Death Magnetic

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 667 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 667

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2017
    10
    A glorious improvement from their previous album, Death Magnetic boasts powerful lyrics, strong instrumental tracks, and marks a powerful return for the band. It is some of the best material they've written since the Black album or even the Justice album. That Was Just Your Life, All Nightmare Long, The Unforgiven III, and My Apocalypse are instant classics to me, and the rest of theA glorious improvement from their previous album, Death Magnetic boasts powerful lyrics, strong instrumental tracks, and marks a powerful return for the band. It is some of the best material they've written since the Black album or even the Justice album. That Was Just Your Life, All Nightmare Long, The Unforgiven III, and My Apocalypse are instant classics to me, and the rest of the album is just really good. It's not their absolute best material, but it more than satisfied me. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    Songs are a little derivative of one another. Amazing return after St.Anger. I enjoyed a few of the songs on St.Anger but Metallica went back to the formulaic thrash metal that made the band great. Even though they're alot older now the classic Metallica fades through in Death Magnetic. Some of the songs like Cyanide are great workout music.
  3. Nov 21, 2016
    6
    When this was released it was an 8 for me, especially following St Anger which was terrible....... I would say now 8 years on and in the wake of their newest album its more like a 6.5 or maybe 7.....It just isn't that memorable or compelling to put in. The songs are long and aren't near as catchy as their current release Hardwired...To Self Destruct.

    Highlights are The Day that Never
    When this was released it was an 8 for me, especially following St Anger which was terrible....... I would say now 8 years on and in the wake of their newest album its more like a 6.5 or maybe 7.....It just isn't that memorable or compelling to put in. The songs are long and aren't near as catchy as their current release Hardwired...To Self Destruct.

    Highlights are The Day that Never Comes, All Nightmare Long and Unforgiven III.
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2016
    4
    This album is a disappointment in Metallica's somewhat polarising discography. It is forgetable when compared to the universally acclaimed Master of Puppets and Ride The Lightning, and the legendarily bad St.Anger, this one is just a bit...lame.

    None of the songs really stick with you, and it feels like the album drags on for its fairly long runtime. All of the songs are long, and
    This album is a disappointment in Metallica's somewhat polarising discography. It is forgetable when compared to the universally acclaimed Master of Puppets and Ride The Lightning, and the legendarily bad St.Anger, this one is just a bit...lame.

    None of the songs really stick with you, and it feels like the album drags on for its fairly long runtime. All of the songs are long, and although they display some technical complexity in the structure, they don't really have any emotion or edge implemented in them. They feel lifeless, and not at all memorable.

    This album is not an essential component in the Metallica discography, which is to be expected, as Metallica (and other ageing metal acts) are well past their prime.

    For me this album does not ruin, but certainly tarnishes Metallica's immense reputation, and simply going back to their "thrash roots" is not enough to compose genuine and interesting songs. Lets hope with their next album they can leave a bigger impression than simply 'okay'...
    Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2016
    8
    Solid album! Really solid, especially after the disaster of St. Anger. Glad they went to their roots here. Not as good as their older stuff, but still very good and enjoyable.
  6. May 11, 2016
    6
    It's decent. It's a serviceable thrash album with some very promising moments here and there, but they don't sound particularly as angry as they should (at least St. Anger has that over this album), the production is pretty off-putting and a lot of the songs feel like they plod on for 7-8 minutes just because they can; if Metallica trimmed the fat and told their producers to stop focusingIt's decent. It's a serviceable thrash album with some very promising moments here and there, but they don't sound particularly as angry as they should (at least St. Anger has that over this album), the production is pretty off-putting and a lot of the songs feel like they plod on for 7-8 minutes just because they can; if Metallica trimmed the fat and told their producers to stop focusing on loudness for loudness' sake this could have been at least a 7. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2016
    9
    First of all, after St. Anger you probably haven't expected anything good from Metallica. But they changed the producer and came back to their roots. Ok, this isn't second Master of Puppets. However, the riffs are so powerful and memorable that you just can't stop headbanging! At least five songs out of ten are awesome. You may not like the overall sound of the CD, though. It's tooFirst of all, after St. Anger you probably haven't expected anything good from Metallica. But they changed the producer and came back to their roots. Ok, this isn't second Master of Puppets. However, the riffs are so powerful and memorable that you just can't stop headbanging! At least five songs out of ten are awesome. You may not like the overall sound of the CD, though. It's too compressed. Also, too much wah-wah on this album. But it's an amazing record anyway! Expand
  8. Feb 12, 2016
    6
    The problem with Death Magnetic is that while it's a return to form for Metallica and easily a better album than St. Anger, it comes across as feeling extremely contrived. Pieces of entirely different songs are stitched together in a failed attempt to make them one cohesive effort, uninspired lyrics about entirely trivial and unrelated subject matters are sung over the top of riffs ofThe problem with Death Magnetic is that while it's a return to form for Metallica and easily a better album than St. Anger, it comes across as feeling extremely contrived. Pieces of entirely different songs are stitched together in a failed attempt to make them one cohesive effort, uninspired lyrics about entirely trivial and unrelated subject matters are sung over the top of riffs of varying quality and songs borrow heavily from their early efforts in order to emulate past successes (EG: The Unforgiven III, a song that has very little to do with previous entries in the Unforgiven tale and even lacks the word 'Unforgiven' in its lyrics, The Day That Never Comes, an attempt to emulate Fade to Black or My Apocalypse, a poor mans Dyer's Eve). Even St. Anger, an album considered (accurately) by most to be worse than Death Magnetic didn't borrow nearly as much or feel nearly as contrived. It's not to say Death Magnetic is a bad album however, but it's a Frankenstein of different pieces of their past smashed together into a acceptable package and released as an album. Apart from a spare few moments, nothing on Death Magnetic feels like a product of any real inspiration or even a song its creators wanted to make - it felt like a product of the bands obligation to create an album intended to counteract the blacklash of St. Anger and nothing more. Worse yet, an already questionable effort is marred by easily some of the worst production heard by man. Never mind albums like Californication, Rick Rubin has truly achieved his worst with Death Magnetic with a team of flat, dry sounding guitars, excessively compressed drums, vocal capture that fails to capture all of the subtle mids and bass of James Hetfields voice instead leaving you with dry sounding treble reminiscent of scrubbing your ears with sandpaper. To top it all off, the mix is so bad it will almost literally make your ears bleed - the version of Death Magnetic released to ear features not only the very worst production and mixing Metallica has ever pressed to disc, but an auditory nightmare that takes it's place among the very worst sounding albums ever made! The album lacks any dynamics whatsoever with the entire mix being stonewalled into oblivion and them amplified to the level of clipping so bad that even the average joe who doesn't know what clipping is can complain about it. Worse yet, the album sounds like it was recorded in a foam vacuum chamber with absolutely none of the natural reverb and warmth that made albums like 'The Black Album' sound so rich and heavy. So, with everything said so far, you're expecting this to be an overly negative review, right? Wrong. Despite doing so much so poorly, Death Magnetic is far from a terrible album. Infact, given the age and experience of the band, as well as the quality of their previous release, Death Magnetic is a remarkably solid effort. Most of the songs on the album (Excluding 'Cyanide' and 'My Apocalypse', two songs to poor for the album and that should have been replaced with 'Hate Train' and 'Rebel of Babylon' from the Beyond Magnetic EP) are genuinely good songs, and while the production and mixing brings the album down considerably, Death Magnetic is still worth a listen. It's far from the worst thing Metallica has ever created (That honor would go to 2011's 'LuLu') and while it's of lesser quality (in just about every way) than their often loathed Load and ReLoad albums, for the 80's Metallica purist who'd accept no less than 'The Black Album' in terms of heaviness, Death Magnetic is an album aimed straight at you - give it a listen, you'll probably love it. Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2016
    3
    Death Magnetic by Metallica. A german review.
