• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Diamond Eyes Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth album for the rock band was recorded and released as a substitution (with Sergio Vega on bass) to Eros which was put on hold when bassist Chi Cheng was involved in a serious car accident.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Diamond Eyes is wild and serene, and I can honestly say its Deftones' best album to date.
  2. Above all, it’s a mature album: Deftones skirted the obvious response to their tragedy, realizing that the left turn is a more rewarding journey.
  3. These 11 tracks flow fantastically, sounding like products of a focused period of writing and recording, completed over a relatively short space of time.
  4. 78
    Diamond Eyes does not disappoint when it comes to strong, powerful and unexpected material.
  5. Granted, freedom to roam does come standard with Deftones, as do the many chunky and graceful tendencies of Diamond Eyes. What matters is that the band can still find different—and fun—ways to combine and contrast it all.
  6. The set is full of the Deftones' usual energy and showcases singer Chino Moreno's knack for alternating between screams and sweet vocal delivery over heavy, complex guitar work.
  7. 60
    Musically this is the most satisfying Deftones album in a decade, welding their patented post-hardcore crunch with their noted love of twisted, Cure-styled melody. [June 2010, p. 92]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Latest Deftones album was without basist Chi but turned out to be one of their strongest releases i gave it a 10 cause it really deserved itLatest Deftones album was without basist Chi but turned out to be one of their strongest releases i gave it a 10 cause it really deserved it Deftones will continue to make great music and i'm waiting for the next album. (Go to oneloveforchi.com to help basist Chi Cheng) Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    People tend to attach memories and emotions to music. That's why, when you here that old song, you think of 'that summer', when life wasPeople tend to attach memories and emotions to music. That's why, when you here that old song, you think of 'that summer', when life was fantastic, your girl was a personal favour from God to you, and your only complaint had something to do with the temperature of your beer.

    What sets this record apart from other contenders to my first review is not the fact that it was made in the absence of their comatose bassist and good friend, or that they scrapped all their previous work, and started fresh with stand in bassist Sergio Vega, all in less than 2 years. No. What set this album apart are the emotions that come with it. Deftones open a new door with every song you listen to on this album. Not a single melody sounds generic or bland. The album is a mixture of edgy, almost-metal, to chilled, shoegazing, cruising-the-streets ballads. While tracks like Diamond Eyes and Rocket Skates unleash the hard, pounding aggression of the band, you get the likes of 976-Evil, Sextape and Prince, to crack open the beer and put your feet up to. Listen to this rock album, and you wonâ
    Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    After this album, I became a huge fan of this band. The best music of the album is CMND/CTRL for me and im glad this band exists. You're notAfter this album, I became a huge fan of this band. The best music of the album is CMND/CTRL for me and im glad this band exists. You're not gonna be disappointed buying this album. Chino is a genius. They deserve a 10 score to be really honest. BUY IT! Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The album is absolutely perfect, is the new generation of metal. The instrument sounds are impeccable and unique, but what I love this albumThe album is absolutely perfect, is the new generation of metal. The instrument sounds are impeccable and unique, but what I love this album and Deftones are their amazing and innovative lyrics. An example would be "Sextape" is what we would consider the ballad of the album and talks about the desire to feel "the sound of ocean waves", figuratively obviously, there's the song "This Place Is Death" more that sexual, refers to love, the feeling of reciprocity with another person. Creates a dense atmosphere that serves a farewell without lowering the bar with a less harsh guitars and harmonicas, a battery that sustains the rhythm on the toms and a pretty melodic voice. This album is one of the best of 2010, do not hesitate to have it. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    this is quickly becoming my favorite deftones album, as it seem they for once they actually tried to tap into their massive talent pool. inthis is quickly becoming my favorite deftones album, as it seem they for once they actually tried to tap into their massive talent pool. in all actuality this is their 2nd best album which is sad considering the obvious talent. after 20 years of ok to good music while always seeming on the verge of greatness but never quite reaching it, this record seems to atleast be an attempt at actually becoming the band their fans always thought one day they would be.... about time Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    It took a while to grow on me, but it's definitely a great album. For me, it's more consistent and overall more satisfying than Saturday NightIt took a while to grow on me, but it's definitely a great album. For me, it's more consistent and overall more satisfying than Saturday Night Wrist. That album had some amazing songs and some filler (rare for this band) however this is an album that flows well from start to finish. Strangely, the only track I find myself skipping sometimes is Sextape which used to be my favorite off the album. I just find that it works better as a standalone track, or could have opened or closed the album. Not sure I love the production, but it's not bad by any means. Whether it's their best record ever is entirely subjective, but they are definitely progressing as a band, and their latest Koi No Yokan is arguably even stronger. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Best Songs: Sextape-Beauty School-Diamond Eyes-You've Seen The Butcher-CMND/CTRL
    Heaviest Songs :Rocket Skates-Diamond Eyes
    Best Chorus:
    Best Songs: Sextape-Beauty School-Diamond Eyes-You've Seen The Butcher-CMND/CTRL
    Heaviest Songs :Rocket Skates-Diamond Eyes
    Best Chorus: Diamond Eyes-Sextape
    Best Verses: Beauty School-You've Seen The Butcher
    Worst Song:?????
    Overall-Great album. one of their best and the most balanced.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews