User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 123
  2. Negative: 19 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasB
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like 'ever and a day', '6 to 8', and especially 'Morningstar' were definite signs that they were gonna change in the future (incorporate more singing, less heavy, more melodic, etc). To say that AFI should have remained a punk band is a selfish and inaccurate statement, the fact that they are at this level now was necessary for their survival. As a matter of fact, there are many open minded AFI fans who have listened to them for nearly a decade and still enjoy them, and embrace their progression. Sing The Sorrow was a massive improvement on many levels, and they faced a huge task when they had finished touring. They spent nearly two years working on their new CD, and in my opinion, it was definitely worth it. I keep enjoying different things about the album every time I hear it. The emotional intensity of Love Like Winter and The Missing Frame truly stand out. When hearing tracks like Prelude 12/21 and 37mm for the first time one will be very confused. But after hearing them many times I have a new appreciation for them. Also, when a song like Kiss and Control might sound over dramatic at first, after several listens you begin to appreciate the song for what it is. The heavier moments of Affliction and Kill Caustic are very refreshing. They add in another stunning closer with Endlessly, She Said. In conclusion, if you sit and listen to this album constantly comparing it to Black Sails in the Sunset, or even Sing The Sorrow, you will dislike it. But new AFI fan or old, if you listen to this album several times with an open mind, you may find it their most progressive, cohesive, and enjoyable work yet. Expand
  2. FoxG
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    One of the bands best records.
  3. EmilyG
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    decemberunderground is thier best album yet. i love evey single song.all thier songs are truely belivable, and they also show much growth musically in the new album. i think thier "different style" should be embraced by all the new and old AFI fans.
  4. GarthR
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    A really great CD from one of the world's greatest bands.
  5. Susan`K
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    AFI is awesome!
  6. AbelD
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    A very good album that shows the evolution of AFI's sound and how they only continue to perfect it since their shift in Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes. Though not as focused and tightly-woven as Sing the Sorrow, it remains just as enjoyable, if not, more so.
  7. SamanthaB
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    this album ROCKS davey havock has a super sexy voice and the whole album is totally original, dude!
  8. MKostya
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I love this album. I'm a sucker for melodies and if I could mix all my favorite genres of music and produce a great album: A.F.I have created it here. Summer Shudder is BURNING cool. And the Missing Frame is CLASSIC. Don't listen to the critics - good or bad. Listen for yourselves a few times...it's going to be the album of the summer!!!!!!!!
  9. JacobG
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    You will not be disappointed. Period.
  10. MattN
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Having absolutely loved Sing the Sorrow, I anticipated AFI's follow-up album, Decemberundeground, to come up short. Man, was I wrong. Dead wrong. Decemberunderground is a very progressive and innovative album, combining epic songs with a melancholy overtones that elicit a raw emotion, making this album better than Sing the Sorrow. Easily the best album of the year, and instantly a Having absolutely loved Sing the Sorrow, I anticipated AFI's follow-up album, Decemberundeground, to come up short. Man, was I wrong. Dead wrong. Decemberunderground is a very progressive and innovative album, combining epic songs with a melancholy overtones that elicit a raw emotion, making this album better than Sing the Sorrow. Easily the best album of the year, and instantly a timeless classic. Expand
  11. borgy
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Shame really, that this album is getting negative reviews from their old school "fans". Obviously AFI probably knew that was going to happen, cause let's face it, "Punk" is a genre that attracts the most closed minded music fans to grace planet earth - I've noticed any band that is "punk" and dares to change their sound later on gets slammed for it but it doesnt mean it's Shame really, that this album is getting negative reviews from their old school "fans". Obviously AFI probably knew that was going to happen, cause let's face it, "Punk" is a genre that attracts the most closed minded music fans to grace planet earth - I've noticed any band that is "punk" and dares to change their sound later on gets slammed for it but it doesnt mean it's bad music. I got into AFI with their 2003 album "Sing the Sorrow" so i'm not an old school fan, but since then i have heard all their albums and yes i like them, but their work from "Black Sails In The Sunset" to now has to be their most intresting and varied, their first couple of albums are just so "samey" sounding to me - Jade brought a lot to the band. This album i think is a great progression from "Sing The Sorrow", It's a dark album and contains electronica and real instruments and it's a nice varied mix i think, Davey once known for his distinctive screaming can now been known for his original sounding vocal work as well (never heard a singer who sounds like him to be honest). Fantastic album i can listen to it all the way through. Whether or not you like this album is probably based on what style of music you are into... if you prefer their punk stuff, then stay away you should know by now you'll probably be disappointed. And in closing, some great tracks if you wanna check out the album: Love Like Winter, Miss Murder (probably already heard it), Endlessly, She Said, The Missing Frame, The Killing Lights, 37mm, Kill Caustic (next single apperantly). Expand
  12. JoseA
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Great from beginning to end, My Favorite Album so far this year.
