Delirium Cordia

  • Record Label: Ipecac
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MoonbeamA-go-go
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    Hypnotic, beautiful, creepy, sad and funny, with some of the strangest asymmetrical time-signatures I've ever heard. It's fine to like or dislike this album, but if you try to fault the brilliant composition or musicianship, you are just lamely trying to justify a bias and most likely have no REAL idea why you dislike it in the first place. You know who you are.
  2. alecs
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    Great, great album. Listen to it at elast twice (closely, either at a high volume or on headphones) before forming a judgement. I have listened to it about twenty times now, all the way through, and I'm still hearing new things in it. Well worth the wait and the money and the jittery nerves one gets after listening to DC twenty times or more.
  3. BenM
    Feb 15, 2004
    6
    Completely unnecessary and indulgent but at times hits the mark of a soundtrack to surgical, nightmarish madness.
  4. TomK
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    One gets the sense that there's a frustrated filmmaker hiding somewhere in Mike Patton. One theme which seems to unite his recordings is a love for film whether it be the perverse film score interpretations of Fantomas' "Director's Cut," samples of David Lynch's BLUE VELVET with Mr. Bungle or the Nino Rota-inspired riffing of his John Kaada collaboration, "Romances." One gets the sense that there's a frustrated filmmaker hiding somewhere in Mike Patton. One theme which seems to unite his recordings is a love for film whether it be the perverse film score interpretations of Fantomas' "Director's Cut," samples of David Lynch's BLUE VELVET with Mr. Bungle or the Nino Rota-inspired riffing of his John Kaada collaboration, "Romances." Whether or not he'll ever take a break from relentless recording and touring to step behind the camera is something that only he could tell you, but with "Delerium Cordia," Mr. Patton has created a concept album which almost passes for a cinematic experience. It's even confined to only one cd track which is suspiciously similar to David Lynch's preference to release his films on dvd without breaking them into seperate chapters. "Delerium Cordia" is a mood piece which seems intended to invoke the mind trip that a seriously maimed patient would endure while undergoing surgery to save his or her life (peruse the gory cd packaging for further details). What results is an ambient soundscape which is visually evocative. It's like the score to a grim silent movie. The rest of the band should not be shortchanged here either. King Buzzo, Dave Lombardo and espcially Trevor Dunn (whose recent release, Trever Dunn Trio Convulsant, "Sister Phantom Owl Fish" is similarly mesmerizing and a bit more listenable) turn in some of the most subtle and baroque music of their respective careers. As chief composer, this is Patton's baby and it shows a startling evolution from that kooky kid that most of us first saw bouncing around in those first Faith No More videos. Patton may still radiate a bad attitude in interviews, furthering the suspicions of his worst critics that his releases are no more than mean-spirited pranks on credulous listeners, but the music speaks for itself. With "Delerium Cordia," Mike Patton shows not only an ambitious artistic vision, but he and his band mates display undeniable talent in pulling it off. Expand
  5. JimS
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Great album.
  6. TravisO
    Aug 25, 2006
    9
    amazing, thought inspiring, frightening, atmospheric, pretentious. if you have the time for it, delirium cordia will be appreciated.
  7. NathanF.
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    I'm judging this on what I've listened to thus far. i have just bought it off emusic and i have 40 minutes left. basically, nothing has ever been so thought provoking. it's madness. everything from the eerie noises to the random 2 minute jams just blends and fits perfectly to make one amazing creative piece of madness that i'm pretty sure I'll be in no hurry to I'm judging this on what I've listened to thus far. i have just bought it off emusic and i have 40 minutes left. basically, nothing has ever been so thought provoking. it's madness. everything from the eerie noises to the random 2 minute jams just blends and fits perfectly to make one amazing creative piece of madness that i'm pretty sure I'll be in no hurry to forget. note: if you are ignorant, opinionated and impatient, don't buy this. Expand
  8. johnr
    Feb 19, 2004
    9
    Yeah, Q and the Alternative Press are such fantastically in-touch, forward-thinking magazines so I'd really pay attention to what they have to say. Oh man, Thursday (AP) and The Coral (Q) are SOOO incredible. Whatever. This is not an easy album to listen to, but that doesn't mean that it isn't brilliant. If you like your John Zorn, world music, death metal, and ambient Yeah, Q and the Alternative Press are such fantastically in-touch, forward-thinking magazines so I'd really pay attention to what they have to say. Oh man, Thursday (AP) and The Coral (Q) are SOOO incredible. Whatever. This is not an easy album to listen to, but that doesn't mean that it isn't brilliant. If you like your John Zorn, world music, death metal, and ambient Aphex Twin mixed together, then you will love this. Listen to it on headphones. Expand
  9. evanp
    Feb 23, 2004
    8
    Very frightening, very puzzling, and very, very good.
