Devil's Playground

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 122

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Warlok9
    Mar 25, 2005
    8
    I have been eagerly awaiting this album and the reuniting of Idol/Stevens for 18 years. This album is a mixed bag of experimentation and a return to meat and potato Billy Idol. The first 2 tracks "Super Overdrive" and "World Comin' Down" are Gen X/early Idol throwbacks. If you like the punk-rockabilly sound, this is it at it's most refined. The single "Scream" does exactly what I have been eagerly awaiting this album and the reuniting of Idol/Stevens for 18 years. This album is a mixed bag of experimentation and a return to meat and potato Billy Idol. The first 2 tracks "Super Overdrive" and "World Comin' Down" are Gen X/early Idol throwbacks. If you like the punk-rockabilly sound, this is it at it's most refined. The single "Scream" does exactly what it claims, but it is not the best song on the record. For that, see track 3- "Rat Race". This is what I was waiting for... this is perhaps Idol's finest song since "Eyes Without a Face". The song is near sonic perfection with solid lyrics to boot. Other favorite tracks include "Evil Eye", "Sherri", and the odd but catchy "Plastic Jesus". This isn't as great an album as Rebel Yell, but it surpasses everything Idol has done since. And hey, Cyberpunk is actually a good album that was way ahead of it's time. Expand
  2. JohannesD
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    I'm reliving Rebel Yell all over again
  3. RalphO
    Mar 28, 2005
    8
    Give the old man credit for a pretty solid comeback!
  4. jessew
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    This album is /easy/ to under-rate-- don't make that mis-take!! Have a good time. LIsten to this CD a couple of times, enjoy it. Many different styles, all of them great-- wonderful guitar, great percussion... and Bill Idol. Writing off as an 80's throwback here is a dumb cop-out. Live a little-- no-- SCREAM! LIVE A LOT!!!
  5. Melissa
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome awesome awesome cd!!!! Love it!!!
  6. IzakL
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Most critics rating "Devil's Playground two stars don't like rock. It shines through. For me it's one of the best rock albums in the last ten years! Billy's voice has matured and sounds better than ever!
  7. KateM
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    love it, Scream is great, but Rat Race is even better!
  8. MichelleP
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    I Love this album and love this man's voice. The fact that has a great voice and uses it and is back is what will carry this album and the rest to come. IT sure beats the heck out of the non singers you have listed who rap there music or sound like everyone else, that is not music to me.
  9. MiguelC
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    An perfect album for a great rock'n roll star.It's an album that contains all styles from rock to punk to country to hard-rock to pop and the best in all songs Billy sounds great.
  10. RosieL
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Are you kidding me? The songs are great! If you like real rock music, you will enjoy this album!
  11. ConnieS
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Pure Idol!! It's what we've all been missing for the past decade!
  12. Joell
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Billy is still Billy which is why he's AWESOME - he's never given-in to the current "trends" & his new album proves it! It's original & great & so is he!
  13. Idolmark
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This is a fantastic punkrock cd!!! Billy "The KIng" is back!
  14. JuanK
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Awesome album. If you like hard rock, you will not be disappointed - the best album this decade.
  15. JustonS
    May 25, 2005
    10
    A perfect evolution of Rebel Yell, and Whiplash Smile. The best Billy Idol album yet, and "Scream" is the best song to come along in 10 years. The perfect band, the perfect album at the perfect time. "Devil's Playground" is the best album of the 21st century!!!
  16. tanyal
    May 25, 2005
    9
    A great comeback!! A true punkrock tatent!
  17. ToddF
    May 26, 2005
    9
    This is just what the music industry needed! Idol and company delivers a swift kick in the as_ of Rock-n-Roll.
  18. AmyS
    May 30, 2005
    10
    This album is pure Billy Idol. It is as good as, if not better than, anything else he has done.
  19. Jessie
    Jun 20, 2005
    8
    Cosmo is an absolute smart ass and I hate him. Billy Idol IS a landmark! Your a giant jerkoff Cosmo.
  20. joew
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    this is an awesome CD, overproduced my ass, save that for the backstreet boys, its about time idol came back, music needs him
  21. Joakimalf
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Best Billy album ever, he still deliver great Rock´n Roll with energy.
  22. JackC
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Wow. Just bought this in used CD bin in January 2008. Did not realize Billy made and album. I have been busy raising kids. This album is great! I'm a little behind, but I look forward to more, more, more!
