Destiny Fulfilled

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 63
  2. Negative: 6 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Another good album from the girls of Destiny's Child, but like their other albums they never really master a solid album full of hits. The singles are the stand-outs as well as one or two other tracks but there are one too many slower songs on this album.
  2. AshleyS.
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    out of all of the tracks I loved and still love from "Destiny Fulfilled" from the ladies "T-Shirt" is my personal favorite song from the album because it makes me think of someone special and I know if my baby called me I would sing it to him every night we'll start to talk. I love DC.
  3. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    A solid R&B album w/ cuts off the dance floor but mostly tracks that lead your from the bedroom to the car, to your bf/gf's arms with some signiture destinys child female impowermant sprinkled in a solid closeng album from teh best female group of our generation
  4. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    7
    3 beautiful ladies.
  5. AmandaA
    Dec 8, 2005
    7
    Although
  6. Summer
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    Best album fromt he girls ever. Im so happy to see nice comment about michelle for a change, everyone's usually hating on her because her voice isnt as pure and smooth as the other 2. I also dont understand how anyone can put down any of the three girls theyre all so talented. Kudos to them i love em. Hopefully theres many more albums to come. And if theres not then this was a great Best album fromt he girls ever. Im so happy to see nice comment about michelle for a change, everyone's usually hating on her because her voice isnt as pure and smooth as the other 2. I also dont understand how anyone can put down any of the three girls theyre all so talented. Kudos to them i love em. Hopefully theres many more albums to come. And if theres not then this was a great album to finish up on. P.S Love Their new song : Stand Up For Love, whoever said that DC cant sing ballads can shove that in their pipe and smoke it LOL!!! Expand
  7. AndreL
    Oct 25, 2005
    7
    The album is pretty good. It shows that they have grown-up. I believe that the vocals were pretty good and beats were ok. The format on how they sing the song is to much the same. First Beyonce, then Kelly, and last Michelle. It gets very boring very fast. I also think that the one who gets lost in the album is kelly. When you listen to the group's song you really don't remember The album is pretty good. It shows that they have grown-up. I believe that the vocals were pretty good and beats were ok. The format on how they sing the song is to much the same. First Beyonce, then Kelly, and last Michelle. It gets very boring very fast. I also think that the one who gets lost in the album is kelly. When you listen to the group's song you really don't remember kelly's part. Michelle did great on the bridges. To me she made most of the song good. Beyonce was all over the place. She sounds great but give the others a chance. Michelle should have finished up most of the songs. Kelly can sing but I don't see her parts outshine the others. Also in concert Kelly does the worst to me. Expand
  8. evanj
    Sep 20, 2005
    9
    Possibly their best album yet.....their destiny certainly has been fulfilled. This is a very different sounding album to previous attempts by DC, but their is still a unique feeling that you only get from listening to Destiny's Child - a sense of self -believe. I love the harmonies, Beyonce, Michelle and Kelly are so different vocally and work so well together. This album may not be Possibly their best album yet.....their destiny certainly has been fulfilled. This is a very different sounding album to previous attempts by DC, but their is still a unique feeling that you only get from listening to Destiny's Child - a sense of self -believe. I love the harmonies, Beyonce, Michelle and Kelly are so different vocally and work so well together. This album may not be commercially appealing, but it is certainly a very soulful and beautiful album! Expand
  9. brittanyg
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    beyon'ce, meillce, kelly they doing they thing on that album. that song t-shirt blow me away its so good. ya'll album best of the year i think it beat omarion"o" album. do yall thang brittany atl!
  10. JamalB
    May 22, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best R&B albums of all time because the harmonies and vocal put other albums to shame
  11. angell
    May 8, 2005
    8
    i love BAD HABIT!! its just s0o0o0 SWEET and s0o0o nice.it makes you realize the truths in some guys..bt ya i love it loven it !!! awsome jo destiny child
  12. JASMINEB
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    I absolutely love this album. Destiny's child came back strong and the album showed all of the group members versatlity.
  13. brandonj
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This is probalby the best album put out this year and one of my favorite albums ever!
  14. dennisw
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    i think this cd is great
  15. TBokSock
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    I loved the cd simply because they use more than just beyonce voice through out the whole cd... MICHELLE YOU ROCK!!!
