Death Magnetic

Death Magnetic Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 638 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Rick Rubin-produced album for the heavy-metal band is its first to feature Robert Trujillo on bass.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Of special note is the 10-minute instrumental 'Suicide and Redemption': listening to it, you almost forget that there are supposed to be words in rock songs, since it’s filled with building riffs, escalating volleys of tension and release, and moments of frantic drum abandon from Lars Ulrich that should do a lot to redeem his standing in Modern Drummer’s Drummer of the Year polls.
  2. Not only does it banish the memory of "St Anger" but it’s easily their best work in 17 years.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    Producer Rick Rubin has made Metallica sound like Metallica again. [Nov 2008, p.116]
  4. The musicianship feels thrillingly live throughout, and nimble new bassist Robert Trujillo helps, even though he's mostly heard as a distant, ominous rumble.
  5. It's a conservative, preservative move by men who needed to reclaim their ground. But playing by those rules, Metallica wins.
  6. Metallica certainly have a lot to prove with Death Magnetic, the follow-up to 2003’s "St. Anger," an album which divided the critics and the band’s own audience.
  7. The best ones spit in the face of death; this album instead finds aging men trying to reclaim their youth.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 240
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a celebration of 25 years since KILL 'EM ALL--it's original, and every song is worth listening to--over and over and over. Expand
  2. RonL.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Total kick A$$ album, get this disc, it will be the best album easily this year
  3. RodS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Eventhough critics are unfairly comparing it to their earlier works, Death Magnetic stands on its own as a great album... although the post Eventhough critics are unfairly comparing it to their earlier works, Death Magnetic stands on its own as a great album... although the post Black albums were'nt up to expectations, you still have to give the band credit for trying to evolve musically (I'd like to think Death Magnetic is just the first of many albums showcasing that evolution)... Well done! Expand
  4. JeromeV.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    Best album since and justice for all . The band returned to their roots. Pitcchfork critic is a real bullshit about this album. This the one Best album since and justice for all . The band returned to their roots. Pitcchfork critic is a real bullshit about this album. This the one to get after all this years, fuck off if the men are older now. Expand
  5. tennisstallion
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    Metallica back to what they do best. Critics are unfairly weighing their history against them, because this album is a solid 9 out of 10. Not Metallica back to what they do best. Critics are unfairly weighing their history against them, because this album is a solid 9 out of 10. Not perfect by any stretch, but a hell of a metal album! Screw the Napster-loving Lars-haters! Metallica is still the best!!!! Expand
  6. NickR.
    Sep 30, 2008
    8
    Whew that was a rough 17 years. Metallica comes in strong with some heavy beats and some strong vocals from Hetfield and finally...FINALLY, Whew that was a rough 17 years. Metallica comes in strong with some heavy beats and some strong vocals from Hetfield and finally...FINALLY, we have good quality recording and songs that aren't singles aren't throw-aways anymore. Not too crazy about Ulrich's inconsistent drumming and there are some unnecessarily long moments in the album, but overall, very enjoyable metal once again. Expand
  7. EvanK.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    I just don't get Metallica. I gave this album a listen, and it was just terrible. Then I listened again -- worse yet. I need to scrub my I just don't get Metallica. I gave this album a listen, and it was just terrible. Then I listened again -- worse yet. I need to scrub my ear lobes after that trash. Expand

See all 240 User Reviews