  10. cowman
    Feb 28, 2004
    3
    That album is crap. Fantomas is one of Mike's worst projects, noly some bits of Director's Cut were good
  11. MikeC
    Mar 7, 2004
    6
    If you're thinking of buying this CD, you already know whether you'll like it or not. Fantomas fans will like it, others should steer clear. I for one think it kicks ass, but then again, I am a fan of weird music. If you don't like the idea of music scaring you or making you feel strange, don't listen to this.
  12. gustavom
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    a masterpiece of original and outrageous music , just the opeminded persons can hold up thsi music
  13. JamieS
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    good stuff, just wish it was a little more packed with stuff, a bit too much there with not a lot going on.
  14. RuairiM
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Just as effective as a horror film for building up suspense and great music too. Also great for getting people to leave your house after a party (worked for me anyway)
  15. StephenC.
    May 22, 2004
    8
    Fantomas delivers holy liberation in the form of medical malpractice- In fiery bursts of stop, drop 'n' roll mentality. This release takes some getting used to. Lovers of the first Fantomas album will dig it, fools who loved Director's Cut only will not. I, personally, like it very much, but found some parts to be not as interesting as others- But who am I to be critical? Fantomas delivers holy liberation in the form of medical malpractice- In fiery bursts of stop, drop 'n' roll mentality. This release takes some getting used to. Lovers of the first Fantomas album will dig it, fools who loved Director's Cut only will not. I, personally, like it very much, but found some parts to be not as interesting as others- But who am I to be critical? This is the world of Fantomas and Patton makes the rules! The doctor is in the building. Expand
  16. BobS
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    To me, this album gets a 9 not because it sounds good, not because i find myself wanting to listen to it over and over, not because it made me feel good; it gets a 9 because it set out to do something, and i'll be damned if it didnt do it. the album is like listening to a wretchedly beautiful painting for over an hour, with each detail of the picture oozing through every moment. it To me, this album gets a 9 not because it sounds good, not because i find myself wanting to listen to it over and over, not because it made me feel good; it gets a 9 because it set out to do something, and i'll be damned if it didnt do it. the album is like listening to a wretchedly beautiful painting for over an hour, with each detail of the picture oozing through every moment. it is music for a different reason than all the profit-driven, 3-minute-song-or-bust, major-key-with-no-more-than-4-chords, pop crap music is made for. that reason is simply to set an artistic mood, to paint a soundscape, to get in your brain the way no other music has before. delirium cordia is outrageous, and it suprises, amuses, and pleases me that it has an 8.5 rating. im glad other people can still appreciate art, whether it is convenient or not, comfortable or not, easy or not. Expand
  17. SeanF
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Bought the album on a whim, the idea seemed clever and avant-garde enough to warrant a listen, and for the entire duration i was entranced. The sudden bursts of delirious distortion contrasting with the great uses of silence within the piece not only entertained me, but actually left me listening intently for the entire 22 minute near silent area of the song. An album that contains only Bought the album on a whim, the idea seemed clever and avant-garde enough to warrant a listen, and for the entire duration i was entranced. The sudden bursts of delirious distortion contrasting with the great uses of silence within the piece not only entertained me, but actually left me listening intently for the entire 22 minute near silent area of the song. An album that contains only one 74 minute song that manages to impress and entertain for the entire time... Mike Patton is definitely on the right path of musicianship. Expand
  18. DavidF.
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Different in a good way.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Aside from [a] 20-minute stretch, though, Delìrium Còrdia holds up just fine as a suitably unwieldy, adventurous, patched-together series of instrumental bridges with no chorus to reach.
  2. In essence, it’s an improvisational nightmare that leaves you feeling extremely uncomfortable for an entire hour, while concurrently having you wish you could lie down to listen.
  3. Alternative Press
    30
    Patton's latest fantasy-headache is a one-song, 55-minute conceptual misfire that careens from acid-casualty chamber music to high-velocity cartoon metal. [Feb 2004, p.82]