Decemberunderground

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 132
  2. Negative: 19 out of 132

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomC
    Jun 9, 2006
    6
    Remember when AFI was edgy?? Like say... on their previous album? Most of this album sounds like the depressed Killers. I think the kids these days call it "jumping the shark"
  2. ericm
    Jun 6, 2006
    6
    I didn't like it at first. I had to keep telling myself that it's still AFI. If this was any other band but AFI and their heaviest hitting song was Miss Murder, I would've stopped right there. I bought it, disliked it, and made myself listen to it about 6 times before adjusting to their new sound. After that, I can say that it's a decent album and offers up something I didn't like it at first. I had to keep telling myself that it's still AFI. If this was any other band but AFI and their heaviest hitting song was Miss Murder, I would've stopped right there. I bought it, disliked it, and made myself listen to it about 6 times before adjusting to their new sound. After that, I can say that it's a decent album and offers up something new. I hate Emo....but its AFI!!!...so I won't discredit them too much. Can't wait till their next album, hopefully they step it back up a notch. Expand
  3. KristinaI
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    AFI should have just put a big sticker on the front of the cd to warn their fans that they are giving up and going for what will make them cash-- the teenies will love this album. I never expected AFI to become mainstream pop trash, but I guess anything can happen. I miss the days of Black Sails in the Sunset.
  4. AndrewW
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    So now AFI has given up entire on being The Misfits and are now trying to be The Cure? At least Kill Caustic is a pretty awesome track.
  5. DanS
    Jun 6, 2006
    5
    What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may gather the interest of the younger generation with thier current style, but they just lost my mine. I can always sell the CD, but the tatoo from back when they rocked my world is a little harder to get rid of? Expand
  6. JohnW
    Jun 20, 2006
    5
    It's like they are deliberatly trying to sound like their recent copycats. My advice is to stay away from the post grudge sound and move in the direction you were heading with Sorrow. Bring back the solos, speed, and sadness.
  7. MattW
    Jun 9, 2006
    4
    I agree with Dan S, I grew up listening to AFI and now I feel like they have just totally made a pile of crap. Artists have to evolve but do they have to evolve into already been chewed pieces of music? sad AFI sad.
  8. DaveJ
    Jun 9, 2006
    4
    If you're an AFI fan, you will hate it. If you are a fan of the countless other "emo" bands out there, you will love it. Myself, I am (was) an AFI fan. This is a complete and utter sellout. They certainly won't Miss Murder-ing their career, because it is probably dead after this release.
  9. JulianH
    Jun 11, 2006
    4
    I found the new album too different from their last three albums. Change is neccesary but their style has changed to much to keep the old fan base! The solid fan base from the past decade will no longer exist if this is the new style of AFI. Maybe they want to become famous millionaires???? Most of their new stuff is more main stream and would NOT make most radio stations cringe at the I found the new album too different from their last three albums. Change is neccesary but their style has changed to much to keep the old fan base! The solid fan base from the past decade will no longer exist if this is the new style of AFI. Maybe they want to become famous millionaires???? Most of their new stuff is more main stream and would NOT make most radio stations cringe at the thought of playing it. Expand
  10. mikeh
    Dec 30, 2006
    4
    Mediocre album from a mediocre band. not as bad as some are suggesting, but this isn't the sound of a band pushing artistic boundaries or writing interesting and creative songs. There are plenty of other bands out there putting out killer albums that are far more worthy of attention. Kill caustic is a good guilty pleasure though.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. With a comeback pitched between the indulgent love-metal of HiM and the pubescent pop-punk of Fall Out Boy, AFI's hiatus looks increasingly less like laziness and more like a marketing masterstroke.
  3. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.