• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Apr 8, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 74
  2. Negative: 2 out of 74

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    A really strong record and one of the best he's produced during his pretty impressive career . He really gets the balance right on this one between strangeness and pure class. You can hear the time and care put into the song writing. Not only are the lyrics great but there are plenty of tunes on here too. More News from Nowhere is a classic. Highly recommended.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    No filler on this bad boy. Brilliant. Found the album compelling from start to finish. Guitars Guitars Guitars. Wonderful album one cannot tire of listening to anytime of the day!
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Fun-filled, eccentric and recaptivating the Nick Cave poetry, Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! stands as a pivotal moment in Cave's catalogue. Grinding off his side project's aesthetic, the funk-ridden cheer of Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! doesn't compare to the genius of Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus... but hey, it's a hell of a ride!
  4. MickC
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    A Bad Seed album hasn't hooked me like this since "Let Love In". The whole thing is brilliant, and it sounds like his partaking in the Grinderman thing has done him the world of good.
  5. KevinE.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    This is Cave at his absolute best. The lyrics are smart and witty and the band is on a huge high. This album album could cut air.
  6. FelipeP.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Amazing album! Nick Cave is brilliant!
  7. XanderS.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Just as predicted, the new album sounded fresh with new hooks and amazing lyrics. Different to his previous release, but equally brilliant!
  8. ScottW.
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    Hey, thanks for the informational and insightful review "Mark G". PONCE!
  9. ImanL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    Wow -best album since Vampire Weekend. Lazarus is the single of the year.
  10. JackC.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    What a great album. Even as a huge Cave fan, I was not prepared for just how excellent this album is. It's energetic, inspired, funny, and just very fresh sounding. Love it. Long live the bad seeds.
  11. Hein
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Different from from Abbatoir Blues/The Lyre Of Orpheus, but with the same brilliance.
  12. EffEll
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    I really like the albums he made in the past 10 years or so, but this one is above everything he made since Henry's Dream.
  13. AaronS.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I'm firmly convinced that Cave and Co. are incapable of making a bad record. 'Lazarus' is probably the most accessible Cave/Seeds album to date. It rocks harder and crazier than almost every band half these guy's age and is a stunner from first track to last.
  14. LukeG.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Probably best album of the year. Nick Cave's new disc is vital and relevant. I think everything on the disc works towards a cohesive statement. I don't know about Marc G, Issac R, and Oliver C. Are they listening to the same disc? I guess its the typical spoiler crowd. Wahhhh! My favorite band(s)/artist(s) don't get reviewed on Metacritic or Wahhh! My favorite Probably best album of the year. Nick Cave's new disc is vital and relevant. I think everything on the disc works towards a cohesive statement. I don't know about Marc G, Issac R, and Oliver C. Are they listening to the same disc? I guess its the typical spoiler crowd. Wahhhh! My favorite band(s)/artist(s) don't get reviewed on Metacritic or Wahhh! My favorite band(s)/artist(s) get terrible or mediocre reviews, so I'm going to lash out at an artist who does happen to have the respect and acknowledgment of the critics. Two words guys. FUCK YOU. Go boo hoo somewhere else. Come back when you actually have something relevant to say. Man, talk about boring. You guys bore me to death. Expand
  15. allans.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    To stretch the Lazarus analogy, Cave and colleagues have resurrected the groove. We saw flashes of it stretched across wondrous Lyre/Abattoir and then it all went tuneless testosterone with Grinderman. This time around, we have the groove (the Doors), the mood (from terrifying to hilarious) and the tunes to boot. And what a skinny, point black boot it is.
  16. EllenH.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Fantastic!
  17. MattE.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Beautiful album, sort of heavy and humid atmosphere, quite different from the Grinderman album.
  18. Popsy
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    A perfect for Mr. Cave! He's good at rock'n'roll.
