Decemberunderground

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 129
  2. Negative: 19 out of 129

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasB
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like 'ever and a day', '6 to 8', and especially 'Morningstar' were definite signs that they were gonna change in the future (incorporate more singing, less heavy, more melodic, etc). To say that AFI should have remained a punk band is a selfish and inaccurate statement, the fact that they are at this level now was necessary for their survival. As a matter of fact, there are many open minded AFI fans who have listened to them for nearly a decade and still enjoy them, and embrace their progression. Sing The Sorrow was a massive improvement on many levels, and they faced a huge task when they had finished touring. They spent nearly two years working on their new CD, and in my opinion, it was definitely worth it. I keep enjoying different things about the album every time I hear it. The emotional intensity of Love Like Winter and The Missing Frame truly stand out. When hearing tracks like Prelude 12/21 and 37mm for the first time one will be very confused. But after hearing them many times I have a new appreciation for them. Also, when a song like Kiss and Control might sound over dramatic at first, after several listens you begin to appreciate the song for what it is. The heavier moments of Affliction and Kill Caustic are very refreshing. They add in another stunning closer with Endlessly, She Said. In conclusion, if you sit and listen to this album constantly comparing it to Black Sails in the Sunset, or even Sing The Sorrow, you will dislike it. But new AFI fan or old, if you listen to this album several times with an open mind, you may find it their most progressive, cohesive, and enjoyable work yet. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Even if Decemberunderground betrays its genre a little bit, it's undeniably catchy. "Miss Murder" is the album's lead single, as well as its golden. "Love Like Winter" relies solely on technical elements rather than organic rock. Is Decemberunderground a concept album? Not at all. But is it the slightest bit unique? Well, yeah.
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Decemberunderground manages to balance a fine line between gaining new fans with the band's new polished production and satisfying older fans with its traditionally dark and deep melodies and lyrical content. The tracks can appeal to a mainstream audience without stripping away the rawness of the depth. "Miss Murder" is perfect emo pop rock that retains their traditional punk sound, whileDecemberunderground manages to balance a fine line between gaining new fans with the band's new polished production and satisfying older fans with its traditionally dark and deep melodies and lyrical content. The tracks can appeal to a mainstream audience without stripping away the rawness of the depth. "Miss Murder" is perfect emo pop rock that retains their traditional punk sound, while tracks such as "Love Like Winter" and "Endlessly, She Said" are more experimental and tend to drift away from the band's originality, but still sound just as sweet. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    One of AFI's weakest albums musicality wise, but remains very unique and superb lyrically.
    Adds alot of electronic sounds which is not seen in much of AFI's music (which later started Blaqk Audio for members Davey and Jade a little after this album)

    Don't get how AFI is mediocre though when I'm sure 98% of the trolls on here listen to Nickleback, Foo Fighters, or any of THOSE mediocre bands.
  5. AnnaH.
    Jun 20, 2006
    0
    Woops my sis used my name, I personally agree with the other reviewer guy blake w. AFI does have no talent and they are only continuing the rapid down spiral of music. I'm a girl and I couldn't even sing that High. So basically don't listen to them. Try good bands like Weezer who know how to play music
  6. jonj
    Jun 9, 2006
    1
    I love AFI, but not this album. If I ever need something to listen to while I cut my wrists....I'll put this on. Otherwise, back of my CD case where it can be forgotten. *** I wish my lawn was emo....That way it would cut itself.
  7. GordonA
    Jul 1, 2006
    0
    AFI is the worts band I've ever heard, this crap CD is no exception.
  8. BilboBaggins
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    The Rabbits are Roadkill song is a track from the STS sessions. That's always a bad sign, when you go sifting through leftovers. This album is simply AFI riding the wave of current screamo,emo, corporation rock. I think they realised that they were getting on in their years, so it was a good time to think about making some cash for retirement. I can accept change in bands, and I The Rabbits are Roadkill song is a track from the STS sessions. That's always a bad sign, when you go sifting through leftovers. This album is simply AFI riding the wave of current screamo,emo, corporation rock. I think they realised that they were getting on in their years, so it was a good time to think about making some cash for retirement. I can accept change in bands, and I definetely did with the past three albums, but in the end: Miss Murder is an absolutely mediocre single and December Underground is an absolutely forgettable album. Oh, and also, releasing an album on 06 06 06? How teenage. Grow up already Davey, you're in your 30's. Expand
  9. DanS
    Jun 6, 2006
    5
    What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may gather the interest of the younger generation with thier current style, but they just lost my mine. I can always sell the CD, but the tatoo from back when they rocked my world is a little harder to get rid of? Expand
  10. DaveA
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    No, no, no, no, no. They have a song with a rap beat in it, ENOUGH SAID!