  16. antonior
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    i don`t know why everybody is hating on dc3. this is a great album full of soulful uplifting music although its a lot diffrent than survivor and the writings on the wall its still a timeless album. (rock on dc)
  17. GigiB
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Outstanding album, a must have will remain in my cd changer until 2006
  18. B-radj
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    This album is awesome. These girls can sing good as hell. The beat on some songs is a lil dry but those awesone vocal productions save the songs. I will recommend this cd 2 anybody. Cater 2 U and Through With Love are my favorite
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    This album is a very good album as it appeals to young lovers and the for teenagers
  20. rodneyr
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    Hot Album. Go get It
  21. NseE
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    Very impressive outing from Beyonce, Michelle and Kelly. The cd has a theme of the different stages of love. Starting from the marching stomp of 'Lose my breath'(whose frenetic pace makes you do just that) and 'Soldier' which deal with the initial stage of attraction, the very beautiful 'Cater 2 U' & 'T-shirt'deal with being deliriously in love and Very impressive outing from Beyonce, Michelle and Kelly. The cd has a theme of the different stages of love. Starting from the marching stomp of 'Lose my breath'(whose frenetic pace makes you do just that) and 'Soldier' which deal with the initial stage of attraction, the very beautiful 'Cater 2 U' & 'T-shirt'deal with being deliriously in love and wanting to do anything for her man. 'Is she the reason' through to 'If' deal with the downside of the relationship. I must make special mention here of 'If' which features stellar vocalising and harmony from the 3 trading off verses. Outstanding! 'Free' deals with breaking free from the relationship, 'Through with love' (which by the way is crying out to be a single) the name says it all. Finally, true love is found on 'Love'. The cd shows how the 3 girls have grown and matured in their songwriting and singing. Kelly, for example, co penned 'Bad habit' without Beyonce, and sings it as a solo. Fantastic cd, though not as great as their masterpiece 'Writings on the wall'. Expand
  22. dimitri
    Dec 14, 2004
    8
    this cd is VERY different to their previous albums! However, that is not necessarily a bad thing. For the most part, Destiny Fulfilled is sultry, catchy and lyrically superior to their previous works. Those looking for the uptempo singles similar to the girls previous work will have to wait for beyonces next album. Those who want to see how the girls have matured over the past 3 years and this cd is VERY different to their previous albums! However, that is not necessarily a bad thing. For the most part, Destiny Fulfilled is sultry, catchy and lyrically superior to their previous works. Those looking for the uptempo singles similar to the girls previous work will have to wait for beyonces next album. Those who want to see how the girls have matured over the past 3 years and hear the brutal sincerity in their voice shoudl buy this album! Give it a few listens and it will grow on ya, i promise! Expand
  23. NyaG.
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    It was extremely off the chains. I went and picked it up for more than just myself. Evry woman needs to have this C.D. So fellas take that as a hint.
  24. robyn
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    i love this CD sooo much, every song on there i like a lot,and anyone else that said any other dumb mess,is just a hater!!
  25. bormatic
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    dc34ever
  26. ValerieB
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    This cd is perfect. The harmonies have improved so much and my girls are women now. Y'all better buy this cd right NOW!
  27. KevinL
    Nov 21, 2004
    9
    This is a cd worth buying. It started off with a couple of up-tempo tracks followed by soulful, rnb tracks. It's all about love, and the things that Destiny's Child, the most popular girl group had gone through these years. Beyonce is not the only one who shined in this particular album. Kelly proved that she has the x factor in 'Bad Habit' while Michelle showed off This is a cd worth buying. It started off with a couple of up-tempo tracks followed by soulful, rnb tracks. It's all about love, and the things that Destiny's Child, the most popular girl group had gone through these years. Beyonce is not the only one who shined in this particular album. Kelly proved that she has the x factor in 'Bad Habit' while Michelle showed off her soulful voice in some other tracks. Lose My Breath is definitely a hit single, ruling over charts recently. Soldier, the followed up single, certainly mantained DC's reputation as the best selling female group. Other notable tracks are Cater 2 U, Girl, Is She The Reason & Through With Love. Expand
  28. TiffanyinMD
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    destiny's child is sicc....i love all three of em....beyonce kelly and michelle are just so talented. all the haters need to shut the hell up. stop hatin just cuz yall aint got talent heffas.
  29. AliciaJ
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    Yes...the album does transition from beats & booty to ballads & grooves. Yes...A couple more tracks with the rimshot would have put the album over the top. But...the group has matured, so have their lyrics, their styles, their sound and their fans. The ballads are not soupy or contrived, though none of them compares to "Confessions" from The Writings on the Wall disc. Nonetheless, this is Yes...the album does transition from beats & booty to ballads & grooves. Yes...A couple more tracks with the rimshot would have put the album over the top. But...the group has matured, so have their lyrics, their styles, their sound and their fans. The ballads are not soupy or contrived, though none of them compares to "Confessions" from The Writings on the Wall disc. Nonetheless, this is a solid effort and it'll probably be there last. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Unlike many R&B artists, Destiny's Child are actively bad at singing ballads, which mostly turn out mawkish, aimless and dull.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Often moves at a molasses-like pace, weighted down with a preponderance of exquisitely executed but ultimately dull ballads. [26 Nov 2004, p.117]
  3. Destiny Fulfilled starts off pitifully and only gets worse.