Demi - Demi Lovato
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 148

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Demi has managed to make ever single song on this album a hit. The songs are both lyrically and vocally magnificent. This is most definitely Lovato's best album to date.
  2. May 14, 2013
    9
    'Demi' is a very personal and beautiful album. It reflects her versatility and her talent as a singer and songwriter that packs in a ton of replay value. Whilst the lyrical quality has ups and downs, her vocal performances are on point.

    Read my full review here: http://smarturl.it/demialbumreview
  3. May 14, 2013
    6
    'Demi' is like a mixture of two of Lovato's latest releases. Catchy teen-pop songs that are most likely to be the future singles, mixed with the emotional heart-breaking ballads. And we can say its her best record so far.
  4. May 14, 2013
    0
    What? This album is a joke. Demi Lovato again just shows someone that wants more and more money in music, and yes, Demi Lovato, must be so much rich. Awful album, except her voice that is a kind pretty.
  5. May 14, 2013
    10
    This album is beautiful and catchy. I'm keeping it on repeat, and I really look up to hear "Warrior" cause it's such an AMAZING song. I love Demi cause she really can sing and she can put all her emotional side on her songs!
  6. May 14, 2013
    10
    Well, comparing this to unbroken, this album is amazing. She wrote (almost) all the songs of "DEMI". I'm so proud. her voice sounds awesome. i love the guitar and the sound of real instruments. This album deserves to be a success, and have a great tour to promote it. My favorites so far is "Shouldn't Come Back", "Something That We're Not", "Heart Attack" and "Never Been Hurt".
  7. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Good to sleep
    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
  8. Nov 7, 2013
    7
    What I like about Demi is that she has a powerful voice, but does not have the need to expose it to the whole song. Not a perfect album, far from it, but close to everything that the Disney Stars are showing, 'Demi' is by far the best album.
  9. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    "Demi" Um Excelente Album.
    Merece Um 10 Mesmo,Mas Acho Que Ela Exagerou Muito Nas Baladas Muito Calmas Podiam Ser Mais Bem Planejadas Como Mistake De Unbroken.
    Mas Mesmo Assim Merece 10.
    Top 5
    1-Never Been Hurt
    2-Two Pieces
    3-Made In Usa
    4-Without The Love
    5-Heart Attack
    Fire Starter E Something That We're Not São Pontos Altos Também
  10. May 19, 2013
    7
    Demi, Lovato's fourth studio album feels like a combination of Lovato's two earlier albums and her previous one, Unbroken. With a pop rock feel on some tracks mixed with R&B dance-pop production and a number of big, slick ballads, Demi feels carefully calculated. This album is not a personal one, it's just a collection of songs to prove Lovato a successful, hit-making pop diva. In thatDemi, Lovato's fourth studio album feels like a combination of Lovato's two earlier albums and her previous one, Unbroken. With a pop rock feel on some tracks mixed with R&B dance-pop production and a number of big, slick ballads, Demi feels carefully calculated. This album is not a personal one, it's just a collection of songs to prove Lovato a successful, hit-making pop diva. In that matter, it succeeds. Too bad Demi shows very little musical growth for Lovato, besides vocally. Demi is pretty much a step backward into the familiar teen pop territory. Vocally, however, Demi is on point. She sings songs like she means them (not that she really does.) She wails, belts, screams, yells and it all sounds beautiful. Her voice may be the only thing that makes the material on Demi listenable. Lyrically, it's quite challenging. Lyrics are reminiscent of Carly Rae Jepsen's Kiss album in that they're both fluffy, but nonetheless interesting. Production-wise, it's pretty good. It's feel-good pop rock with dance and R&B influences and slick, radio-ready power ballad production. However, production on Demi is too teen pop. Too much like Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez & the Scene. Demi is not a bad album for Lovato; it's quite entertaining. It's just disappointing that a pop singer with such attitude and a sense of fun, is now just fishing for hits instead of making music that feels inspiring in some way. Lovato needs a maturity check.
    HIGHLIGHTS: Heart Attack, Made In The USA, Something That We're Not, Fire Starter
    Expand
  11. May 14, 2013
    10
    Her best work to date by far. So much emotion on songs like "Shouldn't Come Back" and "I Hate You, Dont Leave Me", you can tell this IS Demi. But it is also super fun and poppy on tracks like "Neon Lights" and "Really Dont Care" ft. Cher Lloyd. This is just perfection to me. There is not one bad song.
  12. May 18, 2013
    6
    Not her best album. Lyrically weak, musically generic. "Never Been Hurt" is another "Unbroken". "Warrior" is the new "Skyscraper" and "Shouldn't Come Back" is like "For the Love of a Daughter" Part II.