  11. MattW
    Jun 9, 2006
    4
    I agree with Dan S, I grew up listening to AFI and now I feel like they have just totally made a pile of crap. Artists have to evolve but do they have to evolve into already been chewed pieces of music? sad AFI sad.
  12. DaveJ
    Jun 9, 2006
    4
    If you're an AFI fan, you will hate it. If you are a fan of the countless other "emo" bands out there, you will love it. Myself, I am (was) an AFI fan. This is a complete and utter sellout. They certainly won't Miss Murder-ing their career, because it is probably dead after this release.
  13. markx
    Jun 23, 2006
    3
    This, children, is what we call "plagiarism." Utter tripe.
  14. AlanR
    Jul 1, 2006
    0
    So EMO it hurts.
  15. pgg
    Sep 22, 2006
    0
    so bad that i popped it out after only a few songs. if you want a better album with more texture and better music that rocks, check out Snowden's new album. afi has nothing to say and it reminds me of night ranger from the 80's... they sucked then.
  16. rr
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    gayest thing i've ever heard. you people that liked it need to get out more. there is way better music than this almost everywhere. somebody that gave this re-hash of bad 80's pop/rock a 9 or a 10 couldn't be real fans of any music or they are locked away and they are comparing it to.... christian rock?
  17. martins
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    millie vanillie is better than this junk. melody is the only thing they have going for them but so do a million bands out there right now. go find a better one that writes real music and you won't be embarassed in 2 years for owning this and having somebody see it at your house. go buy the new phoenix record and at least enjoy for more than 1 listen.
  18. mikeh
    Dec 30, 2006
    4
    Mediocre album from a mediocre band. not as bad as some are suggesting, but this isn't the sound of a band pushing artistic boundaries or writing interesting and creative songs. There are plenty of other bands out there putting out killer albums that are far more worthy of attention. Kill caustic is a good guilty pleasure though.
  19. JonH
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    In my waiting for this to come out i found myself listening to all of my AFI albums constantly. Which turned out to be a bad move since it reminded me of how amazing they used to be. This new CD has very few songs i enjoy and the rest are lackluster at best. No where near the calibur of their humble eight minute or so All Hallows E.P....makes me wonder what the long wait was for
  20. FoxG
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    One of the bands best records.
  21. EmilyG
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    decemberunderground is thier best album yet. i love evey single song.all thier songs are truely belivable, and they also show much growth musically in the new album. i think thier "different style" should be embraced by all the new and old AFI fans.
  22. GarthR
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    A really great CD from one of the world's greatest bands.
  23. TomC
    Jun 9, 2006
    6
    Remember when AFI was edgy?? Like say... on their previous album? Most of this album sounds like the depressed Killers. I think the kids these days call it "jumping the shark"
  24. Susan`K
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    AFI is awesome!
  25. AbelD
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    A very good album that shows the evolution of AFI's sound and how they only continue to perfect it since their shift in Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes. Though not as focused and tightly-woven as Sing the Sorrow, it remains just as enjoyable, if not, more so.
  26. SamanthaB
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    this album ROCKS davey havock has a super sexy voice and the whole album is totally original, dude!
  27. MKostya
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I love this album. I'm a sucker for melodies and if I could mix all my favorite genres of music and produce a great album: A.F.I have created it here. Summer Shudder is BURNING cool. And the Missing Frame is CLASSIC. Don't listen to the critics - good or bad. Listen for yourselves a few times...it's going to be the album of the summer!!!!!!!!
  28. JacobG
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    You will not be disappointed. Period.
