Defying Gravity

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Mar 31, 2009
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. barryg
    May 11, 2009
    9
    rolling stone also never gave led zeppelin any good reviews either we know how that turned out.The album has something for everyone well done from a caring gifted musician and songwriter.Well done and worth the wait.
  2. LindaD
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I love this whole CD. It shows Keith raw emotion. He is truly in a great place right now and it is nice to have touching music. I love Hit the Ground Running, and Thank You. Can't wait for them to become singles. Great Job Keith....
  3. RonL
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    Solid album by Keith. He's an extremely talented musician and continues his path outside of the country genre. Defying Gravity encompasses many different musical styles without sacrificing his own sound. The luscious guitar on "'Til Summer Comes Around" and the rollicking "Hit the Ground Runnin" are two of my favorites here. Keith proves in this album that if you don't have Solid album by Keith. He's an extremely talented musician and continues his path outside of the country genre. Defying Gravity encompasses many different musical styles without sacrificing his own sound. The luscious guitar on "'Til Summer Comes Around" and the rollicking "Hit the Ground Runnin" are two of my favorites here. Keith proves in this album that if you don't have to play a lot of notes if you only play the right ones. Expand
  4. KatieM.
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    If this is what Rolling Stone calls Keith Urban's lobotomy...I'd love to hear what they have to say about Kenny Chesney's last album! Just another example of the fact that Urban's talent is head over heels over anything else out there. ("Thank You" - will get to you..even if you have no heart!)
  5. catheym.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    I love this new music. he never ceases to amaze me with the care he puts into song choices. from fun and silly "kiss a girl" to the haunting guitar in "til summer comes around" and the love for his wife that oozes from "thank you". such a personal view of where he is in life right now. love you keith and love this cd. good job..again!!
  6. PatrickS.
    Apr 5, 2009
    5
    Nothing standing out except sweet thing and I didn't like that song when I first heard it, a bit of a disappointment. Come on Keith, give us something better!
  7. JaniceP
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    Just listened to the whole CD online... You won't be disappointed.. go Keith!!!
  8. RobO
    Apr 1, 2009
    8
    The musicianship is top-notch! Songs are catchy and energetic. Though it doesn't apply to every song, overall the album has a very unforced "breezy" vibe the likes of which Kenny Chesney could only aspire.
  9. LynetteC
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    This is an awesome album, Love it. Keith is the most talented artist out there.
  10. KatyJ
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    Great album. It's mostly upbeat and melodic yet has some achingly beautiful songs such a Till Summer Comes Around and Thank You. Keith is a master with the guitar and his voice compliments it well.
  11. CathyF
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This is a GREAT cd! I can't get enough of it. I especially love "Thank You" which is a great song!
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Defying Gravity builds on the skill set that gave listeners "Love, Pain & the Whole Crazy Thing" and takes it further, seamlessly combining hook-laden crafty songwriting with a pop sensibility in the modern country vernacular that blazes a new trail and underscores Duke Ellington's dictum that there are only two kinds of music: good and bad. This is a shining case in point for the former.
  2. Urban hardly rests on his laurels on Defying Gravity, trying some interesting new directions.
  3. Good thing Urban has a gift for making radio-baiting hooks and production feel enthusiastically fresh, whether he's cribbing an intro from the New Radicals' 'You Get What You Give' on 'Standing Right in Front of You,' borrowing Kenny Chesney's beachcomber vibe for 'Why's It Feel So Long,' or ripping himself off left and right with just about everything else.