Demon Days - Gorillaz
Demon Days Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 227 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the comic supergroup's 2001 debut sold an astounding 6 million copies worldwide, a sequel became necessary. Hence 'Demon Days.' Returning leader Damon Albarn (Blur) and new producer Danger Mouse are joined by guests Shaun Ryder (Happy Mondays), Ike Turner, MF Doom, De La Soul and Dennis Hopper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    Get past the dark stuff and Demon Days reveals a stash of songs that are more fun than a Hong Kong Phooey marathon.
  2. 90
    Brilliant.... This album sounds like Albarn and Danger Mouse are an inspired team. [Jul/Aug 2005, p.101]
  3. The results are reason enough for Damon Albarn's other outfit to finally pack it in.
  4. Demon Days actually is even better than its predecessor.
  5. Spookier, blippier, and more on edge. It's also not as cohesive. [27 May 2005, p.136]
  6. So many names, so many influences: perhaps unsurprisingly 'Demon Days' is a dizzying, disorientating and sometimes directionless album.
  7. About as disappointing a follow-up as you could ever imagine.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 120
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest mix of music styles and imaginations - pleasant and disturbing, rough and smooth, apocalyptic and dreamy. Singles will make you feel fresh but whole album can leave huge mark on your attitude to modern music. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    The single most musically intriguing record I have ever heard, still stands up as my all time favourite album, ever. To describe it in one word, I would have to say that this album is "Perfect". Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Probably my favorite album of all time. despite the diversity of the music styles on the album, all of them are amazing tunes that I never skip should they arrive on a shuffled playlist. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    After the success of their first album, they went farther in producing Demon Days, where this time it is set in a Apocalyptic world. This one fuses more pop than the last one, but less rap. They still have their great vibe, with the help of new guests on this album. Their a ton of great songs on this album, especially "Feel Good Inc." This wasn't the best album Albarn has produced, but one of the most inspiring albums. The end of the album wraps up the mood perfectly, when the basic strumming of the guitar on "Demon Days" tells what Damon has experienced himself. This album is easier to listen and get used to than the first album. Standouts : "Kids With Guns", "Feel Good Inc.", "DARE" Overall Score : 8.7 Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This unexpected mix of many (mainly the laid back type) music styles is really enjoyable and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys them. Of course, it's not perfect, but it's really good. My personal favourites are Feel Good inc. and O Green World. They really suck me in. The first is more fun and the beat is "clearly visible". The second, however, is more moody and the guitar kicks in most of the time. I like how Damon sounds good in many types of different songs.
    So, if you like having fun while listening to music, this album is for you, even if it lacks certain momentum from the first album. Try it for yourself and see!
    Score: 9.0
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    This album should be given its own genre. It's neither here nor there with any one genre and is so vast it can't even be taken down to 2 or 3. You've got something like 'Last Living Souls' which is eeary melancholy pop mixed with 'Don't get lost in heaven' which verges on symphonic gospel. This is really a masterpiece from Albarn. An apex of his imagination. He deserves all the acclaim he gets. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    2
    This CD is unique... but that doesn't make it better. I listen to many music style ranging from jazz to metal and passing by opera. That is among the worst album I ever listened to. I can't see how critics can like it so much (except that it is unique...) Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Inside the Gorillaverse: A Look at Alt-Rock's Best Cartoon Band

    Inside the Gorillaverse: A Look at Alt-Rock's Best Cartoon Band Image
    Published: March 2, 2010
    With the Gorillaz' third album "Plastic Beach" hitting stores next week, we take a moment to look at all of the artists who have contributed to the virtual band's success.