  29. ericm
    Jun 6, 2006
    6
    I didn't like it at first. I had to keep telling myself that it's still AFI. If this was any other band but AFI and their heaviest hitting song was Miss Murder, I would've stopped right there. I bought it, disliked it, and made myself listen to it about 6 times before adjusting to their new sound. After that, I can say that it's a decent album and offers up something I didn't like it at first. I had to keep telling myself that it's still AFI. If this was any other band but AFI and their heaviest hitting song was Miss Murder, I would've stopped right there. I bought it, disliked it, and made myself listen to it about 6 times before adjusting to their new sound. After that, I can say that it's a decent album and offers up something new. I hate Emo....but its AFI!!!...so I won't discredit them too much. Can't wait till their next album, hopefully they step it back up a notch. Expand
  30. LizG
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    AFI - I'm totally biased when rating you, as you are my favorite band in the universe. But as an honest to god reviewer, I'm not going to give you a grade of excellence on th is album. "Decemberunderground" is a good album, but not for AFI. If any other band had put out this album, it would be great. But after their last three albums (which were absolute genius), this does not AFI - I'm totally biased when rating you, as you are my favorite band in the universe. But as an honest to god reviewer, I'm not going to give you a grade of excellence on th is album. "Decemberunderground" is a good album, but not for AFI. If any other band had put out this album, it would be great. But after their last three albums (which were absolute genius), this does not live up to expectations. They, especially Davey Havok, attempted to draw influences from far too many different places. I could probably name two or three of the hardcore bands Davey was listening to while writing/recording this album. The influence from The Cure is just too much and it's way too obvious, and I adore The Cure. This album lacks the condusive, "whole" feeling of past AFI albums. It sounds more like they wrote and recorded dozens of songs over a span of three years and then chose the ones they liked the best. Oh wait, that's exactly what they did, by their own testimony. The part about "Decemberunderground" that disappointed me the most (aside from the god awful album art and stupid title) was the position of drummer Adam Carson on this album. It's like, "Hello? Adam? Are you there?" Where he made a bold, impressive stand on every other AFI album, he just faded into this background here. Instead of being the well heard, talented drummer he's spent more than 10 years showing himself to be, he played the role of all other contemporary drummers - he kept the beat. It was saddening to say the least. I do, in the end, like "Decemberunderground" though. It certainly hasn't made me weep as I set all of my AFI t-shirts and past albums ablaze in a trashcan. But if I was going to say to someone who'd never heard AFI, "This is my favorite band, give them a listen," this would not be the album I would hand them as the prime example of AFI in all its glory. Expand
  31. KristinaI
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    AFI should have just put a big sticker on the front of the cd to warn their fans that they are giving up and going for what will make them cash-- the teenies will love this album. I never expected AFI to become mainstream pop trash, but I guess anything can happen. I miss the days of Black Sails in the Sunset.
  32. MattN
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Having absolutely loved Sing the Sorrow, I anticipated AFI's follow-up album, Decemberundeground, to come up short. Man, was I wrong. Dead wrong. Decemberunderground is a very progressive and innovative album, combining epic songs with a melancholy overtones that elicit a raw emotion, making this album better than Sing the Sorrow. Easily the best album of the year, and instantly a Having absolutely loved Sing the Sorrow, I anticipated AFI's follow-up album, Decemberundeground, to come up short. Man, was I wrong. Dead wrong. Decemberunderground is a very progressive and innovative album, combining epic songs with a melancholy overtones that elicit a raw emotion, making this album better than Sing the Sorrow. Easily the best album of the year, and instantly a timeless classic. Expand
  33. borgy
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Shame really, that this album is getting negative reviews from their old school "fans". Obviously AFI probably knew that was going to happen, cause let's face it, "Punk" is a genre that attracts the most closed minded music fans to grace planet earth - I've noticed any band that is "punk" and dares to change their sound later on gets slammed for it but it doesnt mean it's Shame really, that this album is getting negative reviews from their old school "fans". Obviously AFI probably knew that was going to happen, cause let's face it, "Punk" is a genre that attracts the most closed minded music fans to grace planet earth - I've noticed any band that is "punk" and dares to change their sound later on gets slammed for it but it doesnt mean it's bad music. I got into AFI with their 2003 album "Sing the Sorrow" so i'm not an old school fan, but since then i have heard all their albums and yes i like them, but their work from "Black Sails In The Sunset" to now has to be their most intresting and varied, their first couple of albums are just so "samey" sounding to me - Jade brought a lot to the band. This album i think is a great progression from "Sing The Sorrow", It's a dark album and contains electronica and real instruments and it's a nice varied mix i think, Davey once known for his distinctive screaming can now been known for his original sounding vocal work as well (never heard a singer who sounds like him to be honest). Fantastic album i can listen to it all the way through. Whether or not you like this album is probably based on what style of music you are into... if you prefer their punk stuff, then stay away you should know by now you'll probably be disappointed. And in closing, some great tracks if you wanna check out the album: Love Like Winter, Miss Murder (probably already heard it), Endlessly, She Said, The Missing Frame, The Killing Lights, 37mm, Kill Caustic (next single apperantly). Expand
  34. CharlieB
    Jul 13, 2006
    8
    This album may not be seen by many as an explosion of musical talent. however the songs deliver a very promising and very well produced album with many musical elements. afi may have changed dramatically in their change from punk to emo(as many now describe this music) and old fans may dislike their new music but nevertheless this is a well made album.
  35. JoseA
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Great from beginning to end, My Favorite Album so far this year.
