Destroyed

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: May 17, 2011
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
Buy On
  1. May 17, 2011
    60
    Latecomers, as well as longtime fans whose favorite Moby material remains the Mimi Goese collaborations on Everything Is Wrong, should have no problem soaking it up.
  2. May 19, 2011
    50
    A grandiose, instrumental finale, they're a reminder of the divinity that Moby was once capable of.
  3. 60
    It's a jumbled mess that's partly aggravating in its derivative nature. Not coincidentally, you live up to the album's title by its end. Still, like any long, tiring trip, it's the moments that count. Moby continues to excel in that.
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    50
    The majority of the album is the future of all dinnerparties, the dinnerparty that never ends, a spooling aeon of trite politeness, as your dry android host projects his Facebook photos into your retina for eternity.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    May 24, 2011
    50
    Groovy but tepid. [20 May 2011, p.72]
  6. May 17, 2011
    50
    All the songs are encased behind such stylish glass that it's hard to feel much of anything while listening to Destroyed, much less identification with the plight of the nomadic musician.
  7. Jun 2, 2011
    50
    Despite a fairly catastrophic mid-album dip in quality, there are enough of the big soaring numbers, and a smattering of new ideas to see him through. So it's just like most other Moby albums really.
  8. May 16, 2011
    50
    Destroyed is an album created in the middle of the night for the middle of the night. Disappointment awaits those seeking anything more.
  9. Q Magazine
    Jun 20, 2011
    60
    He'll never repeat Play's monumental success, of course, but he's building a might back catalogue. [July 2011, p. 116]
  10. May 16, 2011
    40
    Mostly, though, Destroyed is about as appetizing as a warmed-over deli tray.
  11. May 17, 2011
    58
    Destroyed is slower than 2008's bright, clubby throwback Last Night and livelier than 2009's oft-despondent Wait For Me, but it's more like the latter, if only because none of the hooks stick.
  12. May 16, 2011
    60
    Bearing in mind that music about touring is of more interest to the artist than to listeners, it's still easy to appreciate swathes of Destroyed.
  13. 60
    It's a soothing, chillsome experience, though some tracks do strangle themselves in repetitive accretions.
  14. May 16, 2011
    60
    Pitched somewhere between his two most famous albums, Play and 18, it's hardly groundbreaking but is enjoyable none the less.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 12, 2012
    7
    Okay, I stumbed upon this album 2 years after its release, as I often to do with music which I don't think I'll like, have never heard, andOkay, I stumbed upon this album 2 years after its release, as I often to do with music which I don't think I'll like, have never heard, and anyway have something better to listen to. Then at the record store, Reckless Records in Chicago, there it was staring at me and saying "This is a good album, and you haven't enjoyed Play that much, even as much as Hotel. So I have in, paid the 8.99 (used price!), and I'm glad I did. This album can be played when I want some beautiful sounds, the kind which I don't already have. So good on Moby to forge ahead and to make this fine album and I give it a "7." Full Review »
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    This is a good album. It need proper listening to... end to end which I think is the intention. Really timeless. You an get lost in it.This is a good album. It need proper listening to... end to end which I think is the intention. Really timeless. You an get lost in it. Grown, intelligent up stuff. Right up there with his best. Lacrimae is my favourite at the moment. Full Review »