  13. Vulpinef.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Personally, I think that if you want to listen to crap music, you should listen to 90's music. Everyone who gives AFI a low score says that they repeat themselves, most of the bands of the 90's are the WORST repeat offenders. they remade almost every song from the 70's and 80's! (not including AFI) I think that they are a welcome change from all of the music that puts Personally, I think that if you want to listen to crap music, you should listen to 90's music. Everyone who gives AFI a low score says that they repeat themselves, most of the bands of the 90's are the WORST repeat offenders. they remade almost every song from the 70's and 80's! (not including AFI) I think that they are a welcome change from all of the music that puts me to sleep! At least these guys are talented! And if you still hate them, they can do without you because they are developing a NEW fanbase. and to bilbo baggins, i bet that you aren't even 30 yet, and you're telling Davey to grow up?! Expand
  14. Angela
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is a really good album and obviously millions of people like it because they have it... and the reason that this site exists! It really shits me how people think their opinions are the only opinions in the world. If you think the band is shit, then why dont go to go one of your favourite bands pages and write about how much you love that band. You get off on thinking that your older This is a really good album and obviously millions of people like it because they have it... and the reason that this site exists! It really shits me how people think their opinions are the only opinions in the world. If you think the band is shit, then why dont go to go one of your favourite bands pages and write about how much you love that band. You get off on thinking that your older and wiser and "know what good music is" so you can rip into other bands ...go do something productive with your lives. I give this cd a 10. I've been listening to it almost every day in my car and its really grown on me. Expand
  15. PhilippO
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Melodical, sad but powerfull. The way they indicated with Sing the sorrow, is here the main part. So is AFI another Emo-Band ? Not at all , they still proof how to rock and still know how to play hard songs (Kill caustic). But it is true that they almost completely abandoned their roots, Hardcore Punk. If thats a negative aspect for you, than be it, i see it as a developement of their Melodical, sad but powerfull. The way they indicated with Sing the sorrow, is here the main part. So is AFI another Emo-Band ? Not at all , they still proof how to rock and still know how to play hard songs (Kill caustic). But it is true that they almost completely abandoned their roots, Hardcore Punk. If thats a negative aspect for you, than be it, i see it as a developement of their music and feelings. Expand
  16. GaryM.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    Amazing album! Amazing, because I am truly amazed that I love this album. I had never heard of the band before, but this album has made me a fan. Songs like Miss Murder, The Interview, 37mm, The Killing Light, etc. are really good songs. Hopefully, AFIs next album is as good or even better than this album.
  17. JJT
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Everyone who says crap about this album, just shut up!!!!! In case you didn't Know, it got #1 on the U.S.A billboard chart for 2 weeks straight. If you think this is "emo" then u have no taste in music at all. AFI is my favorite band, and they are really amazing. Everything they write about is just awesome. Davey Havok does not literally want to take his life, it's just a song. Everyone who says crap about this album, just shut up!!!!! In case you didn't Know, it got #1 on the U.S.A billboard chart for 2 weeks straight. If you think this is "emo" then u have no taste in music at all. AFI is my favorite band, and they are really amazing. Everything they write about is just awesome. Davey Havok does not literally want to take his life, it's just a song. The black bunnies are just for the video to represent an omen. And don't tell people if they like AFI, thet they need to get out more because I like a lot of other bands, but AFI is my favorite.They will not fade into obscurity either. They have the most loyal fans(literally), and you are just completely stereo-typing!!! Oh, and if they're the worst band you've heard, then YOU need to get out more.He's only 31 too, and for your info, that washis grandmom's b- day, I asked him at the last despair faction meeting!!!Weezer sux, and don't tell people not to listen to AFI because they rock and you don't control anybody. It's also not a girly voice. That's what you call good singing, and I'm sure you have no room to talk becaue you probably suk at singing. Again, "emo" isn't even a freakin word so don't be so lazy to spell out the whole word next time, and if you want "emo" then keep listening to your other crappy music. Oh, and they aren't pop at all. They also won a moon man for best ROCK video. Expand
  18. jerimiahc
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    any body who hates this cd can suk my balls
  19. BenW.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    December Underground shows the world that these guys are talented individuals who are open to experiment and experience different production styles.
