Devotion - Jessie Ware
Devotion Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer who began her career as a guest on SBTRKT and Joker's singles releases her debut full-length album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    100
    It's lush, sophisticated pastiche, best epitomized by debut single Running.
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    90
    This debut's sophistication might mean Jessie slinks to the forefront rather than shoving her way to the top, but however long it takes, Devotion marks a new chapter in this future-pop superstar's journey.
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    90
    Ware gives her most understated performance on the record, and ironically her most anonymous, but the track's hypnotic, uneasy lurch calls for this delivery.
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    80
    Despite the myriad references [Sade, Aaliyah]... it's clear Ware has found a voice of her own on Devotion.
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    Adorned with production that's as sympathetic to UK underground dance as it is to modern R&B and classic soul, Devotion is a classy affair that delights in its own refinement yet stays pinned to the earth, a talented singer and songwriter realizing her potential at just the right moment.
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    It's the 27-year-old's patience that dominate this sultry debut.[Sep 2012, p.113]
  7. The more you listen, the less the album reveals; her vocals fall between sultry and sterile, and you wish, to take two of her professed influences, that she was a little less Sade, and a little more Chaka Khan.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    One of most interesting albums of the year. The songs are a great combination of pure Jessie Ware's voice and broken rhythmically electronicOne of most interesting albums of the year. The songs are a great combination of pure Jessie Ware's voice and broken rhythmically electronic sounds. Pop of the highest quality. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    This album is pure art and is so luscious. It's sweet. It's Gritty. It's Edgy. But It's soft all at the same time. Jessie Ware has a strongThis album is pure art and is so luscious. It's sweet. It's Gritty. It's Edgy. But It's soft all at the same time. Jessie Ware has a strong link between Sade and SBTRKT, with Lisa Standfield-like vocals and stunning undercovered musical tastes, This South Londoner's Debut has definitely become 'one of the best albums of the year.' Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Although musically paved in 60's R&B and 80's ambient sound, Jessie Ware's debut album managed to be the most refreshing music that ever cameAlthough musically paved in 60's R&B and 80's ambient sound, Jessie Ware's debut album managed to be the most refreshing music that ever came to my ears this year. Her classy voice and dark melodies send shivers down my spine at each song of it. Even though her songwriting is obviously a bit raw and natural, it doesn't weakens the substance of the discussion of love made by her. Stellar debut, stunning career ahead. Collapse
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Night Light and Taking In Water are individually not the most amazing of songs, but when with the rest of the album, although you may want toNight Light and Taking In Water are individually not the most amazing of songs, but when with the rest of the album, although you may want to skip them, they blend in a little bit more with the sound of the album and work a little more. As a whole though, the songs on Jessie Ware's debut are generally tremendous, to make what is in itself, a generally flawless debut. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    The perfect definition of an album which only consists of single 4-out-of-5-stars-songs. But that doesn't stop the album from being great.The perfect definition of an album which only consists of single 4-out-of-5-stars-songs. But that doesn't stop the album from being great. Jessie Ware is one of the best newcomers of 2012, she is a great songwriter and I'm in love with her voice. Like so often in pop music she repeats her lines frequently. Anyway, when she gets to write a longer verse she shows how amazing she can express herself. The R&B beats under her singing are groovy too and there isn't a single song that isn't worth hearing. Yet, as I said before, not one of the songs stands out from the rest. Thus, I won't name anyone of the songs in my list for the best songs of the year, however I will definitely name this album. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the album. I'm a huge fan of Sade and you hear her swag emulated here. It's synthesized sounds are nostalgicI thoroughly enjoyed listening to the album. I'm a huge fan of Sade and you hear her swag emulated here. It's synthesized sounds are nostalgic of the disco era especially within Running and its "never give up" intricate harmonies. It is understandable that Jessie Ware decides to name her album Devotion, however the title track was the opening of the album and it may have fell short too early, if it opened with wildest moments followed by running then it would've made a smoother transition and a nice introduction to Jessie Ware. The only issue I have with the album are the song choices and the ordering of the album. Personally, I did not need to hear running three times, it is repetitive enough (not that I'm complaining about the actual song, the repetition works in its favour in the aspect). However three of the songs there possibly could've been included in the deluxe edition as it just didn't flow well with the rest of the track list. To conclude, amazing introduction to Jessie Ware and I'm excited for her next move.
    Favourite songs: Wildest Moments, Running, If You're Never Gonna Move
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I'm not sure what album the others were listening to - the one I heard has mediocre songs and performances and is incredibly overproduced -I'm not sure what album the others were listening to - the one I heard has mediocre songs and performances and is incredibly overproduced - doesn't hold a candle to the great R&B or soul singers of the past - not even close to Sade! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. The Freshman 15: 2012's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2012's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 18, 2012
    It's time for our annual list of the best debut albums of the year. This year's roster is led by UK singer-songwriter Jessie Ware, but features artists from across Europe and North America. Spotify users can even listen to most of the albums on the list.