    Wurde St. Anger von Medien und Anhängern zerrissen, sollte der eigentliche Tiefpunkt noch kommen. DEATH MAGNETIC. Ein Album mit einem Sound, so schlecht, dass einem das Ohr blutet.
    Zudem sind die Lyrics teilweise so schlecht wie in der über 30 jährigen Bandgeschichte nicht. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der Song Cyanide. Der einzige Lichtblick auf
    Death Magnetic by Metallica. A german review.
    Wurde St. Anger von Medien und Anhängern zerrissen, sollte der eigentliche Tiefpunkt noch kommen. DEATH MAGNETIC. Ein Album mit einem Sound, so schlecht, dass einem das Ohr blutet.
    Zudem sind die Lyrics teilweise so schlecht wie in der über 30 jährigen Bandgeschichte nicht. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der Song Cyanide. Der einzige Lichtblick auf dem Album trägt den Namen Suicide & Redemption. Ein reines Instrumentalstück á la Orion. Insgesamt eine ganz ganz schwache Leistung: 3/10
    Expand
  10. Dec 30, 2015
    8
    78 Reviews Hasty or just the reviser is very idiot... All nightmare long, The day that never comes, The judas kiss and the amazing instrumental Suicide & redemption is masterpieces of the new Metallica....
  11. Nov 16, 2014
    7
    Metallica tries to re-create 80's magic and succeeds to some extent. Death Magnetic is a solid album but if you are a lifelong Metallica fan like myself it will be hard not to hear the materials as a musical mid-life crisis.
  12. May 17, 2014
    10
    For those who think that the "old metallica has gone". shut the f**k up! How can you expect a band to give the same kind of music, year after year, without taking any chances? Death Magnetic is a tight slap to everyone who thinks Metallica has gone to **** As for those so called "die hard" fans, if you listen closely to the songs of this album, you'l be reminded of their old classics, likeFor those who think that the "old metallica has gone". shut the f**k up! How can you expect a band to give the same kind of music, year after year, without taking any chances? Death Magnetic is a tight slap to everyone who thinks Metallica has gone to **** As for those so called "die hard" fans, if you listen closely to the songs of this album, you'l be reminded of their old classics, like Mastyer Of Puppets, Battery and many more. Amazing solos, riffs and some great singing throughout the album makes this one of the best by Metallica, of not "THE BEST". Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    I thought this was great comback for metallica since it really wasn't hard to top lulu and saint anger because that bar was set sooooooo low. Anyway, it was worth a listen with a lot of catchy songs to the album. I recommend listening to it all the way through and then you'll catch the true power and metal that the band earns its name with. Some may say it's overproduced and that they wentI thought this was great comback for metallica since it really wasn't hard to top lulu and saint anger because that bar was set sooooooo low. Anyway, it was worth a listen with a lot of catchy songs to the album. I recommend listening to it all the way through and then you'll catch the true power and metal that the band earns its name with. Some may say it's overproduced and that they went overboard with the quality because of how bad it was in the past but it is still good. Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2014
    7
    This is amazing. Metallica still hasn't lost its flair after some disappointments. I love how they returned to their old style of music but they added a little bit of a modern twist to it.
  15. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Finally, we can see some thrash in this album, after 27 YEARS!! This unfortunate fact makes this album amazing. Of course, we can't see the same success as the first four albums but at last listening some thrash from Metallica makes me happy. You should listen this album Metallica fans. My final score is 8 out of 10.
  16. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really Underrated album, People seriously need to stop comparing it to their earlier albums, and/or give it an actual FAIR CHANCE. Kirk is back to playing some kick ass solos. James' singing still isn't as good as it used to be but its tolerable, Lars' drumming is great, and Rob is the new badass on the bass guitar. The production could be better sure, but other than that I really love this album. The guitar riffs are awesome, the lyrics are really well thought out and its just pure Metal! Expand
  17. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I consider Death Magnetic to be truly one of the best Metallica's album overall and shows that Metallica are still a band able to rock very hard. Too bad they do not have the same production quality in the last 10 years as Lulu or St. Anger.
  18. Sep 6, 2013
    4
    Death Magnetic is a way for Metallica to appease fans, and it turns out that as long as you say "old skool" fans will buy it. This is not the Metallica of old, but the Metallica of today: a bunch of middle-aged rich american men who try to sound like a lame 80s metal ripoff. Trujillo plays bass guitar for the first time in a Metallica record, but he is a fish out of water, completely takenDeath Magnetic is a way for Metallica to appease fans, and it turns out that as long as you say "old skool" fans will buy it. This is not the Metallica of old, but the Metallica of today: a bunch of middle-aged rich american men who try to sound like a lame 80s metal ripoff. Trujillo plays bass guitar for the first time in a Metallica record, but he is a fish out of water, completely taken out of his comfort zone. The production is plain horrible, with little dynamics involved and some crappy choices (like the sound of Ulrich's drums). Expand
  19. May 30, 2013
    4
    Únicas Boas De Death Magnetic.
    1-The Day That Never Comes
    2-The Unforgiven III
    3-All Nightmare Long
    4-Broken,Beat & Scarred
    Com 10 Faixas E 4 Músicas Boas Nota 4.
  20. May 17, 2013
    1
    Really enjoyed this album when it first came out. Seen them live in Boston around the same time and the guys put on a great show. But upon returning to magnetic, recently, I am feeling more and more like this may be an extremely over-rated pile of Clearly thrown together to combat the festering image of st. Anger, it's overall feel is very generic and if it wasn't Metallica that put thisReally enjoyed this album when it first came out. Seen them live in Boston around the same time and the guys put on a great show. But upon returning to magnetic, recently, I am feeling more and more like this may be an extremely over-rated pile of Clearly thrown together to combat the festering image of st. Anger, it's overall feel is very generic and if it wasn't Metallica that put this out it wouldn't be in anyone's collection. Even the load sessions had more depth than this. Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    Sadly I never thought that a Metallica would make another metal album like their earlier works but I'm glad to say the St Anger days are hopefully behind us, this album is great and very metal!