  36. IllmaticNaS
    Aug 17, 2006
    2
    Wow. This album received "generally favorable reviews?" That is really amazing. I mean, I'll admit, "Miss Murder" is a REALLY catchy tune. But I just figured that's all this band was: mindless, catchy, forgettable, teenage-girl pop punk tunes. I guess there's something more to them. I don't really understand it. I'm not a fan of this. "Miss Murder?" "A Fire Wow. This album received "generally favorable reviews?" That is really amazing. I mean, I'll admit, "Miss Murder" is a REALLY catchy tune. But I just figured that's all this band was: mindless, catchy, forgettable, teenage-girl pop punk tunes. I guess there's something more to them. I don't really understand it. I'm not a fan of this. "Miss Murder?" "A Fire Inside?" "Can I take my life?" I mean, I don't see how that appeals to anyone at all. It's all overly-romantic, melodramatic bull***. (Which means a lot coming from me, considering I liked the Smiths. But at least they acknowledged they were melodramatic. The Smiths parodied themselves. These emo bands today take themselves way too seriously.) I mean, come on! There are BLACK BUNNY RABBITS on the cover! The lead singer wears eyeliner! It's too much. And I just can't see why this guy would want to take his life. Hey, buddy, try living in the hood. Try living in Philly, South Bronx, East St. Louis, South Central LA. Then I can obsolutely understand wanting to take your own live. But I think it is safe to assume that this skinny boy who wears eyeliner has never lived ina any rough, depressing conditions. It's offensive to me that he would even sing about taking his live. And if he wasn't living comfortably before, he is living comfortable now with his millions of dollars. You see, it's all bull. BULL!!! Expand
  37. Vulpinef.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Personally, I think that if you want to listen to crap music, you should listen to 90's music. Everyone who gives AFI a low score says that they repeat themselves, most of the bands of the 90's are the WORST repeat offenders. they remade almost every song from the 70's and 80's! (not including AFI) I think that they are a welcome change from all of the music that puts Personally, I think that if you want to listen to crap music, you should listen to 90's music. Everyone who gives AFI a low score says that they repeat themselves, most of the bands of the 90's are the WORST repeat offenders. they remade almost every song from the 70's and 80's! (not including AFI) I think that they are a welcome change from all of the music that puts me to sleep! At least these guys are talented! And if you still hate them, they can do without you because they are developing a NEW fanbase. and to bilbo baggins, i bet that you aren't even 30 yet, and you're telling Davey to grow up?! Expand
  38. MattB
    Sep 16, 2006
    1
    I'm really dissapointed in AFI's new album. I mean I liked Sing the Sorrow to a certain extent but I hoped that AFI wouldnt go as far as changing their sound completely when the whole "emo" crap came into style. I'm a big fan of their old cds and have been for a very long time. I have every song that they've ever made and listen to them all.. EXCEPT their new cd. sure I'm really dissapointed in AFI's new album. I mean I liked Sing the Sorrow to a certain extent but I hoped that AFI wouldnt go as far as changing their sound completely when the whole "emo" crap came into style. I'm a big fan of their old cds and have been for a very long time. I have every song that they've ever made and listen to them all.. EXCEPT their new cd. sure you guys are like "blah blah blah AFI is changing to stay hip blah blah blah" but COME ON. I think that AFI had its very own sound and has destroyed all of their talent to become some overpopular sell-out band. I personally think that if AFI would have kept their old sound from their first cds and stayed within their boundaries they would be a much bigger influence on the oldschool hardcore/punk crowd than any other band. sure some say that the new cd has something going with the new croud but I'm sure they've lost more old fans than they gained new fans. its a sad sad day for TRUE AFI fans and music in general. Expand
  39. Angela
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is a really good album and obviously millions of people like it because they have it... and the reason that this site exists! It really shits me how people think their opinions are the only opinions in the world. If you think the band is shit, then why dont go to go one of your favourite bands pages and write about how much you love that band. You get off on thinking that your older This is a really good album and obviously millions of people like it because they have it... and the reason that this site exists! It really shits me how people think their opinions are the only opinions in the world. If you think the band is shit, then why dont go to go one of your favourite bands pages and write about how much you love that band. You get off on thinking that your older and wiser and "know what good music is" so you can rip into other bands ...go do something productive with your lives. I give this cd a 10. I've been listening to it almost every day in my car and its really grown on me. Expand
  40. PhilippO
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Melodical, sad but powerfull. The way they indicated with Sing the sorrow, is here the main part. So is AFI another Emo-Band ? Not at all , they still proof how to rock and still know how to play hard songs (Kill caustic). But it is true that they almost completely abandoned their roots, Hardcore Punk. If thats a negative aspect for you, than be it, i see it as a developement of their Melodical, sad but powerfull. The way they indicated with Sing the sorrow, is here the main part. So is AFI another Emo-Band ? Not at all , they still proof how to rock and still know how to play hard songs (Kill caustic). But it is true that they almost completely abandoned their roots, Hardcore Punk. If thats a negative aspect for you, than be it, i see it as a developement of their music and feelings. Expand
  41. GaryM.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    Amazing album! Amazing, because I am truly amazed that I love this album. I had never heard of the band before, but this album has made me a fan. Songs like Miss Murder, The Interview, 37mm, The Killing Light, etc. are really good songs. Hopefully, AFIs next album is as good or even better than this album.