  19. EricO.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Upon listening to Nick's new disc, two aspects become readily apparent: 1. His side-project "Grinderman" left him (and by association his music) rejuvinated- he and the band haven't sounded this tight and energized since "Let Love In"!!! 2. The days of piano balladry, epitomized by the brilliant "Boatman's Call" and everything subsequently released, are OVER!!! The Bad Upon listening to Nick's new disc, two aspects become readily apparent: 1. His side-project "Grinderman" left him (and by association his music) rejuvinated- he and the band haven't sounded this tight and energized since "Let Love In"!!! 2. The days of piano balladry, epitomized by the brilliant "Boatman's Call" and everything subsequently released, are OVER!!! The Bad Seeds blast through these tunes like a whirlwind; the drums are faster, the guitar work more angular, and the backing vocals are like nothing you've heard on a Nick Cave album before!!! I can't begin to fathom where Cave can take his band next, because it will be hard to improve on this release- it's definitely the best thing he's done since "Boatman's Call", and probably one of his top five best discs ever (alongside "The Good Son", "Kicking Against the Pricks", From Her To Eternity" and "Your Funeral, My Trial")!!! Expand
  20. TomF.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing!! Brilliant!!! I have no other words for this album. Best album of 2008 so far.
  21. JulienJulien
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    An amazing album.
  22. ChasK.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Just incredible. Probably the best lyrics he's written in several years, not that he really ever lost his touch. Not an artist for the stupid masses.
  23. JusitnP.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Great refreshing sound. LOVE IT! Refreshed my love of music.
  24. AlexAlex
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    You'll wind up listening to the tracks over and over again. Favorite of the year...so far.
  25. JayM.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Dig!!! It!! Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds are back, not exactly from the dead- like Larry in the title track-but resurrected with a vigor not seen since 1994's Let Love In. Maybe it has something to do with turning 50, maybe the Grinderman project inspired them, whatever the reason, it's time to celebrate the year's best release. There is nary a weak track as Nick explores Dig!!! It!! Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds are back, not exactly from the dead- like Larry in the title track-but resurrected with a vigor not seen since 1994's Let Love In. Maybe it has something to do with turning 50, maybe the Grinderman project inspired them, whatever the reason, it's time to celebrate the year's best release. There is nary a weak track as Nick explores America and its music with a vengeance. This is music at its best-loud, irreverent, moody, with surprises and relevations at every turn. A masterwork from the preeminent singer-songwriter of the last 20 years. This is what rock music should sound like, this is what a rock star should look like. Expand
  26. JoséR.
    Aug 11, 2008
    9
    Well, I must confess it took me three listening (maybe I got accustomed during the last 10 years to Cave the crooner) to completely assess the real quality of this great album. So patience, my friends!
  27. HughM.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    If you never liked Nick Cave I guess you won't like this, Marc G! Not sure why you bothered to vote! This album is GREAT, not only is Nick fabulous, but The Bad Seeds have got to be one of the tightest bands going around.
  28. KatyJ
    May 21, 2009
    10
    I thought this record was amazing the first time I listened to it. It's even better the 150th time. Every track on the record is, well... perfect. EVERYONE should have this!
  29. AndrewC
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Really wanted to give this ten but one track really stinks. My first posting gave it a 9 but 10 outstanding tracks deserve the top mark. Sad thing is I have made a point of avoiding Nick Cave and I feel pretty stupid about that.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Even if Prince, Madonna, Paul Weller, Shane MacGowan, Ice-T and Michael Jackson got together to form a freakish supergroup, they’d struggle to make an album containing as much vitality, humour and invention as Cave and his wizened cronies have.
  2. It’s not surprising, then, that a number of the tunes on Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! sound familiar. Besides the ones that sound like rewrites of Iggy Pop and Leonard Cohen rewrites, Cave and crew aren’t above recycling their own work--'More News From Nowhere' is just a riff on 'Deanna.'
  3. Musically, the album is a triumph from first to last.