Devotion - Jessie Ware
Devotion Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer who began her career as a guest on SBTRKT and Joker's singles releases her debut full-length album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    100
    It's lush, sophisticated pastiche, best epitomized by debut single Running.
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    90
    This debut's sophistication might mean Jessie slinks to the forefront rather than shoving her way to the top, but however long it takes, Devotion marks a new chapter in this future-pop superstar's journey.
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    90
    Ware gives her most understated performance on the record, and ironically her most anonymous, but the track's hypnotic, uneasy lurch calls for this delivery.
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    80
    Despite the myriad references [Sade, Aaliyah]... it's clear Ware has found a voice of her own on Devotion.
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    Adorned with production that's as sympathetic to UK underground dance as it is to modern R&B and classic soul, Devotion is a classy affair that delights in its own refinement yet stays pinned to the earth, a talented singer and songwriter realizing her potential at just the right moment.
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    It's the 27-year-old's patience that dominate this sultry debut.[Sep 2012, p.113]
  7. The more you listen, the less the album reveals; her vocals fall between sultry and sterile, and you wish, to take two of her professed influences, that she was a little less Sade, and a little more Chaka Khan.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. May 13, 2013
    10
    Before I start this review, this a review of the American release, not the UK which was already release back in august. Now that 's over, here's one word I can say about Jessie Ware's debut album "Devotion", Outstanding. It's one of the best albums of 2013, and one of the most interesting pop albums in a long time. Most of you might not know who Jessie Ware is, she's from the UK, and has first started off in the music industry guest appearing on other songs from other popular indie artists. She makes her debut with Devotion which describing what it's about may be difficult, at times it's about love, friendship, emotions, and maybe something unknown, but it all works out in great style. The beats, sounds, and Rhythm are perfectly balanced with each song, making each song sound different from the other, sometimes it's electronic, other times it's R&B, but the total package is Pop. All this making this interesting Pop. Jessie Ware does an outstanding job with her vocals, going along beautifully with everything going on in each song. The album has 13 songs (including a remix of Wildest Moments with A$AP Rockey.) and it never feels slow or too fast. Personal favorites on this album include "Wildest Moments", "Running", "Swan Song", and "Sweet Talk". In the end, this is an album to keep an eye on throughout the rest of this year, an album of almost pure perfection. Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    One of most interesting albums of the year. The songs are a great combination of pure Jessie Ware's voice and broken rhythmically electronic sounds. Pop of the highest quality. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    I love love love this album, really original, love the 90s influences, her voice is stunning, her live voice is even more stunning. I love how different every songs sounds. 9/10 Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Although musically paved in 60's R&B and 80's ambient sound, Jessie Ware's debut album managed to be the most refreshing music that ever came to my ears this year. Her classy voice and dark melodies send shivers down my spine at each song of it. Even though her songwriting is obviously a bit raw and natural, it doesn't weakens the substance of the discussion of love made by her. Stellar debut, stunning career ahead. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    The perfect definition of an album which only consists of single 4-out-of-5-stars-songs. But that doesn't stop the album from being great. Jessie Ware is one of the best newcomers of 2012, she is a great songwriter and I'm in love with her voice. Like so often in pop music she repeats her lines frequently. Anyway, when she gets to write a longer verse she shows how amazing she can express herself. The R&B beats under her singing are groovy too and there isn't a single song that isn't worth hearing. Yet, as I said before, not one of the songs stands out from the rest. Thus, I won't name anyone of the songs in my list for the best songs of the year, however I will definitely name this album. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    This is not the kind of music I m usually drawn to. I mean keep an open mind and whatever, but this R & B, slick pop, 80s throwback stuff tends to have a very short shelf life. That being said, this is one of the finest, slickest, most beautifully produced and charming records I have heard in ages! Every track is strong, memorable and instantly likeable. Most of them remain so after 60 listens (or so Jesse demonstrates strong, soulful, controlled vocals, just the right amount of honesty and oodles of charisma. When I saw her interviewed I wanted to stalk her and ask her to marry me.
    My one draw back is that on this album she showcases a wide variety of styles, from dancefloor fillers to smooth jazzy numbers to a bit of well timed, sugary pop. That's all well and good, but for e it detracted from the overall theme of the album. Perhaps it would have been too 'samey' had she gone with one genre, but the changes in style do not come fluidly and something gets lost in the process. That being said, 'Devotion' definitely makes me happy. Does anyone have her number?
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I'm not sure what album the others were listening to - the one I heard has mediocre songs and performances and is incredibly overproduced - doesn't hold a candle to the great R&B or soul singers of the past - not even close to Sade! Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. The Freshman 15: 2012's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2012's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 18, 2012
    It's time for our annual list of the best debut albums of the year. This year's roster is led by UK singer-songwriter Jessie Ware, but features artists from across Europe and North America. Spotify users can even listen to most of the albums on the list.