Death Magnetic

Death Magnetic Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 635 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Rick Rubin-produced album for the heavy-metal band is its first to feature Robert Trujillo on bass.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Of special note is the 10-minute instrumental 'Suicide and Redemption': listening to it, you almost forget that there are supposed to be words in rock songs, since it’s filled with building riffs, escalating volleys of tension and release, and moments of frantic drum abandon from Lars Ulrich that should do a lot to redeem his standing in Modern Drummer’s Drummer of the Year polls.
  2. Not only does it banish the memory of "St Anger" but it’s easily their best work in 17 years.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    Producer Rick Rubin has made Metallica sound like Metallica again. [Nov 2008, p.116]
  4. The musicianship feels thrillingly live throughout, and nimble new bassist Robert Trujillo helps, even though he's mostly heard as a distant, ominous rumble.
  5. It's a conservative, preservative move by men who needed to reclaim their ground. But playing by those rules, Metallica wins.
  6. Metallica certainly have a lot to prove with Death Magnetic, the follow-up to 2003’s "St. Anger," an album which divided the critics and the band’s own audience.
  7. The best ones spit in the face of death; this album instead finds aging men trying to reclaim their youth.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 239
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a celebration of 25 years since KILL 'EM ALL--it's original, and every song is worth listening to--over and over and over. Expand
  2. Kumar
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Metallica come out swinging on this album. While I have been and will always be a Metallica fan, be it Reload or St. Anger, this album should Metallica come out swinging on this album. While I have been and will always be a Metallica fan, be it Reload or St. Anger, this album should and will make the old school thrasher fans to go rummaging through their wardrobe to find their old Metallica T-shirt so they can wear it again with pride while listening to Death Magnetic on their iPods with a sneer (and a smile) on their faces. Four thumbs way up!! Expand
  3. PatrickS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Death Magnetic rocks SO hard! Anyone who is bashing it is closed minded and to old to know what good music is anymore.
  4. BitBurn
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    Finally they did it! Metallica back to its roots. Here's an album that will shut up a lot of people, mostly those that thought Metallica Finally they did it! Metallica back to its roots. Here's an album that will shut up a lot of people, mostly those that thought Metallica were finished. Try this: This is one of their best album. Expand
  5. RudyS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    I bought St Anger the day it was released here in South Africa, and gave it away 30 minutes after listening it, that was crud. I'm a fan I bought St Anger the day it was released here in South Africa, and gave it away 30 minutes after listening it, that was crud. I'm a fan of Load and Reload, as they have their own hidden gems. Death Magnetic is as everyone says not up there with MoP or Justice...but I think this is the first album Metallica can be proud of in a very long while! Really really really good! Expand
  6. KendoJ
    Jun 6, 2009
    8
    I'm liking it more and more with each play-through. While the sound is hardly original - it's traditional Metallica through and I'm liking it more and more with each play-through. While the sound is hardly original - it's traditional Metallica through and through - It's bursting with an energy and vibrancy that defies the age of these rock stars. Some absolutely incredible guitar and drum work within. Expand
  7. EvanK.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    I just don't get Metallica. I gave this album a listen, and it was just terrible. Then I listened again -- worse yet. I need to scrub my I just don't get Metallica. I gave this album a listen, and it was just terrible. Then I listened again -- worse yet. I need to scrub my ear lobes after that trash. Expand

See all 239 User Reviews