Decas - As I Lay Dying
Decas Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Released on the metal band's 10th anniversary, the album collects covers and remixes, as well as adds three new songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    70
    Decas isn't a great place for new fans to pick up with As I Lay Dying, but for those who have been around the block a few times with these guys, it's an album that they won't want to miss out on.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    The new songs sound similar to those on the the band's last full length release, The Powerless Rise.... The remixes, meanwhile, aren't exactly noteworthy.
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    The result is a treat for diehard fans only and entirely dispensable for anyone else. [12 Nov 2011, p.54]
  4. 60
    Decas is not exactly coherent listening experience. Still, it's a worthy addition to the band's weighty catalog. [Dec 2011, p.118]
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    40
    The last four tracks (which are remixes of old As I Lay Dying songs) on this compilation album are unnecessary, for the electronic and overly-beaty sound of synths and drum machines sound jarring combined with metal-core breakdowns, death growls, and clean singing.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Had a very good visions and hopes for this album, even going to celebrate the ten years of AILD, but I think I went a little the words in the ass. Not a bad album, because great covers of Judas Priest and Slayer and the three new songs manage to save him, but were somewhat disappointing remixes, sound much clutter disk and completely little harm. but is enjoyable in general is a good album to celebrate the tenth anniversary of this epic band. Congratulations. Collapse
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    decent................................................................................................................................................