  42. JJT
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Everyone who says crap about this album, just shut up!!!!! In case you didn't Know, it got #1 on the U.S.A billboard chart for 2 weeks straight. If you think this is "emo" then u have no taste in music at all. AFI is my favorite band, and they are really amazing. Everything they write about is just awesome. Davey Havok does not literally want to take his life, it's just a song. Everyone who says crap about this album, just shut up!!!!! In case you didn't Know, it got #1 on the U.S.A billboard chart for 2 weeks straight. If you think this is "emo" then u have no taste in music at all. AFI is my favorite band, and they are really amazing. Everything they write about is just awesome. Davey Havok does not literally want to take his life, it's just a song. The black bunnies are just for the video to represent an omen. And don't tell people if they like AFI, thet they need to get out more because I like a lot of other bands, but AFI is my favorite.They will not fade into obscurity either. They have the most loyal fans(literally), and you are just completely stereo-typing!!! Oh, and if they're the worst band you've heard, then YOU need to get out more.He's only 31 too, and for your info, that washis grandmom's b- day, I asked him at the last despair faction meeting!!!Weezer sux, and don't tell people not to listen to AFI because they rock and you don't control anybody. It's also not a girly voice. That's what you call good singing, and I'm sure you have no room to talk becaue you probably suk at singing. Again, "emo" isn't even a freakin word so don't be so lazy to spell out the whole word next time, and if you want "emo" then keep listening to your other crappy music. Oh, and they aren't pop at all. They also won a moon man for best ROCK video. Expand
  43. BrookW
    Jan 9, 2007
    8
    I have liked AFI for about 4 Years now and the change in her music was hard to get used to. at first i was deviststed about how sucky there music was in this new cd. But hen i got there new dvd and listened to the cd a few more times and it grew on me. Now dont get me wrong i still loe my traditional afi but im getting used to this one . Im happy AFI finnallly made it on the charts after I have liked AFI for about 4 Years now and the change in her music was hard to get used to. at first i was deviststed about how sucky there music was in this new cd. But hen i got there new dvd and listened to the cd a few more times and it grew on me. Now dont get me wrong i still loe my traditional afi but im getting used to this one . Im happy AFI finnallly made it on the charts after 15 years of keeping at it. You rock AFI! Im proud of you! Expand
  44. jerimiahc
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    any body who hates this cd can suk my balls
  45. BenW.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    December Underground shows the world that these guys are talented individuals who are open to experiment and experience different production styles.
  46. Elsa
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    AFI are a good band, I love them and this album is super great
  47. Emmanuel
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    AN AMAZING ALBUM!! A masterpiece by AFI.
  48. matth
    Oct 20, 2006
    8
    this rawks
  49. JulianH
    Jun 11, 2006
    4
    I found the new album too different from their last three albums. Change is neccesary but their style has changed to much to keep the old fan base! The solid fan base from the past decade will no longer exist if this is the new style of AFI. Maybe they want to become famous millionaires???? Most of their new stuff is more main stream and would NOT make most radio stations cringe at the I found the new album too different from their last three albums. Change is neccesary but their style has changed to much to keep the old fan base! The solid fan base from the past decade will no longer exist if this is the new style of AFI. Maybe they want to become famous millionaires???? Most of their new stuff is more main stream and would NOT make most radio stations cringe at the thought of playing it. Expand
  50. travism
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    fuck all the critics..afi and decemberunderground are amazing
  51. ValeryK
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    This album is great, though they changed a lot their style, and i'm dissapointed cause i realy love their old style, but this cd is also great, just listen it a few times, and you'll love it! believe me, i'm an AFI fun since forever, they changed, but they still being great!
  52. shellye
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    I have waited soooo long for a new album to come out and I am anything but let down but I must admit that they have become less 'edgy'. I'm sure the fans that have discovered AFI through Sing the Sorrow enjoy a lot. But for us 'older' fans, it is a change from Black Sails or even Art of Drowning...although it is a different style, I still enjoy it a lot. :D
  53. JohnW
    Jun 20, 2006
    5
    It's like they are deliberatly trying to sound like their recent copycats. My advice is to stay away from the post grudge sound and move in the direction you were heading with Sorrow. Bring back the solos, speed, and sadness.
  54. higinn
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    not as good as sorrow but still worth a 10...it is amazing!
  55. AnnaH
    Jun 20, 2006
    7
    I think that Blake W might have been a little harsh to AFI. I mean, at least give them a chance. And He needs to learn how to spell love.