    Lovato could have tried to put the album together. Even though it's quite versatile, it seems to be all over the place and have no cohesion at all.
  13. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    Great album with a nice mix of Pop songs, and while some do sound the same it's certainly not a bad thing as they are great songs! Lead single 'Heart Attack' pretty much sums up the album and what you will expect for the following tracks to come, and any Demi fans who liked her first albums will surely like this one too.
  14. May 16, 2013
    0
    Demi tries to create upbeat, synthesized pop anthems that are both catchy and uninspired, that you'd hear a thousand times on 96.5 FM. Sounds like teen-pop to me.
  15. Oct 11, 2013
    4
    Demi Lovato's vocals have certainly matured beyond her years and even though her fourth album's self-title suggests otherwise, Demi almost completely contradicts that maturity and could easily take the 21-year-old troubled songstress back to her teen pop years since that is basically what the many producers behind it intended it to be. Lead single "Heart Attack", second single "Made In theDemi Lovato's vocals have certainly matured beyond her years and even though her fourth album's self-title suggests otherwise, Demi almost completely contradicts that maturity and could easily take the 21-year-old troubled songstress back to her teen pop years since that is basically what the many producers behind it intended it to be. Lead single "Heart Attack", second single "Made In the U.S.A.", "Without the Love", and soon-to-be-single "Neon Lights" solidify Lovato's undeniably manufactured charm whilst wishy-washy ballads such as "Nightingale" and "Shouldn't Come Back" attempt to take Lovato to personal territory without never reaching there. Even in her ballads, Lovato's vocals are heavily dubbed and even processed, which makes no sense to the common ear. It's a disappointment to anyone who believed that Lovato could break her tween star image and would use her publicly courageous battle with emotional stress and self-harm to strengthen herself. Collapse
  16. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    She never change, but sometimes changes is good. She needs to grow up. This album is her worst. Maybe she needs more 5 years to record some good think.
  17. Jan 16, 2014
    3
    Worst album released in 2013 by a singer. Is tiring, boring and bad. I think it's time for her to retire. I hated everything she did this year. E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G.
  18. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    This is a great album! I liked every song on the album (it took me awhile to accept "Something That We're Not"), and it's been my favorite album ever since. Keep it up, Demi!
  19. Jul 11, 2014
    0
    Demi never grows? I honestly expected much more from music, she does not know how to use your voice. It never changes. I feel as if listening to children's songs.
  20. May 18, 2013
    5
    The concept expressed in the cover and the title of the album was not well allocated on most tracks Most of the songs on this album speak of the same things whenever we hear what plays on the radio. There isn't a personal album. Unbroken is still better in a matter of production and musicianship.
  21. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Demi Lovato the next Christina Aguilera. She has an amazing voice, but is this an amazing album no.

    This may sound weird but every song (besides Really Don't Care and Something That Were Not) are perfect. But as a collective just make the album TOO emotional. Yeah that sounds weird. She definitely has grown through. I must say and this is also weird this is her worst album with great
    Demi Lovato the next Christina Aguilera. She has an amazing voice, but is this an amazing album no.

    This may sound weird but every song (besides Really Don't Care and Something That Were Not) are perfect. But as a collective just make the album TOO emotional. Yeah that sounds weird. She definitely has grown through. I must say and this is also weird this is her worst album with great songs on it. The songs are good but only like 3-5 are fun. Heart Attack, USA, Fire Starter, Neon Lights, and thats it. Nightingale, Warrior, Two Pieces, etc are great. Now I am far from a hater she is one of my all time top 10 singers but this album is too emotional. Should you buy it. Yes just look at this album as the emotional side of Unbroken. Unbroken is the fun one DEMI is the emotional one.

    Here We Go Again, then Unbroken, then Don't Forget, then DEMI. This is how you listen to her.
    Expand
  22. May 15, 2013
    9
    Really nice improvement from last album. More of a fun, lighthearted sound, yet keeping all of "Unbroken"' honesty and theatricality. Every song is a pleasure to listen to, but I definitely have my favorites. "Never Been Hurt", "Something That We're Not", and "Nightingale" all shine.
  23. May 18, 2013
    10
    "Demi" is a very nice pop album, its a beautiful. Demi has finally managed to find her sound and the lyrics are definitely better than her previous album "Unbroken".
  24. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Nicely done Demi! I found this better than Unbroken. The lead-single choice for "Heart Attack" was great, but I kinda prefer "Made in the USA". Also I'm loving "Warrior" and "Never Been Hurt". xx
  25. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    Possibly the most consistently crafted pop record in recent memory, Demi showcases Lovato's impressive vocal range as well as well-produced, shimmering pop. Highlights include "Heart Attack," "Without the Love," "Nightingale" and "Something That We're Not."
  26. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. Heart Attack: I personally love this song and I feel like when DEMI came out everyone forgot about it. The lyrics and relatabilty (i don’t think that’s a word) is so awesome. “Pain’s more trouble than love is worth” is one of my favorite lyrics she’s ever had. At first I didn't really understand the bridge but after i really thought about it, I was very impressed with the metaphors.
    2. Made in the USA: I kinda like this song, but I don’t love it. It doesn’t really stand out on the album. It is just another pop song to me (which isn’t bad) it just doesn’t really wow me. Her vocals on the other hand are really good, especially during the chorus.
    3. Without the Love:This song is probably my favorite off of the album. I feel like Demi went in a different direction with this. To me this song is the best off the album. The lyrics and comparisons and superb. Some of my favorite lyrics are “this is the bend before the break, where forget the harmony” and yeah you push me in the spotlight just to steal the show” and “you work so hard to get me just to let me go”
    4.Neon Lights: I liked this song for a couple of days, but i would love if there were more lyrics to it. I hate songs that repeat the first verse and chorus, they just lack originality to me. While this song definitely isn’t one of my favorites, i still like to jam to it every now and then. P.S. Her vocals during the dance break are awesome!!
    5. Two Pieces: This song reminds me a lot of fun.’s We Are Young but for a less mature audience. I don’t have a lot to say about this song, but I still like it a lot and it really displays her vocals very well.
    6. Nightingale: This song is just beautiful and raw. The emotion and mellow mood it sets is awesome. Although I can’t really relate to it because I’ve never felt like someone was watching over me, I still love it and it is one of the best on the album. I say grammy worthy.
    7. In Case: I can’t even begin with this song. Her vocals have got to be the best she’s ever done in any song. Like, this song in on a Fix a Heart level or higher. This one is a grammy worthy song.
    8. Really Don’t Care (ft. Cher Lloyd): It is impossible to listen to this song and be upset. It is such a great pop song and it is so fun. Another thing I love and notice about every song is that Demi made it so you heard an actual instrument in every song. Really Don’t Care has the acoustic guitar during the chorus and even the piano in Neon Lights.I really love the first verse in this song. I’m not in love with Cher’s part but it adds a nice touch of brat into the song.
    9. Fire Starter: While I can tolerate this song, I kinda don’t really like it. I definitely don’t have it on repeat like Without the Love or Really Don’t Care. I absolutely can’t stand the opening lyric, but I like the chorus and I kinda like the production.Her vocals are really the only part of this song I love.
    10. Something That We’re Not: God, this is another song I can’t listen to and be mad at the same time. This song is so fun and catchy AND BEYOND RELATABLE. I don’t care how ugly you think you are, you have all had the one person that was obsessed with you. Also, the little “ba da ba da da da da da” are so awesome and they really make the song I can just see her performing this song and the crowd singing along and just having fun.
    11. Never Been Hurt: This song is such an Unbroken 2.0 it ain’t even funny. I honestly hate the chorus of this song. If she took the production and chorus of Unbroken and put it on Never Been Hurt, I would be in love with this song. I absolutely hate the HUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRT part, but the other vocals she has in it and the lyrics in the bridge and verses are pretty cool.
    12: Shouldn’t Come Back: I honestly love this song with all my heart. I have a hard time picking which song about her dad is better. At first I wasn’t sure if she was talking about her dad or an ex but I figured it out. Also, the emotion in here in unreal. That last time she says, "STOP, right now, you’ll only let me down" causes eargasms all the time. However, I do wish there was more to the bride.
    13. Warrior: I really like this song. I kinda prefer it over Skyscraper. I feel like it is very mature and not so juvenile. The lyrics are very relatable. BUT, I will say that I was very disappointed vocally. I am NOT saying that she didn't sound amazing, but I was expecting more from this song.

    Overall Review: I’d give this album an 8/10. I don’t think Demi has completely morph into an adult (which is perfectly fine) but I feel like she is growing with her fans which is something not enough artist do these days. Another thing, that I already said, is that you hear an actua
    Expand
  27. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Of course it's one of her best albums ever, Heart Attack, the smash hit was such a different (and good) song, Made in the USA sounds like an anthem, Neon Lights a party and that's the perfect mix!
  28. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Amazing!!! Demi's album has everything we want in an album!! Its fun, emotional & the lyrics relates to the listener. This fourth album shows how much she has an adult has grown and how her career in the music industry is growing.
  29. Oct 24, 2013
    5
    'Demi', the follow-up to 2011's 'Unbroken', can only be described as lackluster. First off, it's no secret that Lovato possesses an incredible vocal range, which is why it is baffling to me that she would not choose to pair up her obvious vocal talent with some actual well-written songs. The album's only true stand-outs "Heart Attack", "Without the Love", "Really Don't Care", and "Fire'Demi', the follow-up to 2011's 'Unbroken', can only be described as lackluster. First off, it's no secret that Lovato possesses an incredible vocal range, which is why it is baffling to me that she would not choose to pair up her obvious vocal talent with some actual well-written songs. The album's only true stand-outs "Heart Attack", "Without the Love", "Really Don't Care", and "Fire Starter" are just swimming aimlessly in a pool of mediocrity; making it seem like Lovato couldn't decide whether to make a dance-pop, a teen-pop, an R&B, or an electro-pop record; which as a result makes 'Demi' seem almost laughably unfocused.