  23. SteveT
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    Bought this out of curiosity but if there is a better rock album yet this year I havent heard it. So what if he is from the 80s - tracks like Rat Race and Summer Running would stand out on any album
  24. tomr
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    Billy Idol is back! This album reminds us that he is not only a great rocker/songwriter, but he is also a great singer.
  25. B.Ruebush
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    Love him or hate him, Idol is back. Devil's Playground is what the best of Billy has always been, fun. I hate critics that have to find some deeper meaning to an artists work. There is no deep meaning or pupose to this album, just good solid fun tunes from beginning to end. Steve Stevens sounds great. Billy still can't sing but he sounds great! Well worth the money.
  26. JosephT
    Mar 28, 2005
    7
    A strong effort but marred by a couple of unfortunate choices -- like the christmas tree song.
  27. marks
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Billy is back!
  28. Anne
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    A true, passionate, extremely talented rock-n-roll by Billy Idol, Steve Stevens and Co. Idol proves his status of a world rock superstar. Rock on, Billy!
  29. PETEB
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    what can i say .billys new album rocks .hes alive its a miracle so go out and buy it now
  30. JessicaA
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Billy keeps rocking the world....
  31. NoreenO
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    His best to date in my opinion. I love all of the songs on this CD and was certainly worth the wait. Idol on guys!
  32. candia
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Hot...something for everyone and then some! I'm thinking those other folks who gave it a zero didn't part with any pennies to buy this CD!
  33. CR
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    Great new CD from Billy Idol! Everyone should check it out. A lot of the songs remind of Generation X with that fast punk beat.
  34. AlyssaS
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Billy Idol Fuc*ing rules!
  35. StevenD
    May 24, 2005
    9
    Love this album!!!
  36. PhilS
    May 24, 2005
    9
    This is Refreshing , in a world were we are force fed poor music , once again Steve Stevens compliments the Idol sound, Born Again is the word. What a surprise the amazingly boring wimpish NME slates idol, run by and for moronic students, now i know why i aint bought a nme since the 80's, carry on mr Broad.
  37. BarrieD
    May 24, 2005
    9
    Good old Billy is back!!!
  38. MichaelC
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This album is a heck of a lot better than anything that anyone has come with in the last 10 years! Idol and Stevens prove that there is hope for rock and roll after all! This album serves as a blueprint as to how a rock record is made!
  39. victoriad
    May 24, 2005
    10
    what can i say ...its Billy Idol !!!
  40. TERRIK
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I love his new album!! I loved Billy's music 20 years ago and as i've grown so has Billy's music!! He is Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  41. HeinzzH.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This is the record i'll be waiting for over 12 Years. It rocks so bad. Best Songs: all.
  42. stant
    May 24, 2005
    10
    his best album as of yet..this is rebel yell *2..it's heavier than most of his past stuff..lots of different styles on the album as well...It's also better than mostl of the crap thats being played on the radio today..
  43. MD
    May 24, 2005
    9
    the best CD that i have ever heard
  44. AmberJ
    May 24, 2005
    9
    I really like this album, but I don't think it is in the same vain as his older stuff. I am glad he didn't try to remake Rebal Yell or I would not have bought this album.
  45. andrear
    May 26, 2005
    10
    is the very best album of billy....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  46. barryp
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Keep rocking Billy and Steve the album is GREAT.
  47. ron
    May 26, 2005
    10
    i love the billy and steve! i love every song on this cd. i got to meet them in boston! it was more than awesome!
  48. VASILIJEB
    May 26, 2005
    10
    billy better than ever!
  49. MelindaK
    May 30, 2005
    10
    I have a hard time figuring out which song is my favorite. There is no one style here. " World Coming Down" is pure skater punk, "Scream" and "Super Overdrive" pure rock n roll reminiscent of the old Idol days. "Lady do or die takes a country spin", "Man of War" has a 60's flavor, "Body Snatcher" and "Evil Eye" are a bit sinister while"Yellin at the Christmas Tree" and "Plastic I have a hard time figuring out which song is my favorite. There is no one style here. " World Coming Down" is pure skater punk, "Scream" and "Super Overdrive" pure rock n roll reminiscent of the old Idol days. "Lady do or die takes a country spin", "Man of War" has a 60's flavor, "Body Snatcher" and "Evil Eye" are a bit sinister while"Yellin at the Christmas Tree" and "Plastic Jesus" are a lot of fun. But, the biggest shock is "Cherie" Was it inspired by Neil Diamond? I love this song! And don't be confused as i was. "Sherrie" is a completely different song and great too! What a comeback Billy! Expand
  50. DanielR
    May 7, 2005
    9
    Scream is a great rock song. Kind of sounds like alot of the punk pop rock bands now but is beefed up musically and has more attitude. A couple of songs on here that took away from the great ones but definitely a few really fun rock songs.