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Finally, after 12 years of failure, Metallica returns with more power and proves once again that his music is legendary. From the ugly work "Load" hopes were lost for this epic metal band, but this album closed many mouths to Metallica gave up for lost. Indeed, were close to the edge, but this return is a demonstration that he had, retained, and that only the larger ones are able to beFinally, after 12 years of failure, Metallica returns with more power and proves once again that his music is legendary. From the ugly work "Load" hopes were lost for this epic metal band, but this album closed many mouths to Metallica gave up for lost. Indeed, were close to the edge, but this return is a demonstration that he had, retained, and that only the larger ones are able to be reborn as a phoenix to sign one of the best albums of 2008 and of the decade 10 songs in total, long, thick at times, as in And Justice for All" but fast as in the first three discs, no ballads hesitant and without experiments that are not theirs. My favorite song is "All Nightmare Long" (7:57), intense from start to finish and with a chorus of flag to let us throat. "The Day That Never Comes" and have heard, as the you listening again and again shows you that "One" does not take too much advantage. Maybe this reliving their sound, but this work is not worth the ten, because as a man named Dani Alvarez, deserve a minimum punishment for making us wait so long to taste happiness again, plus there are many bands that have earned these years be appreciated as this band. Not exceeding, but there is always an opportunity for everyone. In conclusion this work relives this band after 12 years of failure, it is strongly recommended disc for fans and for the first time in many years, music lovers. Obviously, one of the best albums of the decade 2000. NOTICE: If you happen to see my review of the album "Shogun" by Trivium, I said that work was becoming comparable with Metallica but because sound the same. People often confused with that, but said that because the work of Trivium was becoming as big as Metallica work, ie they were having approaching greatness with Metallica. Many people used to say that Trivium, was the new Metallica. But "Shogun" shows that Trivium Metallica is totally independent and is one of the few bands in my opinion, they have come to be comparable with legendary bands such as Metallica. Even Trivium Metallica fails, but Shogun proved that at any time, we will give a surprise to overtake Metallica. I hope that day arrives, but in the meantime, enjoy "Death Magnetic" and "Shogun", especially Shogun, because honestly, exceeds that of Metallica, but Metallica still enjoyed, is very good Expand
  23. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Finally they're back! For real. Nothing to do with St. Anger. This is their best in the last 15 years. Sometimes it's too violent and a bit boring, but the most of the songs are really good. Welcome back!
  24. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This is a huge comeback from Metallica after St.Anger. It's their best album in years and Die Hard Metallica Fans should be happy with this album and so should casual fans. As a Metallica Fan i am Satisfied with what came out and am hoping they keep with this style with their next release
  25. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    A vast improvement over the previous 15 years' work. Metallica are back to writing solid songs, and the decision to record at standard E-recording, thus stretching Hetfield's vocals, was the best decision they could have made.

    Metallica have reinvented themselves several times over the years, so you certainly can't expect this to sound like Kill 'Em All or Master of Puppets, but why
    A vast improvement over the previous 15 years' work. Metallica are back to writing solid songs, and the decision to record at standard E-recording, thus stretching Hetfield's vocals, was the best decision they could have made.

    Metallica have reinvented themselves several times over the years, so you certainly can't expect this to sound like Kill 'Em All or Master of Puppets, but why would you want it to? You have those albums, go listen to them. The band have bravely followed there own path. It doesn't always work out for the best (Lulu, I'm looking at you), but this album proves they are still able to write killer songs, and perform them with the passion they're known and loved for.
    Expand
  26. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    It is not perfect. But it is a turn towards the right direction. Imagine a car going off road since 1991 and with each year it comes closer to the cliff. This album saves the car and puts it in the right road. It is not the best car but it is still working at least.
  27. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    Not their best, but still fantastic! As a musician, some of Metallica's music is a pleasure to play. e.g. That was just your life + The Unforgiven III.
  28. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Metallica are finally back with the style we all loved since the beginning. Im really looking forward to see what they can do in their next disc (im not considering Lulu, obviously)
  29. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Old Metallica, Old Metallica, Old Metallica, Old Metallica. I really wish Metallica would have made and continued to make Kill Em All and/or Ride the Lightning again and again and again, forever and ever. I wish music and musicians would never change so I can imagine its 1984 for the rest of my life. So my mind never changes, my mind never opens, I never experience anything new. If youOld Metallica, Old Metallica, Old Metallica, Old Metallica. I really wish Metallica would have made and continued to make Kill Em All and/or Ride the Lightning again and again and again, forever and ever. I wish music and musicians would never change so I can imagine its 1984 for the rest of my life. So my mind never changes, my mind never opens, I never experience anything new. If you thought you would hear Kill Em All when you played Death Magnetic, St. Anger, ReLoad, Load, or the Black Album, boy were you surprised. I have never had that experience. Here's my secret, I READ THE LABEL. I expect to hear Ride the Lightning when I play ride the Lightning not when I play Death Magnetic. Death Magnetic sounds like Death Magnetic. Crazy concept, I know. They've already made Master of Puppets. Play it when you want to hear it. They are not going to make it again. Get over it. Expand
  30. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    just a mediocre album with no "personality".of course, it's better than st.anger.but if we want to be honest with yourselves, we have to admit that the album was pretty boring. this is not an essential album for a metal fan, but a hardcore metallica fan may find it terrific. it has some songs with powerful solos and riffs, but there is not a really great song in the album. anyway, it's thejust a mediocre album with no "personality".of course, it's better than st.anger.but if we want to be honest with yourselves, we have to admit that the album was pretty boring. this is not an essential album for a metal fan, but a hardcore metallica fan may find it terrific. it has some songs with powerful solos and riffs, but there is not a really great song in the album. anyway, it's the best album that the band released since 1991. hopefully, their next album will be better. (i do not consider lulu a metallica album) Expand
  31. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Every song has enough redeeming qualities for you to want to listen to it again, and that's at the very least. Songs like ''All Nightmare Long" and "The Judas Kiss" are reminiscent of older classics, and the whole album is a fortunate departure from anything on "St. Anger". Old and new fans alike will love this album undoubtedly, apart from the occasional but slightly damaging distortionEvery song has enough redeeming qualities for you to want to listen to it again, and that's at the very least. Songs like ''All Nightmare Long" and "The Judas Kiss" are reminiscent of older classics, and the whole album is a fortunate departure from anything on "St. Anger". Old and new fans alike will love this album undoubtedly, apart from the occasional but slightly damaging distortion found during louder sections. The album itself is very loud, and that's the reason why some sections are distorted - the production was meant to be as loud as as compressed as possible. Great album, gonna be tough to follow up, which apparently Metallica is doing in 2012. The "Beyond Magnetic" EP is also fantastic, and its a real shame that those songs couldn't be on the original album. Expand
  32. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    Although not the best Metallica album it's at least better than everything else after the black album

    Think as if Master of Puppets and And Justice For All... had a baby, this is it.