  56. MaxH
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Im a kid and this is as good as all of Afi's cds melodic punk hardcore and goth(mostley hardcore punk though) This is not a total waste of money. Its a best buy. As great as "Say that and stay fasionable" and "sing the sorrow" and "black sails in the sunset" like "sing the sorrow" it has another great chant begining the cd. one word: WONDERFUL!
  57. CoreyS
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    AFI put 2 years into this record, and it shows. Decemberunderground can certainly be considered AFI best sounding record to date.
  58. Michael
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    This record is fantastic! - Starts with the great chant again. - I can hear some Cure in there and ole U2. - I predict this album to become a CLASSIC. - It's just an amazing blend of styles. And Davey Havok, and the rest of the band are on FIRE here! - Everyone enjoy this masterful disk of 2006. I agree with Kostya probably the album of the summer for me!
  59. AndrewW
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    So now AFI has given up entire on being The Misfits and are now trying to be The Cure? At least Kill Caustic is a pretty awesome track.
  60. LeslieR
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    I love AFI and i love Davey and Jade
  61. HL
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    Good JOB AFI
  62. blond&blackhairedgirls
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    After 3 years of waiting for a new cd to come out I was pleasantly surprised. I am a big fan of AFI but not a overdramatic one. I am29 years old and I just love the music. But yesterday I got really turned off by the celebrity lifestyle of AFI. At the Mountain View CA signing yesterday 6/8/06 we went to have them sign the new CD. I have NEVER been to one and just thought I would go to After 3 years of waiting for a new cd to come out I was pleasantly surprised. I am a big fan of AFI but not a overdramatic one. I am29 years old and I just love the music. But yesterday I got really turned off by the celebrity lifestyle of AFI. At the Mountain View CA signing yesterday 6/8/06 we went to have them sign the new CD. I have NEVER been to one and just thought I would go to show support.. I wasnt looking for anything else. Everybody has said how great the guys are and how nice they treat the fans but I got NO feeling of that what so ever. The had rented RUDE AND CRUDE Tower Records security guards that made me and my friend feel very very uncomfortable and like I was in a prison. We could only say a few words and no pictures. If we moved out of a single file line we were BARKED at. It was a SCARY SCARY feeling and we felt like a criminal. All we wanted to do was to say a few words and take a picture. Like I said this was my first ever and last signing. I hope this will let the guys know to either not have signings or get better security and to treat their fans like a human being. We know that some fans are scary and stalker like and they need that extra security but I am sure they can tell the ones that are normal from the ones that arent. To sum it up, just be good to your fans. The CD is Great but I will not do this again. It makes you feel embarrased and less of a person. DIGRATED. Thank anyways guys for coming out..... Expand
  63. ShawnM
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    After first listening, great. After second, even better. AFI has grown in amazing ways and I'm really excited that I'm seeing them in two weeks. Best album for them yet by far. Everything good about Sing the Sorrow times ten.
  64. MitchellM
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    The album is AFI's best that uses knowledge and talent. If you are looking for something that sounds like AFI, you'll be disappointed, just like you would be if you looked for anything AFI's made to sound like AFI. They are a changing band. The guitar and bass on this album are extremely well done. The drums are good, not as good as they were on BSITS or TAOD though, on par The album is AFI's best that uses knowledge and talent. If you are looking for something that sounds like AFI, you'll be disappointed, just like you would be if you looked for anything AFI's made to sound like AFI. They are a changing band. The guitar and bass on this album are extremely well done. The drums are good, not as good as they were on BSITS or TAOD though, on par with STS. Go in with an open mind and don't get wrapped up in what people say about it, there are always bad opinions about AFI albums when they first come out because the supposed fans aren't used to the music... whatever. AFI has everything you could want on the album, some of their roughest, hardest songs like Kill Caustic, Summer Shudder, Affliction, Kiss and Control, and Endlessly, She Said. And still has some of AFI's most dramatic songs like Prelude 12/21, The Interview, The Killing Lights, and 37mm. It mixes electronica, hard rock, and hardcore into one package along with great quality. This album is anything but generic because AFI uses those techniques and mixes them in ways you only have to imagine. Get this CD. Don't expect STS, pt. II like many on here seem to think AFI'll do. DU is an epic album that needs many listens to be understood... and I got that from the IGN review which you also should read for further explanation. Go. Expand
  65. JeffV
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    Alright, I'm sick of people saying they sold out with this album. They did that with Sing the Sorrow. If you think this is their sellout album, then you just must have just started listening to AFI in 2003. Honestly, if you were devoted enough to stick with them when they went to a major label, then this album shouldn't change you're mind about them. It was hard to stay Alright, I'm sick of people saying they sold out with this album. They did that with Sing the Sorrow. If you think this is their sellout album, then you just must have just started listening to AFI in 2003. Honestly, if you were devoted enough to stick with them when they went to a major label, then this album shouldn't change you're mind about them. It was hard to stay loyal with all the new fans jumping on, but when it comes down to it, it's all about the music. And once again with DECEMBERUNDERGROUND, they show that they are growing as song writers. When it comes down to it, this album isn't quite as dark as their past ones (still dark though), but they still have some really great songs. I give this album an 8 because overall, it's a great album with very well-written songs. It doesn't get higher because sometimes it can feel like they're trying a little bit too hard to have a certain image (they've always done this). Expand
  66. jimjim
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    mmhmmm
  67. vincec
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    this band is amazing if you only heard this albums your missing much more from the older albums this band is effin amazing and so is Davey Havocs voice
  68. nVidiaGeForce
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    This is definately a mixed bag, you get everything here, in AFI's latest expirament, what dumbass said they stole form MCR, FOB, and the killers?! You could not be more worng. Musicaly speaking this is 10e10 times more advanced than those typical pop-emo cork soakers.
