User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 135

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasB
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like 'ever and a day', '6 to 8', and especially 'Morningstar' were definite signs that they were gonna change in the future (incorporate more singing, less heavy, more melodic, etc). To say that AFI should have remained a punk band is a selfish and inaccurate statement, the fact that they are at this level now was necessary for their survival. As a matter of fact, there are many open minded AFI fans who have listened to them for nearly a decade and still enjoy them, and embrace their progression. Sing The Sorrow was a massive improvement on many levels, and they faced a huge task when they had finished touring. They spent nearly two years working on their new CD, and in my opinion, it was definitely worth it. I keep enjoying different things about the album every time I hear it. The emotional intensity of Love Like Winter and The Missing Frame truly stand out. When hearing tracks like Prelude 12/21 and 37mm for the first time one will be very confused. But after hearing them many times I have a new appreciation for them. Also, when a song like Kiss and Control might sound over dramatic at first, after several listens you begin to appreciate the song for what it is. The heavier moments of Affliction and Kill Caustic are very refreshing. They add in another stunning closer with Endlessly, She Said. In conclusion, if you sit and listen to this album constantly comparing it to Black Sails in the Sunset, or even Sing The Sorrow, you will dislike it. But new AFI fan or old, if you listen to this album several times with an open mind, you may find it their most progressive, cohesive, and enjoyable work yet. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Even if Decemberunderground betrays its genre a little bit, it's undeniably catchy. "Miss Murder" is the album's lead single, as well as its golden. "Love Like Winter" relies solely on technical elements rather than organic rock. Is Decemberunderground a concept album? Not at all. But is it the slightest bit unique? Well, yeah.
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Decemberunderground manages to balance a fine line between gaining new fans with the band's new polished production and satisfying older fans with its traditionally dark and deep melodies and lyrical content. The tracks can appeal to a mainstream audience without stripping away the rawness of the depth. "Miss Murder" is perfect emo pop rock that retains their traditional punk sound, whileDecemberunderground manages to balance a fine line between gaining new fans with the band's new polished production and satisfying older fans with its traditionally dark and deep melodies and lyrical content. The tracks can appeal to a mainstream audience without stripping away the rawness of the depth. "Miss Murder" is perfect emo pop rock that retains their traditional punk sound, while tracks such as "Love Like Winter" and "Endlessly, She Said" are more experimental and tend to drift away from the band's originality, but still sound just as sweet. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    One of AFI's weakest albums musicality wise, but remains very unique and superb lyrically.
    Adds alot of electronic sounds which is not seen in much of AFI's music (which later started Blaqk Audio for members Davey and Jade a little after this album)

    Don't get how AFI is mediocre though when I'm sure 98% of the trolls on here listen to Nickleback, Foo Fighters, or any of THOSE mediocre bands.
  5. AnnaH.
    Jun 20, 2006
    0
    Woops my sis used my name, I personally agree with the other reviewer guy blake w. AFI does have no talent and they are only continuing the rapid down spiral of music. I'm a girl and I couldn't even sing that High. So basically don't listen to them. Try good bands like Weezer who know how to play music
  6. jonj
    Jun 9, 2006
    1
    I love AFI, but not this album. If I ever need something to listen to while I cut my wrists....I'll put this on. Otherwise, back of my CD case where it can be forgotten. *** I wish my lawn was emo....That way it would cut itself.
  7. GordonA
    Jul 1, 2006
    0
    AFI is the worts band I've ever heard, this crap CD is no exception.
  8. BilboBaggins
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    The Rabbits are Roadkill song is a track from the STS sessions. That's always a bad sign, when you go sifting through leftovers. This album is simply AFI riding the wave of current screamo,emo, corporation rock. I think they realised that they were getting on in their years, so it was a good time to think about making some cash for retirement. I can accept change in bands, and I The Rabbits are Roadkill song is a track from the STS sessions. That's always a bad sign, when you go sifting through leftovers. This album is simply AFI riding the wave of current screamo,emo, corporation rock. I think they realised that they were getting on in their years, so it was a good time to think about making some cash for retirement. I can accept change in bands, and I definetely did with the past three albums, but in the end: Miss Murder is an absolutely mediocre single and December Underground is an absolutely forgettable album. Oh, and also, releasing an album on 06 06 06? How teenage. Grow up already Davey, you're in your 30's. Expand
  9. DanS
    Jun 6, 2006
    5
    What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may gather the interest of the younger generation with thier current style, but they just lost my mine. I can always sell the CD, but the tatoo from back when they rocked my world is a little harder to get rid of? Expand
  10. DaveA
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    No, no, no, no, no. They have a song with a rap beat in it, ENOUGH SAID!
  11. MattW
    Jun 9, 2006
    4
    I agree with Dan S, I grew up listening to AFI and now I feel like they have just totally made a pile of crap. Artists have to evolve but do they have to evolve into already been chewed pieces of music? sad AFI sad.
  12. DaveJ
    Jun 9, 2006
    4
    If you're an AFI fan, you will hate it. If you are a fan of the countless other "emo" bands out there, you will love it. Myself, I am (was) an AFI fan. This is a complete and utter sellout. They certainly won't Miss Murder-ing their career, because it is probably dead after this release.
  13. markx
    Jun 23, 2006
    3
    This, children, is what we call "plagiarism." Utter tripe.
  14. AlanR
    Jul 1, 2006
    0
    So EMO it hurts.