  33. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    To anyone who claims this album is bad then quite simply you are wrong, though i would say more insane. This is metallica doing what they do best. Blasting out fantastic metal tunes. That of course is given the exception of the unforgiven 3, which is garbage, the first two were a lot better.
  34. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    one of the best albums for metallica, the unforgiven III gave the album some nice memories and its nice, 10 great heavy songs, cyanide came out really heavy and great, Thank you Metallica.
  35. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    The album is impressive, I must say. I'm a huge Metallica fan and my "fandom" had been fading, but for awhile they brought me back with Death Magnetic. However, I must say the songs lost their luster after a good amount of listens and it turned into an album that I can really only listen to while driving or occupying myself with other things. It's just not an album I can sit and listen to,The album is impressive, I must say. I'm a huge Metallica fan and my "fandom" had been fading, but for awhile they brought me back with Death Magnetic. However, I must say the songs lost their luster after a good amount of listens and it turned into an album that I can really only listen to while driving or occupying myself with other things. It's just not an album I can sit and listen to, much like Kill 'Em All. It's a good, fun album, though, and it has me very interested to see what Metallica comes up with next. Expand
  36. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I would consider this the best album i have ever heard and what Metallica have made. they have definitely redeemed themselves on this one. One of the first albums I've heard where i have enjoyed listening to every single song on the album and repeatedly listened to again and again. it's 2011 i bought it in 2008 i still listen now 10/10
  37. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. God, there's so much to write about this album. To me, it's the album that got me into metal. And made Metallica my 3rd favorite band. I think I'll go track by track, the ones that i like the most, and the ones that made my vote a 9 instead of a 10:
    1) That Was Just Your Life: Awesome song, pure fast, angry, awesome trash metal. A perfect start for a great album.
    2) The End Of The Line: Somehow, this track just doesn't fully convince me. I think it is because it could have been more.
    3) Broken, Beat & Scarred: A jewel in the album. This song doesn't get neither boring nor old. It's a modern version of Seek and Destroy: a catchy intro, several riffs that follow each other until it settles in one for the verse, an awesome yet simple chorus, a rampaging break that build into an amazing solo, another awesome chorus, and a great end riff. Simply mind-blowing.
    4) The Day That Never Comes: this is a modern mix between Sanitarium and One for me. With a suitable intro, a calm and emotional verse that builds up onto the desperation of the chorus. And then, the break. And the rage starts up with the whole riffing that begins at 5:01 and ends the song. It communicates everything it should make you feel with very simple lyrics and great riffs that speak for themselves.
    7) The Unforgiven III: really disappointing. I was hoping for an epic sequel to the lame second part of this "story" if you will. Not bad, but not good either.
    8) The Judas Kiss: Awesome, this song would have as equally rocking without the lyrics. A metal masterpiece.
    9) Suicide & Redemption: WOW, just, WOW. Nothing to say here, every riff repetition is in the exact place and it is played the exact number of times. It cannot get better. The top of the album.
    10) My Apocalypse: Pure, ravaging trash metal.

    Well, that was my opinion. I know people will hate me for not saying anything about All Nightmare Long, but i didn't like nor care about that song much. Don't misunderstand me, i like it, but any other song that isn't from Load, Reload nor St. Anger (with the exception of St. Anger and Frantic) could have filled it's spot.
    Expand
  38. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a celebration of 25 years since KILL 'EM ALL--it's original, and every song is worth listening to--over and over and over.
  39. May 10, 2011
    6
    While the album certainly has its moments, it's hardly the return to glory form that I was expecting. Worth listening to but it's mostly just a collection of recycled material.
  40. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Wonderful album.! Maybe one of the best metal albums of the decade. I never thought that Metallica will comeback this good! I hope they come to my country to listen this new master piece alive
  41. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    AHHHHHHH. THE SOLOS, THEIR BACK. O now i can go back to loving this band again. Metallica is back and heavier than before. Going back to how they used to play in the mid 80s when they started, metallica's new album is jam packed with heavy riffs, awsome lyrics, and solos. SWEAT SWEAT AWSOME SOLOS.
  42. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    1981-2003. R.I.P Metallica....2008: Metallica has spoken and will live on!! Yes, Metallica fans, Metallica is back! Better than ever! Songs heavier than ever, and more meaning. Only problem is that their songs in this album were depressing. But besides the depressing lyrics, their music has came back!! METALLICA IS BACK!!
  43. JuanE
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Possibly the Greatest Triumph in Musical History. While Many Disliked St Anger, St Anger Was A Rebirth of Metallica. With Death Magnetic You see the power they still posses. While Many dislike the Wah Wah solos, the solos themslves were made to fuse the song with variety. Death Magnetic Was a Album that seemed to be influenced by middle Eastern Music. Musically Metallica Is the Best Band Possibly the Greatest Triumph in Musical History. While Many Disliked St Anger, St Anger Was A Rebirth of Metallica. With Death Magnetic You see the power they still posses. While Many dislike the Wah Wah solos, the solos themslves were made to fuse the song with variety. Death Magnetic Was a Album that seemed to be influenced by middle Eastern Music. Musically Metallica Is the Best Band in The World That is Still Living. They Always have Variety, Enough Variety to please Metal Heads All Around and the mainstream audience. Overall Death Magnetic is the Start Of A New Chapter In Metal History, The Return of The True Gods Of Metal! Expand
  44. JoshH
    Oct 15, 2009
    5
    It still is the best album they've done for about twenty years, but God that's not a difficult thing to achieve. This album does nothing for the imagination though, it's just plain same old Metallica. Nothing special really.
  45. LouieF
    Sep 21, 2009
    7
    Reading some of the highest rating reviews and lowest, I can see where certain points from each are valid in my opinion. From the higher: Death Magnetic at times sounds like an evolution from the Black Album, with monster riffs and lyrics that are well thought out. The return of Kirks' solos are welcome in hindsight to St. Anger. From the lower: The vocals are vibrato ridden and a Reading some of the highest rating reviews and lowest, I can see where certain points from each are valid in my opinion. From the higher: Death Magnetic at times sounds like an evolution from the Black Album, with monster riffs and lyrics that are well thought out. The return of Kirks' solos are welcome in hindsight to St. Anger. From the lower: The vocals are vibrato ridden and a flashback to the Load/Reload era, something that I believe Death Magnetic was hoping to differentiate itself from. Many songs sound like a long jam session, for example "The Day That Never Comes". Last but not least the solos are not very Metallica-like in my opinion. They seem to challenge the riffs and might be thought of more as leads, and not enhance the music like the solos from previous albums (ex. Master Of Puppets). All in all a decent album worth a listen that tries to recapture all the heaviness, anger and musicianship of earlier Metallica albums, but falls slightly short of its mark. Expand
  46. ChrisK
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    Metallica's new album is sure to please those who were disappointed with St. Anger, as well as all other Metallica fans! Some great songs on here, with classic Metallica style guitar riffs and solos. Some of the songs do feel like they last longer than they should, however.