  51. km
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome. Best since Rebel Yell.
  52. RandiJ
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Authentic...Creative...An artist true to himself and his music.
  53. MR
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Fantastic album!
  54. KatalinS
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    This is Billy's best album.He's fantastic, better than ever, he really does have the magic!
  55. DavidD.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Best CD since his self titled CD some 20 plus years ago. Heavy Metal type theme but not to the point of Metal music without a doubt Idol is back whether the CD sells or not who cares thank God there is still Music like this being made.
  56. KevinB
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Just like you expect from Billy Idol & Steve Stevens it's unique from all their other albums, every song is catchy and great, My favorite track is summer running and I will never ever hesitate to buy any Billy Idol or Steve Stevens Album. I have all of their albums and every track is awesome, Never heard one that I skipped over or halfway through.
  57. SteveK
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    Great comeback album. Lots of hard/punk rock plus cool 'sweet sixteen-loke' ballads. Funny and kewl christmas song. welcome back Billy!
  58. [Anonymous]
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    boo to the critics, they musta not been listening
  59. MattM
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Fantabulous!!! This is the Heidi Klum of music!
  60. pimpinsam
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Dynamite disc with a perfect mix of hard rockers and ballads as only Billy n' Steve can deliver. Keeps getting better with every spin. Do yourself a favor, get your mitts on this badboy and keep it in heavy rotation.
  61. rottenskunk(notskunkboy)
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Kicks ass. All other kids giving him bad reviews are stiff downright commies.
  62. JoshP
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Incredibly awesome album. A couple of questionable songs but over all very very nice. Incredibly awesome as well on his tour to support this album. If he comes to your town don' t miss the show. It is show of the year.
  63. rexa
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    any fan of generation X and early Idol recordings will groove on this new release, evil eye rocks! only pop lovers will dislike it. Yes he doesnt sing perfectly (still) but the drive and attitude are still there. Buy it dont download it!
  64. EveH
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    Love Rat Race and Scream. Love Billy Idol.
  65. BurkeF
    May 24, 2005
    9
    This is the Best Idol album so far. This album represents all the variety that few artists can compete with - encompassing a variety of different influences while still retaining the punk puck edge that Idol is known for
  66. RoelofEverts
    May 24, 2005
    9
    All the best of Idol came out!! And Steve too.
  67. AlyssaP
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This is my all time favorite Cd!
  68. JEN
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Billy Idol rocks!!! I love this cd. I love all his cds. His voice is truely amazing, and he's the sexiest man alive. The band is great! They are awesome live, can't wait until they come back to Orlando!
  69. JohnG
    May 26, 2005
    9
    This album grows on my everytime I listen...can't get it out of my head. After twelve years off recording this is a well deserved return. Power and crunch delivered with attitude!
  70. MartyF
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Idol - Stevens Only thing better than the disc is seeing these guys live! Dont call it a comeback...They never left!!!
  71. jr
    Sep 17, 2005
    9
    If you're a true Idol fan disregard the pompous, irrelevant opinons of the likes of Billboard and The Gaurdian and enjoy Billy's return to the rock scene.
  72. SamI
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    Wow, I love the record! It's nice to hear Billy really rock out, something he hasn't really done since Generation X. Here's some fun, solid, summertime music for you.
  73. stevem
    May 11, 2006
    9
    great stuff, kicks all the way!
  74. JasonD
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    An excelent example of Idol and Steven's work. Both innovative and true to Idol's original sound. Will not dissapoint fans.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. The results are much better than his 1993 sci-fi shark jump, Cyberpunk, and so it automatically counts as the best thing he's done since "Cradle of Love."
  2. Blender
    70
    [An] entertaining album. [Apr 2005, p.119]
  3. The bodybuilder's physique and sneering expression haven't given way to age; nor has his conviction that singing pedestrian clunk-rock is tantamount to signing on as Satan's orchestra leader.