Declaration Of Dependence - Kings Of Convenience
Declaration Of Dependence Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the Norwegian rock duo is its first since 2004's "Riot On An Empty Street."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 82
    It's just a series of strangely gorgeous, breezy tunes from two awkward Norwegians who continue to remind us that love can be confusing, joy dark and pain very beautiful. [Fall 2009, p.98]
  2. For the length of the album, at least, Kings Of Convenience do a standup job of convincing the listener that loud is long forgotten, and in these violent, uncertain times, quiet is king.
  3. Declaration of Dependence offers a sense of cohesion their previous albums don’t, a complete story through melody.
  4. It’s refined, poised, sweater-and-scarf music to settle down with in advance of winter’s messy hysteria.
  5. The album serves as a classic case of frontloading and one gets a sense that the first six songs would have made a better standalone EP, buying the band yet more time to craft something a little more interesting.
  6. 60
    It's craftily composed, and on individual tracks like "24-25," sparely beautiful but cumulatively lacking some of the spice of their side-projecvct affairs. [Nov 2009, p.90]
  7. Erland Oye and Eirik Boe's voices cannon off each other appealingly enough on 'Boat Behind,' but the album drifts in the manner of nick Drake out-takes and by the time you've waded through 13 dawdling tracks, it's a struggle to recall any of them. [Nov 2009, p.109]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    On Kings Of Conveniences' "Declaration Of Dependence", they create simple, pretty pop pleasures that really struck a chord with me upon first listen. Each track is really soothing and perfect background music to a relaxing moment. All In All, Declaration is a great, beautiful at times album that really tugs at your heartstrings. Expand