  69. petem
    Sep 10, 2006
    9
    sweet cd
  70. SaphiraM
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    I'll admit that Decemberunderground is pretty pussy. But that's only because its got the oldddd punk hardocre stuff to compete with! AFI EAST BAY HARDCORE FOREVER But apart from that, Decemberunderground is one of the best fucking albums they have made. Sadly though, everyone knows about them now from this album, and i HATE all those fucking teenies. True AFI fans, like myself I'll admit that Decemberunderground is pretty pussy. But that's only because its got the oldddd punk hardocre stuff to compete with! AFI EAST BAY HARDCORE FOREVER But apart from that, Decemberunderground is one of the best fucking albums they have made. Sadly though, everyone knows about them now from this album, and i HATE all those fucking teenies. True AFI fans, like myself xD, could kill all those little pussy's who make out they're the biggest AFI fans ever, when they only found out about them from Miss Murder. That realllllllly pisses me off.. AFI are the best fucking band there is. Remember that :) xxx Collapse
  71. mattv.
    May 19, 2007
    9
    Its funny how Entertainment Weekly gave "Sing The Sorry" a 25 and this and 80......shows how much they know theie music...
  72. smithsgirl
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    This is a great album. I like decent music because it is, err, decent. I don't care whether music is punk, thrash, emo, hardcore, electronica, or whatever, and find discussions of music genres in relation to the merit of the album as a whole pointless and boring. There are some standout tracks: Miss Murder, Summer Shudder, Love Like Winter, and Killing Lights. Interestingly, the best This is a great album. I like decent music because it is, err, decent. I don't care whether music is punk, thrash, emo, hardcore, electronica, or whatever, and find discussions of music genres in relation to the merit of the album as a whole pointless and boring. There are some standout tracks: Miss Murder, Summer Shudder, Love Like Winter, and Killing Lights. Interestingly, the best track is probably Rabbits Are Roadkill On Rt 37, a bonus track on the UK version. Sublime! Check out this album, guys! Expand
  73. DylanS
    Jun 13, 2006
    7
    Decemberunderground is deffinetly a lesser album than Sing the Sorrow, but by no means is it a hinderace in the career as well as the musical change of AFI. It's still a very good album, better than the posers out there trying to create "artistic rock". They're all still at the top of their game and in their age have learned to make music for themselves, things they enjoy, which Decemberunderground is deffinetly a lesser album than Sing the Sorrow, but by no means is it a hinderace in the career as well as the musical change of AFI. It's still a very good album, better than the posers out there trying to create "artistic rock". They're all still at the top of their game and in their age have learned to make music for themselves, things they enjoy, which ultimatley will reflect on the overall quality of fans reactions. More power to them, Im sure they will continue creating quality music. Expand
  74. JyotirmayaD
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    this is probably gonna be the worst review ever written. I like AFI even more now because they are so damn exciting -- these days they are on top of the world. I like what I hear on Decemberunderground and will listen to this album a lot. For right now, they could do no wrong and I give them an 8
  75. NateP
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    forget emo. forget punk. forget genres. stop being close minded. I'm not the same person i was in high school and i'm glad afi isn't either. this almbum was done very well.
  76. MattH
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    not as good as 'sing the sorrow' but still worthy of praise
  77. Brian&PamelaR
    Jun 19, 2006
    8
    Sing the Sorrow is still there best album as of yet, but December Underground is a good mixture of thier old style in Very Proud Of Ya through Sing the Sorrow. They Still Kick ASS!!!- and we are old folks!!