  15. pgg
    Sep 22, 2006
    0
    so bad that i popped it out after only a few songs. if you want a better album with more texture and better music that rocks, check out Snowden's new album. afi has nothing to say and it reminds me of night ranger from the 80's... they sucked then.
  16. rr
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    gayest thing i've ever heard. you people that liked it need to get out more. there is way better music than this almost everywhere. somebody that gave this re-hash of bad 80's pop/rock a 9 or a 10 couldn't be real fans of any music or they are locked away and they are comparing it to.... christian rock?
  17. martins
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    millie vanillie is better than this junk. melody is the only thing they have going for them but so do a million bands out there right now. go find a better one that writes real music and you won't be embarassed in 2 years for owning this and having somebody see it at your house. go buy the new phoenix record and at least enjoy for more than 1 listen.
  18. mikeh
    Dec 30, 2006
    4
    Mediocre album from a mediocre band. not as bad as some are suggesting, but this isn't the sound of a band pushing artistic boundaries or writing interesting and creative songs. There are plenty of other bands out there putting out killer albums that are far more worthy of attention. Kill caustic is a good guilty pleasure though.
  19. JonH
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    In my waiting for this to come out i found myself listening to all of my AFI albums constantly. Which turned out to be a bad move since it reminded me of how amazing they used to be. This new CD has very few songs i enjoy and the rest are lackluster at best. No where near the calibur of their humble eight minute or so All Hallows E.P....makes me wonder what the long wait was for
  20. FoxG
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    One of the bands best records.
  21. EmilyG
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    decemberunderground is thier best album yet. i love evey single song.all thier songs are truely belivable, and they also show much growth musically in the new album. i think thier "different style" should be embraced by all the new and old AFI fans.
  22. GarthR
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    A really great CD from one of the world's greatest bands.
  23. TomC
    Jun 9, 2006
    6
    Remember when AFI was edgy?? Like say... on their previous album? Most of this album sounds like the depressed Killers. I think the kids these days call it "jumping the shark"
  24. Susan`K
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    AFI is awesome!
  25. AbelD
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    A very good album that shows the evolution of AFI's sound and how they only continue to perfect it since their shift in Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes. Though not as focused and tightly-woven as Sing the Sorrow, it remains just as enjoyable, if not, more so.
  26. SamanthaB
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    this album ROCKS davey havock has a super sexy voice and the whole album is totally original, dude!
  27. MKostya
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I love this album. I'm a sucker for melodies and if I could mix all my favorite genres of music and produce a great album: A.F.I have created it here. Summer Shudder is BURNING cool. And the Missing Frame is CLASSIC. Don't listen to the critics - good or bad. Listen for yourselves a few times...it's going to be the album of the summer!!!!!!!!
  28. JacobG
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    You will not be disappointed. Period.
  29. ericm
    Jun 6, 2006
    6
    I didn't like it at first. I had to keep telling myself that it's still AFI. If this was any other band but AFI and their heaviest hitting song was Miss Murder, I would've stopped right there. I bought it, disliked it, and made myself listen to it about 6 times before adjusting to their new sound. After that, I can say that it's a decent album and offers up something I didn't like it at first. I had to keep telling myself that it's still AFI. If this was any other band but AFI and their heaviest hitting song was Miss Murder, I would've stopped right there. I bought it, disliked it, and made myself listen to it about 6 times before adjusting to their new sound. After that, I can say that it's a decent album and offers up something new. I hate Emo....but its AFI!!!...so I won't discredit them too much. Can't wait till their next album, hopefully they step it back up a notch. Expand
  30. LizG
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    AFI - I'm totally biased when rating you, as you are my favorite band in the universe. But as an honest to god reviewer, I'm not going to give you a grade of excellence on th is album. "Decemberunderground" is a good album, but not for AFI. If any other band had put out this album, it would be great. But after their last three albums (which were absolute genius), this does not AFI - I'm totally biased when rating you, as you are my favorite band in the universe. But as an honest to god reviewer, I'm not going to give you a grade of excellence on th is album. "Decemberunderground" is a good album, but not for AFI. If any other band had put out this album, it would be great. But after their last three albums (which were absolute genius), this does not live up to expectations. They, especially Davey Havok, attempted to draw influences from far too many different places. I could probably name two or three of the hardcore bands Davey was listening to while writing/recording this album. The influence from The Cure is just too much and it's way too obvious, and I adore The Cure. This album lacks the condusive, "whole" feeling of past AFI albums. It sounds more like they wrote and recorded dozens of songs over a span of three years and then chose the ones they liked the best. Oh wait, that's exactly what they did, by their own testimony. The part about "Decemberunderground" that disappointed me the most (aside from the god awful album art and stupid title) was the position of drummer Adam Carson on this album. It's like, "Hello? Adam? Are you there?" Where he made a bold, impressive stand on every other AFI album, he just faded into this background here. Instead of being the well heard, talented drummer he's spent more than 10 years showing himself to be, he played the role of all other contemporary drummers - he kept the beat. It was saddening to say the least. I do, in the end, like "Decemberunderground" though. It certainly hasn't made me weep as I set all of my AFI t-shirts and past albums ablaze in a trashcan. But if I was going to say to someone who'd never heard AFI, "This is my favorite band, give them a listen," this would not be the album I would hand them as the prime example of AFI in all its glory. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. With a comeback pitched between the indulgent love-metal of HiM and the pubescent pop-punk of Fall Out Boy, AFI's hiatus looks increasingly less like laziness and more like a marketing masterstroke.
  3. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.