Destroyed

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: May 17, 2011
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    May 23, 2011
    80
    Destroyed is up there with his career peaks. [Jun 2011, p.91]
  2. Mojo
    May 18, 2011
    80
    Darkly neurotic, it captures the on-the-road loneliness and sense of dislocation perfectly. [Jun 2011, p.97]
  3. May 16, 2011
    75
    Ditch the first 20 minutes and open the album with the stunning, nearly seven-minute "The Violent Bear It Away," which is tucked away toward Destroyed's end, and here's a career-defining work.
  4. May 16, 2011
    73
    The album would truly shine overall if it didn't contain too many songs that are less songs and more experiments in sound. That's not to say this is a major problem, but instrumental, orchestral arrangements seem strange when they come 12 songs through a 15-track LP.
  5. Under The Radar
    Jun 8, 2011
    70
    As with the majority of his work, the most notable tracks are all instrumental. [May 2011, p.89]
  6. May 17, 2011
    70
    The guy's not a bad water-treader. Destroyed follows the understated elegance of 2009's Wait for Me even deeper into Ambient land; written on tour during sleepless nights in hotel rooms around the world.
  7. May 16, 2011
    70
    All in all, Destroyed feels like both a return to the darkness from which Moby emerged in the first place, and perhaps his most year zero offering to date.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 12, 2012
    7
    Okay, I stumbed upon this album 2 years after its release, as I often to do with music which I don't think I'll like, have never heard, andOkay, I stumbed upon this album 2 years after its release, as I often to do with music which I don't think I'll like, have never heard, and anyway have something better to listen to. Then at the record store, Reckless Records in Chicago, there it was staring at me and saying "This is a good album, and you haven't enjoyed Play that much, even as much as Hotel. So I have in, paid the 8.99 (used price!), and I'm glad I did. This album can be played when I want some beautiful sounds, the kind which I don't already have. So good on Moby to forge ahead and to make this fine album and I give it a "7." Full Review »
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    This is a good album. It need proper listening to... end to end which I think is the intention. Really timeless. You an get lost in it.This is a good album. It need proper listening to... end to end which I think is the intention. Really timeless. You an get lost in it. Grown, intelligent up stuff. Right up there with his best. Lacrimae is my favourite at the moment. Full Review »