  78. blakew
    Jun 19, 2006
    0
    Hey, guys I luv AFI guess why..... cause they stink. Try concentrating on their music. Just listen to that and no the girly voice. What does it sound like? Oh yes thats it dog poo. So I like this band bacuase its one more band that once again proves that this new rock coming in is getting worse and worse. Imagine actaully going to see these guuys live. They would have no show. Now if you Hey, guys I luv AFI guess why..... cause they stink. Try concentrating on their music. Just listen to that and no the girly voice. What does it sound like? Oh yes thats it dog poo. So I like this band bacuase its one more band that once again proves that this new rock coming in is getting worse and worse. Imagine actaully going to see these guuys live. They would have no show. Now if you want good music coupled with a mature voice and lyrics that go some where listen to First Impression of Earth a couple times through then go see a Strokes concert. They have what is arguable the greatest light show ever. Oh ya and they now how to play music. cause thats what Music is about THE MUSIC Expand
  79. J.Lo
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    I love the AFI.
  80. drewb
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    i hate afi and i hate everything afi has ever done, they are just another band cashing in on another trend, they will fade into obscurity in a few months.
  81. amber?????
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    i like the ck and afi is one of my faves. the cd is not their best one but i have to say i like it alot. its differnt from what they usually do but its still good. oh and on what drew b said afi has been around for years so i don't think they will be faiding anytime soon and they are not cashin in on anything
  82. GraceS
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    i Love the new cdit rok itz soooo Awesum!!!!!!!
  83. RyanJawnpiece
    Nov 10, 2007
    0
    AFI is one of the pussiest bands out there right now.decemberunderground is absolutley horrible.The old AFI is one of my favorite bands of all time.I like when they were actually a hardcore punk band not this pussy shit.what happened to them.their first 5 cd's and EPs were amazing,but when they left nitro records they all grew vaginas.fuck the new afi.east bay hardcore all day.
  84. JohnD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Very good. Not better than STS.
  85. EricaT.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    AFI's music has, up until this point, been poignant and full of incredible imagery. Decemberunderground really misses the mark in comparison with other albums like Sing the Sorrow and The Art of Drowning. Quite frankly, songs like 'Miss Murder' and the rest of the album all sound the same... they lack depth and originality. They're okay to listen to, but lack AFI's music has, up until this point, been poignant and full of incredible imagery. Decemberunderground really misses the mark in comparison with other albums like Sing the Sorrow and The Art of Drowning. Quite frankly, songs like 'Miss Murder' and the rest of the album all sound the same... they lack depth and originality. They're okay to listen to, but lack substance... I thought it hardly even sounded like Havok. It's one thing to change lyrical and music styles, but another thing to start to lose meaning and depth. AFI has altered its sound from its early songs to the later ones, but never in a manner like this. I have to say, this album was a big disappointment, and I hope that Davey Havok and the rest of the band come back with something better for their next album. Expand
  86. MissR
    Oct 17, 2008
    7
    It's good But Some songs are just there to please the public, like Miss Murder & Love like Winter. original fans don't likle songs like the interview, but I can omnly liten to hard rock for so long before I go insane. then songs like Endlessly, she said, are fantastic. some good, some mediocre.
  87. PhilH
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    Wow. It's sad when a band as amazing as AFI is being abandoned by their 'fans' because they've decided to change their musical orientation. And all because of the newest fad: hating emo. What is emo? Emo is emotional music. It isn't suicidal music. It isn't depressing music. It isn't whiney in any way. It's simply emotional. It speaks to you, and is Wow. It's sad when a band as amazing as AFI is being abandoned by their 'fans' because they've decided to change their musical orientation. And all because of the newest fad: hating emo. What is emo? Emo is emotional music. It isn't suicidal music. It isn't depressing music. It isn't whiney in any way. It's simply emotional. It speaks to you, and is supposed to invite you to relate, understand, and enjoy. This is by far AFI's most lyrically and musically advanced album to date, and it's the most poetic one, too. I am a newer fan of them, but I adore all the material from the "A Fire Inside EP" and listen to it frequently, and frankly, those claiming they've become emo obviously haven't looked at the lyrics from previous albums. From "Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes" on, AFI has lyrically been what they are now. All that's changed is the musical style. And honestly, I'm very grateful for it. Expand
  88. JohnS
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Wow, this album is the best of 2006.
  89. Jun 10, 2016
    10
    The album speak volumes, the lyrics are well written and tell such a great story that you need to decipher yourself and can relate to if you choose so. Heavy drops, great vocal range and melodic experience.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. With a comeback pitched between the indulgent love-metal of HiM and the pubescent pop-punk of Fall Out Boy, AFI's hiatus looks increasingly less like laziness and more like a marketing masterstroke.
  3. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.