Diamonds On The Inside

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 11, 2003
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. leza
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    This album was truly amazing. I have been listening to ben harper for so many years, and he still amazes me!
  2. SamG
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    his best work to date
  3. joshf
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    Ben Harper is amazing. Buying this album will be one of the best things you do this year. (Unless you're going to go follow Ben and the Innocent Criminals. Then that would be the best thing you do)
  4. elizabethb
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    It truly amazes me how he can put so many different styles of music on his albums. He doesn't just stick to a certain sound, unlike most of the bands do that get airplay...they never mature as musicians, they just keep the same sound because it worked the first time. I saw Ben at SXSW just 2 weeks ago at Waterloo Records. He only played about 5 songs, most were from "Diamonds". If It truly amazes me how he can put so many different styles of music on his albums. He doesn't just stick to a certain sound, unlike most of the bands do that get airplay...they never mature as musicians, they just keep the same sound because it worked the first time. I saw Ben at SXSW just 2 weeks ago at Waterloo Records. He only played about 5 songs, most were from "Diamonds". If people do not hear the "Marley-Dylan-Hendrix" of this generation, they simply are not paying attention. Expand
  5. JennyM
    Mar 24, 2003
    9
    I would like to give this album a 10, although as I have found with every new album that I hear of Ben Harpers, they just get better & better. more imaginative, more moving, I always look forward to what this man is going to produce next.
  6. DirkD
    Feb 14, 2004
    7
    Some great songs on it, yet some awfull ones as well.
  7. justin
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    A consistently good album with lots of variations of style.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Another stunning effort from one of rock's underground heroes.
  2. Harper performs his knock-offs so earnestly you'd think he were resuscitating some forgotten art, rather than aping tunes that are played 24/7 on oldies radio.
  3. He blows up like an inheritor and improves upon his influences with a few jewels of unique and exquisitely tender rock & roll.