  47. FinchFinch
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    The sound quality was alright. The guitars have that classic Metallica "buzzsaw" sound. The drum are are too loud and Robert's bass is buried in the mix. Other than that the songs echo their earlier days. The heart and soul isn't all there, but all the tunes are tasteful and aggressive. The songs are a bit long... Every song on Death Magnetic could have benefited from being The sound quality was alright. The guitars have that classic Metallica "buzzsaw" sound. The drum are are too loud and Robert's bass is buried in the mix. Other than that the songs echo their earlier days. The heart and soul isn't all there, but all the tunes are tasteful and aggressive. The songs are a bit long... Every song on Death Magnetic could have benefited from being shortened. The music is intense and demands your attention... But even Metallica isn't awesome enough to keep my attention for over 70 minutes. Upon listening I have to break it up in blocks. However, it does lends itself well upon multiple listens. Expand
  48. AlexH.
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    This album is a huge combat from St. Anger (not that it was bad). This album brings back more of their thrash feeling rather than heavy. As always, Pitchfork is gonna bash it without listening to it, as with all other rock and metal albums. My favorite track from this album is All Nightmare Long. The Day That Never Comes is a good song, too, but overrated.
  49. KendoJ
    Jun 6, 2009
    8
    I'm liking it more and more with each play-through. While the sound is hardly original - it's traditional Metallica through and through - It's bursting with an energy and vibrancy that defies the age of these rock stars. Some absolutely incredible guitar and drum work within.
  50. JohnK
    Apr 14, 2009
    3
    I really liked this album the first few times I listened to it. Perhaps it was a new Metallica CD inspired euphoria. Immediately I was thrown back to the MoP days when riffs were hard, Solos fit the song, and intros were mandatory. Somewhere between 10 and 15 times listening to the album through, the novelty was gone, and I could listen to it as a musician, and not a fan. The riffing is I really liked this album the first few times I listened to it. Perhaps it was a new Metallica CD inspired euphoria. Immediately I was thrown back to the MoP days when riffs were hard, Solos fit the song, and intros were mandatory. Somewhere between 10 and 15 times listening to the album through, the novelty was gone, and I could listen to it as a musician, and not a fan. The riffing is not bad. It comes at you hard, but the ebb and flow of Metallica is just not there. James voice sounds absolutely terrible. The production quality of the album is quite bad, and Kirk has layed down some of the worst guitar solos ever recorded. Somewhere a few years ago, Kirk decided to stop making solos match anything in the song. Just playing 16th notes with a WahWah does not a great solo make. Every solo on this album is mindless, feeling less, garbage, and virtually ruin every song to the point of no return. Seriously though, you would be better off leaving them out, the musicality of the album would have dramatically improved. Expand
  51. JuuKaB
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Many may say that Metallica lost their touch throughout the last decade or so. In reality, Metallica has always had that fresh enticing feeling to their music that I personally love. Those who complain about the changes Metallica went through are ignorant. The alteration in their style was necessary to their progression as the dominant band in the heavy metal genre. Nobody wants to listen Many may say that Metallica lost their touch throughout the last decade or so. In reality, Metallica has always had that fresh enticing feeling to their music that I personally love. Those who complain about the changes Metallica went through are ignorant. The alteration in their style was necessary to their progression as the dominant band in the heavy metal genre. Nobody wants to listen to a band that always sounds the same! That, however, does not deduct from the fact that I am glad about Metallica's return to their original ear pounding sound. As previously stated, they always manage to seem unfermented. Metallica is usually far ahead of their time. In addition, I find it ridiculous when individuals bring Metallica's member's age onto the table. Musical expression has nothing to do with age. On the contrary, the soul gains experience and expressive ability with age. Expand
  52. JesseK
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic rebirth of Metallica. St. Anger was nothing to be proud of, sure the album has its low spots, but so does any other album. Sure Metallica sold out with Bob Rock, following the huge sucess of the Black Album noone knew he was going to steer Metallica straight into the ground with the double shot of Load and on top that St. Anger. That pretty much explains why he was This is a fantastic rebirth of Metallica. St. Anger was nothing to be proud of, sure the album has its low spots, but so does any other album. Sure Metallica sold out with Bob Rock, following the huge sucess of the Black Album noone knew he was going to steer Metallica straight into the ground with the double shot of Load and on top that St. Anger. That pretty much explains why he was fired now doesn't it? This is the album that most fans will say "should have came after ..And Justice For All." Metallica has regained their unique sound that made them famous in the first place. This is a must own for any Metallica and metal music fan. I do believe James Hetfield says it best "what don't kill ya, make ya more strong" Cheers to the long anticipated album fans have been awaiting for the past 15 years. Expand
  53. RyanG.
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Metallica has illustrated with this album the gifts given to a select few honed to a point that transcends music. Drums and bass that retrain your involuntary heartbeat to triple-time, guitar riffs that send ice-cold adrenaline through your body; the things Metallica's brand of music does for which an alternative has yet to be invented . There may be musicians as talented as each of Metallica has illustrated with this album the gifts given to a select few honed to a point that transcends music. Drums and bass that retrain your involuntary heartbeat to triple-time, guitar riffs that send ice-cold adrenaline through your body; the things Metallica's brand of music does for which an alternative has yet to be invented . There may be musicians as talented as each of Metallica's members, but there is no complete band in the same building! Define music: what it is, what it should do, the effect it should have on a person and it's potential to have that effect for years to come, and "Death Magnetic" fits perfectly . The lyrics, presumably derived from the band members' own experiences, encompass basic human emotions and allow the listener to "feel" those emotions and find the lyrics grafted to their own life experiences. If you allow yourself to enjoy the music as it was intended and do not overencumber yourself with what the textbooks demand that you should enjoy, you will realize that you connect with many of the songs, and that Metallica have been writing their own textbook for decades. God-given talent, the bare-grit of the human experience, society, and the last connection human beings have to one another; Passion. They're writing, are you taking notes? Expand
  54. MikeM.
    Jan 27, 2009
    0
    This is terrible its a bunch of old men trying to go back to the old? It does not make sense they have made the same type music for decades with virtually no artistic push forward think about it. Though st anger was bad at least they tried something moderately different thats always good not this same old basic music with limited instruments that they have done since 83 and there are a This is terrible its a bunch of old men trying to go back to the old? It does not make sense they have made the same type music for decades with virtually no artistic push forward think about it. Though st anger was bad at least they tried something moderately different thats always good not this same old basic music with limited instruments that they have done since 83 and there are a million bands that sound just like them slayer, Megadeth. Expand
  55. tankJ.
    Jan 16, 2009
    6
    Two great songs. The rest sounds like the same stuff you have already heard from Metallica.