  20. Elsa
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    AFI are a good band, I love them and this album is super great
  21. Emmanuel
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    AN AMAZING ALBUM!! A masterpiece by AFI.
  22. travism
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    fuck all the critics..afi and decemberunderground are amazing
  23. ValeryK
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    This album is great, though they changed a lot their style, and i'm dissapointed cause i realy love their old style, but this cd is also great, just listen it a few times, and you'll love it! believe me, i'm an AFI fun since forever, they changed, but they still being great!
  24. shellye
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    I have waited soooo long for a new album to come out and I am anything but let down but I must admit that they have become less 'edgy'. I'm sure the fans that have discovered AFI through Sing the Sorrow enjoy a lot. But for us 'older' fans, it is a change from Black Sails or even Art of Drowning...although it is a different style, I still enjoy it a lot. :D
  25. higinn
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    not as good as sorrow but still worth a 10...it is amazing!
  26. MaxH
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Im a kid and this is as good as all of Afi's cds melodic punk hardcore and goth(mostley hardcore punk though) This is not a total waste of money. Its a best buy. As great as "Say that and stay fasionable" and "sing the sorrow" and "black sails in the sunset" like "sing the sorrow" it has another great chant begining the cd. one word: WONDERFUL!
  27. CoreyS
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    AFI put 2 years into this record, and it shows. Decemberunderground can certainly be considered AFI best sounding record to date.
  28. Michael
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    This record is fantastic! - Starts with the great chant again. - I can hear some Cure in there and ole U2. - I predict this album to become a CLASSIC. - It's just an amazing blend of styles. And Davey Havok, and the rest of the band are on FIRE here! - Everyone enjoy this masterful disk of 2006. I agree with Kostya probably the album of the summer for me!
  29. LeslieR
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    I love AFI and i love Davey and Jade
  30. HL
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    Good JOB AFI
  31. ShawnM
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    After first listening, great. After second, even better. AFI has grown in amazing ways and I'm really excited that I'm seeing them in two weeks. Best album for them yet by far. Everything good about Sing the Sorrow times ten.
  32. MitchellM
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    The album is AFI's best that uses knowledge and talent. If you are looking for something that sounds like AFI, you'll be disappointed, just like you would be if you looked for anything AFI's made to sound like AFI. They are a changing band. The guitar and bass on this album are extremely well done. The drums are good, not as good as they were on BSITS or TAOD though, on par The album is AFI's best that uses knowledge and talent. If you are looking for something that sounds like AFI, you'll be disappointed, just like you would be if you looked for anything AFI's made to sound like AFI. They are a changing band. The guitar and bass on this album are extremely well done. The drums are good, not as good as they were on BSITS or TAOD though, on par with STS. Go in with an open mind and don't get wrapped up in what people say about it, there are always bad opinions about AFI albums when they first come out because the supposed fans aren't used to the music... whatever. AFI has everything you could want on the album, some of their roughest, hardest songs like Kill Caustic, Summer Shudder, Affliction, Kiss and Control, and Endlessly, She Said. And still has some of AFI's most dramatic songs like Prelude 12/21, The Interview, The Killing Lights, and 37mm. It mixes electronica, hard rock, and hardcore into one package along with great quality. This album is anything but generic because AFI uses those techniques and mixes them in ways you only have to imagine. Get this CD. Don't expect STS, pt. II like many on here seem to think AFI'll do. DU is an epic album that needs many listens to be understood... and I got that from the IGN review which you also should read for further explanation. Go. Expand
  33. jimjim
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    mmhmmm
  34. vincec
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    this band is amazing if you only heard this albums your missing much more from the older albums this band is effin amazing and so is Davey Havocs voice
  35. nVidiaGeForce
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    This is definately a mixed bag, you get everything here, in AFI's latest expirament, what dumbass said they stole form MCR, FOB, and the killers?! You could not be more worng. Musicaly speaking this is 10e10 times more advanced than those typical pop-emo cork soakers.
