has illustrated with this album the gifts given to a select few honed to a point that transcends music. Drums and bass that retrain your involuntary heartbeat to triple-time, guitar riffs that send ice-cold adrenaline through your body; the things Metallica's brand of music does for which an alternative has yet to be invented . There may be musicians as talented as each of Metallica's members, but there is no complete band in the same building! Define music: what it is, what it should do, the effect it should have on a person and it's potential to have that effect for years to come, and "Death Magnetic" fits perfectly . The lyrics, presumably derived from the band members' own experiences, encompass basic human emotions and allow the listener to "feel" those emotions and find the lyrics grafted to their own life experiences. If you allow yourself to enjoy the music as it was intended and do not overencumber yourself with what the textbooks demand that you should enjoy, you will realize that you connect with many of the songs, and that Metallica have been writing their own textbook for decades. God-given talent, the bare-grit of the human experience, society, and the last connection human beings have to one another; Passion. They're writing, are you taking notes? Expand
  87. ChrisK
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    Metallica's new album is sure to please those who were disappointed with St. Anger, as well as all other Metallica fans! Some great songs on here, with classic Metallica style guitar riffs and solos. Some of the songs do feel like they last longer than they should, however.
  88. CF
    Oct 11, 2008
    7
    The riffs remind me of Master of Puppets. Very good, but what happened to James voice? Either the recording sucks or his voice is shot. His voice sounded great until the load album, where he got a country twang. Then St Anger sounded like he was talking in a trash can. If his voice was better, I would have given it a 8. It would have only got a 10 if the songwriting was a bit better. The riffs remind me of Master of Puppets. Very good, but what happened to James voice? Either the recording sucks or his voice is shot. His voice sounded great until the load album, where he got a country twang. Then St Anger sounded like he was talking in a trash can. If his voice was better, I would have given it a 8. It would have only got a 10 if the songwriting was a bit better. Anyways, at least Metallica finally gets it...no goo album=no money. Make the next album with better song writing and a good voice we will have a 10. Expand
  89. ARipper
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    Best Album Since AJFA. Sounds Like The Metallica I Grew Up Listening To.
  90. KeithW.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    Thank god, they are Rocking again.
  91. MaxtonU.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    This album was far better than I ever hoped. A fair amount of the anger and passion of their early albums is here, but it's combined with stunning variety and excellent production. Excellent.
  92. derekp
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    If the rather disjointed "Cyanide" had been replaced with a song along the lines of "Shortest Straw" or "Master of Puppets", this could have been one of the best 5 metal albums of all time. Tracks 1 through 5 hardly give you room to breathe and the awesome live feeling of the production makes you want to slap Bob Rock for leading these musical lords down the wrong path from the black If the rather disjointed "Cyanide" had been replaced with a song along the lines of "Shortest Straw" or "Master of Puppets", this could have been one of the best 5 metal albums of all time. Tracks 1 through 5 hardly give you room to breathe and the awesome live feeling of the production makes you want to slap Bob Rock for leading these musical lords down the wrong path from the black album onwards. Rick Rubin be praised. Welcome back to form fellas. Expand
  93. SCottD
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    This is the best stuff in a really long time. This should have came out after "....And Justice for All". People have wrote them off as sell outs. I am a long time fan from way back in the 80's. I was a harsh critic of St Anger. I am guilty of thinking they were done as a group. I will admit that I am way wrong on this. Death Magnetic is a real powerful. Its a return of the band that This is the best stuff in a really long time. This should have came out after "....And Justice for All". People have wrote them off as sell outs. I am a long time fan from way back in the 80's. I was a harsh critic of St Anger. I am guilty of thinking they were done as a group. I will admit that I am way wrong on this. Death Magnetic is a real powerful. Its a return of the band that for the most part invented speed metal. Sure there were a lot of British bands and some underground stuff but these guys wrote the manifesto of a new way of thinking of music. This is a brilliant step forward for them. Now they return as the gods of metal. Its time for these guys to show all these new generations of bands how to throw out the violence and power and make it work. "All Nightmare long", "Suicide and Redemption" , and "Cyanide" are way cool. Expand
  94. Jack
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    A return to their form best, this is Metallica at their thrash metal best. Bringing back the stripped down guitars, snare drums, and throaty lyrics, Metallica is back to kick ass.
  95. MetalL.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    This album is the best effort from Metallica in 15 years. The guitars are where they should be and has many catchy riffs. Don't listen to the critics! Buy it and listen, if you're a true Metallica fan you'll agree this is the SH*T! They nailed it! You people who say Metallica is 40 somethings trying to recapture their youth obviously don't understand music. They are This album is the best effort from Metallica in 15 years. The guitars are where they should be and has many catchy riffs. Don't listen to the critics! Buy it and listen, if you're a true Metallica fan you'll agree this is the SH*T! They nailed it! You people who say Metallica is 40 somethings trying to recapture their youth obviously don't understand music. They are being themselves at 40. Most bands usually are not around at this point, and for sure not writing and recording like this! Set of horns from me! Keep~N~ it HEAVY!! Thanks Metallica! Expand
  96. JoeBlow
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    Too little, way too late. This should have been the concept after ...And Justice For All. Instead they opted for haircuts and lipstick. Screw this bunch of geeks! I am an O.G Metallica fan from yes, way back when they treated us to the first three singles: Whiplash, Jump In The Fire and Seek & Destroy. Back then, Hetfield raged, Hammett wailed, Burton fuzzed out and well, Lars could never Too little, way too late. This should have been the concept after ...And Justice For All. Instead they opted for haircuts and lipstick. Screw this bunch of geeks! I am an O.G Metallica fan from yes, way back when they treated us to the first three singles: Whiplash, Jump In The Fire and Seek & Destroy. Back then, Hetfield raged, Hammett wailed, Burton fuzzed out and well, Lars could never really play but at least he tried goddamnit! This is like the geriatric version of a former Juggernaut, only you feel bad for it cause it's tryin' to get mad at you while shaking it's cane and squinting through bifocals, saliva running down the corners of it's mouth. PATHETIC! I think maybe there's a spot for the band on the American Idol panel, they can offer advice to up & coming metal bands about the perils of hubris. Expand
  97. TimJ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    Nice to see Metallica back on form with some music that has not left my cd player since its release. I'm not too keen on 'The end of the line' but that aside I love the rest of it deeply and there are a few songs that I just can't get out of my head. And 'My Apocalypse' is just perfectly, utterly METAAAL!!!
  98. William
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    This is not Metallica's first four albums. Get over it. The best music the band has put out since 1990, in my humble opinion. Very good metal (albeit with a few glaring hiccups) that should put a smile on the face of any old school Metallica fan.
  99. JackS.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    This is easily their best effort since AND JUSTICE FOR ALL. Though perhaps not better than any of the 80s albums, it is a combination of everything that the band is now. Better than I ever hoped for and perhaps an indication where the band will go next. The high rating is for the sheer suprise of the quality of this album.
  100. MattS.
    Sep 12, 2008
    8
    As close to a return to form as you will find with a band that has been a band for 25 years.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Sometimes the album's mini-epics come off as we've still got it! stunts. But when it's working, the effect is like ceding your senses to a particularly well-engineered roller coaster in the dark.
  2. The best ones spit in the face of death; this album instead finds aging men trying to reclaim their youth.
  3. The musicianship feels thrillingly live throughout, and nimble new bassist Robert Trujillo helps, even though he's mostly heard as a distant, ominous rumble.