• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Demon Days Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the comic supergroup's 2001 debut sold an astounding 6 million copies worldwide, a sequel became necessary. Hence 'Demon Days.' Returning leader Damon Albarn (Blur) and new producer Danger Mouse are joined by guests Shaun Ryder (Happy Mondays), Ike Turner, MF Doom, De La Soul and Dennis Hopper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    Get past the dark stuff and Demon Days reveals a stash of songs that are more fun than a Hong Kong Phooey marathon.
  2. The results are reason enough for Damon Albarn's other outfit to finally pack it in.
  3. Less accessible than its eponymous predecessor, it creates a darker, less cartoonish world where hip-hop, brit-rock, electronica and Dennis Hopper monologues all seem perfectly at home.
  4. 75
    Danger Mouse sets a consistent tone that wryly chafes against Albarn's paranoia. [Jun 2005, p.105]
  5. Demon Days is decidedly bleaker than its predecessor.
  6. About as disappointing a follow-up as you could ever imagine.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 124
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest mix of music styles and imaginations - pleasant and disturbing, rough and smooth, apocalyptic and dreamy. Singles willOne of the greatest mix of music styles and imaginations - pleasant and disturbing, rough and smooth, apocalyptic and dreamy. Singles will make you feel fresh but whole album can leave huge mark on your attitude to modern music. Expand
  2. JoS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  3. SierraH
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Yes, a 10. And no, I'm not exaggerating. I used to be very mainstream and closed-minded about music, listening almost entirely to rap Yes, a 10. And no, I'm not exaggerating. I used to be very mainstream and closed-minded about music, listening almost entirely to rap and pop in the charts. I heard Demon Days from a friend before I even knew who Gorillaaz were, and thought, 'This album is crap.' And forgot about it. One day, I decided to check out Gorillaz, after remembering Feel Good Inc. First listen, I liked Feel Good Inc., DARE, and El Manana. 2nd listen, Kids with Guns, Last Living Souls. 3rd listen, the entire album was absolutely brilliant. Damon Albarn is a genius, which shows in this masterpiece. I can't... think of any words to describe it, except to listen to it a couple of times, and this album will open up an entirely whole new world of music for you. Oh, and it's been a year. Still not tired of any of the songs, something I've never come across before. Brilliant. A work of art, not to mention Jamie Hewlett's absolutely fantastic drawings of Gorillaz. Through this band, I discovered music I thought I never like before. BUY IT! Expand
  4. CYRUSC
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    Wow, this album is near perfection. I say near because a couple songs dont appeal to me very much, but aside from that, the creativity, and Wow, this album is near perfection. I say near because a couple songs dont appeal to me very much, but aside from that, the creativity, and the flow of the other songs, cannot be compared with anything else. I especially like Fire Coming out of the Monkeys Head. Honestly that just might be one of the best songs i have ever heard. BUY IT QUICK Expand
  5. DavidH.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Definetly one of the best albums of the year! Original, experimental with dark and mysterious overtones. Every track stands out as different Definetly one of the best albums of the year! Original, experimental with dark and mysterious overtones. Every track stands out as different from the next. Overall, its near masterful. Intro is great gives u a real taster of the feel of the album. last living souls 9/10, kids with guns 10/10, o green world 7/10, dirty harry 9/10, feel good inc. 10/10, el manana 10/10, every planet we reach is dead 8/10, november has come 10/10, all alone 10/10, white light 5/10, dare 10/10, fire coming out of a monkeys head 9/10, don't get lost in heaven 10/10, demon days 10/10.every song great except white light! Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    Another well done album by Gorillaz. My favorite song from this album is "Feel Good Inc.". The rock they have has become really modern if youAnother well done album by Gorillaz. My favorite song from this album is "Feel Good Inc.". The rock they have has become really modern if you know what I mean. It showcases alternative hip hop with funk rock and I like that. The collaborations are really cool though. Expand
  7. James
    May 23, 2005
    0
    Lacking alot, and boring as well.

See all 124 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Inside the Gorillaverse: A Look at Alt-Rock's Best Cartoon Band

    Inside the Gorillaverse: A Look at Alt-Rock's Best Cartoon Band Image
    Published: March 2, 2010
    With the Gorillaz' third album "Plastic Beach" hitting stores next week, we take a moment to look at all of the artists who have contributed to the virtual band's success.