  36. petem
    Sep 10, 2006
    9
    sweet cd
  37. SaphiraM
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    I'll admit that Decemberunderground is pretty pussy. But that's only because its got the oldddd punk hardocre stuff to compete with! AFI EAST BAY HARDCORE FOREVER But apart from that, Decemberunderground is one of the best fucking albums they have made. Sadly though, everyone knows about them now from this album, and i HATE all those fucking teenies. True AFI fans, like myself I'll admit that Decemberunderground is pretty pussy. But that's only because its got the oldddd punk hardocre stuff to compete with! AFI EAST BAY HARDCORE FOREVER But apart from that, Decemberunderground is one of the best fucking albums they have made. Sadly though, everyone knows about them now from this album, and i HATE all those fucking teenies. True AFI fans, like myself xD, could kill all those little pussy's who make out they're the biggest AFI fans ever, when they only found out about them from Miss Murder. That realllllllly pisses me off.. AFI are the best fucking band there is. Remember that :) xxx Expand
  38. mattv.
    May 19, 2007
    9
    Its funny how Entertainment Weekly gave "Sing The Sorry" a 25 and this and 80......shows how much they know theie music...
  39. smithsgirl
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    This is a great album. I like decent music because it is, err, decent. I don't care whether music is punk, thrash, emo, hardcore, electronica, or whatever, and find discussions of music genres in relation to the merit of the album as a whole pointless and boring. There are some standout tracks: Miss Murder, Summer Shudder, Love Like Winter, and Killing Lights. Interestingly, the best This is a great album. I like decent music because it is, err, decent. I don't care whether music is punk, thrash, emo, hardcore, electronica, or whatever, and find discussions of music genres in relation to the merit of the album as a whole pointless and boring. There are some standout tracks: Miss Murder, Summer Shudder, Love Like Winter, and Killing Lights. Interestingly, the best track is probably Rabbits Are Roadkill On Rt 37, a bonus track on the UK version. Sublime! Check out this album, guys! Expand
  40. NateP
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    forget emo. forget punk. forget genres. stop being close minded. I'm not the same person i was in high school and i'm glad afi isn't either. this almbum was done very well.
  41. J.Lo
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    I love the AFI.
  42. amber?????
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    i like the ck and afi is one of my faves. the cd is not their best one but i have to say i like it alot. its differnt from what they usually do but its still good. oh and on what drew b said afi has been around for years so i don't think they will be faiding anytime soon and they are not cashin in on anything
  43. GraceS
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    i Love the new cdit rok itz soooo Awesum!!!!!!!
  44. PhilH
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    Wow. It's sad when a band as amazing as AFI is being abandoned by their 'fans' because they've decided to change their musical orientation. And all because of the newest fad: hating emo. What is emo? Emo is emotional music. It isn't suicidal music. It isn't depressing music. It isn't whiney in any way. It's simply emotional. It speaks to you, and is Wow. It's sad when a band as amazing as AFI is being abandoned by their 'fans' because they've decided to change their musical orientation. And all because of the newest fad: hating emo. What is emo? Emo is emotional music. It isn't suicidal music. It isn't depressing music. It isn't whiney in any way. It's simply emotional. It speaks to you, and is supposed to invite you to relate, understand, and enjoy. This is by far AFI's most lyrically and musically advanced album to date, and it's the most poetic one, too. I am a newer fan of them, but I adore all the material from the "A Fire Inside EP" and listen to it frequently, and frankly, those claiming they've become emo obviously haven't looked at the lyrics from previous albums. From "Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes" on, AFI has lyrically been what they are now. All that's changed is the musical style. And honestly, I'm very grateful for it. Expand
  45. JohnS
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Wow, this album is the best of 2006.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. With a comeback pitched between the indulgent love-metal of HiM and the pubescent pop-punk of Fall Out Boy, AFI's hiatus looks increasingly less like laziness and more like a marketing masterstroke.
  3. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.