Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Apr 8, 2008
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 80
  2. Negative: 2 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    No filler on this bad boy. Brilliant. Found the album compelling from start to finish. Guitars Guitars Guitars. Wonderful album one cannot tire of listening to anytime of the day!
  2. DavidS
    Oct 3, 2008
    5
    I have to agree with Chris M -- overall this just isn't a very exciting album. And I like Cave, and think he's put out some very good albums, but the songs on this record do not come close to his best. I'm not sure why his fans are so rabid; it seems that in their loyalty, they are proclaiming this album to be great, when in fact it seems they are simply rationalizing I have to agree with Chris M -- overall this just isn't a very exciting album. And I like Cave, and think he's put out some very good albums, but the songs on this record do not come close to his best. I'm not sure why his fans are so rabid; it seems that in their loyalty, they are proclaiming this album to be great, when in fact it seems they are simply rationalizing mediocrity. Listen to "The Good Son" or "Tender Prey", then tell me if this current album is anywhere near the quality of those releases! Expand
  3. ChrisM
    Jul 9, 2008
    5
    This a very bland album - I think critics and fans are so enamoured with Cave that he can't do no wrong. While this isn't wrong, it certainly isn't Abbatoir Blues/Lyre of Orpheus, No More Shall We Part or Let Love In. Like Nocturama, DLD lacks passion and a sense of urgency that CAve has something he wants to tell us.
  4. MarcG.
    Apr 14, 2008
    0
    Boring...like all the things this guy has made.
  5. OliverC.
    Apr 22, 2008
    4
    I like the title track, everything else sounds aged and boring like all of Nick Cave's stuff.
  6. IsaacR.
    Apr 27, 2008
    2
    Hate to say it... but this really bored me. It was torture trying to finish the album waiting for the punch, but all I got was a nudge.
  7. AndrewC
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Really wanted to give this ten but one track really stinks. My first posting gave it a 9 but 10 outstanding tracks deserve the top mark. Sad thing is I have made a point of avoiding Nick Cave and I feel pretty stupid about that.
  8. Turenne01
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    A mediocre album with the odd highlight. Ignore the hype.
  9. MickC
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    A Bad Seed album hasn't hooked me like this since "Let Love In". The whole thing is brilliant, and it sounds like his partaking in the Grinderman thing has done him the world of good.
  10. KevinE.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    This is Cave at his absolute best. The lyrics are smart and witty and the band is on a huge high. This album album could cut air.
  11. FelipeP.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Amazing album! Nick Cave is brilliant!
  12. Mick
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    Solid but not as good as their last album (although not much is).
  13. XanderS.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Just as predicted, the new album sounded fresh with new hooks and amazing lyrics. Different to his previous release, but equally brilliant!
  14. Shane
    Apr 14, 2008
    7
    Not as good as last year's Grinderman, and nothing particularly new here. Muscially the band seems in a bit of a rut - they miss Blixa Bargeld. But really, how bad can it be its a Nick Cave record, on his bad days he's better than 99% of song writers out there today.
  15. ScottW.
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    Hey, thanks for the informational and insightful review "Mark G". PONCE!
  16. ImanL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    Wow -best album since Vampire Weekend. Lazarus is the single of the year.
  17. JackC.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    What a great album. Even as a huge Cave fan, I was not prepared for just how excellent this album is. It's energetic, inspired, funny, and just very fresh sounding. Love it. Long live the bad seeds.
  18. Hein
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Different from from Abbatoir Blues/The Lyre Of Orpheus, but with the same brilliance.
  19. EffEll
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    I really like the albums he made in the past 10 years or so, but this one is above everything he made since Henry's Dream.
  20. AaronS.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I'm firmly convinced that Cave and Co. are incapable of making a bad record. 'Lazarus' is probably the most accessible Cave/Seeds album to date. It rocks harder and crazier than almost every band half these guy's age and is a stunner from first track to last.
  21. LukeG.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Probably best album of the year. Nick Cave's new disc is vital and relevant. I think everything on the disc works towards a cohesive statement. I don't know about Marc G, Issac R, and Oliver C. Are they listening to the same disc? I guess its the typical spoiler crowd. Wahhhh! My favorite band(s)/artist(s) don't get reviewed on Metacritic or Wahhh! My favorite Probably best album of the year. Nick Cave's new disc is vital and relevant. I think everything on the disc works towards a cohesive statement. I don't know about Marc G, Issac R, and Oliver C. Are they listening to the same disc? I guess its the typical spoiler crowd. Wahhhh! My favorite band(s)/artist(s) don't get reviewed on Metacritic or Wahhh! My favorite band(s)/artist(s) get terrible or mediocre reviews, so I'm going to lash out at an artist who does happen to have the respect and acknowledgment of the critics. Two words guys. FUCK YOU. Go boo hoo somewhere else. Come back when you actually have something relevant to say. Man, talk about boring. You guys bore me to death. Expand
  22. allans.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    To stretch the Lazarus analogy, Cave and colleagues have resurrected the groove. We saw flashes of it stretched across wondrous Lyre/Abattoir and then it all went tuneless testosterone with Grinderman. This time around, we have the groove (the Doors), the mood (from terrifying to hilarious) and the tunes to boot. And what a skinny, point black boot it is.
  23. EllenH.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic!
  24. MattE.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Beautiful album, sort of heavy and humid atmosphere, quite different from the Grinderman album.
  25. Popsy
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    A perfect for Mr. Cave! He's good at rock'n'roll.
  26. EricO.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Upon listening to Nick's new disc, two aspects become readily apparent: 1. His side-project "Grinderman" left him (and by association his music) rejuvinated- he and the band haven't sounded this tight and energized since "Let Love In"!!! 2. The days of piano balladry, epitomized by the brilliant "Boatman's Call" and everything subsequently released, are OVER!!! The Bad Upon listening to Nick's new disc, two aspects become readily apparent: 1. His side-project "Grinderman" left him (and by association his music) rejuvinated- he and the band haven't sounded this tight and energized since "Let Love In"!!! 2. The days of piano balladry, epitomized by the brilliant "Boatman's Call" and everything subsequently released, are OVER!!! The Bad Seeds blast through these tunes like a whirlwind; the drums are faster, the guitar work more angular, and the backing vocals are like nothing you've heard on a Nick Cave album before!!! I can't begin to fathom where Cave can take his band next, because it will be hard to improve on this release- it's definitely the best thing he's done since "Boatman's Call", and probably one of his top five best discs ever (alongside "The Good Son", "Kicking Against the Pricks", From Her To Eternity" and "Your Funeral, My Trial")!!! Expand
  27. TomF.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing!! Brilliant!!! I have no other words for this album. Best album of 2008 so far.
  28. JulienJulien
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    An amazing album.
  29. ChasK.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Just incredible. Probably the best lyrics he's written in several years, not that he really ever lost his touch. Not an artist for the stupid masses.
  30. JusitnP.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Great refreshing sound. LOVE IT! Refreshed my love of music.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Even if Prince, Madonna, Paul Weller, Shane MacGowan, Ice-T and Michael Jackson got together to form a freakish supergroup, they’d struggle to make an album containing as much vitality, humour and invention as Cave and his wizened cronies have.
  2. It’s not surprising, then, that a number of the tunes on Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! sound familiar. Besides the ones that sound like rewrites of Iggy Pop and Leonard Cohen rewrites, Cave and crew aren’t above recycling their own work--'More News From Nowhere' is just a riff on 'Deanna.'
  3. Musically, the album is a triumph from first to last.