    I'm not saying it's a bad thing for a record to be diverse, but 'Demi' makes musical diversity seem like a joke. The track listing is extremely unbalanced. The album starts off with the indescribably good "Heart Attack", the decent "Made in the USA", and the great "Without the Love". Following this, 'Demi' falls into utter madness. "Neon Lights" is a generic, horribly-produced EDM mess, "Two Pieces" is a boring and forgettable break-up song, "Nightingale" is a vocally outstanding but sonically disappointing ballad, while "In Case" is a ridiculously-written milquetoast pop track. 'Demi' redeems itself on the super fun and light-hearted "Really Don't Care" (with the help of a mysteriously short verse from Cher Lloyd), the well-executed and impressive "Fire Starter", and the decent but slightly generic fist-pumper "Something That We're Not". But then after this, 'Demi' falls back into meaningless ballads: "Never Been Hurt" and "Shouldn't Come Back". At the end, "Warrior", the sequel to her unforgettably powerful 2011 ballad "Skyscraper"; closes off the album, however fails to build up the emotion of its "Skyscraper"; which was an incredibly-written song that utilized Lovato's impressive vocal range and an idiosyncratic metaphor. "Warrior" is just generic and boring.

    In order for 'Demi' to be truly successful, she needs to take a hint from singers like Ariana Grande and Mariah Carey, whom she is similar to due to her impressive vocal range. The R&B and highly emotive songs on 'Unbroken' (such as "Skyscraper" and "For the Love of a Daughter") were indescribably great, while her third album's title track and her fourth album's opening track "Heart Attack" were unforgettable and addicting electro-pop songs. If Demi can combine these two types of music on her fifth effort, she will have a critical and commercial hit on her hands.
    Expand
  30. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Este um dos melhores cds da Demi, destaque para "Neon Lights", "Without the Love", "Really Don't Care" e "Warrior". Esse álbum leva a Demi a outro patamar
  31. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    I liked the songs'Heart Attack', 'Made in the USA', 'Neon Lights', 'Really don't care', 'Something that we're not', but I disliked the other songs immensely as the rest of the songs are too generic and painful to listen to. This is definitely not her best album. I feel that she can do better than this.
  32. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    Demi já teve dias melhores,esse com verteza é seu pior trabalho,seria nota 5,mas pela sua bela voz e por Neon Lights e outras 3 músicas do album,leva um 6.
  33. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    Happy and sad at the same time, with poetic lyrics and catchy melodies. Demi's vocals one of the reasons I loved it. 'Demi' is a very personal and beautiful album, 'Demi' is amazing.
  34. Sep 5, 2014
    6
    a pretty basic pop record. the singles are strong (heart attack, made in the usa, really dont care, neon lights) one ballad (nightingale) and another song which came out and blasted my speakers (two pieces) - the rest is filler which is for her die hard fans.
  35. Oct 4, 2014
    7
    Like any artist turned around for teen public, Demi doesn't go so far about her music. In this side, she made a great album for her public. Lyrics easy for understand, Intrumentals that will play over and over in the teenager's mind. The vocals are great, in some songs too loud. My favs top 5: 1 - Never Been Hurt, 2 - Made in the USA, 3 - Without the love, 4 - Two Pieces, 5 - Warrior.
  36. Oct 15, 2014
    1
    De fato o pior álbum de Demi Lovato, a única música apresentavél é "Heart Attack" que há um sentido, o resto das músicas se igualam ás anteriores, eu como uma admiradora antiga da mesma, considero que Demi prometeu MUITO e não compriu boa parte das promessas, há ainda um longo caminho para ela percorrer até se tornar uma artista.
  37. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    Demi decaiu muito do Unbroken para esse álbum, é um álbum bom de ouvir, com boas músicas porém a qualidade vocal que ela tem poderia ter criado músicas melhores; é um álbum legal porém poderia ser melhor.
    Pontos altos: Heart Attack e Warrior
    Pontos baixos: Never Been Hurt e I Hate You, Don't Leave Me
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 17, 2013
    60
    It's predictable stuff--sassy songs, lovelorn songs, a couple of pop-psych pep talks--but Lovato is good company, and her voice has gustiness and character.
  2. May 15, 2013
    60
    Ultimately, this isn't an album of purpose, it's a collection of moments, and it has just enough good ones to solidify Demi Lovato's comeback.
  3. May 13, 2013
    80
    [An] often impressive fourth album.