  56. LuisA.
    Jan 15, 2009
    8
    Fair 8.3 (This Page doesn't accept decimals though). Though the first single of Death Magnetic, "The Day That Never Comes" is really overrated (and in my opinion the less god on the album), the rest of the album is great. Now we can't complain of lacking solos, because Kirk is back and reloaded. Lars drums are more tolerable (though still too loud for me), ROb's bass is Fair 8.3 (This Page doesn't accept decimals though). Though the first single of Death Magnetic, "The Day That Never Comes" is really overrated (and in my opinion the less god on the album), the rest of the album is great. Now we can't complain of lacking solos, because Kirk is back and reloaded. Lars drums are more tolerable (though still too loud for me), ROb's bass is really Rob's bass, and James voice, although it isn't the one we heard back on 'Justice', makes good use of his dual using (Raw & Melodical). Welcome Back (sort of) Metallica. Favorite Song: All Nightmare Long. Less Favorite Song: The Day that Never Comes. Expand
  57. PavithranCR
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    Ah ! Am I really hearing what they say is music? I don't think so... It friggin' elevates me and I might alost believe in levitation...! Yes, one of the finest comebacks of all times a legendary band can ever have.. You have proved it, Metallica ! Right on!
  58. HeshamK
    Dec 25, 2008
    4
    Louder does not mean better. Metallica here only shows they can still wreck your ears, however the quality of what is being played is very bad in comparison to the Old Metallica. Kirk is playing Good Solos but he does not "feel" what is being played at all.. He is just guitar shredding throughout the album. Unforgiven 3 is a disgrace to Unforgiven 1. Metallica used to know how to play Louder does not mean better. Metallica here only shows they can still wreck your ears, however the quality of what is being played is very bad in comparison to the Old Metallica. Kirk is playing Good Solos but he does not "feel" what is being played at all.. He is just guitar shredding throughout the album. Unforgiven 3 is a disgrace to Unforgiven 1. Metallica used to know how to play music now they turned to just another loud band that sucks. They should learn from Iron Maiden how to be creative and still be a Legendary band. Lyrics: 3 (just like any average band nowadays) Vocals: 3 (Terrible record from James) Guitars: 6 (unnecessarily too Fast and unrelated to the songs' theme) Bass: 6 (Too loud and usually unnecessary too) this adds to 4.5/10 but i wouldn't give it a 5 so 4 is all it can get. Conclusion: The record sounds like each band member played his own part at home on his own and then they met up at the studio and mixed it all up. No Harmony at all, the album fails miserably. Expand
  59. GiòF
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    10 tracks on this album each one is absolutely fantastic. Each song is arranged like ã classical composition. Comparable to ''...and justice for all'' in heaviness and song length. This one is an instant classic.
  60. DavidJ
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    This disc starts out strong and well....the first seven songs, are....legendary. I did eventually make it to the end of the disc...and that was all good. This masterpiece is supposedly a moment or dedication to hereos fallen, past and present and it works. I read the lyrics, and although I struggled to understand what they really meant, when I saw them applied to the music, I thought they This disc starts out strong and well....the first seven songs, are....legendary. I did eventually make it to the end of the disc...and that was all good. This masterpiece is supposedly a moment or dedication to hereos fallen, past and present and it works. I read the lyrics, and although I struggled to understand what they really meant, when I saw them applied to the music, I thought they were just awesome, and I at least understood what went into the songwriting, and it doesnt look like it was any simple task. It should border on great songwriting and lyricy. In any case, lets move on. I saw metallica 10 feet from the stage at Master of Puppets when they opened for Ozzy in 1986. I remember putting on that album in my room and then waiting for the show...experience of a lifetime..especially knowing that the reason I got so close to the general adm. stage in '86 was that the vast majority of the crowd was there for Ozzy and I had free reign. In any case, I was two years out of high school at that time. Yes, I saw other great shows during that period as well, like Guns open for the Crue twice for Appetite on the Motley Girls' tour (sorry for those of you that saw Whitesnake earlier instead). "Still of the Night!" Anyway, again, this is a revelation in my opinion. Nothing like what I have heard over the many years since I can remember. A real piece of work. Enjoy and definately buy the disc and go see them if you can afford the ridiculous price for tickets. By the way, I have listened to the tracks two or three times, I just got it, so I am still wet behind the ears with the sound, kind of the best time to be enjoying new work, you have had it, but havent experienced it to its fullest, so you keep coming back for more and more....kind of like a hot chick that you recently met, but you are both at this point.....really into it. My point is...get it, and enjoy! Expand
  61. ScottJ
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Best album since ...And Justice For All! Faith has been restored - later Bob Rock; may you harm us no more!
  62. steves
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I too feel the same as most reviewers here - this album rocks! A return to a form not seen in a very long time. I even think this album is better than the "Black Album", as that album is way more commercial than this.
  63. Helfonh
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    I love this album it feels like it came between Justice and the Black album. It's Metallica as they should be but matured. James has grown vocally with his melodies but the music is more chugging guitar metal riffs rather than pop metally hooks that started with the black album and got worse from there. Still someone has to hold Lars down in the studio while his drums are turned down I love this album it feels like it came between Justice and the Black album. It's Metallica as they should be but matured. James has grown vocally with his melodies but the music is more chugging guitar metal riffs rather than pop metally hooks that started with the black album and got worse from there. Still someone has to hold Lars down in the studio while his drums are turned down in the mix. His drumming is perfect though. Hurray for dual guitar harmony solos and hurray for wah filled melodic Kirk solos. Viva Metallica for they are back. Expand
  64. Jack
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    A return to their form best, this is Metallica at their thrash metal best. Bringing back the stripped down guitars, snare drums, and throaty lyrics, Metallica is back to kick ass.
  65. Chcukc
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Very nice. No one out there is push out this type of quallity any more.
  66. derekp
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    If the rather disjointed "Cyanide" had been replaced with a song along the lines of "Shortest Straw" or "Master of Puppets", this could have been one of the best 5 metal albums of all time. Tracks 1 through 5 hardly give you room to breathe and the awesome live feeling of the production makes you want to slap Bob Rock for leading these musical lords down the wrong path from the black If the rather disjointed "Cyanide" had been replaced with a song along the lines of "Shortest Straw" or "Master of Puppets", this could have been one of the best 5 metal albums of all time. Tracks 1 through 5 hardly give you room to breathe and the awesome live feeling of the production makes you want to slap Bob Rock for leading these musical lords down the wrong path from the black album onwards. Rick Rubin be praised. Welcome back to form fellas. Expand
  67. VenomG.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    After reviewing all Metallica history this album was a recall from what Metallica really is.
  68. RustyS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    I'm not even a metal fan but this album was great. It's like St. Anger never even happened so if you aren't buying this just because of St. Anger, you should probably change your mind. This album obviously had a lot of time and thinking into it because some of the guitar material is just amazing.
  69. MaxtonU.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    This album was far better than I ever hoped. A fair amount of the anger and passion of their early albums is here, but it's combined with stunning variety and excellent production. Excellent.
  70. JasonD
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    The release of Death Magnetic was accompanied by a collective sigh of relief. The first thought that popped into my head upon hearing this album was "So THIS is what listening to a just-released Black Album must have felt like." I saw these guys when they came to Columbus for the DM tour, and the show they put on was nothing short of amazing. James' beard was kick-ass!
  71. JamesW.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    This album is a constant play in my car. From the opening track to the final one, this is a return to the Metallica we grew to love in the 80's with a modern spin on it. This is the album that St. Anger should have been. Best album of 2008!
  72. JasonM.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Metallica is back in my life. Like scores of once rabid fans, I was VERY turned off by the whole Napster circus. This was followed by "St. Anger," which I continue to convince myself was recorded by a tribute band called "Shmetallica." Anyway, I've been waiting over ten years for this. Since "Re-Load," Metallica released a cover album, a live album, and an unspeakably awful album. Metallica is back in my life. Like scores of once rabid fans, I was VERY turned off by the whole Napster circus. This was followed by "St. Anger," which I continue to convince myself was recorded by a tribute band called "Shmetallica." Anyway, I've been waiting over ten years for this. Since "Re-Load," Metallica released a cover album, a live album, and an unspeakably awful album. Death Magnetic has brought me back to new, AWESOME Metallica music. The album honors their roots, draws upon their years of stardom, and yet still has a tinge of metal progression to it. Like "Back In Black," every single track of this quasi-masterpiece is infectious. A must for any Metallica fan, 18 to 45. Expand
  73. MetalL.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    This album is the best effort from Metallica in 15 years. The guitars are where they should be and has many catchy riffs. Don't listen to the critics! Buy it and listen, if you're a true Metallica fan you'll agree this is the SH*T! They nailed it! You people who say Metallica is 40 somethings trying to recapture their youth obviously don't understand music. They are This album is the best effort from Metallica in 15 years. The guitars are where they should be and has many catchy riffs. Don't listen to the critics! Buy it and listen, if you're a true Metallica fan you'll agree this is the SH*T! They nailed it! You people who say Metallica is 40 somethings trying to recapture their youth obviously don't understand music. They are being themselves at 40. Most bands usually are not around at this point, and for sure not writing and recording like this! Set of horns from me! Keep~N~ it HEAVY!! Thanks Metallica! Expand
  74. NileshP.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Metallica Rules... !!!
  75. Ret
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Finally, a proper metal album.
  76. RoyJ.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    Amazing album! "All Nightmare Long" should be a classic. Seriously, the whole album is completely solid. I can't stop listening to it. Metallica rules! And, as for Pitchfork, what a bunch of sorry-ass "indie" posers they are! The have the most ass-backwards taste in music. They love trendy bands that hardly anyone will remember in 5 years from now, let alone 20 years like Metallica. Amazing album! "All Nightmare Long" should be a classic. Seriously, the whole album is completely solid. I can't stop listening to it. Metallica rules! And, as for Pitchfork, what a bunch of sorry-ass "indie" posers they are! The have the most ass-backwards taste in music. They love trendy bands that hardly anyone will remember in 5 years from now, let alone 20 years like Metallica. Simply clueless. Nice to have the Bay Area thrashers back strong! Rick Rubin is a genius! Expand
  77. ChrisG
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    This is a return to glory for Metallica. If you don't like this album it is probably because you were a fan of the black album pop-metal era of Metallica. This album reminds me of Justice. The music is awesome, but the lyrics and subjects they now right about keep them from receiving a perfect score.
  78. ARipper
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    Best Album Since AJFA. Sounds Like The Metallica I Grew Up Listening To.
  79. GregV.
    Oct 11, 2008
    2
    gotta tell ya, i think St. Anger might actually have been better. James' voice went to complete crap. now i know hes getting older now but come on guys, this is nowhere near old Metallica. and to say that Load and Reload weren't good, dude you gotta listen to those albums again cause theres something wrong with you. they're close to old Metallica than this new crap. the gotta tell ya, i think St. Anger might actually have been better. James' voice went to complete crap. now i know hes getting older now but come on guys, this is nowhere near old Metallica. and to say that Load and Reload weren't good, dude you gotta listen to those albums again cause theres something wrong with you. they're close to old Metallica than this new crap. the music isn't speed metal, its a bunch of repeating riffs that have no uniqueness what so ever. i gotta say Metallica definitely let me down with this one. and believe me they are one of my fav bands. i don't think i ever wanna listen to this cd again. i cant understand how you can seriously and honestly compare this album to any of their other ones. they've lost their touch in metal. but i agree with jimmy w., they should play more their age metal. slow it down guys your not in your 20's and 30's anymore. and im sorry James but you gotta do something about your voice brother cause it strayed away from what made Metallica so amazing. and even in Master of Puppets when they played fast, there was so much more feeling in the guitar than there is now. its just noise. they used to "make love" to their guitars while they played and they don't anymore. i gotta give it a 2 cause it is so disappointing. Expand
  80. CF
    Oct 11, 2008
    7
    The riffs remind me of Master of Puppets. Very good, but what happened to James voice? Either the recording sucks or his voice is shot. His voice sounded great until the load album, where he got a country twang. Then St Anger sounded like he was talking in a trash can. If his voice was better, I would have given it a 8. It would have only got a 10 if the songwriting was a bit better. The riffs remind me of Master of Puppets. Very good, but what happened to James voice? Either the recording sucks or his voice is shot. His voice sounded great until the load album, where he got a country twang. Then St Anger sounded like he was talking in a trash can. If his voice was better, I would have given it a 8. It would have only got a 10 if the songwriting was a bit better. Anyways, at least Metallica finally gets it...no goo album=no money. Make the next album with better song writing and a good voice we will have a 10. Expand
  81. AndreiC
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    It took them more than 10 years to become metallica again...better later than never.
  82. JeffM.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    If this album had come out between Justice... and the Black Album, it would have been hailed as the natural progression, the forth 'conclusion' to the 'holy trinity', aka the 3 Ride/Master/Justice album series - but more accessible. The songs on this disk are catchy as hell, and addictive. If anything, critics unfairly down-rate this album, because it is not cool in If this album had come out between Justice... and the Black Album, it would have been hailed as the natural progression, the forth 'conclusion' to the 'holy trinity', aka the 3 Ride/Master/Justice album series - but more accessible. The songs on this disk are catchy as hell, and addictive. If anything, critics unfairly down-rate this album, because it is not cool in some of the the 'art' circles to give props to Metallica, and many people have still not forgiven them for the Load/St Anger era. Expand
  83. SimM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    Metallica used to be my favorite band - when I heard this album was going to between MoP and Justice - I was out of mind excited. But unfortunately - I was very disappointed. Poor lyrics and solos for the sake of solos bring the album down. Not a single song would even make it as a filler song on Pre Black Album.
  84. GwynneH
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    no matter what the negative critics say - this album kicks. if it were relabelled with another 'age suitable' band they would certainly approve. remove the 'idea' of what metallica are supposed to be and you have one kick ass album. At its core is killer riffs, great breakdowns and some of the best head busting double bass metal flows that you have ever heard - check no matter what the negative critics say - this album kicks. if it were relabelled with another 'age suitable' band they would certainly approve. remove the 'idea' of what metallica are supposed to be and you have one kick ass album. At its core is killer riffs, great breakdowns and some of the best head busting double bass metal flows that you have ever heard - check broke, beat and scarred and I challenge any critic to not bang that head like their life depended upon it. Expand
  85. TimJ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    Nice to see Metallica back on form with some music that has not left my cd player since its release. I'm not too keen on 'The end of the line' but that aside I love the rest of it deeply and there are a few songs that I just can't get out of my head. And 'My Apocalypse' is just perfectly, utterly METAAAL!!!
  86. MusicMaven
    Oct 7, 2008
    7
    It's a return to their hardcore, thrash-metal style, but without the superior songwriting of their 1980s albums. Several songs come close to matching those high standards, but the overly long album is burdened by too many rehashed riffs that they did better back in the day. The over-compressed mix doesn't help either. While it is their best since 1991, it is nowhere near their It's a return to their hardcore, thrash-metal style, but without the superior songwriting of their 1980s albums. Several songs come close to matching those high standards, but the overly long album is burdened by too many rehashed riffs that they did better back in the day. The over-compressed mix doesn't help either. While it is their best since 1991, it is nowhere near their best work overall. Expand
  87. AngeloM.
    Oct 3, 2008
    1
    My vote is due to technical reasons, is not a vote to the artistic value. Sound on this CD is awful, audio is too compress, there's no definition of nothing! Please Metallica, remaster your album.
  88. JoeBlow
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    Too little, way too late. This should have been the concept after ...And Justice For All. Instead they opted for haircuts and lipstick. Screw this bunch of geeks! I am an O.G Metallica fan from yes, way back when they treated us to the first three singles: Whiplash, Jump In The Fire and Seek & Destroy. Back then, Hetfield raged, Hammett wailed, Burton fuzzed out and well, Lars could never Too little, way too late. This should have been the concept after ...And Justice For All. Instead they opted for haircuts and lipstick. Screw this bunch of geeks! I am an O.G Metallica fan from yes, way back when they treated us to the first three singles: Whiplash, Jump In The Fire and Seek & Destroy. Back then, Hetfield raged, Hammett wailed, Burton fuzzed out and well, Lars could never really play but at least he tried goddamnit! This is like the geriatric version of a former Juggernaut, only you feel bad for it cause it's tryin' to get mad at you while shaking it's cane and squinting through bifocals, saliva running down the corners of it's mouth. PATHETIC! I think maybe there's a spot for the band on the American Idol panel, they can offer advice to up & coming metal bands about the perils of hubris. Expand
  89. SCottD
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    This is the best stuff in a really long time. This should have came out after "....And Justice for All". People have wrote them off as sell outs. I am a long time fan from way back in the 80's. I was a harsh critic of St Anger. I am guilty of thinking they were done as a group. I will admit that I am way wrong on this. Death Magnetic is a real powerful. Its a return of the band that This is the best stuff in a really long time. This should have came out after "....And Justice for All". People have wrote them off as sell outs. I am a long time fan from way back in the 80's. I was a harsh critic of St Anger. I am guilty of thinking they were done as a group. I will admit that I am way wrong on this. Death Magnetic is a real powerful. Its a return of the band that for the most part invented speed metal. Sure there were a lot of British bands and some underground stuff but these guys wrote the manifesto of a new way of thinking of music. This is a brilliant step forward for them. Now they return as the gods of metal. Its time for these guys to show all these new generations of bands how to throw out the violence and power and make it work. "All Nightmare long", "Suicide and Redemption" , and "Cyanide" are way cool. Expand
  90. Fred
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    There's just nothing to complain. Death Magnetic is a 100%-Metallica album, and everyone who gives it less than 10 points probably forgets that Metallica is Metallica oder just doesn't like the real, original Metallica sound.
  91. KeithW.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    Thank god, they are Rocking again.
  92. NickR.
    Sep 30, 2008
    8
    Whew that was a rough 17 years. Metallica comes in strong with some heavy beats and some strong vocals from Hetfield and finally...FINALLY, we have good quality recording and songs that aren't singles aren't throw-aways anymore. Not too crazy about Ulrich's inconsistent drumming and there are some unnecessarily long moments in the album, but overall, very enjoyable metal Whew that was a rough 17 years. Metallica comes in strong with some heavy beats and some strong vocals from Hetfield and finally...FINALLY, we have good quality recording and songs that aren't singles aren't throw-aways anymore. Not too crazy about Ulrich's inconsistent drumming and there are some unnecessarily long moments in the album, but overall, very enjoyable metal once again. Expand
  93. MohsenH.
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    It's Wonderful. METALLICA back to Trash in 80. I love death magnetic. it's really remember DEATH.
  94. TimP.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    first off if u want a 80s sound these days from anyone it isnt there so that being said i love this album it is easily as heavy as any they have ever done they have combined speed with hook and agressiveness and oh yeh maturity. rob (trujillo) adds more than u think imagine if they had grabbed him before they did st anger i think they needed his presence and i think that when jason left first off if u want a 80s sound these days from anyone it isnt there so that being said i love this album it is easily as heavy as any they have ever done they have combined speed with hook and agressiveness and oh yeh maturity. rob (trujillo) adds more than u think imagine if they had grabbed him before they did st anger i think they needed his presence and i think that when jason left it proved they werent to big to p*ss eachother off. but on to dm it is a balls to the wall feeling the whole way thru and i like the intro to unforgiven 3 it lets the song take its own shape and doesnt rely on the past 2 to make it a valid song, i have heard the new megadeth as well and i dont like it as much as this because at least metallica isnt desperate enough to put keyboards in every song dave has become too technical for his own good and oh yeh kirk proved to me that he has always had the solo touch. Expand
  95. BerndK.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    A very good album after a very bad st.anger album metallica is back.
  96. JamesD.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing, totally makes up for St. Anger. "All Nightmare Long" is the best song, but I love it all. Tallica is back baby.
  97. CoryM.
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    I enjoyed this album very much. A welcome change back to the old thrash days, with very heavy riffs and great solos. This is what should have been after the Black Album, in my opinion.
  98. JasonP.
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Iv'e been waiting 17 years its about time metallica comes back strong.
  99. MickT.
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    It's alright. Better than Load and so forth. Another band destroyed by overexposure. Metallica eponymous was their swan song. What happened to the winding mystery. To much straight ahead, not enough story. I by chance listened to #9, the suicide instrumental and I hoped the rest would be better. It wasn't. Dumbed down Metallica.
  100. BläP.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    This album is really good! Definately the best since the Black Album! Heavy riffs and lightningspeed solos mixed with the nice shimmery clean sound of James' guitar and his great singing. What more could you ask for!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Sometimes the album's mini-epics come off as we've still got it! stunts. But when it's working, the effect is like ceding your senses to a particularly well-engineered roller coaster in the dark.
  2. The best ones spit in the face of death; this album instead finds aging men trying to reclaim their youth.
  3. The musicianship feels thrillingly live throughout, and nimble new bassist Robert Trujillo helps, even though he's mostly heard as a distant, ominous rumble.